We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Toberua Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort(Suva)(Great Value!)
$38
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$130
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$81
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$64
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$113
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$256
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$294
$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveler rating
341
35
9
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
35
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslunch and dinnerfishsea snakesother guestslocal villageour honeymoonthe managersday tripwonderful staffa special placescuba divingpaddle boardinglow tideboat ridebar areafamily holidaymoment you arrive
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 392 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2010

In many years of travel, this is the first time we have felt compelled to write a review following our recent visit and most wonderful experience at Toberua Island Resort. This very special place occupies a small beautiful island, exemplifies peace and tranquility, and offers finely crafted traditional bures and quality personalized service provided by an exceptionally talented and friendly staff team. Toberua Island Resorts meets a very high standard combining quiet elegance with a genuinely relaxed and fun Fijian experience. All of this was evident in one of favourite take away memories - a sing along with the staff musicians late into the night after a round (or two!) of kava, while we watched the play of the moon and clouds across the water....pure magic...pure Fiji!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

Upon arrival and departure to the island, we were greeted by staff already in song with smiling faces and warmest wishes. A customary beating “drum” is used to gather everyone for this type of activity as well as a calling to signify that meals are ready to be served. Each evening before dinner, we were graced with a private serenade and then invited to cocktail hour at the bar for more singing and conversation with staff and guests. Since there are so few people on the island, this provides a real opportunity to meet some great people and what might be the start of a lasting friendship. There is also live singing at both lunch and dinner but if you want to really have a good time, then the Saturday night kava ceremony and BBQ buffet dinner cannot be missed.

The bures have recently been remodeled and are authentic to Fijian architecture and design. All windows have screens on the outside but it doesn't really matter as the trade winds keep the island bug free. Ceiling fans can be used to cool the room at night and to my surprise was more then enough to do the job. There were no issues with hot water and the bures are nicer then as seen on the website. You should be aware that one side of the island does experience a more consistent wind while the other side normally experiences no breeze and completely calm water.

The reef outside the restaurant is amazing especially when compared to my previous experience in several Caribbean locations. It is a little way out so if you are not seeing anything, don't be fooled into thinking it is not there. Just go out further. There is also a daily snorkel tour by boat and great snorkeling from Picnic Island if you choose to purchase that day trip. The diving operation offers the best gear I have seen when compared to at least 5 resorts I previously visited. They have full fins with booty, Aqua Lung BCD and regulators with any sign of not being 100% was taken out for service. I didn't see the amount of fish as I was expecting but we did have some stormy weather on some days and maybe that attributed to it. However, Shark Reef does live up to its name and should not be missed.

The staff of Toberua offer guests a service oriented experience from start to finish. All of our requests were immediately addressed without hesitation. The Toberua employees live on the island for a couple of weeks at a time and made us feel like part of the family. From the time we got up in the morning while Inoke and Eroni were grooming the island paths until late evening when Malakai would make his security rounds, they seemed to have a genuine interest with our daily activities and questions on their lives and culture. Joe was great leading our dives and to make sure that I didn't miss any underwater picture opportunities. He is also the funny one and always provided timely comic relief. Alan is in charge and always made time for us throughout the day to ensure that resort was doing all it could to provide a perfect stay and made us feel that we were top priority. The personalities of the staff make this resort very special.

There are many more offerings that deserve mention including a wonderful spa service but just too much to talk about. Toberua ultimately lived up to our 4 star expectations with only a few minor annoyances such as the pool cues being a little rough and not having chalk, ping pong table not level or drinks not being part of the all inclusive plan. Also, although it took us a week before we actually saw a sea snake (and we specifically went looking), it is possible that you will but staff are trained to return them to the sea. As told to us upon stepping foot onto the resort, there is as much or as little to do as you want. Our stay of 2 weeks flew by quickly and we left wanting more.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarinVader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

Toberua Island is a wonderful place to holiday either as a family or as a couple. The accomodation is truly amazing with beautiful ocean front bures which are comfortable and always clean and tidy. The hosekeeping staff do an amazing job and obviously keep very high standards.
By day the island is a place where you can relax or where you can exhaust yourself with activities there is everything from snorkling, kyaking, fishing and Fantastic Scuba Diving (with a world class, friendly and cute dive master) to swiming, golf and just lazing by the pool. The oportunities to explore the surrounding local villages and towns are a great idea and the village visit is a must for every visitor.
By night the island is peaceful and relaxed where wonderful food is cooked by a fantastic chef who does an amazing job with a wide range of food...if you love food, you wont be disappointed!!!
The local staff are fantastic and a real asset to the Island!!! The serenaders are fantastic with Eroni and Inoke truly amazing singers and definatly hidden talent!!
The only suggestion is that a fijian dancing or entertainment should be added, having stayed at other fijian resorts, it is always a great and enjoyable show where everyone has alot of fun.
Overall, Toberua is a fantastic choice where the budget wont break and you are sure to have a great time.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyAussietrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

This was our second time this year and our daughter (15) had a wow of a time. Is giving up Greece/Turkey to come again in 2010.
Weather not so hot but again a paradise.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ODOWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

From the moment we arrived on Toberua at sunset until the morning we left at sunrise, 7 days later ,we were treated, spoiled and pampered. Our accommodation was perfect for our family of four with plenty of space for us all to rest and relax. The bures are truely beautiful both inside and out and have everything you need for the perfect holiday. You only need to pack your clothes and leave your watch at home. You will not need it. Toberua time is dictated by the beating of the drum which signals breakfast, lunch, cocktails and dinner time. The drums will also let you know if newcomers are arriving or others are leaving the island.
Toberua is an authentic pacific island with tropical plants, fragapani ,palmtrees galore, warm sparlking water, beautiful coral reefs, white sand and lots of sun. Contrary to those who believe Suva is the wet side of Fiji, Toberua has it's own micro climate which gave us 7 days of uninterrupted sunshine. The New Zealand owners Glen and Joanne have ensured the resort's success by bringing together a talented team of people all dedicated to making your holiday one to remeber. All the staff wore genuine beaming smiles from dawn till dusk happy to be able to help you be it teaching you how to play crochet to ironing your shirts or remembering your favourite drink or singing your favouite song. The food at every meal was as good as our first. (seared eye fillet
with fresh market greens with fresh baked bread roles and creamy butter) The resort has a great wine list too, with very affordable wines from some of N.Z. best vineyards.
The Toberua experience is one that we will be revisiting. We loved the small size of the resort which allowed you to get to know others easily, especially at the end of each night around the bar when everyone jcame together to share their day and enjoy the music and great cocktails. During our time at Toberua we swam and snorlked out on the coral reefs, we had massages at the spa, we played crochet, golf, dived off the wharf, canoed and sailed. We visited an island atoll and local village. We watched a whale swim ioff the beach and for those of you worried about sea snakes, we only met one in our time at Toberua. My daughter was allowed to hold it and has a wonderful photo to show her friends. Our son learnt to Scuba dive and windsurf and our 9 year old daughter made many friends including the resident parrots, had her hair braided and mastered the canoe. We also managed to have lazy days sitting under the palm trees reading our books and sleeping. Our only care in the world was getting dressed for dinner which was a treat at the end of the day. We met some very nice and interesting people at Toberua which added to our holiday experiece. On our last night the Toberua team gave us a special farewell "moce" and presented us with a cake, flower necklaces and sang farewell. They made our holiday one to remeber and we are counting the days till our return to Toberua.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank campersAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews