We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TAKE HEED, POOR FEED, BIG GREED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toberua Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toberua Island
Certificate of Excellence
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“TAKE HEED, POOR FEED, BIG GREED”
Reviewed May 21, 2010

this island has very nice scenery, very nice staff ( Fijians), clean & tidy and very nice rooms. a very relaxing place to stay.
The food is only average though eg: peas & carrots in the rice dishes are out of frozen packets, not fresh. There is no fresh shell fish or lovely buffet etc.

The snorkelling was great.
The Fijian singing & music playing was also great.

However, a cyclone cut our trip short. We were only there for 2 nights and the Toberua Management shipped us off & booked us all into an overpriced motel on the mainland and then left us to pay all the bills at this motel. The Toberu Management had our unused monies for 4 nights meals and accommodation and none of that was refunded and it was not recoverable by insurance.

THIS GREED ENDED OUR TRIP MISERABLY.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank soccer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    29
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
104
169
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We booked in March 2010 for 6 nights on Toberua. Although we travelled a lot, we never met a friendly staff like those of Toberua. We felt us very welcome. The bures are very nice – we especially enjoyed the special music events during the meals and also the private music show in front of every bure before dinner. A very big compliment to the staff.

Because of the Cyclone Tomas we must leave Toberua after 2 nights. We stayed in a hotel on the main island just before we left Fiji – can happen. The management (Alan and Wendy) informed the guests that everybody has to pay the stay in that hotel for themselves and they don't pay back any unused arrangements (accommodation, diving course etc.) of Toberua. That would be the part of our travel insurance. The travel insurance don't pay the unsued 4 days because Toberua cold not fulfil their service – means money back from Toberua. Toberua also collected some unpaid bar bills from other guests afterwards because they forgot to collect it. What an arrogant meaning of a previous hospitality coach! A first class price and a very bad attitude to the customers in case of problems (nice weather skipper). Ok they paid the first dinner in the hotel on the main island and we became the offer to stay longer on Toberua but we couldn't go back to the Island because our holidays were over and we already booked the flights to go back overseas. I'm a Managing Director of a service company. I never will have a reason to restrain the whole money back for a payed but unused service. As an owner of a company or Managing Director I would never accept this behaviour because that's the best way to loose the customers.

Overall Toberua is a very nice place and the stuff is exceptional. Management: "Mistakes happens but only one times".


-------------------------------------------
In german language:
Wir buchten im März 2010 6 Nächte auf Toberua. Obwohl wir schon viel herumgereist sind, haben wir noch nie ein so freundliches und herzhaftes Personal angetroffen, wie auf Toberua. Die Bures sind sehr schön – im Speziellen haben wir die Musik während den Essen und auch die Musikdarbietung vor jedem einzelnen Bure vor dem Abendessen sehr genossen. Wir möchten der Crew dafür ein grosses Kompliment aussprechen!

Aufgrund des Cyclone Tomas mussten wir leider nach 2 Nächten Toberua verlassen. Wir übernachteten in einem Hotel in Suva kurz bevor wir Fiji verlassen haben – kann passieren. Die Manager (Alan and Wendy) informierten die Gäste, dass wir die Hotelkosten in Suva übernehmen müssen und sie vom bezahlten Arrangement (Übernachtung und allfällige Tauchkurse etc.) nichts zurückzahlen. Dies müssen wir mit der Reiseversicherung abklären, die dafür aufkommt. Unsere Reiseversicherung bezahlt jedoch nichts von den 4 unbenutzten Tagen zurück, da Toberua nicht ihre Leistungen vollbringen konnte – d.h. Toberua soll uns den Rest ausbezahlen). Das Toberua Management wollte von Gästen die unbezahlten Barkonsumationen im Nachhinein einziehen, da sie es vergessen haben. Was für eine arrogante Einstellung von einem Manager, der früher als Gastfreundschaftstrainer gearbeitet hatte. Ein first-class Preis und eine solche Einstellung gegenüber Kunden, wenn es Probleme gibt (Schön-Wetter-Kapitän). Zumindest ist zu erwähnen, dass sie ein Abendessen im Hotel in Suva bezahlt hatten und wir eine Verlängerung auf Toberua angeboten bekamen. Wir konnten aber nicht wieder zurück auf Toberua, da wir die Flüge für die Rückreise nach Europa (logischerweise) gebucht hatten. Ich bin Inhaber und Geschäftsführer einer Dienstleistungsfirma. Ich hätte nie keien Grund für eine bezahlte, aber nicht vollständig bezogene Dienstleistung den entsprechenden nicht Betrag zurückzuzahlen. Als Inhaber würde ich dieses Verhalten nie akzeptieren, denn das ist der beste Weg, um die Kunden zu verlieren.

Alles in allem ist Toberua eine sehr schöne Insel, die Crew ist ausserordentlich. Management: "Fehler passieren, aber nur einmal".

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eazycheezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2010

It was heaven !!!

We loved Toberua so much, that when it came time to leave we couldn't and extended for a few more days.

As all the reviews say, the island is lovely and the staff, food, management and owners are exceptional. I have stayed on many Islands in Fiji, but never have I felt as welcomed as there. We felt like part of the family, and were very sad to leave.

We got both our Open and Advanced Diving Certificates while on Toberua. Joe is a fantastic diving instructor (did I mention how cute he is). We spent most of our days with him, diving, fishing and picnicing. Who could ask for anything else.

It has taken us a while to write this review, but only because it is very hard to come up with the words to describe how much we enjoyed it, and how good it was.

Thank you so much to everyone for making our stay as memorable as it was, and we look forward to returning home to OUR island.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodandKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

My wife and I spent over a week on Toberua and loved everything about it. The Bures are excellent, food is excellent and of a very high quality, scenery is beautiful and what makes it really special are the staff who are genuinely friendly, attentive and personal. I completed an Open Water Diving Course with Joe who is an excellent and professional instructor. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrinsville N.Z.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

The previous review by Henry and Betty says it all and we were lucky enough to meet them as well.
We spent six nights on the island and were extremely sad to leave. From the time we arrived, the fantastic staff Alan & Wendy have, just made our holiday. So a big thanks to Salote,Eroni,Si,Mitimiti,Joe,Ben,Malaki,Bale,Lini Miri, Emori and of course Captain Tui, you guys are the best. From reef golf to Picnic Island, everything is superb.
Glen & Joanne, you have the best place on earth. Thank you for letting us share it for a short time. --- Bula Vinaka team!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morrinsvillekiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

In many years of travel, this is the first time we have felt compelled to write a review following our recent visit and most wonderful experience at Toberua Island Resort. This very special place occupies a small beautiful island, exemplifies peace and tranquility, and offers finely crafted traditional bures and quality personalized service provided by an exceptionally talented and friendly staff team. Toberua Island Resorts meets a very high standard combining quiet elegance with a genuinely relaxed and fun Fijian experience. All of this was evident in one of favourite take away memories - a sing along with the staff musicians late into the night after a round (or two!) of kava, while we watched the play of the moon and clouds across the water....pure magic...pure Fiji!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2009

Upon arrival and departure to the island, we were greeted by staff already in song with smiling faces and warmest wishes. A customary beating “drum” is used to gather everyone for this type of activity as well as a calling to signify that meals are ready to be served. Each evening before dinner, we were graced with a private serenade and then invited to cocktail hour at the bar for more singing and conversation with staff and guests. Since there are so few people on the island, this provides a real opportunity to meet some great people and what might be the start of a lasting friendship. There is also live singing at both lunch and dinner but if you want to really have a good time, then the Saturday night kava ceremony and BBQ buffet dinner cannot be missed.

The bures have recently been remodeled and are authentic to Fijian architecture and design. All windows have screens on the outside but it doesn't really matter as the trade winds keep the island bug free. Ceiling fans can be used to cool the room at night and to my surprise was more then enough to do the job. There were no issues with hot water and the bures are nicer then as seen on the website. You should be aware that one side of the island does experience a more consistent wind while the other side normally experiences no breeze and completely calm water.

The reef outside the restaurant is amazing especially when compared to my previous experience in several Caribbean locations. It is a little way out so if you are not seeing anything, don't be fooled into thinking it is not there. Just go out further. There is also a daily snorkel tour by boat and great snorkeling from Picnic Island if you choose to purchase that day trip. The diving operation offers the best gear I have seen when compared to at least 5 resorts I previously visited. They have full fins with booty, Aqua Lung BCD and regulators with any sign of not being 100% was taken out for service. I didn't see the amount of fish as I was expecting but we did have some stormy weather on some days and maybe that attributed to it. However, Shark Reef does live up to its name and should not be missed.

The staff of Toberua offer guests a service oriented experience from start to finish. All of our requests were immediately addressed without hesitation. The Toberua employees live on the island for a couple of weeks at a time and made us feel like part of the family. From the time we got up in the morning while Inoke and Eroni were grooming the island paths until late evening when Malakai would make his security rounds, they seemed to have a genuine interest with our daily activities and questions on their lives and culture. Joe was great leading our dives and to make sure that I didn't miss any underwater picture opportunities. He is also the funny one and always provided timely comic relief. Alan is in charge and always made time for us throughout the day to ensure that resort was doing all it could to provide a perfect stay and made us feel that we were top priority. The personalities of the staff make this resort very special.

There are many more offerings that deserve mention including a wonderful spa service but just too much to talk about. Toberua ultimately lived up to our 4 star expectations with only a few minor annoyances such as the pool cues being a little rough and not having chalk, ping pong table not level or drinks not being part of the all inclusive plan. Also, although it took us a week before we actually saw a sea snake (and we specifically went looking), it is possible that you will but staff are trained to return them to the sea. As told to us upon stepping foot onto the resort, there is as much or as little to do as you want. Our stay of 2 weeks flew by quickly and we left wanting more.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarinVader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toberua Island
21.0 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
476 reviews
16.5 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
21.3 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 13 in Suva
460 reviews
19.3 mi away
Five Princes Hotel
Five Princes Hotel
#5 of 13 in Suva
82 reviews
20.5 mi away
Quest Apartments-Suva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toberua Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toberua Island Resort

Property: Toberua Island Resort
Address: Toberua Island Tailevu | PO Box 3332 Nausori, Toberua Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Toberua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toberua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toberua Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toberua Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toberua Island Hotel Toberua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing