We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“curry ok pricey though other meals no”
Review of Oasis Cafe

Oasis Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“curry ok pricey though other meals no”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

nice location think it has a new owner looks like work being done for the better not as upmarket as the place next door Baka blues prices to similar local resorts and Baka blues. water edge cheap but not good quality.
the curry was good think it was chefs speciality but fried rice a shocker and the fish not great overcooked and suppose to be fresh that day not sure on that bad choice
one all day breakfast less than ok very small
drink prices ok same as everywhere else
little put off with men over drinking at bar appeared to be local expats but very drunk
Baka blues has a upmarket wine list if out for dinner wine can be random in fiji

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun soul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    78
    29
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good place for lunch/dinner”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We also dined at Oasis Cafe (really good steak n mushroom hotpot). Very pleased with our lunch and dinner there. However, breakfast can be improved, we ordered the breakfast burrito which I found was very oily and the big breakfast was not as big as we would have liked.

Baka Blues (bit expensive for the food, we tried the ribs which was dry and spag 'bol which was nothing special), and Wateredge (awesome fish n chips, meatsaurous pizza was great too).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bobbyanderson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Big meals”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We were impressed with the size and value of the meals here.

I ordered the chicken curry which came with a bowl of dahl soup (which was delicious), a large curry, two papadums, two large roti and 3 sauces all for $18 fjd! It wasn't the best curry I've ever had but it was pretty good.

Hubby had the beef & onion burger which came with chips and salad. He said it was a little plain but not bad.

Overall a good value restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Bree_La_Marca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“They have a real coffee machine!!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I love Fiji so much, but i do wish there would be good coffee to be found somewhere on the island. Following a diving trip i really needed a coffee, and came here as they have a REAL coffee machine!!! The coffee was good, delightful and trust worthy staff , and happy for me to eat my sandwiches in their restaurant too that i had prepared for my lunch from the resort i was living at.

Try sitting outside and chatting the fijian people walking passed. i had some ripper random conversations!! Probably why i was 2 hours later than expected back at the resort :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taqueeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Breakfasts, Great Friendly Servers”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had breakfast here several times, very friendly service (Letia), Small place, not a wide variety but what they serve was good. Read one bad comment about coffee, but it was actually some of the best we had on the island. I think people sometimes forget they are on an island that does not have access to a lot of things.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oasis Cafe also viewed

Pacific Harbour, Coral Coast
Pacific Harbour, Coral Coast
 
Pacific Harbour, Coral Coast
Pacific Harbour, Coral Coast
 

Been to Oasis Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing