We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveler rating
445
33
24
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
33
24
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews qamea resort our honeymoon my husband and i outdoor shower beach house dive shop other guests fish village tour lunch and dinner band boys day bed travel agent bouma waterfall kava ceremony cocktail hour scuba diving
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 518 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2015

Qamea is as close to paradise as I could ever have imagined.
Upon arrival by speedboat (10 minutes) I was greeted by members of staff singing and a flower lei was given as a welcome. I have to say that this is an excellent way to start your holiday and makes you feel happy and extremely special.
It's all about the detail in this fabulous resort with wonderfully appointed bures that ooze luxury and beauty. Each thatched bure has incredibly comfortable beds, outdoor showers, sinks made from rock and a hammock on the decking at the front of the bure. A lot of thought and effort has gone into the design of the buildings in the resort and it really shows.
The main restaurant is in a huge thatched building with plenty of character and the food is heavenly. Meal times are always as event and the staff make you feel at home. The owners (Ron and Bryce) are incredibly welcoming and it feels as if you are having a meal in their home with friends.
The 5 star PADI Dive Centre is brilliant and I don't think there are many better ones in Fiji. There is loads of modern equipment and plenty of excellent dive sites within easy reach. I completed my PADI OW certification here and Ron was able to arrange this at very late notice. There are regular visits to Rainbow Reef and the Great White Wall as well as other 2 tank dive sites. Snorkeling and surfing are also really popular here and there is a dedicated surf instructor based in the resort.
The resort is covered with lush rainforest and there are also plenty of walks that can be taken around the island. There is also a jungle spa which is nicely tucked away in the tree tops and the treatments here are some of the best in Fiji.
Qamea has certainly got everything you could want from a honeymoon, dive holiday or relaxing holiday as well as the added bonus of feeling part of a large family as soon as you arrive. The staff here always seem to be happy and smiling and nothing is too much trouble.
Vinaka and hope to be back again soon!

Stayed: April 2015
Thank christopherwibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnersAtQamea, General Manager at Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2015

Bula christopherwibble,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at Qamea. We are so delighted to read that you enjoyed the comfortable, luxuriant bures, and the welcoming staff.
We are very proud of our beautiful jungle spa, as well as our internationally-trained team of spa therapists; we are also proud of our 5 Star PADI Dive Center and our exceptional team of local and international dive professionals. We are fortunate to be located so near to some of the best dive sites in northern Fiji – we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time above and below the water!
Our dedicated surf instructor keeps very busy in surfing season (November – April), and the snorkeling on our house reef and the nearby reefs is beautiful year-round.
But by far the most valuable part of the Qamea experience are our wonderful local staff – and their remarkable capacity for making all guests feel so welcome here in their island home.
Once again, we are so delighted that you enjoyed your time here, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again sometime! Warmest regards from ALL the team at Qamea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2015

My wife and I recently visited Qamea Resort and Spa for our honeymoon and we had an amazing time. The resort was truly a unique vacation experience. First of all - it is small and intimate. Max capacity is approx 30 people and the nights we were there - it was far fewer than that. This created a vacation experience that both my wife and I have never experienced before. Everybody knew each other at the resort. Fellow guests interacted casually with each other and the staff. Nightly happy hours was a chance for everyone to socialize and have a drink. The resort makes every effort to make sure the guests have an authentic Fiji experience. We visited a local village, participated in a Kava Ceremony, and watched countless songs and dances. The food was fantastic! Best we ever had at an inclusive resort.

Some things to consider when visiting. This resort is a quiet one. There are activities everyday, but there is plenty of down time. There is no television in the rooms and the night ends after dinner. If you are looking for excitement, this place is not for you. If you are looking for rest & relaxation, you will get plenty. Bring lots of books!

Highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnersAtQamea, General Manager at Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2015

Hi Byran K,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review - we could not agree more that Qamea is indeed an extremely unique resort experience. We are delighted that you & K. enjoyed your honeymoon - it was such a pleasure to have you here with us. The small size of the resort, coupled with the extremely private layout of the grounds & bures creates a singular atmosphere at cocktail hour, for any guests who wish to attend. It is something that everyone - after a quiet day relaxing on the beach or trekking to the waterfall - really looks forward to. It is such a delight to watch guests suddenly materialize from a day in their own personal paradise to trade stories and enjoy the sunset.
Certainly one of the most unique things about Qamea Resort & Spa is our location - a tiny island in the remote north or Fiji, surrounded by small quaint villages and lush, stunning landscapes. This allows for an authentic cultural experience which really is incomparable - we are delighted that you enjoyed the informative Kava ceremony, as well as the traditional dancing and the visit to the beautiful local village.
We do our utmost to ensure that the quality and variety of the food is of an exceptional standard - and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience.
On behalf of all staff, thank you again for taking the time to share your experiences here - it would be such a delight to welcome you back again someday. Warmest regards from ALL the team at Qamea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2015

We recently visited the property and were absolutely thrilled with each and every detail of our vacation. The previous reports of all the details were very accurate so I won't itemize - the highlight for us was the entire Qamea team! From the moment we arrived we were always greeted by our names, our food preferences were remembered and honoured at all times. Diving with Rob and Moses, paddle boarding with Sammy, yoga with Helene, the spa with Charlotte, excursions with Edmond, all made our ten days beyond compare. The entire restaurant team was outstanding from prep to service to entertainment. Sia, Eddie, Bubba, John, Sonia, Katarina and all the others made each meal a memorable experience, we truly felt like family. Chris and Leah were wonderful managers always checking to see if there was anything they could do to enhance our experience. There is no question that this resort is the ultimate choice to take in all of Fiji's untouched beauty.

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnersAtQamea, General Manager at Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2015

Hi Cindy M,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Qamea - it was such a delight to have you & J. with us! We think J. must have set the record for doing the most dives in one trip, and certainly for taking the most photographs! We are so thrilled that you felt like a part of the family here, and felt well cared for by the staff. Here at Qamea we try to provide the utmost in privacy and relaxation for all guests wishing to spend a quiet trip in the hammock or on the beach; and also a vast array of activities for guests who wish to spend their days exploring the jungle, the sea and the extraordinary local culture. We are delighted that you enjoyed the diving, snorkeling, hiking, paddle-boarding, and of course the yoga program with our fabulous yoga instructor. Thank you once more for taking the time to share this beautiful review - it would be such a delight to welcome you back again! Warmest regards from ALL the team at Qamea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2015

We stayed at Qamea in mid September for 10 nights so this review is a little late but it does not change the fact how wonderful your resort is. The best feature is the resort staff. We have travelled to Fiji around 25 times and have done the big hotels to the smallest of islands miles from anywhere and have not met more genuine Fijians, ever.
You have read all the other reviews which are all very positive so we do not need to go over the same stuff but one thing we want to say is we had an issue with our air conditioner and it was about 6.00pm and just would not cool, we phoned reception and reported it thinking they will attend to it tomorrow, within 10 minutes the repair guy was there and re-gassed the unit and it was fantastic from then on. Now that is service.
We enjoyed going to breakfast each morning and Charlotte telling us what the spa special of the day was. Our 17 year old son did his advanced diving coarse and as rescue divers we were very pleased to see the depth of training they put into his teachings.
One dive we did took about 45 minutes to get to and it was like diving the old waters of Fiji with brilliant colour and heaps of marine life.
We stayed in a Royal Beach Bure (Qui) which was certainly worth the upgrade with its own plunge pool and a spa bath (jacuzzi) and a lot of room. At night we were given a cocktail each together with a plate of hot snacks which we did a couple of times in our roomnincluding one when it was pouring with rain and at 5.00 there was a knock on our door with 2 beautiful smiling faces with our cocktails under the umbrella, once again that is service. The other nights we would walk down to the bar and ask Bubba to whip something up which he would do as well as Tom Cruise in the movie "Cocktail" and he has a singing voice that is certainly better than Tom Cruises.
We put a lot of research into going to Qamea so you can take my word that this place is great, so just go, life is too short to do beige.

Room Tip: Royal Bures are certainly worth the extra with their own plunge pool and spa bath (jacuzzi) and a lot more room.
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Muzwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnersAtQamea, General Manager at Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2015

Hi Muzwilltravel,
It was such a delight to read your beautiful review, thank you so much for taking the time to share this! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience here, it was such a pleasure to meet you guys.
We do our best to keep all aspects of the resort operations running meticulously here on our tiny tropical island. But sometimes contingencies do arise! It is for this reason that we always have a maintenance technician on the property, 24/7 in order to ensure a prompt response to any requests - we are so pleased to read that you were quickly and competently looked after.
We remember L.s Advanced Open Water course fondly - he did so well, and was a pleasure to teach! Our PADI dive instructors have been teaching and guiding around these reefs for many, many years and take a great deal of pride in their work. The wealth of experience that both of you have - as divers, and in your incredibly extensive previous travels through-Fiji - makes your appreciation of the care given to L's PADI Advance course all the more valuable to us - thank you again for taking the time to share this.
The spacious Royal Beach Houses are perfect for couples seeking privacy and seclusion; and also ideal for families with older children - we are please to hear that you were comfortable there, and that you particularly enjoyed the complimentary evening cocktail service that we provide for all Royal Beach House bookings!
Cocktail hour is a tradition we take seriously here at Qamea - and a knowledgeable barman is essential! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the beverages AND the singing entertainment provided by Bubba (who blushed very proudly when we passed on your review to him to read!), and the beautiful smiling faces of all the other staff. It really was a pleasure to have you stay with us and become part of the family.
On behalf of all staff, we want to thank you again so much for sharing your experiences in this review - it would be such a pleasure to welcome you back someday for more diving adventures & cocktails! Warmest regards from ALL the team at Qamea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here after travelling Australia for 5 weeks and this was the best way to end this fantastic trip. Excellent diving, extremely friendly staff, they do everything they can to make your stay memorable. The SPA treatment night of decadence is really worth it! Only tip if you are not a big eater, the mealplan might not be worth too much (food!). Finally, never expected to have true Italian pizza on Fiji!

Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Karibu2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnersAtQamea, General Manager at Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Hi ATripAdvisor Member,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us. Our award winning jungle spa is definitely one of the most popular places on the resort - and the Night of Decadence combines all of the most spectacular elements of our service - from the traditional Fijian warrior escort to the luxurious tropical body scrub, massage & facial that follows, to the champagne supper by candlelight.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience here with us. Our menu covers a broad range of Pacific/European styles, but our gourmet pizza is distinctly Italian!
Thank you again so much for taking the time to share your experience here at Qamea - we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again some day! Warmest regards from ALL the Qamea team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews