We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Qamea Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
vincennes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Island”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The place is awesome, you feel that you are isolated from the rest of the world! It's great for relaxing, painting, writing or doing activities.
The beach, just a few meters from the bures, is perfect for snorkelling, you can see turtles, sharks, a big varieties of corals... magnifique! after a swim of 50 meters there is a coral wall drop off, that is very rich. We went spearfishing with some people of the staff, it was very good.
The first day it feels weird, like entering a kind of community. But very quickly you understand that the clients here feel really at home thanks to the staff. The staff were very helpful, warm, welcoming. We went there for 6 days in the beginning of our round the world trip and the place worth the travel. The food is simple, healthy and nice.
The bures are face to the ocean and back to the jungle. the nature is cleeeeeeeeean.
Perfect for couples, family and single travellers because you can stay by yourself or mingle very easily with clients and staff.
Even when the place is full, you dont feel it crowded.
Visit this place.

Room Tip: trust the owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bahige t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    25
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
55
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Myself and 4 friends spent a week at maqai searching and finding some epic waves, from 2 to 5 foot, and more often than not, no more than 7 people surfing at a time. We had 2 beachfront safari huts which were clean, comfy, and more than adequate for our needs.what makes this place is the truly wonderful people who although paid local staff, make you feel like part of their extended family.I would (and have) fully recommend maqai to anyone who wants to see a slice of the 'real' Fiji. Vinaka again to Henry and his amazing staff up there. We will definitely be back..........

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishsurfer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Bula everyone!! So.. Arrived in Nadi the first day and been told to go to the northern islands instead of yasawas or mamanucas.. Totally WORTH IT!! The staff is amazing,the activities are great and the sea.. Omg the sea!! No bad things to say,it's just as perfect as it is! Surely be back sooner or later!
Vinaka!! Bella

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaBeatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Bula .. this is one place I have recommended to all my family and friends.. I loved how relaxed and friendly all the staff were :) I miss it everyday but hoping to come back real soon :) .. The staff are unbelievable like being with family :) the food is yummie, the rooms are always clean and its so cosy I could move there :) I just want to say give this a go :) Down to earth relaxing and so much laughter and fun .. do nothing or do something its up to you without any pressure :) OK JUST BELOW NOT SURE IF THE SERVICES WILL APPEAR AS THEY ALL LIGHT UP SERVICE - EXCELLENT, VALUE- EXCELLENT, SLEEP QUALITIES-EXCELLENT, CLEANLINESS-EXCELLENT....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEPSIIMAX11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We arrived on a cold (for Fiji) and wet day on a 20 minute open boat transfer to find no hot showers! But after that it was a wonderful experience. Tent accommodation was simple but more than adequate and 5 metres from the beach. Food was simple but very good. There was plenty to do despite the remoteness and simplicity. Snorkeling, crab catching, feeding the turtle, jungle walks, village trip, kava sessions, kayaking, talking to the other guests and just relaxing
But the highlight was the staff. Truly wonderful people, friendly and genuine, nothing was too much trouble. They even held the flight from Taveuni for us when our boat transfer was late!
I can not recommend Maqai too highly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinCay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2011

the friendliest people you can find. you feel more like in a family. it's unbelivable. at first i booked for only 3 nights but i had to extend for 4 more. and when i had the time i would stay there till now. best relaxing holiday i have ever had. and nanuku island trip was awesome. you can't believe where you are. it's better as a postcard picture. the meals were perfect as well

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolf91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We spent 5 nights at Maqai Beach and would have loved to have stayed longer. Our beach front bure with a double bed and a single, own shower and toilet, was clean and comfortable and practical for people doing water sports. The white sand beach and turquoise water and beautiful gardens are a splendid setting and the staff are friendly, helpful, welcoming and fun. We enjoyed the Fijian meals with lots of fresh fruit and vegies from the gardens and chicken, fish and lamb, yummy curries and soups, fresh-baked bread and a lovo feast to die for. We're not surfers, but the snorkelling was superb, with reef sharks, turtles and rays visible right on the house reef. The trip out to the uninhabited island was delightful, lovely swimming, great snorkelling and red-footed boobies zooming home to roost in the late afternoon. You bring your own alcohol to Maqai Beach and the boys pound and prepare the kava for the kava bowl nightly, with lots of singing, guitar music, laughter and staff and guests alike joining in before we drifted off to bed and to sleep listening to the waves just 5 metres away. There are long beach and jungle walks, village trips, island visits, hand line fishing, learn to surf trips and guitar lessons, kayaking, trips to see the sights in Taveuni, or watch a rugby match, table tennis and native skill demonstrations like pig and fish trap making and how to collect , husk and use coconuts as well as swimming and snorkelling. Everything is accompanied by the gentle, courteous, smiling and laughing staff. We loved them all. Look forward to seeing you all again guys!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graymare71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qamea Island
10.5 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#2 of 3 in Matei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
10.4 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
10.3 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Matangi Private Island Resort
Matangi Private Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matangi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
3.2 mi away
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waruka Bay Resort
Waruka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort

Property: Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort
Address: Wainimaqai | Taveuni, Qamea Island 00679, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Qamea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Qamea Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maqai Eco Resort is located on breathtakingly beautiful Qamea Island just north of the garden island of Taveuni. The moment your feet hit the sand you will fall in love with this dreamy island getaway and never want to leave. The resort lies on a stunning stretch of private white sandy beach set against a backdrop of lush tropical rainforest on Qamea Islands uninhabited southern shores. Its here you'll find a destination for adventure, culture, nature and getting off the beaten track. Spend your days snorkeling in the spectacular coral gardens a out front of the resort, scuba diving , surfing, fishing, kayaking or simply swimming in the crystal clear Pacific waters. Take a cultural visit to the local village, try your hand at traditional Fijian arts and crafts, enjoy a game of volleyball or table tennis or simply explore the local surrounds hiking the island's stunning trails. Treat yourself to a pamper session with a luxurious massage or simply relax in a perfectly positioned hammock. This intimate resort with a big heart accommodates up to 35 guests with a range of accommodation to suit most budgets. Surround yourself in nature.. Nine Eco safari bures are scattered along the beachfront with spectacular views of the ocean and just a few steps to the waters edge. Known as glamping (glamorous camping) these bures contain all the comforts and little luxuries from home - raised wooden floors, wooden shutters, comfortable queen beds with quality bed linens, and mosquito nets, fan, lamps, en-suite bathroom and a private veranda to sit and take in the natural Maqai beauty. Sit back, relax and unwind-there's no cooking to partake in here- the resort is so remote that this is the only kitchen for miles! A delicious, generous meal plan is part of your stay at Maqai and includes breakfast, lunch and dinner. You'll enjoy a range of fresh vegetables picked from the organic garden, sun-kissed tropical fruits, daily baked homemade breads, wood fired pizza, freshly caught fish, and Fijian delicacies including lovo and kokoda. Most dietary requirements can be catered for including gluten free and vegetarian. Simply advise at the time of your booking Getting there:- There are 2 options . Flying; Suva- Taveuni Daily Fiji airways or northern air twice weekly Nadi- Taveuni Fiji airways 3 times daily Ferry Savusavu- Taveuni daily from Buca Bay Suva -Taveuni twice weekly Experience nature at is best in this magnificent secluded island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maqai Beach Hotel Qamea Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing