We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fiji Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Toberua Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toberua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Toberua what can I say .We have been to Fiji 22 times, first time on Toberua certainly won't be the last. We had the best holiday ever. The staff, bures, food , who could ask for more. A big thankyou to Marty & Lisa for making our stay so memerable. The staff go out of their way to please, always a friendly smile.The village trip is a must and the fishing is great. I would recommend this island to any age group young or older

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann_melbourne_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 375 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2009

My family of five (8,11 & 13 year olds) stayed on Toberua Island for 10 nights over Christmas & New Year. This was our childrens first trip overseas, so this was 'big' for them! We found the Fijians to be genuinely beautiful & kind people, and we were looked after by some fabulous men and women who worked on the island and come from two neighboring island villages - so its a good relationship Toberua Resort has, employing them. We visited one of these villages and found that to be a major highlight of our stay in Fiji. We were presented with flower neckpieces and enjoyed the kava ceremony, whilst dancing with them. Their children of course were running around and really were just the most gorgeous kids. Three lovely young girls came up to my daughters wanting photos taken, smiling and laughing all the while. The Resort itself is more like a bed & breakfast with only 15 bures, its not busy, but runs at an organsied steady pace. They offer snorkelling trips out everyday, scuba diving, fishing (which our 8 year old son did everyday off the jetty), trolling, kayaks which we easily paddled right around the island. We did the Day trip to Levuka, a BBQ lunch on Picnic Island was also great fun (wear thongs as there is lots of old bits of sharp coral, I found out). A lovely pool, the tropical grounds & gardens are raked are groomed daily and are of a botanical garden standard. Beware the black & white sea snakes, they're all over the place, mostly at dusk and into the evening but we were told they're harmless - my son counted 64 of them in total, and he loved running around with his torch spotting them! They have a pool table, bar, pingpong, tidal golf, the staff play guitars and sing during lunch and dinner whilst enjoying some kava which you're more than welcome to sample. Theres a lovely avairy with 3 quirky parrots which we enjoyed feeding our 'leftovers' from brekky! All in all a great holiday, and we would dearly love to go back someday. It is expensive especially if you drink cocktails everynight, but overall we found it was worth it and have NO regrets. All the people who work there are happy, polite and fun, always willing to help you in any way. Thanks for some great memories guys. The Johnstons

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheVonJohnstons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2008

I have just stayed in this world class resort and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Very clean and nice rooms, good food and drinks, and very friendly staff. They have a wide variety of water activities and excursions that could be done in the resort. We went snorkeling and that was a really good experience! The resort is tucked away from the busy hussle and bustle of the city and does provide a perfect refuge for that relaxing Fijian holiday.Toberua has definitely exceeded my expectations. A must place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KiwiJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

I recently went to Toberua Island with my family, and I'll admit I was a bit worried before we went that it might not be that great for me as a 17 year old on a small island. However I couldn't have been more wrong. We have been fortunate enough to have had quite a few overseas holidays, and in particular several others in Fiji. Toberua Island was by far the best ! From the moment we arrived on the island we were greeted by the wonderful Fijian Staff and the new Kiwi managers, who throughout our entire 8 days worked tirelessly to ensure we had the best holiday ever. They always greeted us by name and went out of their way to ask how our day was etc. Marty the manager and his staff even farewelled us at 5.30am on the day we had to reluctantly go home ( Mum had to be nearly dragged off the island - she wanted to stay forever !)
The best parts for me were not only the people and the food but the awesome diving, fishing and day trips. I completed my Padi diving course which was the most amazing diving ever . Joe the instructor was fantastic and i can't wait to get back there and dive with him again. Other highlights were -
-learning to windsurf - perfect conditions to learn in the warm water temperatures.
- The trip to the local village was an absolute must for anyone staying on Toberua. I am studying yr 12 Geography and one of the topics is Disparities so this was amazing to actually see and experience everything we had been learning about.
-The picnic island trip - This was a long way from the island a good 30-40 min boat ride each way , so was very good value, and for anyone who is not that much of a water baby, you could snorkle and see some of the most amazing fish, coral etc in just over waist depth water !
- meeting one of our Kiwi heroes on his way home to NZ to show off his 1500m Bronze Medal from the recent Olympics !
Nic Wallis and his lovely wife Sierra arrived a day or so after us and we enjoyed many a game of Toberua Golf, pool and table tennis - and Yes he is good at all those sports too !! We had such a good time that we are remaining in contact via emails.
I could keep writing forever about this wonderful place, but better get back to my studies. Mum and Dad are already planning our next holiday there, hopefully next year. Provided my brothers and I keep behaving - so yes back to studying !!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Dacs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

This place had lovely people (the Fijian staff that is - more about the kiwi staff soon) and terrific gardens. The diving was also pretty good.

The best points were:
- lovely walk through gardens with great smelling flowers at night. Like a giant botanical house but easy to walk through
- a laid back and casual atmosphere
- terrific Fijian staff
- no bugs
- very comfy deck chairs, hammocks etc
- good internet speed.

The OK points were:
- the Bure - spacious and kept very clean
- the food. Good for Fiji (except for there being too little variety)
- the overall organising of things
- the clean sea - but a bit of a lack of beaches
- the pool. Clean and warm - but the main office looks directly over it
- staff will accommodate your interests such as fishing which from what I saw was very good.

The bad stuff:
- OK, not bad, just a terribly unprofessional GM (and financial controller - both new and from NZ as am I). See below.
- Picnic Island. This was pretty average with adequate food but when lunch is included on Toberua why the extra charge to travel 15 minutes to a very plain small Island to eat with other people?

The GM and financial controller are going to destroy the very friendly and hands on atmosphere that Toberua is known for if they are not careful. The GM does not introduce himself (unless you bump into him) - or make an effort to come an greet, or even meet guests in any planned way. The first thing he said to us when we did bump into him was an apology for the food as the main chef was away on leave - we hadn't mentioned the food. We thought the food was overall pretty good (for Fiji). A couple who didn't want the cooked breakfast asked for a second muffin but were told there were no more i.e. only one each. The GM also told us (when asked) that there is no bottled water provided (you can buy it) as the resort's water is cleaner. At this price you expect bottled water (or at least I do). They also price gouge in other little ways (like $8,50 per 15mins for the Internet).

Other points re the 'management'. The GM, financial controller and GM's family came to dinner the last night (a very nice bbq) - but got up and feed themselves when the food was ready before any guests got served. The GM and financial controller also dived into the pool with beers being delivered to them when we were there without any sort of 'do you mind' (which we don't but to be asked would be nice). Re the financial controller, he told us that our having purchased a package at a discount (via luxlink) is all very good for us, but not the resort.

Put simply, this place was great, is still pretty good but is in danger of losing its competitive advantages (its people and character). Love the people. like the place but work on the food and get rid of (or at least train) the GM. This may be his first resort but he is really letting down the Fijian team.

Currently 4* people and place, 3* food and 1* kiwi management - we may come back but will watch future reviews with interest.

Finally - much better than the Hilton Fiji.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Stu&Mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

If you are looking for a special Fiji Island experience, then we can recommend you make Toberua Island Resort your next destination. We have just spent 10 wonderful days there. This is a very pretty island and the real treasures here, are the exceptional Island staff with their beautiful smile, friendliness & willingness to please. They knew us by our first names within hours of arriving. The Island musicians serenaded us at our bure before dinner, then played throughout the evening while we dined, we then joined in with singing & dancing. The new owners were on the Island, while we were there, busy up-grading & fine tuning their new enterprise. The managers, Marty & Lisa are an outstanding, caring & consiencious couple, dedicated to their job. They & their staff go out of their way to make sure your holiday is just perfect. A highlight not to be missed is Wednesdays daytrip to Picinic Island. The swimming & snorkelling amongst beautiful colourful coral & fish is incredible, as is the BBQ lunch. Mondays afternoon trip to the neighbouring Island Village is another worthwhile experience.
Our days were fun-filled with swimming in the lovely pool, playing putting golf, reef golf, reef walks, glassbottom boat, fishing, canoeing, diving, snorkelling, evening volleyball with the staff, dancing,singing, laughter & eating the delicious food. We even managed to fit in the occasional afternoon nap. This is a great place for families or just a peaceful Island Retreat. Our memories of this wonderful place will linger long & the laughter of these lovely Toberua Island people will continue to echo in our ears.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Bubbles088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Possibly the best holiday we have ever had.
Reason being mainly the family of staff who genuinely care and provide wonderfull service.
The resort has recently changed hands and the new management was on board when we were there. Renovations are planed and some are needed.
The experience, the service, the snorkeling and diving are all excellent and great value.
We have had good and bad experiences in Fiji this one certainly was great.
Unpretentious with good food just a great place to be.
We went on to Qamea which was supposed to be the up market leg on our month in Fiji this time. What a mistake. Experiencing Fiji hospitality at its best makes it hard for others to match up and so this place, if it continues with its greatest asset which is its long serving staff, will spoil you for other experiences.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JosephPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toberua Island
21 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
585 reviews
16.5 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
20.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 13 in Suva
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
19.3 mi away
Five Princes Hotel
Five Princes Hotel
#5 of 13 in Suva
83 reviews
20.6 mi away
Town House Apartment Hotels Suva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toberua Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toberua Island Resort

Address: Toberua Island Tailevu | PO Box 3332 Nausori, Toberua Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Toberua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toberua Island
Price Range: $169 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toberua Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Toberua Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toberua Island Hotel Toberua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing