We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Vomo Island
Post
Inbox
Search
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveler rating
448
50
17
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
448
50
17
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club beachfront villa daily laundry service lunch and dinner movie room sunset drinks fish kids menu fiji night helicopter transfer three generations daily snorkel trips natural beauty family holiday changed daily sea plane nadi airport
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 530 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2018

Overall a very nice place. Went for a family holiday. Accommodation was excellent. Food was fantastic and changed every meal. Only problem is that there are limited activities but can easily be overcome. Also wonderful hiking available.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GW_KTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2018

Bula and thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback. Our Activities list is being extended to include group and private yoga sessions, experiences for families and a greater list of activities for children and young adults. These will be on offer from the new year and will certainly enhance our already long list of activities that include golf, tennis, gym, spa, hiking, snorkelling, fishing, diving, SUP, kayaking, sailing, island hopping, village visits, cultural activities, cooking classes, swimming and private island picnics.
warm regards from the VOMO family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2018

My wife, baby son and I just got back from one of the most relaxing and enjoyable weeks of our lives. Vomo is an absolute dream - the beautiful yet accessible location between the Mamanuca and Yasawa Islands off Nadi in Fiji which takes 1.5 hours to reach. When you get there you could be anywhere in the world - the reality is you are in paradise. The resort itself has all of the features you would expect in a 5 star resort, with a small number of well appointed villas. The staff welcome you with a traditional Fijian song, and from there the pampering starts. Top quality chef prepared meals at every sitting, guided snorkelling trips, and even a baby butler to take care of your little ones! Vomo is the first place we have found that we plan on returning to, again and again. Bula Vinaka Vomo!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank NickSchuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Vomo....I have ummed and ahhhed about writing this review since we returned from Vomo in August at the risk of appearing to be ungrateful. Vomo is certainly a beautiful place in an incredible location with some amazing staff but it is not a place we will return to for a few reasons.

I will start with the good. The villas are lovely and ours, a beach haven, had a spectacular view and was very private. The beach is just stunning, picture perfect, and the water is warm and crystal clear. Standing, toes in the warm water, looking out across a sparkling ocean while my children feed the fish and giggle with delight is surely a great memory I will treasure forever. The cool room breakfast that transforms into a dessert buffet one day a week is fantastic, as is the beach lunch each day and pool dinner. We enjoyed chatting with staff on the free snorkelling trip and at the bar while sipping cocktails. While singing along to the beautiful voices of Zac, Emos and their crew was a wonderful way to end the evening. Our boys were always taken care of in kids club and spent each evening there watching movies or doing activities while we ate dinner (at the children’s request 6 out of the 7 nights we were there!!).

So after all this positively, why wouldn’t we return?

Its the atmosphere by the pool, in the rocks bar, at reception and the awkward conversation with staff that were clearly forced to stay and chat to us at the GMs drinks that really turned us off this beautiful place.

Now anyone who has done their research knows that Vomo is not a budget stay in Fiji. This means there are a range of people on the island, some are down to earth and relatable, families with young children who pull tables together at dinner for a chat, others who avoid eye contact on the pathway so they don’t have to speak to you and give you sideways glances when your children strip their bathers off on the pool deck before their towels are entirely pulled up. Now this is the reality of all places you stay but at Vomo it was a larger percentage of guests who were not interested in being social in any way.
Our second issue was the food. We are massive foodies and always travel to places that have a reputation for their fresh local food. Was some of the food great, absolutely, but I could count those on one hand. I was surprised to find the food was good, but most often, nothing special.
With regard to kids club, our boys opted to play there when it was dinner time but our nanny was new, very young, (just 18) and lacked the rapport that comes from working with/having children. Our kids did not connect with her and preferred the company of our Ocean Play guide Emosi. While some nannies were clearly amazing, others didn’t make an effort to really interact with the children and on quite a few occasions I spent time playing in the kids club with my children as well as other people’s babies who were alone in the soft fall area while the nannies watched and chatted.
Our last issue was with the “Pack for a purpose” cause supported by Vomo. This cause encourages guests to pack specific items to donate to their local village and school. As a school teacher with two young children my family saw this as a brilliant opportunity to teach our boys empathy, generosity and kindness by giving their own toys as well as shopping for the items we would donate themselves. Being a school teacher I packed my own resources as well as items for mothers of new babies. We packed a large suitcase full of items to hand out on a trip to the village. Unfortunately what was intended to be a valuable, humbling and educational experience, became one of the most humiliating days of my life when my children opened the box to hand out all the beautiful things we had packed directly to lines of excited children (at our request when the teachers had suggested putting the items away to hand out when all children returned during school term time), to find all but a handful of our things had been replaced with old worn out shoes and clothes for adults. It was mortifying that we had been serenaded by these beautiful villagers, welcomed with such generosity and THAT was what we had for them. What stung the most was the complete lack of transparency by management when we returned and questioned the location of our actual donations, as well as the relaxed approach to responding, the evening before we flew out during drink service two days after the incident. While we were not charged for the trip and received a written apology from the GM Mark when our travel agent sent an email to the resort on our return questioning them, it was simply an incident that left a bad taste in our mouth.

So, in conclusion, is Vomo beautiful? Yes. Is it luxury for families? Absolutely. Is it for everyone? Not in our opinion.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
15  Thank BeckFSiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VomoIsland, General Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2018

Bula BeckFSiro,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your visit and for receiving the written detail of below since you departed.

VOMO isn't a budget property as you mentioned but we still do add value for money when you take all the inclusions into the rate and as you know if one just opens a bottle of water in a branded hotel you pay as you do for all the meals , teas, coffee , laundry , WI-FI , guided snorkeling of which all are included at VOMO .
I do apologize that you felt some of the guests were standoffish which I agree is very unusual on VOMO. Being 84% repeat many of the guests know each other and normally return the same time each year.
We did on this particular week have a high number of honeymooners from Europe who did keep to themselves as the honeymoon market tends to do.
However VOMO has become a haven for like minded guests whom many are at a similar stage in life and this has created a community for VOMO where one can meet at the Bar or in the sea and chat about the day and and one feels comfortable with the conversation and company.
However again I am sorry this was not your experience.
The management cocktails and Fiji night with the Meke has been created by the team whom have put this evening together so the Heads of department whom you do not get the chance to meet can meet you and we host the drinks for the event. This evening is also a chance the team can show case there culture which they are rightly proud of and is an evening they have curated from start to finish.Again I am truly sorry you didn't enjoy this evening with the team or at The Rocks which many feel is a truly beautiful area to enjoy a cocktail as the sun sets over the amazing backdrop of VOMO lai lai and has a sense of calm and natural beauty.
Thank you for your kind comments on the Beach Front Haven you were staying in and for enjoying the time with Zac whom is a remarkable part of the team that all enjoy listening to as he sings the night away.
We are truly sorry as I mentioned in a personal letter to you that the Pack for a Purpose which you kindly contributed to was not delivered as you expected.
Many of our guests support this worthy cause and very few are involved in taking this themselves to the village.
A precedent that has taken place is guests pack items in suitcases that they leave for the village.We then re sort all items so there is an assortment of all the new items guests have bought. This then gets logged in weight and distributed to the village as a mix.
I understand that this was not what you expected and as you needed your suitcase back items were mixed as advised above. We now request guests whom want to deliver items personally keep these items with them in the room till they can personally give them to the village.
I apologize that you felt after speaking to one of the team there was a lack of transparency.They did come and raise your concerns with me after chatting to you and we immediately refunded $1200 on the private boat transfer and then took time to look into your complaint.
We have a wonderful Fijian team who look after the donated items and I can assure you all the items are always accounted for and distributed to the correct families they are destined for.

We have taken all your points on board and we are truly sorry some areas did not meet your expectations but thank you for the positive comments made and for visiting our shores and we do hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Vinaka
Mark Leslie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

After over a decade of holidaying in the Mamanuca islands and Yasawa Islands and after the countless recommendations, stories and all out pleading from colleagues, friends, family and fellow travelers to please please please try VOMO we were lucky enough to get the chance to spend a blissful week here.
We have traveled extensively throughout the South Pacific, Asia, Europe and the states and as far as holidays go this was by far our favorite. And why was this the case?
Was it because Vomo has the most wonderful staff (we actually feel like calling them family) that we have ever encountered that took care of us like royalty, catering to every whim, wish or command. - Possibly
Was it because of jaw dropping natural beauty of Vomo and Vomo LaiLai, the pure white sand, the bright blue sky and the sapphire crystal clear water, the swaying palm trees in the breeze and the gentle caress of the warm fiji Sun - Probably
Was it because Vomo has the finest, most freshest, delicious cuisine we have ever had the privilege of tasting - Definitely!
After all is said and done, this is a very special place. Every experience and encounter molds seamlessly into a luxurious and relaxing holiday that only happens when you have teams of people all working extremely hard together to deliver it.
All aspects overwhelmed. The accommodation eludes class and comfort, the cuisine is amazing and rivals top tier restaurants in any capital city throughout the world, the staff literally can't do enough for you, The setting is world class, the amenities, activities are all offered flawlessly.
I would highly recommend visiting Vomo for your next holiday. It was a once in a life time experience that we will definitely be back for!

Room tip: Spoil yourself and splurge on a beachfront retreat!
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValiantMansion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2018

Bula ValiantMansion
WOW! We are so thrilled to ready how much you enjoyed VOMO and can't wait to welcome you all home again to your new fave island paradise. Wishing you a wonderful festive season and hope to see you again soon.
Lolomas from the VOMO family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

We had the holiday of a lifetime in May (2017) and are hopefully returning this year in October.

The island itself is beautiful - the perfect size - you would swear outside of meal times that you have the island to yourself. The coral that you can swim to ten meters off the beach is some of the best I’ve seen anywhere in the world and the snorkeling tours off the island were well worth it too. The kayaks were fun too.

The food was outstanding, all meals five star and all staff were very accommodating and they adore the kids - all the kids are treated like celebrity’s. We had my sons birthday there on the beach and they made him a cake and made his bed up with amazing flowers. Our 5 and 3 yr old kids loved the kids club and eating their meals there was a novelty for them and gave us parents a great few hours every night to relax and socialize with the adults.
The adults only bar was amazing for sunsets and cocktails... mmm coconut mojitos!

We had a beachfront free standing villa and couldn’t fault it. Well designed, very clean great amenities and enough room for our family. The daily washing and folding service was a real treat too.

I could write about it all day and sure it’s more expensive than some islands but well worth it you will fall I. Love with Vomo like we have.

Tips.
We took the ferry from the mainland which takes longer and requires an overnight stay (we stayed of the Sofitel) but found it ok (all part of the experience and adventure). Having a dinghy come to pick you up from the ferry was fun too.

Try to stay for a Thursday night for the Fiji night, great fun. The kids loved it.

Try the mountain climb it’s steep but well worth it - I found watching the sunrise off the beaches were better.

The baby butlers can take the kids after dinner back to your room and get them ready for bed, giving you more time over dinner (something we didn’t know about or use but will do in future).

You can ask for a kids meal at any time of the day if they are hungry.

The golf course is pretty fun too - well worth a hit.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank thebaygolfpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Bula Mark
Thanks so much for the review and some great tips there for the Trip Advisor readers.
These days, we have differentiated the Beachfront Villas that are free standing by calling them Beachfront Havens.
The Fiji night has been moved to Wednesday night's with plenty of coconut mojitos for you to enjoy!
Thursday nights are now enjoyed by adults only at The Rocks, whilst families can dine together up at the main house if they wish.
Of course, the children still have their own restaurant at the Kids Village, with their own dedicated chef and menu, to give parents some time together to enjoy one of the many date nights available to them, during a stay.
We look forward to welcoming you all back, very soon.
Vinaka from the VOMO family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews