We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vomo Island Resort
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveler rating
378
48
15
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
48
15
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubbeachfront villalunch and dinnerdaily laundry servicesunset drinksmovie roomfishnon alcoholic drinksthree coursesprivate picnichelicopter transferwelcome songbeach sidefiji nightdaily snorkel tripsmonth old babysea plane
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 454 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was our 5th or 6th return visit to Vomo and this time we were unfortunately disappointed. The island, itself is still amazing, the food excellent, the staff, just awesome but there were kids everywhere. In the past Vomo has had mainly couples with the odd child, but this has all changed, with a new Kids Club been built. During the day you can escape away from the swimming pool, where the kids gather, to a secluded beach but at breakfast, lunch and dinner, forget it. They grizzle, run around, yell and are generally a real nuisance, especially at dinner when you are trying to have a romantic dinner and they are tired. There was even a mother, who I spoke, who had two children, and she decided to eat in their villa because she couldn't stand the noise and behaviour of some of the children. The villas have been built for couples and not for families, so a major refit is needed and another swimming pool for adults. From a quiet, peaceful resort for mainly couples and honeymooners to a family resort, will be a disaster. Vomo Island Resort is up there with Royal Davui, The Yawasa Island Resort, Vatulele, and Likuliku Island Resorts, but I can see it going backwards. The week we stayed, there were 5 couples who said that they would not be returning, and would rather go elsewhere. It's a real shame because it's such a lovely place and the staff are the best. Australia is marketing this resort, for families, where here in NZ it's still classed as a romantic destination. If you are looking for a peaceful romantic place, then unfortunately Vomo is not for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Kayno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Bula, and thank you for your constructive feedback. It is important that we learn about all guest experiences as it is essential for our future development plans and we sincerely hope that in the very near future we will be able to address some of these concerns of yours. Thank you also, for taking the time to discuss these issues with our new General Manager whilst you were on island. With his sound background and strong experience in the strategic development of islands and resorts we have included your feedback into our working documents and we will keep you and the wider Vomo community informed on initiatives we have to address these areas which we need to improve. Even if you don't return to Vomo in the future I hope you will think of us fondly and know that we are treating your comments with the respect they deserve and we will be actively seeking improvement in these areas. All the best Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My family and I spent 7 glorious nights at Vomo. The rooms are amazing, well appointed and accommodated the 2 children without compromising the space. When we booked I had requested a stand alone bure, but we ended up in an attached bure, which didn't matter at all as they are quite private from each other. I loved that we could sit on the deck and watch the children play on the beach. In fact the children just explored the island and played their days away. It was nice to be able to give them that freedom. The grass between the beachfront bures and the beach is a bit of a thoroughfare, so my husband and I reckoned that if we were there without the children, we would opt for the hillside bure so that you would have more privacy. The food was to die for. Every meal was outstanding and we were spoilt for choice. My son is gluten intolerant and they catered so well for this. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I just loved the complimentary laundry service, it meant that we didn't need to take heaps of clothes or come home with a suitcase of dirty washing! I think that my favorite thing to do, was paddle boarding along the beach on sunset - magical. Vomo is a true holiday from which you return happy, calm and relaxed.

Room Tip: Beachfront for families, Hillside for couples
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bexrog75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Bula! Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to mention the fabulous helicopter transfer. It really does start the holiday in the right way! All the best and we hope we'll see you again soon. Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Vomo Island Resort is a little piece of heaven with a delicious variety of food, beautiful beachfront, private villas and where the people are born with a smile......This little piece of paradise is a hidden gem.....

Room Tip: All the villas are exceptionally private and quiet.....not a bad room on the island.....we flew in by helicopter!,,,,,,it was a great choice,
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Bula! Thank you for your short but sweet review of your time with us! We may be biased but we agree that Vomo is a little piece of paradise and we are thrilled you had such a good time with us. Keep in touch and we hope to see you back again soon Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from our lovely 5 day stay on Vomo. What can I say, the island / resort ticks all the right boxes and this is our 8th time to Fiji and have stayed at different islands. It is beautiful, with lovely beaches great for snorkelling. Our bure was luxurious and the food was outstanding. We have 9 yr olds twins and they would swim in the pool, go off to the kids club and check out the turtle club at the activity center all safe and close by. The staff were fantastic and very warm, and there were activities on during the day. Recommend you go up to the Rock Bar to have drinks and watch the sunset. It is pretty special. Overall, very family orientated and serivce was very good. I came back home relaxed!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good with great views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anavicandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Bula! Thank you for posting your comments here about your time on Vomo. We are glad to read that you managed to fulfil everyone's criteria for a great holiday and that our Kids Village entertained your twins so well. It's high praise given you've been to Fiji so many times! Please keep an eye out for new developments on Vomo and keep in touch with us. All the best and we hope we'll see you back soon Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have just returned from 3 days on Vomo Island and wanted to share the great experience! Above all, the staff are what make Vomo such a special place to visit. They truly take you in as if you are family and make the stay perfect (but not in an annoying over-serviced kind of way). They are relaxed, friendly and wonderful! Special mention goes to the guys who sing each evening (Lai, Zack, Siti etc.). Thank you. Other highlights include: preparing the Lovo pit for dinner and being shown how to make it by a lovely staff member (wish I could remember his name!!); Fijian night on Thursday night (don't miss it); Kava party with the staff; and of course the beautiful beaches! The island itself is lovely and secluded (this is what you are paying for). Rocks Bar at sunset is not to be missed. Such a great experience. I hope I can make it back someday!! Bec.

Room Tip: All rooms are well located.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Bula and a big Vinaka for posting about your recent trip to Vomo. Your kind comments about our staff will be passed on and it is great to read that you managed to pack so much into such a short visit. Hopefully we'll see you back again soon, but in the meantime keep in touch with us online for news about upcoming exciting events and developments on Vomo. Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews