We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything about this place is Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Toberua Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toberua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Everything about this place is Amazing!

Bula!

We are an American Family from Phoenix Arizona and were ready for some rest and relaxation. I never would have dreamed that when we booked this trip and especially the Toberua resort with Journey Pacific, it would have left such a positive impression. Flying from Phoenix, to LA, to Fiji is quite a time and energy commitment but well worth it. Fiji is simply amazing butToberua was what really made the difference for us. The staff is lovely. There are only 14 rooms and at least 20 staff members so you get amazing personalized service. The staff is so kind and they went out of their way to get to know you. They would take my 11 year old daughter for walks the beach to show her shells, and marine life. They did a basket weaving demonstration and we got a chance to partake in their church services and kava ceremonies.

Every room is ocean front and recently remodeled. They are quaint but very comfortable and you cannot beat the view from your bed.

The pace is slow but there is never a shortage of things to do. Here is a typical day: Breakfast at 8:30 AM, dive or snorkel trips at 11:00, Lunch at 1:00 PM, an activity in the afternoon such as visiting a local village (AMAZING), volleyball at 5:00 and dinner and cocktails in the evening. You can join or skip any of these activities if you just want to lounge. The food is fantastic and the staff and Aussie guests were all very kind to our American Family.

We liked this place so much that we left the second resort that we were scheduled to stay at and went back!! I will leave their name off of this review, but needless to say this cost us. It was worth every penny to go back and be with our friends at Toberua.

When arriving via boat 7ou are greeted by the staff on the boat dock singing and playing guitar. When you leave they sing a goodbye song that left my wife in tears. I cannot say enough about the staff. They are so warm and genuine and I feel as though I really made friends. We are even on Facebook with a few. A quick shout out to (Pita, Mini, Amore, Israeli, Bale, Charles, James, Joanna and Zac). Shelly the GM is very kind, informative and accommodating as well.

We are already planning our trip back and Carol at Journey Pacific gets my whole hearted recommendation if you are looking for some help with booking or some good deals.
Vinaka

~Jim

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JimG719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 366 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

My partner and i just returned from a week long stay at Toberua. My partner had come across Toberua by chance on tripadvisor, and judging by the positive reviews, we thought we had to try it. We were so happy we chose to, it was one of the nicest holidays we've had in a long time.

Our first concern was that there didnt appear to be much to do on the island, and even though we wanted a relaxing holiday, we worried we might get a bit bored. Strangely we never were, and by our last 2 days were fretting that we hadnt done all of the things we had wanted to do! Each day there is a snorkelling trip organised where the staff take a boat out to a nearby reef or sandbar or something and guests can dive or snorkel. We only went on one trip (i wish we'd done more), to a place called 'sacred reef' i believe, and it was amazing! Wish we had taken the opportunity and gone on more of these trips. We also went on a day trip to Picnic Island which guests have to pay an additional charge for - it was amazing (although pack a hat and lots of sunscreen!), a boat trip through the mangroves nearby, and also a trip to a local village. All were fantastic and we were so glad we did them. We also had massages at the spa, used the kayaks and canoes (a kayak to 'two tree island is well worth the effort'), snorkelled and played table tennis, but also had plenty of time also for relaxing activities like reading, sunbaking, drinking at the bar etc.

The rooms were great. Very comfortable and roomy and the bed was big and comfortable. The bathrooms were also nicely fitted with one of the best showers i've had in a long time (nice and hot and great water pressure!). Plus each bure has its own hammock, sun lounges and swinging chair thing, all metres from the water, so there are plenty of places to lounge about and take in the view. Also the restuarant was lovely - we were really impressed with the food on offer on the meal plan, although agree the breakfast did get a bit repetitive after a week of similar food each morning. Lunch and dinner were fantastic though.

Finally the staff were amazing, they remembered everyones names and were incredibly friendly and helpful. When leaving, many of the staff said that they hoped we would come back - and i dont doubt that they would still remember everything about us if we came back in a years time!

Recommendations - bring plenty of books/magazines or something similar with you. We only had one real rainy day on our trip but were so glad we had good books to read indoors while it rained outside. Also we werent sure if we would need fijian dollars or not, so exchanged about $AU100 at the airport just in case. We never needed cash at the resort (everything was charged to your room), but it was handy to have some fijian dollars for the village trip where souveniers can be bought and a donation made if you choose.

Oh and the trip from suva airport to Toberua can be a little disconcerting - its a 30min maybe drive from suva airport, down backstreets and dirt roads to a marina (which is a non-descript river bed), and then a 30 minute boat ride in a small boat to the resort. We arrived late at night and with the car trip and the boat ride, we did wonder if were going to the right place, but fear not, you will get to Toberua!

Room Tip: Bure 12 was on a less attractive area of beachfront (still very nice though), but had more privacy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annalies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My partner and I, having not had a holiday together for 12 months, thought we would book a quick trip away for 5 nights over the June long weekend. We decided to go to Fiji, having only been once before, many years ago, and so my partner was charged with finding our accommodation.

I had asked for us to stay at an island that was quite private and so, using only tripadvisor ratings as a guide, he booked Toberua.

Well.

After missing our connecting flight we arrived in the dark and were a little frustrated and tired to say the least. But as soon as we met the boat to take us out to Toberua, so began the most relaxing 5 days and nights I have ever had.

The staff were incredible, the food was fantastic, the atmosphere was warm, happy, private, relaxing, and just beautiful. The staff really make this island; they are all like a large family and that is exactly how we felt when we stayed on the island.

No request was too much difficulty, the staff were amazing and the guests who stayed on the island at the same time we did were lovely. One couple were staying for their 30th time, the island and staff truly a part of their extended family; their youngest son who also came with his wife to stay on the island were married there. That exemplifies the atmosphere at Toberua: it is a beautiful haven where you can be as social or as secluded as you like... and the accommodation in our separate bure was perfect. A word of warning though: don't challenge Emori to a game of pool, you won't have a chance!!!!

5 nights was far too short - we will definitely make this a yearly trip and we are hanging out until we can return!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing - try not to stay right next to the bar though, it could get a little noisy on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife has also done a review, but as we sometimes see things slightly differently I opted to add a few points of my own, to be read in conjunction with hers. We made a last minute decision to flee the cold of New Zealand to Fiji, and chose Toberua on the basis of the glowing reviews on tripadvisor. Most of the resorts are in the Manamuca or Yasawa islands to the west of the main island, but Toberau sits almost on its own on the southeastern side. We flew by Air New Zealand, from Auckland which necessitated a 3 hour wait at the modern Nadi airport before we took a connecting flight of 25 minutes to the capital Suva. Don't think because its the capital that it has a great airport, it's small and very, very basic. The alternative is a pretty grim 3.5 hour journey by road, flying is definitely the best option. We later discovered that there was a much better option, the Friday/Monday Air Pacific flight from Auckland direct to Suva, arriving at lunch time rather than late afternoon. A 20 minute ride in an old taxi got us to the tiny wharf on the estuary where we were met by the banged up hotel boat for a 30 minute ride to the island. After going to some of the worlds finest (but admittedly a lot more expensive) resorts such as Four Seasons in Bora Bora, Tahiti, we wondered what we had got ourselves into.

However, arrival on the island dispelled any qualms, at only 4 acres in size with 15 bures, its very intimate, easy to get around, and we felt totally comfortable in letting our 11 year old daughter run around freely without any parental supervision. All rooms overlook the sea or the beach, the Deluxe rooms are very large, with a Queen sized bed and two singles , chairs, coffee table, desk and still oodles of room. The rooms are nicely appointed in traditional Fijian style, probably better than most islands in Fiji, with new modern bathrooms. Outside is a covered deck area with a double swing chair, two loungers, plus below that adjacent the waters edge two more loungers and a huge hammock. Absolutely picture perfect!

We had the opportunity to meet Glen and Joanne the owners while we were there, lovely people. They have invested hugely in upgrading the island facilities over the past 4 years since they bought the island, with new bathrooms in all bures, generators supplying 24 hr power, but so quiet as to be inaudible, 15,000 L of water is brought in daily from the mainland and tastes like pure spring water, and gas fed showers ensured an endless supply of hot water, not to mention new kitchens, internet access etc. There is a smallish, but really nice pool area.

The highlights were a) the friendly staff, best we have met anywhere, and very genuine, most had been there umpteen years, Zac the head barman for 18 years, all knew our first names from day 1 without even meeting us ! b) the resort itself, comfy large rooms (the fans do a great job, don't be put off that there is no aircon) c) the "bands", actually two or three of the gardeners, played magnificent music strumming to guitars every lunch, dinner and after-dinner, music that was greatly appealing to us in the 30-50's age range, d) doing the diving course, e) the fact that everything was just so easy and relaxing f) reasonably priced drinks at the bar, not the over-inflated extortion you get in Tahiti in and many other places and last but not least, the kid-friendly nature of the place.

So, what doesn't quite measure up ? a) The breakfasts were boring, two cereals, four pieces of the same fruit day after day, same muffin type for 7 of the 10 days, no pastries/danishes/cold meats, one hot choice of eggs each day. The lunches and dinners however, were reasonably varied and of a high standard b) lack of wireless internet in our bure, this was a technical issue, an underground cable had been cut and they were trying to trace the fault, so we had to use the wireless internet from the lounge/bar area c) internet is provided by Vodafone 3G so it's "broadband" but by no means fast, ok for web browsing but to download a magazine of 240Mb to my ipad took several hours. We bought a Fiji Vodafone 3G wi-fi modem at Nadi airport but unfortunately had no reception on the island d) the table tennis table was far from level, but especially the bats were in shocking condition, fortunately I suspected this might happen so took our own set, come on, $25 for a set of bats even if they have to be replaced every month or two is nothing compared with your other expenditure-lets not let little things like this detract from an otherwise great impression ! e) the visibility diving was a bit disappointing (? may be better at different times of the year or perhaps it was the windy weather that blew in), and the snorkeling not as good as we have experienced in Moorea or Bora Bora- great corals but fish variety/size quite limited f) the fitness "centre" consisted of a small room with a rowing machine and a exercycle.

Overall, we liked the place enough to book a return trip next year before we even left, and that's something we have never done before !!!, but it's advisable to choose the sheltered beach side of the island rather than the side we were on which was the windy side.

Room Tip: Deluxe or Premium bure on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank richard_s_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We made a last minute decision to go away and booked for ten days on Toberua Island Resort. We hadn't researched the resort except a quick look at trip advisor which was positive, and so it was really pot luck. Well, we struck gold. From the moment we arrived until we left, the staff were absolutely amazing. Ten days flew by and we seemed to be occupied most of the time. We did the open water diving course (PADI) and can very highly recommend this. Our 11 year old daughter did it too and she was very well looked after and we felt safe at all times thanks to our instructor Isareli. The water was beautiful and warm and some lovely coral and aquatic life.
The food was nice, but a bit limited in choice at times, with only a few varieties of fruit available throughout our stay. Breakfasts are limited with an option of one hot dish per day and 2 cereals, toast and muffins. We had the meal plan which i think is good value for money.
The rooms are very spacious and well appointed, bathrooms are recently renovated and very nice.
It is a fantastic place to take kids as they all mix and form their own "kids club" and the staff are always ready to help out. The island is only 4 acres so the kids just run around to there hearts content.
Zac, the barman can make a mean cocktail, so 6 0'clock drinks become a ritual!
We enjoyed our stay so much that before we left, we booked to return next year.

Room Tip: You need to be on the wind free side of the island in the winter months, we were in bure 11 which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ElleNZ2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I just returned from what was supposed to be a 9 night stay on Toberua Island. Sometime around the 4th day we started fretting that we should have booked for a longer stay because we were enjoying ourselves and the company of the lovely guests and darling staff so much. At our farewell dinner we jumped-up at the last possible moment as the Toberua Serenaders were about to sing our farewell song and said STOP! We didn't care that we just lost all our flight refunds - we just couldn't bare to leave. We still agree that it was the best decision we made for a long time. The extra time gave us more oportunities to carry-on relaxing, laughing, eating, snorkling on the magnificent reefs, dancing and enjoying the company of wonderful new friends while the staff spoilt us with their kindness and happy ways.
If you are looking for high-end chic sophistication - don't go to Toberua. If you are looking for a holiday that totally relaxes you and makes you long for your next stay - this is the place. You won't find 3000 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets but you will find pristine clean rooms, comfortable beds, wholesome fresh and tasty food and a beautifully stocked bar that reveals incredible stories of visits from international stars that have enjoyed the beauty of the island and surrounding views. An example - we didn't know that Billy Connolly had married there or that Sir Edmund Hillary regularly brought his family for holidays! One of the two couples that we met were on their thirtieth+ trip which they had done over a period of 30 years - even had their sons wedding there! Another couple were only on their 5th trip - their first was their 25th wedding aniversary some 20 years ago.
My husband and I have travelled to some exotic places over the years and stayed in some extremely high-end hotels as well as home stays with locals. There have been some good experiences and some bad. This one, I am delighted to report was 'all good'. We have never felt so relaxed and so sad to leave. We even thought of keeping it a secret - selfish huh!
Aching to go back to our new second home, Toberua, we will see you in our dreams.

Room Tip: The rooms are all very similar. The more expensive ones are slightly larger and have a sandy beach t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ALLISON A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We completely loved our stay on Toberua Island. If you have active, busy children don't be afraid to book your holiday here. We only booked for a week because we thought that maybe our boys, 8 and 10, might get bored - the island is only 4 acres and there's no tv or computers. We were delighted to be wrong. They had the best, best time. There is so much to do on this island, or if you prefer to chill then you're every whim is catered for.

Without a doubt the highest recommendation goes to the staff who are all just so, so delightful. The staff make this island and deserve the highest recognition for their endless endeavours to spoil and luxuriate.

What did we like the most? It would be easier to list the things we didn't enjoy. So, here they are .....
zero - zilch - nothing. Truly, truly everything was a divine as it looks on the toberua.com website and the information we gleaned from travellers reviews.

Interestingly the island resort operates an 'education scholarship' for local village children to attend high school. Guests are able to contribute to this fund, which helps local village families send their children to high school and would otherwise be difficult given the subsistence living that many fijian workers and villages eek out.

We can't wait to return - it feels like our island home. In the words of our 10 year old son - "Even I had tears in my eyes when we left because I loved it so much"
Vinaka vaka levu Toberua.

Room Tip: The recreation and restaurant bures are on the leeward side of the island. The accommodation bures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smc810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toberua Island
21.0 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
555 reviews
16.5 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
20.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 13 in Suva
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
20.6 mi away
Tanoa Plaza Suva
Tanoa Plaza Suva
#6 of 13 in Suva
174 reviews
20.6 mi away
Town House Apartment Hotels Suva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toberua Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toberua Island Resort

Address: Toberua Island Tailevu | PO Box 3332 Nausori, Toberua Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Toberua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toberua Island
Price Range: $183 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toberua Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Toberua Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toberua Island Hotel Toberua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing