We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Qamea Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“heaven on earth”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Maqai is a secluded resort. it's not 5 star luxury, it's just heaven...we approached the island in a dingy, bouncing over the water, circling around to avoid the reef... on the beach, we could see people waving and dancing - staff and guests were waiting to greet us... over the sounds of the sea, we heard the music they were playing and when we came ashore, they formed a line and quickly shuffled out luggage off the boat, and welcomed us to paradise... We played games with each other and against each other: beach vollyball, pingpong and chess... We snorkled, hiked through the mountain jungle and lounged around and read books... when the staff climbed the coconut trees to get fresh coconut. we added some rum into the fresh coconut water... the meals were all fresh and wonderful... and then there's the nightly kava ceremony... we all sat around and sang and drank... one thing to be aware of - the island is remote, so the staff will do a shopping run for you when they go to the mainland, but it's a good idea to bring as many supplies (drinks) as you can. that being said, there's not much you need to enjoy paradise...when it was time to leave, everyone gathered around and sang our farewell. once again, they stood on the beach and waved and sang as we took off in the bouncing dingy, skirting around the reef. my final memory is of the friends i had made waving goodbye...if you go to fiji, get your [--] to Maqai - give yourself plenty of time to get there and back. If the location wasn't heaven enough, the staff and owners are angels...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ash320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    25
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
56
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The entrance north australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Well worth the mission to get to maqai ... Tropical paradise...beautiful friendly staff - more like family now ..the perfect place to get away from it all...There are daily activities ..including snorkeling, village visit, volleyball, table tennis, mountain hike, I even learnt how to make a crab trap!. One of the best snorkeling spots in the world..or just lay around reading a book or talk to the other guests ... Fresh organic food ..i never felt hungry during my stay..and if you are lucky one of the guys will climb a coconut tree and collect some coconuts ... Which dex will expertly open and even make you a spoon to eat the delicious fresh cocnut meat...crystal clear water ...waterfront burres basic but comfortable.. 5 meters from beach, there is nothing like listening to the ocean while going to sleep... Cant praise the staff enough from tony the captain, the girls in the kitchen, the gardening staff, the cleaning staff, all do there jobs with a smile(they are happy to show you the garden ... And explain what all of the plants are used for) Highly recommended... Can't wait to get back

Room Tip: Go the beachfront burres ... 5meters from the water at high tide...nothing like going to sleep liste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a great time over there. The staff were friendly and the place is stunning. The island is very very quiet and there is nothing else but the accommodation, reefs and nature. It is a place to go snorkelling, drinking and surfing, don't expect anything else. The only downside was the price of everything (accommodations and activities) there. I understand something like that must not be cheap to run, but if you are on a tight budget, just stay in cheaper places, although you won't get that quietness in many places. Ah! If going there, bring your own drinks and everything you need except food (which is good), as you won't have anything to buy there except for the small shop eh have which I didn't check out. The only thing I didn't like is that I heard from a visitor that staff asked to borrow money from him, but I guess that is more about two of three persons belonging to the staff at the time than a "feature of the place". Personally I had a great time there though and I have no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiegoUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_fiji_islander, Manager at Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Bula vinaka Diago.

Thanks for the complements and apologies that we were not the perfect spot for your budget. Our little Eco/Surf Resort is designed to be an adventure, culture and nature experience and because our rates are relatively inexpensive, we welcome all types of travellers including North Fiji budget travellers and backpackers. Your comments about our pricing are duly noted and valid when compared to South East Asia but vastly inaccurate when compared to similar spots in Fiji. When compared to Fiji's main budget traveller destinations in say, the Yasawa islands, our spot is excellent value. Our Beach Front Eco Bures w/ensuite are starting @ F$120 (US$70) and our dorms are F$25 per bed (US$15). Our Fiji Fusion Meal Plan is compulsory and is F$50-60 p.p. per day (rates are all valid until Dec 2013).

The Maqai Activities Team offer various opportunities to experience the beautiful surrounding areas starting @ $F10p.p. but we have plenty of free stuff available such as snorkelling on the house reef, kayaking and garden walks. For those who wish to do a wider variety of activities we offer surf trips from F$25p.p., village trips from F$35p.p. and full day hikes from F$40p.p. We consider our rates to be fair and reasonable :)

We understand that you were looking out for some deals or special prices for your stay with us but we offer our apologies that our rates are standard. We are not the ideal destination for travellers on an 'extremely' low budget.

For those seeking extremely cheap accommodation options in Fiji, we recommend Bamboo in Nadi and Mana Island backpackers and various spots on the Coral Coast, but travellers looking for a unique adventure, culture, nature experience on a budget, we highly recommend choosing Maqai.

As for the staff loan issue, thanks for bringing it to our attention. Our management team will investigate and address.

...and cheers for the awesome comments too. Loloma from Qamea.

Vinaka vaka levu,

The Maqai Tribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Brilliant spot on Qamea island! When the weather got bad, the staff would get me a transport to Taveuni, which has more activities for bad weather.
In general the staff works really hard to make sure that everybody has a good time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMMVeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a great place to stay. Bring everything you need with you( including beer) as there is no shop and orders can take up to two days depending on when someone is going over to the bigger island with a boat! We decided to go here after reading mixed reviews of accommodation in the yasawas islands. So glad we did! Food is great- so much of it, including afternoon tea and cake! Loads of activities including free snorkel and kayaks, sea and beach amazing. Private double room is a tent like structure with two solid walls and floor, private toilet and shower out back and private veranda with seats. I would recommend staying in one of these- does not feel like camping.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAMlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Maqai is the best. The staff there is fully committed to providing you with the best time possible. Really, they are great! The water is epic, and the snorkeling is incredible. We went to an outer reef called the cabbage patch. I have never seen anything like it! They also have a world class surf break. Just check the weather conditions first. The food was wonderful and the accommodations were comfortable. Plenty of space to stretch out and relax if that’s what you are looking for, but there is tons of activities available for how secluded it is. If it is the real Fiji you are looking for, Maqai is the place to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pushscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I loved my stay in Maqai! Was amazing with daily activities ranging from jungle hikes, kayaking or simple doing nothing all day, having this choice is brilliant as if you have had a heavy night in the kava session you will probably want to do nothing and enjoy a traditional Fijian massage. One of the best trips is when you visit a traditional Fijian village which allows you to see how the local way of life is and enjoy a kava session with singing and dancing.

The staff make you feel like you have come home instead of being far away on your holidays with Big Toni making you laugh constantly and Rosie cooking up some amazing food in the kitchen for your breakfast lunch and dinner! With every member of staff being on hand to help you with anything you need and makes you never want to leave!

Can defiantly say i will be back for another unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qamea Island
10.4 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Taveuni Island
340 reviews
10.3 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
23819.3 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 10 in Taveuni Island
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
38 reviews
3.2 mi away
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
480 reviews
10.3 mi away
Maravu Taveuni Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort

Property: Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort
Address: Wainimaqai | Taveuni, Qamea Island 00679, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Qamea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Qamea Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maqai Eco Resort is located on breathtakingly beautiful Qamea Island just north of the garden island of Taveuni. The moment your feet hit the sand you will fall in love with this dreamy island getaway and never want to leave. The resort lies on a stunning stretch of private white sandy beach set against a backdrop of lush tropical rainforest on Qamea Islands uninhabited southern shores. Its here you'll find a destination for adventure, culture, nature and getting off the beaten track. Spend your days snorkeling in the spectacular coral gardens a out front of the resort, scuba diving , surfing, fishing, kayaking or simply swimming in the crystal clear Pacific waters. Take a cultural visit to the local village, try your hand at traditional Fijian arts and crafts, enjoy a game of volleyball or table tennis or simply explore the local surrounds hiking the island's stunning trails. Treat yourself to a pamper session with a luxurious massage or simply relax in a perfectly positioned hammock. This intimate resort with a big heart accommodates up to 35 guests with a range of accommodation to suit most budgets. Surround yourself in nature.. Nine Eco safari bures are scattered along the beachfront with spectacular views of the ocean and just a few steps to the waters edge. Known as glamping (glamorous camping) these bures contain all the comforts and little luxuries from home - raised wooden floors, wooden shutters, comfortable queen beds with quality bed linens, and mosquito nets, fan, lamps, en-suite bathroom and a private veranda to sit and take in the natural Maqai beauty. Sit back, relax and unwind-there's no cooking to partake in here- the resort is so remote that this is the only kitchen for miles! A delicious, generous meal plan is part of your stay at Maqai and includes breakfast, lunch and dinner. You'll enjoy a range of fresh vegetables picked from the organic garden, sun-kissed tropical fruits, daily baked homemade breads, wood fired pizza, freshly caught fish, and Fijian delicacies including lovo and kokoda. Most dietary requirements can be catered for including gluten free and vegetarian. Simply advise at the time of your booking Getting there:- There are 2 options . Flying; Suva- Taveuni Daily Fiji airways or northern air twice weekly Nadi- Taveuni Fiji airways 3 times daily Ferry Savusavu- Taveuni daily from Buca Bay Suva -Taveuni twice weekly Experience nature at is best in this magnificent secluded island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maqai Beach Hotel Qamea Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing