We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maqai the paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Qamea Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed at Maqai for about 5 days. Initially we planned to stay there for only 3 but decided to extend my stay once with my friends when I got there.
I can recommend this play because is the paradise. I really like the service, the food and the people is really amazing. They are always with a smile and trying to help if you need something.The chef (lucy) makes amazing food!, is like a 5 starts hotel. The beach and the activities are always really good also. You can surf, go for a trip on a village and they have other nice activities that you can make with your couple/friends/alone. Cathy on the reception will be glad to help you if you need anything and of course pa,mateo,emosi will make your trip and adventure, Thanks Maqai and the people of the Island to make my vacations a great adventure on the Paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 165 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at Maqai for about 10 days. Initially I planned to stay there for only 3 but decided to extend my stay once I got there.
Maqai has about 6 tents that are placed right by the ocean roughly 15-20 m from each other. Some of the tents offer bunk bed style dormitories (6 person / room) but they also offer double rooms at a slightly higher price. Each tent has it's own shower and bathroom in the back and a porch or sitting area (outside) in the front. Meal plans are mandatory but you won't regret getting it. The food is amazing and the chefs are awesome. If you decide that you want more food during the day they will gladly make something for you.
The resort has a central hut that they use to serve the three meals and hang out throughout the day. At night there are activities that you can be part of or you can join their Kava session that is always accompanied by guitars. The beach is good for swimming although you should be a good swimmer if you decide to go out 20m or more because of the possible currents but this is true for any other place in the pacific.
Overall I highly recommend Maqai. Go there and see for yourself!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent a couple of days on Maqai Beach. It was perfect. The landscape and the sea was amazing. The hospitality, the meals and also the activities...just awesome. Thank you all very much for the great and unforgettable stay on Maqai Beach. We are sure that we come back one day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reisfreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Idyllic location on the beach, definitely felt like paradise. Staff wonderful. Lucky us, we got waves (3ft offshore right handers). Snorkelling top notch. Food wonderful - enormous quantities with lots of vegetables. Have to agree with another comment about the bed - sagged in the middle - we eventually put the matress on the floor and slept much better. We were there for a week and loved every minute. Sad to leave. p.s. the trip they offer overnight to Nanuku island is a MUST!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Like staying with friends.
The bed is not good. I have back pain after my stay.
Food is every 2. Day chicken. Why not fish? There is plenty in the ocean.
Shower is just cold. Why not solar? You don't get clean with cold water!
The boat to Nanuku is a small boat without life jackets. Very dangerous when you're 2 hours out in the ocean. Please. Safety first.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMissionControl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_fiji_islander, Manager at Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Bula vinaka,

thank you for the review. Your compliments are much appreciated and your issues duly noted.

We would like to apologise for the matters of your concern and assure you that our resort management takes these comments very seriously. Our team has investigated the bed in question and it has now been removed. Incidentally, we have new mattresses arriving this week. Thanks for the advice.

We really do love our seafood @ Maqai! We buy our fresh fish from the local village fishermen or we catch our own. We especially eat lots of Tuna, Spanish Mackeral and various local favourites. Whenever the weather is good, we catch fish and serve seafood. Whenever the weather is not good for fishing, we serve alternatives such as chicken, lamb, beef, pork and awesome vegetarian. The Maqai Fiji Fusion Meal plan is always changing depending on what local ingredients we have in fresh supply. Our massive organic gardens also provide us with delicious fresh fruits and vege daily. For guests who are particular about their food, we always request to be advised in advance of any special meal requirements/preferences on our confirmation email. We are always happy to cater for specific dietary requirements and always target fresh local seafood whenever possible.

As for the boats, trips to Nanuku are always provided by the Fiji Maritime Safety Authority licensed charter boats from our local villages. The local Captains will only take trips if the weather forecast is nice and calm and we ensure that the captains keep at least one lifejacket for every one guest while making the trip. These are often stowed in the front compartment of the boat an offered upon request to passengers. We thank you for your concern here and will act swiftly to ensure that all Nanuku captains are aware of your comments and to make sure that lifejackets are more readily available.

The shower water at Maqai is sourced straight from our immaculate local spring. It is some of the cleanest and freshest water on the planet and most of our guests love to shower in it. Our soap is amazing too- especially for keeping clean in our type of showers. It lathers in an instant and is made from pure coconut oil sourced from our neighbor island. 100% natural.

For guests seeking a more luxurious holiday, we highly recommend Qamea Island Resort, Matagi Island Resort and Laucala Island Resort. For those seeking something that is ‘paradise but not perfect’, on a budget, we highly recommend choosing Maqai Beach :)

Thanks again for the feedback. We will learn and grow and target improvements accordingly. Wishing you happy travels and we warmly invite you to return one day. We may have solar showers by then ;)

The Maqai Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Somewhwere between the fabolous food,wonderful staff and activities a plenty it really is possible to believe heaven is a place on earth. You know its a tough descision when the pounding waves call you to take a surf or the amazing reef calls you to see the fish as though you have stuck your face into an aquarium or do you simply stay in the hammock and continue reading...... the staff became our family and my children were extremely fond of Wilson, Ba, Do, Mateo and Tony. Cathy organised food, accomodation, games and flights in a very professional manner. Rosie and Charlie cooked up a storm every day in the kitchen often working from 6am to 9pm or later. Tony did a wonderful job of organising activies and choosing the right staff for the job and "capitain serious" did a great job of navagating through the reefs to get us here in one piece(and dry). we particularly enjoyed the evening karva sing along sessions, especially the papaya song.

Room Tip: anything near the beach is going to have ocean sounds and a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Maqai deserves all the praise it gets, its got everything you could wish for on a island paradise, and giving that feeling of a private island, although through the jungle there are villages and one other resort. if you are a surfer it has its own famous barrel wave, activities such as village visit and jungle hiking are personal. Even if weather does not live up to paradise standards the staff will never let you get bored. Perfect to relax, to make friends, eat great fresh food, learn Fijian, kayak, swim, surf, drink kava, play volleyball, play chess (learn to play chess in my case). For the value it offers for money I can not think of a better place. I would recommend Magai to anyone who wants to experience a real bit of Fiji on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qamea Island
10.4 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Taveuni Island
354 reviews
10.3 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
10.4 mi away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
487 reviews
5.4 mi away
Matangi Private Island Resort
Matangi Private Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matangi Island
264 reviews
10.3 mi away
Maravu Taveuni Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort

Address: Wainimaqai | Taveuni, Qamea Island 00679, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Qamea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Qamea Island
Price Range: $93 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maqai Eco Resort is located on breathtakingly beautiful Qamea Island just north of the garden island of Taveuni. The moment your feet hit the sand you will fall in love with this dreamy island getaway and never want to leave. The resort lies on a stunning stretch of private white sandy beach set against a backdrop of lush tropical rainforest on Qamea Islands uninhabited southern shores. Its here you'll find a destination for adventure, culture, nature and getting off the beaten track. Spend your days snorkeling in the spectacular coral gardens a out front of the resort, scuba diving , surfing, fishing, kayaking or simply swimming in the crystal clear Pacific waters. Take a cultural visit to the local village, try your hand at traditional Fijian arts and crafts, enjoy a game of volleyball or table tennis or simply explore the local surrounds hiking the island's stunning trails. Treat yourself to a pamper session with a luxurious massage or simply relax in a perfectly positioned hammock. This intimate resort with a big heart accommodates up to 35 guests with a range of accommodation to suit most budgets. Surround yourself in nature.. Nine Eco safari bures are scattered along the beachfront with spectacular views of the ocean and just a few steps to the waters edge. Known as glamping (glamorous camping) these bures contain all the comforts and little luxuries from home - raised wooden floors, wooden shutters, comfortable queen beds with quality bed linens, and mosquito nets, fan, lamps, en-suite bathroom and a private veranda to sit and take in the natural Maqai beauty. Sit back, relax and unwind-there's no cooking to partake in here- the resort is so remote that this is the only kitchen for miles! A delicious, generous meal plan is part of your stay at Maqai and includes breakfast, lunch and dinner. You'll enjoy a range of fresh vegetables picked from the organic garden, sun-kissed tropical fruits, daily baked homemade breads, wood fired pizza, freshly caught fish, and Fijian delicacies including lovo and kokoda. Most dietary requirements can be catered for including gluten free and vegetarian. Simply advise at the time of your booking Getting there:- There are 2 options . Flying; Suva- Taveuni Daily Fiji airways or northern air twice weekly Nadi- Taveuni Fiji airways 3 times daily Ferry Savusavu- Taveuni daily from Buca Bay Suva -Taveuni twice weekly Experience nature at is best in this magnificent secluded island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maqai Beach Hotel Qamea Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing