We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great once a life time shark encounter”

Aqua-Trek Shark Encounter
Certificate of Excellence
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great once a life time shark encounter”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Very well organized and smoothly run scuba diving adventure. Safe and sound 20-25 minutes inside the real fish market underwater wig fish feeding frenzy. Huge variety of giant grouper and snappers, bull sharks, lemon, reef sharks and black- silver fin sharks. Very close and personal Best views and photo- video opportunities. Well done. One of the best underwater real sealift experience. Great team Brendan and Pedro are he great dive guides. I have never met a professional shark feeder before .
Thanks

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank alex311327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    39
    5
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Best shark dive ever ! A bit disorganized but the sharks made up for it all”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The company is disorganized when you consider the price you pay for the 2 tank dive. They did not have a mask and fins that fits me, no towels on the boat so we were freezing during our surface interval, no food, and I had to wait for my buddy because they had to change his tank who was leaking so we missed the good spots just behind the feeders. The place can be overcrowded because many boats are there at the same time. Other than that, the dive is breathtaking, the sharks are so close, it is really an experience of a lifetime and well worth the money. Our dive master Jona was friendly and knowledgable about the sharks and he explained every specie we encountered during the surface intervals.

Tips:
- Get there early to be on the big boat
- Bring a towel and warm clothes. It's freezing after each dive
- place yourself just behind the feeders for the best views and bring a go pro or underwater camera. You can also buy the DVD from Aqua Trek after the dive.

This is a fun video we made of our shark dive: http://lovetrotters.net/2014/08/16/les-dents-de-la-mer-version-fidji/

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NadiaStoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Loved it all, disliked nothing except the tiger shark did not show up on our dives- facility has no control over this

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresa_watergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Very good relates to shark dives”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The shark feed encounter is outstanding. I identified 6 different species on on feed. It is well organized, as the groups are large (the nature of all shark feeds). The dive brief was somewhat disorganized.

Boat and safety: custom dive boat, but somewhat crowded for the shark feed dive. Life jackets, first aid kit and oxygen on board. The entry ladders can be better designed.
Rental equipment was problematic. I went through several different regs in five days.

Training: from observation there open water course was poorly conducted.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great shark dive”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I am an experienced diver with 25yrs exposure to the industry and have to disagree with the overwhelming positive reviews.

Shark encounter. After a very chaotic disorganized morning, the dive itself was well organised and a great experience. 9/10 for the dive itself.

Staff: very friendly, but disorganised regarding bookings, getting equipment ready etc. I've experienced far better services in Fiji.

Rental equipment: poor quality and problematic.

I observed someone doing their open water certification through them. This was just plain unprofessional. In spite of this person struggling after a single pool session and voicing that they were not ready for an open water dive they and a few other very inexperienced divers was exposed to a rather challenging sea dive, with disastrous results with trainees panicking and refusing to continue diving.
Rating for training 0/10.

In summery: ok for service for divers and a great shark experience, but don't do your training through them.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Ruben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua-Trek Shark Encounter also viewed

Pacific Harbour, Coral Coast
Pacific Harbour, Coral Coast
 
Pacific Harbour, Coral Coast
Pacific Harbour, Coral Coast
 

Been to Aqua-Trek Shark Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing