We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BASICALLY BEAUTIFUL” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Qamea Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BASICALLY BEAUTIFUL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

Basically Beautiful !
I have just returned from a weeks stay at Maqai Beach, and it was great. Good surf too.
It was a last minute decision to go there, and the bures were full, so the first night was in a tent at the end of the beach. Nice.
The next night space was available in a 6-person dorm, with 4 girls. Nicer !
The next night in a 3 bed dorm, alone, and then finally, to a single bure with double bed, also very nice. Very basic, but on the beach nice.
The Sand Bar, lounge, bar, dining area (you have to bring your own alcohol, but kava is included) is indeed a sand floor….evening kava and sing along, led by very good Fijian guitar players singing beautiful Fijian songs in 5 part harmonies, and nice renditions of English songs as you sit in comfortable chairs with your feet in the soft sand……
The meals are great, Fijian style, fresh fish and veggies, cooked a variety of ways, all interesting and healthy.
The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and happy to help. The first day of surfing some juicy overhead waves, strained my back, and the staff was there to give Fijian (BomBom) massages as needed.
I learned that, Bamboo, in Nadi, is under the same ownership, I will check it out.
Oh yeah, the location is AWESOME !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffHooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    25
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
54
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

We were not sure to go so far from Nadi, but we then decided to fly to Taveuni and when we reached Maquai Beach we alredy realized that was the best choice ever!
First of all it is not that hard to get there especially by plane. it is only an hour and you can enjoy an amazing view of the islands. Second the athmosfere at Maqai is so relaxed, once you will put your feet on the soft white sand you will realize what amazin paradise it is.
There are plenty of activity you can do at Maqai, such as fishing trip, going to visit a local village which I found the best thing i did, you can go and visit a little island nearby and stay over night, and you don t have to pay extra since the owner of the two huts over there is the same of Maaqai, they provide also food for you whn you go for the trips.
Moreover staff at the resort is extremely helpfull and entertaining. When we were there we enjoyed the time after dinner together with a few people from the staff that sung for us fijian music and also other type of music. We had lots of fun with them, they are ecxtremely friendly and also wery confident. We could get in the kitchen, make ourself a tea or coffe, they also gave us free food, such us hand made cookies or bread with jam.

The staff is so smily and also o happy to help you. the huts are basic but quite big and nice toilet.

When I was at Maqai I spend all the time snorkelling just at the beach where the resort is, or reding my book on the hammack listening to the sound of the sea, walking on the stunning beach which made me feel to be in a dream.

Maqai is also a plase where you can meet people but at the same time it is not for parties, it is very good for relax, fun and know people from all over the world. Food was also very good, you get the chance to eat some fijian dish and the deal is very good.

I will definetely go back when I will plan another visit to Fiji!
Mirella and Dougie from Italy and Scotland

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirtilla82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

Make sure you wave to the guests paying USD400 a night at Qamea Spa Resort as the 23 foot transfer boat cruises past them on your way to Maqai Beach Resort. For an absolute fraction of the price the guys and girls at Maqai will treat you like Kings and Queens from the moment you set foot on the sand. Eleanoa and/or Alisa will greet you and give you the heads up on the "house rules" whilst Meli, Lagi, Elia and Vili will whisk your bags to your room.

About that room, with a double bed, two seat lounge and ensuite shower and toilet, the breaking waves that are no more than five metres from where you sleep offer a rythmic and calming harmony to assist your dreaming of the next day in paradise where you see what is in store for you.

It is a real pity that we don't surf because in the distance you can see the perfectly barreling waves that endlessly form on the reef and seem to go on forever. When the call of "surf's up" went throught the place, you didn't see those boys for about ten hours.

Maybe you will go snorkelling in the same waters as the visitors paying USD5000+ a night to stay at the "7 Star" resort around the corner (on Mr. Red Bull's Island), or maybe a trip to the village of Naiviivi to visit the kids at school or the village of Draketi where you can meet up with the Ratu (Chief) at his house and drink the afternoon away with some local Kava and hear local stories from one of the nicest families you will ever meet anywhere in the world. .

Ciba and Charlie provided the fuel for our bodies each day and the three meals did not disappoint, always fresh and plenty of it. Charlie is one of the most talented "bakers" I have ever seen and his custards and mud chocolate cakes are to DIE for.

By now you would have heard enough about my thoughts on Maqai as NO review will do this place justice. It is PARADISE on a shoestring and once you get here your feet don't want you to leave.

Get to Nadi or Suva airport and jump on a plane (or a boat from Suva) and get yourself to Taveuni so you can transfer yourself to Maqai Beach Resort on Qamea Island.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stressman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Throughout our 1 month trip in Fiji this place was the highlight. The people are fantastic, and make you feel right at home. The rooms are perfect, simple and clean. All meals are freshly cooked and are delicious, the location just tops it off, such a beautiful place to stay! It is one of those places you just never want to leave.

Excellent value for money and plenty to do.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leah87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

There is so much to say about Maqai its hard to know where to start. It was one of 15 stops in a round the world trip and was hands down the highlight of my trip. I arrived planning to stay 3nights and landed up leaving 5weeks later! Not only do you get greeted by one of the most beautiful beaches but you are welcomed by the most amazing group of people! You don’t just feel like another guest, the staff make it feel like a home away from home. It’s the holiday home that everyone wishes they had. The food is fantastic!!!! All the ladies who cook are great, and don’t try and get away with eating small meals it won’t happen the food is too good to say no to! Maqai is the perfect place to base yourself for a nice relaxed holiday, if you want to just sit on the couch and read, or surf, scuba or even adventure into the forest it’s all available to you! It’s a place that nuzzles its way into your heart and you just want to keep coming back. I would recommend everyone to go at least once in their lives to a place that is soul nourishing!

Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank DDlizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

Absolutely amazing ;) I love Maqai !!! Perfect lost paradise in Fiji, you won’t regret anything! Lovely and friendly staff, amazing snorkelling, kayaking and surf trip, awesome food, very nice and clean eco-bure ( you will sleep with the sounds of the ocean !!! ) beautiful atmosphere, you will feel like a part of the family, and you will meet fantastic friends from all around the world... trust me :you will have the time of your life ! No exaggeration !!!
The times you will spend at Maqai will be simply magical.
A real and fantastic Fijian experience ;)
You must go! Enjoy !!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faniemegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

I came for 5 days and was so seduced by the location, views both over and under water, friendly staff, great food that I ended up staying over a month. The journey there is well worth the trip and partly why it remains a hidden gem. On arrival you are immediately made to feel part of the family which carries on into the small hours with kava sessions dominating the nights. The staff are on hand all the time thinking up crazy activities for you to do, or just there for a lovely chat. You can really get to know the real Fiji by staying here especially if you make a village trip with one of the staff where you can see volley ball or rugby competitions.

There is loads to do, and what makes it more special is that a lot of the activities are free. You can do snorkeling just out front and surf kayaking all for free. Even the activities you do pay for are at low rates, just covering the fuel prices. Or like me, you can just spend days lazing in hammocks. The food is amazing and a complete bargain at the price. The whole place is excellent value for money.

Go to Maqai. I couldn't recommend it more!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcooke80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qamea Island
10.3 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
10.3 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
10.4 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#2 of 3 in Matei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Matangi Private Island Resort
Matangi Private Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matangi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
8.4 mi away
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waruka Bay Resort
Waruka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort

Property: Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort
Address: Wainimaqai | Taveuni, Qamea Island 00679, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Qamea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Qamea Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maqai Eco Resort is located on breathtakingly beautiful Qamea Island just north of the garden island of Taveuni. The moment your feet hit the sand you will fall in love with this dreamy island getaway and never want to leave. The resort lies on a stunning stretch of private white sandy beach set against a backdrop of lush tropical rainforest on Qamea Islands uninhabited southern shores. Its here you'll find a destination for adventure, culture, nature and getting off the beaten track. Spend your days snorkeling in the spectacular coral gardens a out front of the resort, scuba diving , surfing, fishing, kayaking or simply swimming in the crystal clear Pacific waters. Take a cultural visit to the local village, try your hand at traditional Fijian arts and crafts, enjoy a game of volleyball or table tennis or simply explore the local surrounds hiking the island's stunning trails. Treat yourself to a pamper session with a luxurious massage or simply relax in a perfectly positioned hammock. This intimate resort with a big heart accommodates up to 35 guests with a range of accommodation to suit most budgets. Surround yourself in nature.. Nine Eco safari bures are scattered along the beachfront with spectacular views of the ocean and just a few steps to the waters edge. Known as glamping (glamorous camping) these bures contain all the comforts and little luxuries from home - raised wooden floors, wooden shutters, comfortable queen beds with quality bed linens, and mosquito nets, fan, lamps, en-suite bathroom and a private veranda to sit and take in the natural Maqai beauty. Sit back, relax and unwind-there's no cooking to partake in here- the resort is so remote that this is the only kitchen for miles! A delicious, generous meal plan is part of your stay at Maqai and includes breakfast, lunch and dinner. You'll enjoy a range of fresh vegetables picked from the organic garden, sun-kissed tropical fruits, daily baked homemade breads, wood fired pizza, freshly caught fish, and Fijian delicacies including lovo and kokoda. Most dietary requirements can be catered for including gluten free and vegetarian. Simply advise at the time of your booking Getting there:- There are 2 options . Flying; Suva- Taveuni Daily Fiji airways or northern air twice weekly Nadi- Taveuni Fiji airways 3 times daily Ferry Savusavu- Taveuni daily from Buca Bay Suva -Taveuni twice weekly Experience nature at is best in this magnificent secluded island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maqai Beach Hotel Qamea Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing