We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Qamea Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is a really hard review to write because there were so many great things but also a few disappointing things we experienced in our week at Maqai. It's a wonderful place that perhaps could put more effort into the guest experience.

On the plus side, it's an amazingly beautiful beach with a reef right out front teeming with sea life! There are fresh coconuts you can eat and it really is a tropical paradise. The food was excellent - fresh and healthy and delicious. The music in the evenings was fun and great to gather together with everyone. One night there was a fire show which was fantastic! The staff were all very sweet and kind people with the best of intentions. The little island of Nanuku was gorgeous!

On the disappointing side, my husband was really looking forward to going surfing and in the 7 days we were there, the waves apparently weren't large enough on any of those days to go surfing (although we've surfed on small waves before so not sure we couldn't just go out and try) It was disappointing because it's advertised as a surf resort we kept asking to go but no dice. In our room the toilet was clogged and it took 4 days to get it plungered including us following up 4 separate times as to what was happening. A few times they promised to do things for us and then completely forgot, and when we asked about it there wasn't an acknowledgement or apology that they forgot, it was strange.
Sometimes we felt like we really had to push to get activities going, for example reminding about 4 times that we'd like to go to Nanuku island. Maybe the high quantity of kava every night made staff lethargic the next day? I'm not sure but I felt like I was bothering people by continuously asking for these things.

The overall feeling we left with was that everyone was very nice, but that we didn't feel very important to them, like we were an afterthought.

As a final note, on the days she was at the resort, Tex made a special effort to organize fun things for us and make us special things, and I think she deserves HUGE kudos for being so thoughtful and making an effort. She really made our time there special - thanks Tex!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Bula Kristina. We thank you for your honest review and are glad that there were many great things as part of your Maqai Experience, and as you say: that the staff were all very sweet and kind people with the best of intentions. However, we are obviously very concerned that you had some not so great experiences. The Directors, Manager and staff most sincerely apologize that your stay was less than perfect and we have taken your review very seriously. We have undertaken a thorough investigation and implemented a number of actions to ensure our guest experience is continually at the expected high level of quality, and that every guest is important and feels included and special. We have never had feedback of this nature previously as the Maqai Experience is always something that people just speak so warmly about in terms of hospitality and inclusiveness, and in your review it is very apparent you still had that feeling most of the time during your stay, with the long list of factors you wrote on the plus side. Vinaka (Thankyou) for the so very kind words about Tex and how she made your time at Maqai special by being very thoughtful and making things for you. She will appreciate the feedback.
Our investigation revealed that the manager was away in Suva during the week of your stay, and as you pointed out a bit too much of the Qamea Island kava (well known for its high potency) was probably consumed at night, which made for plenty of fun and late nights around the kava bowl with singing and laughter, but made things a bit slower and lethargic during the day on some occasions (i.e. sleepy Fiji Time). We have acted on this and implemented a new kava policy limiting the amount, to ensure this is not repeated in future.
The surf has been amazing over the last 3 months and that was a real pity that it was so very small during your stay. All of us surfers wish we could always book prefect waves in during our stay, but alas nature has the final say in this area. The staff have said they felt the waves were just too small to surf on a coral reef and were concerned for your safety. This is a common rule at all Fiji surf resorts where a precautionary approach is taken. We have reminded them to explain this clearly to guests, and in future just take people out to the waves so they can be part of the wave assessment and get a close up look themselves. All surfers know that anxious feeling when you really want to get out in the waves, but it is too small or too windy. Our guides love to surf, so we can assure you that if it was surfable they would have had you out on the waves. We do hope you come back to get the surf pumping and experience Maqai Paradisi (Paradise) as it really is something special. Once again Vinaka vaka levu (thankyou very much) for the review.
Ni sa moce (Goodbye)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    25
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
56
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed with at Maqai Beach with 9 other family members. We all had a great time with something to do for everyone. The reef break on the left is unlike any wedge I've ever surfed, mind blowing!! Maqai Beach enjoys cool breezes, hosted by beautiful people that become like family. Your eating amazing healthy food in paradise. What more could you want!! The people and place will change your life!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ispysurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Bula Vinaka Secret Surfer Sssshhhhhhh!! don't tell anyone else about that wedging left we want to keep it a secret (lol).
From Elenoa the Manager of Maqai and her wonderful team of staff we are so pleased to hear of your fantastic stay with us. Its a common message that we hear from guests of the amazing people and great place on Qamea Island, and how it feels like home with family. We are so glad you found the food to be healthy and delicious Da kana! (Bon Appetit).
Vinaka (thankyou) for taking the time to give us such a special review we look forward to having you back with your family and friends for some more Maqai fun times, great food and more excitement surfing at wedgez. Vinaka vaka levu (Thankyou very much).
Ni sa moce (Goodbye).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Though I'm back in the cold winter of Canada, I find my thoughts are still at Maqai Beach. We visited in April of 2013, after 5 months in New Zealand. We arrived at Bamboo hostel in Nadi and were talked into the North Fiji Backpackers project. It was by far the best decision I've ever made. The guides take you right from Bamboo to Suva, where you board the ferry to Taveuni. Though it was meant to be about a 20 hour ferry ride, it turned into 27 hrs. But you know what they say, "Fiji Time". We stayed a night at Tuvununu Lodge, which was also pretty magical. However, because we were so late arriving on the ferry we missed out on the chance to go to the natural waterslides.

Arriving at Maqai was unbelievable. The nicest beach, a great gazebo with couches, ping pong table, and a large dinner table. I loved sitting in a comfy couch with my toes in the sand. The place is solar powered but they have candles at the ready in case the power goes off during Kava. All meals were included and it was amazing. Cheers to Rosie and her team! The people were incredibly welcoming. Tony and Rosie run the place and Eleanor manages bookings. Celio runs the kava sessions at night. Dex gives great massages, and she has an amazing voice. She also made me a coconut ring that I am really attached to.

There are no shortage of day trips to choose from and they are all very reasonably priced. We went to the village to meet some locals and the kindergarten class sang and danced with us. They served us lots of food and tea. It was really a very humbling experience.

The cabins are perfect. Great view of the ocean with a deck and chairs out front, toilet and cold shower out back. (Trust me you would not want a hot one). I would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: I didn't see what the dorm was like, but the bures are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maryrosejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Bula Vinaka Happy Dreamer we are so grateful for your beautiful review of Maqai. All the Maqai team hope those dreams stay fresh in your mind until your next visit, and help keep you warm and cosy over a cold winter in your beautiful home country of Canada. We get many Canadians coming to stay with us and all the guests seem to have a strong bond with the Maqai Experience. The Maple Leaf and Kava Plant have a close affinity it seems. We feel very privileged to be able to give you a humbling experience by visiting the local school and to meet the children.
It sounds like you need to visit us again soon to visit the natural waterslides. The ferry is one option to get to Maqai, but there is also the scenic flight on Fiji Airways that takes just over an hour from Nadi to Taveuni or from Suva, and is a fantastic flight with incredible views and is highly recommended. The flights are often on special so keep your eyes out so we can see you again soon. Vinaka vaka levu. Ni sa moce (Goodbye)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper National Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I arrived in Nadi with 2 weeks in Fiji. I wanted a place that had beautiful beaches and surf but not over run with tourists (especially of the gap year sort). After explaining this to the people at Bamboo backpackers they set me up with a surf board and put me on the bus to Maqai. It is an absolute paradise! One of my favourite travelling experiences so far. A bit of a treck to get to if you take the boat but well worth it. With most places you find in Fiji the people who run the resort were amazing. Very friendly and laidback who want you to have a good time. The first 3 days I was the only person in the resort and they made me feel like I was one of the family. The 2 weeks I spent there flew by and I can't remember ever being so reluctant to leave somewhere. The 3 bed dorm I stayed in (alone for most of it) was right on the beach. The surf put me to sleep every night. There was snorkelling right on my doorstep. You can take the boat out to do different activities daily. Kava sessions every night. The only thing I would advise is to bring some alcohol if you like to have a drink with dinner as they are not licensed to sell liquor. And there is no atm so bring money from Nadi. I've read that people consider it expensive and if your comparing it to somewhere like South East Asia then this is correct. But by Fijian standards you are definitely getting your money's worth. Would recommend this place to anyone! Thanks for the awesome experience Maqai :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank 780amy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Bula Vinaka our friend in paradise your review is very humbling for the staff as we read what you have written about Maqai. The feedback is gratefully received and Elenoa the Manager will make sure all the team read what you have written as we all remember you well. We are so grateful that you would recommend us to anyone, which is the greatest compliment you can give us. We have some good news we have opened a cafe/bar with a licence so we have nice cold drinks available from our solar powered fridge for the guests. As you say with the boat it is a good experience for those with plenty of time on their hands, but for those wanting to get to the north of Fiji a bit faster going at least one way on the plane is equally a great experience with very scenic views. Vinaka vaka levu (thankyou). We look forward to seeing you again at Maqai. Ni sa moce (Goodbye).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent an amazing 10 days at Maqai lodge. The staff were lovely, any possible need or want was catered for. Our Christmas eve was made completely unforgettable by the staff. The absolute highlight by far is the food. Quality, fresh ingredients used in a range of ways.

Thank you so much for such a magical holiday, we would recommend Maqai beach to anyone.

Vanaka
Hannah and Lola

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whereiswoody88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Bula vinaka Hannah and Lola.
We are so glad to hear of your magical Christmas at Maqai. Elenoa and the entire staff are proud to have made the Maqai Experience a wonderful one for you both at this special time of year. Recommending us to anyone as you say you would do is the highest compliment and we humbly accept this honour. We strive to provide our guests with fresh high quality food and we are very happy that you found this to be the case, and we salute our kitchen team for exceeding expectation. Please come and visit us again soon from Australia, you are only a small kangaroo plane hop away from us and we loved having you here. Vinaka vaka levu (thankyou). Ni sa moce (Goodbye - for now)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big White
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

For a young couple just married we were seeking white sandy beaches, warm blue water, a bit of sunshine and some great hospitality for our honeymoon location. At maqai beach we found all of this and more. After an overnight flight and connection to taveuni from australia we were greeted with a smile at the airport, a short van ride to the landing and we were in the boat and twenty minutes later arrived on the white sandy beaches of maqai. Our initial meet and greet by Cathy with a smile from ear to ear who is always there to help with whatever you need. Led to our accomodation our bure was called sunset2 a modest eco tent set metres from the water overlooking a turquoise lagoon. The accomodation was clean, comfortable and set in a location made for relaxation. Apart from relaxing on our front deck overlooking the water our activities included surfing, snorkelling, Jungle walks, fishing, swimming and drinking Kava. After a big day of activities we would retire to the communal dining/lounge area for dinner where we were never let down with delicious meals and huge servings. Breakfast lunch and dinner all on fiji time so wether your walking, surfing or swimming our meal was there when we arrived. The staff at maqai were always happy and willing to help in any way possible, we were made to feel really at home in this tropical paradise and are very greatful to all the staff for their hospitality. Watch out for falling coconuts! Bula Vinaka!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Bula Vinaka our honeymooning friends. Elenoa the Manager and her team of staff (and especially Cathy after your nice words on her smile) are so proud to have hosted you at a very special time for you. These are moments you remember most in life and we are humbled with the review and that we could offer you such a magical Maqai Experience!! We love to have honeymooners come to stay, either on their own or bringing friends and family to share in the fun and good times. We are glad you felt at home as that is essentially what Maqai is about, so thankyou for that accolade as we feel it one of the highest we can receive. There is no place like home as they say!! Vinaka vaka levu (thankyou). Ni sa moce (Goodbye) for now anyway and we look forward to you coming back soon!! More friendly smiles are waiting!! and maybe if we are lucky and you choose to have kids you will bring them back to us. We love to have children to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Everything everybody says about this place being great is true, and we loved our stay there. But only fair to point out our biggest gripe about this place. So here goes:

When you phone for a pickup (with a bit of notice) they are very happy to come out from the island by boat and pick you up. But when you want to leave, well, that's another matter. Basically, you have to wait until it's convenient for them to take you. Now I appreciate that they have to pay the gas to get you back to the mainland, and so want to combine it with the expected arrival of some new guests. But they promise this and that, but basically they will keep you waiting all day. When it came for us to leave, we were told it would be after breakfast, about 9am. We were ready for that time, obviously we hadn't planned anything that day, not even a swim. But with nothing happening by 10am, we asked what was happening. "Boat is 11o'clock now". Well, thanks for telling us. The 11am departure didn't happen either, again, no word from the staff. Nor did the 12am or the 1pm. Each time we asked (they never thought to tell us at any point) we were given a departure time in an hour or so. Hey, I love Fiji time, but this was just rude. We ended up having almost a full day on the island, but were not able to do anything because our boat was always about to leave! Eventually we relaxed a little, unpacked a towel and went for a swim. But then all of a sudden it was "quick quick you must leave now, no time for that, let me get your bags" (which were now a bit unpacked). They make you wait all day with no communication and then expect you to go in less than a minute. Hang on guys, that isn't right. And on our last day it left a bad taste in our mouth. Poor show.
And I'm not sure the idea of making you fill out your trip advisor review before you (are kept waiting all day before you can) leave. Yes, they want to make sure that you write a report, but bear in mind that most trip advisor reports are written with the owner standing just behind them.
A great place and would go back in an instant, but they need to make everyones last day better!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karlstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Bula Vinaka for the review and feedback. We are so glad you loved Maqai and want to return. We warmly welcome you back and look forward to seeing you again. We apologize that your last day was not to your expectation. A staff meeting was held to discuss the matter and it was agreed that customers should be kept well informed of delays or changes so that they can plan and know what is happening and why there is a delay. Delays to our boat trips are very rare as we do our very best to provide outstanding customer service which is on schedule.

Your comment that reviews are written with the owner standing over people is not justified and is in fact completely untrue. You wrote yourself that what previous people have written is true about Maqai and it being wonderful, so we are unsure why this was added. The owners are rarely on site and have never seen a review written, and I checked with the 2 people in October when you visited who had written reviews and both were written when they were back in Australia. We work very hard to offer a high quality experience for our customers so they can provide honest feedback, and like all resorts we love to get reviews on Trip Advisor so we can continually improve our Maqai experience. I imagine you were asked by staff to please do a review and that was mis-understood. Once again thanks for the comments and next time we hope it is only hard to leave because you want to stay on longer as you enjoying your stay so much. Vinaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qamea Island
10.4 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Taveuni Island
342 reviews
10.3 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
10.5 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#3 of 4 in Matei
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23819.3 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 10 in Taveuni Island
65 reviews
3.2 mi away
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
480 reviews
5.4 mi away
Matangi Private Island Resort
Matangi Private Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matangi Island
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort

Property: Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort
Address: Wainimaqai | Taveuni, Qamea Island 00679, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Qamea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Qamea Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maqai Eco Resort is located on breathtakingly beautiful Qamea Island just north of the garden island of Taveuni. The moment your feet hit the sand you will fall in love with this dreamy island getaway and never want to leave. The resort lies on a stunning stretch of private white sandy beach set against a backdrop of lush tropical rainforest on Qamea Islands uninhabited southern shores. Its here you'll find a destination for adventure, culture, nature and getting off the beaten track. Spend your days snorkeling in the spectacular coral gardens a out front of the resort, scuba diving , surfing, fishing, kayaking or simply swimming in the crystal clear Pacific waters. Take a cultural visit to the local village, try your hand at traditional Fijian arts and crafts, enjoy a game of volleyball or table tennis or simply explore the local surrounds hiking the island's stunning trails. Treat yourself to a pamper session with a luxurious massage or simply relax in a perfectly positioned hammock. This intimate resort with a big heart accommodates up to 35 guests with a range of accommodation to suit most budgets. Surround yourself in nature.. Nine Eco safari bures are scattered along the beachfront with spectacular views of the ocean and just a few steps to the waters edge. Known as glamping (glamorous camping) these bures contain all the comforts and little luxuries from home - raised wooden floors, wooden shutters, comfortable queen beds with quality bed linens, and mosquito nets, fan, lamps, en-suite bathroom and a private veranda to sit and take in the natural Maqai beauty. Sit back, relax and unwind-there's no cooking to partake in here- the resort is so remote that this is the only kitchen for miles! A delicious, generous meal plan is part of your stay at Maqai and includes breakfast, lunch and dinner. You'll enjoy a range of fresh vegetables picked from the organic garden, sun-kissed tropical fruits, daily baked homemade breads, wood fired pizza, freshly caught fish, and Fijian delicacies including lovo and kokoda. Most dietary requirements can be catered for including gluten free and vegetarian. Simply advise at the time of your booking Getting there:- There are 2 options . Flying; Suva- Taveuni Daily Fiji airways or northern air twice weekly Nadi- Taveuni Fiji airways 3 times daily Ferry Savusavu- Taveuni daily from Buca Bay Suva -Taveuni twice weekly Experience nature at is best in this magnificent secluded island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maqai Beach Hotel Qamea Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing