We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil & terrific”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Toberua Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toberua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquil & terrific”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife & I thoroughly enjoyed our eight nights in this little piece of paradise. I now understand the gushing praise given in previous reviews. Even though we arrived at night (in the dark), the next morning staff greeted us by name.
The bures are enormous. The meals, which are now compulsory and are paid for upon check-out, were all very good. Three-course lunches and four-course dinners, usually with two options (sometimes three) for each course. One dessert choice is always fresh fruit (with cheese, in the dinner menu). Meal times are 8-9am, 1-2pm & 7:30-9:00pm.
I’ll flesh out a few details that I didn’t understand before I had been. The bathroom is completely indoors. It has large glass-panelled doors opening out on to a small courtyard. When showering, you have a view out to sea over the courtyard wall. The resort’s activities aren’t all available every day. “Path putting” refers to the putt(ing) done in golf, not a placing of something as in “put” (call me dumb on that count!). The course follows the earthen/sand paths and has nine flagged holes. Path putting was offered twice during our stay, and reef golf wasn’t available at all. On most days a boat goes out on a snorkelling trip 11:00am-12:20ish. That snorkelling was excellent. Sometimes one of the staff blokes dives down and points out interesting details or brings up a starfish for you to handle. The resort has a small gym hut containing dumbells, a treadmill, a bike and an elliptical cross-trainer. Snorkelling from the island shore, there are plenty of fish to see but it's a fair swim out to the coral & anemones. There are plenty of kayaks, a standing paddle-board and a Hobie Cat. Near the resort’s bar (a convivial place with friendly staff!) are table tennis, bocce, darts and a pool table. There are also shelves full of books and board games. Guests are welcome to play volleyball with the staff at 5:00pm. Wi-fi is available only in a certain area (near the bar); it doesn’t extend across much of the island. 24 hours' use cost us FJD20 (about AUD12 at the time) and there are cheaper multiple-day deals.
For dinner on our tenth wedding anniversary, our table was placed out on the end of a pier, giving a magical experience of dining by candlelight under the stars. The wait-staff and singers all happily traipsed out to us and back. We were also treated to a (free) cake, specially iced with our names & the event - despite our earlier insistence that we didn’t want one. Wonderful. We hope to return to terrific Toberua.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    29
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
104
169
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have just returned from a week-long stay on Toberua where we enjoyed every single minute. It was the most relaxing holiday we have ever had. There is enough to do with swimming, snorkeling, diving, sailing the hobi cat, kayaking, fishing, playing volleyball with staff and going on the great excursion to a local village. Or forget all that, and just lie in the hammock outside your bure and listen to the waves a couple of meters away. Food is great with choices that always include some nice local fish. The serenaders who entertain during dinner (as well as at other times) also contribute to enjoyable meal times. But what really made our holiday special was the extremely friendly and cheerful staff. They knew everyone’s name and with their friendly smiles and caring attitude they managed to make us all feel special. Playing volleyball (along with lots of laughter) with them was a highlight. Thanks to all Toberua staff. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
美利滨
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Excellent food;
Excellent staff;
Spectacular views;
Very relaxing;
Excellent place for snorkelling; I would never ever believe I saw pictures of paradise - the picnic islands and the coral around the islands, blue star fish, and Nimo!

Make sure you have enough credit limit in your card. or just work harder man. for your partner or for your family...

Room Tip: all rooms look excellent to me. all is ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yang Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in June 2012 for a week and from the moment we got there, the staff welcomed us with open arms. They were so friendly and made us feel like we were one big family. The food was so beautiful and they always serenaded us with their beautiful voices. The staff always had a smile on their faces. We went with my sister and her family. A total of 8 of us. 4 adults, 2 10 year old boys and 2 12 year old boys. The boys loved it so much. They would sit at the bar and order their drinks and there was plenty for them to do. The staff made them feel special. We visited one of the villages which was so well organised. It was great to see their culture. We visited the school and they did a special song for us followed by a welcome ceremony in the hall. We will definitely visit Toberua again and we loved that it was so private and we felt like we were the only ones there. It was sad to leave. My sister and I even shed some tears when we said our goodbyes!!!!! See you again and hopefully soon. BULLA!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleni1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have found our little slice of heaven! We booked this place after reading such good things on here and we are glad that we did. We decided on Fiji as we needed a week to relax and spend some quality time together and Toberua was perfect for just that! From the moment you arrive on the Island you feel relaxed and I did worry that I would not be able to switch off in just a week but I did after about 10 mins. I turned my phone off and did not know what was going on in the outside world! The place has a wonderful ‘home away from home’ feel and when we asked one of the housekeepers if it was ok for us to move our sun loungers down onto the sand, they responded with ‘you can do what you like, it’s your home’ That made me smile! The food was lovely, home cooked and we did not eat the same meal twice, the staff were all so friendly and remembered our names from day 1 and I LOVED the fact that we did not have to worry about keys, money or security for the week. We left everything open all of the time and the only thing that I had to worry about was the fact that my book fell apart. We also loved the inside/outside bathroom and the hammocks, perfect for some afternoon reading when you have had too much sun. We stayed in Bure 12A and we think that it was the best one, you can sunbathe right outside and it is very private. My boyfriend and I loved it so much that we have said that we would love to get married there, you can book the entire island out for $4,000 AUD a night. We met some lovely people who we are going to stay in touch with and I cannot recommend this place enough! Toberua Dreaming, I can’t wait to book it again!

The only thing that I would suggest is getting the domestic flight from Nadi to Suva. We got a taxi as the flight had sold out but it took about 4 hours so made the journey quite long. We did get to see some more of Fiji though so that was a plus.

If you are thinking of going to Fiji then this is the place……

Room Tip: 12A, very private and great for some sunbathing in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shabalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynyard
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Wow our holiday on Toberua was the most magnificent experience we have ever had in the tropics. From the minute you arrive untill it's time to leave you are treated as valued guests of this island home. Our holiday was just so good. Max and Sandie and all the staff are warm, fun loving and truly amazing. The food was incredible, the snorkeling and scuba diving was brilliant with very talented dive masters. Our dive on sacred reef was very special, really loved seeing the reef sharks! Toberua is definitely a holiday experience that is wonderful for couples & friends. The time spent arround the bar before and after diner was relaxing and enjoyable. We meet some remarkable people here. We are planing to return in 2014! Vinaka Max & Sandie and all the Toberua family.

Room Tip: If you like fresh breeze blowing through your Bure check the weather patterns of that time of year...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Toberua is a beautiful island about 30 minutes from Suva. It is small but beautifully presented, the staff were what truly put the icing on the holiday. Never have I been to a resort where the care and the personal service has been better even close to this!
The food was amazing, in 8 days of staying we didn't have a meal twice, presentation was superb.
While the beach is small and not as pristine as other Fijian beaches, it is still clear and clean with plenty to do. The village trip and Picnic Island are a must!
Definitely will be returning someday soon! Thank you Toberua for an excellent stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carleight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toberua Island
21.0 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
478 reviews
16.5 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
21.3 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 13 in Suva
462 reviews
19.3 mi away
Five Princes Hotel
Five Princes Hotel
#5 of 13 in Suva
82 reviews
20.5 mi away
Quest Apartments-Suva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toberua Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toberua Island Resort

Property: Toberua Island Resort
Address: Toberua Island Tailevu | PO Box 3332 Nausori, Toberua Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Toberua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toberua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toberua Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toberua Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toberua Island Hotel Toberua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing