We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A ROYAL WELCOME”
Review of Vomo Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vomo Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Vomo Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A welcome cocktail and a musical "bula" are the first touches of the welcome you receive when you arrive at Vomo Island. Perhaps not quite the first touches, because, however you arrive and whether by boat transfer or helicopter, the staff pick you up from either the catamaran ferry off Little Vomo Island or from the helipad on the edge of the resort. Nevertheless, the welcome is the same, friendly but overwhelmingly effusive.

We stayed twice, with a three day gap back in Denarau in between, and on the second stay, the welcome was "Welcome Home", even on the telephone the day before when confirming the helicopter timing for the transfer.

Having been transferred the first time by the catamaran ferry that heads all the way north-east through the Yasawa Islands, I can highly recommend the helicopter transfer, so easy and so quick. We were collected from the golf course close to hte Denarau hotel where we had stayed, and delivered to the airport on our reutrn for our flight home, what could be easier - and nothing was too much trouble for the staff at Vomo Island and for the helicopter company?

An all-in price for everything except alcohol and motorised sport, meant that we could eat and drink as much as we wanted without fear of running up a massive bill for "extras". Even then, the weekly general Manager's cocktail party and Meke/kava ceremony meant that some nights one did not need to purchase huge quantities of alcohol.

The resort is very family-friendly,and hence is not for young adults who want to rave up and cause mayhem every night. Our fellow guests were mostly younger couples with children or older couple like ourselves who wanted to chill out and enjoy some pampered luxury, and we were not disappointed. Even then, there were some younger couples without children who were there for the same purpose as us, to enjoy the quiet ambience and simply soak up the sun, do not much else, and enjoy the food.

We had a stand-alone villa and were hence not affected by noise through any adjoining walls. Other commentators have mentioned the fact that other guests walk past your villa and found it a ittle intrusive, but with only 28 villas and a couple of larger units, there are not many people visiting at any one time. We certainly did not find the foot traffice intrusive, and it was actually pleasant to be able to pass greetings with the passers-by.

We celebrated a belated 25th wedding anniversary a year late on the evening of our return, and everybody did us proud, from a floralarrangement on our table, to the anniversary cake that we shared with everybody, to the choral group singing Happy Anniversary to us as the cake was presented. They do something similar for special birthdays, and we watched an 80th birthday beakfast on the beach itself as we said goodbye to everybody.
Highly recommended if you are looking for a quiet but luxurious hide-away.

A huge thank you to Wayne, particularly to Toni-Maree who worked wonders to sort our mixed up reservations out for the three days gap, and all of the staff for making our stay so relaxing.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a villa that is totally stand-alone, rather than one that is a duplex unit. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewZealandNeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Bula! What a wonderful review, thank you so much. It's a delight to read reviews like this which are so positive about many aspects of the island and that recognise how different guests can have different but still positive experiences on Vomo. Your praise for Wayne and Toni-Maree will be passed on and is greatly appreciated. It's lovely that you travelled to celebrate such a special occasion with us. We hope you requested a copy of the lyrics to the Anniversary song - it's always good for a giggle and our staff love singing it.

We hope you will return 'home' again soon and we encourage you to keep in touch with us via our newsletter and social media. All the best, Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 439 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

Most of the upmarket resorts in Fiji don't take children under 12 years, Vomo is a rare exception.
The big plusses here are a) upmarket b) easy access from the mainland and c) everything except alcohol is included.

If you choose to helicopter in from Nadi airport you have a spectacular flight and are there in just 15 minutes-couldn't be easier or quicker. Other options are seaplane or boat but I would suggest the helicopter.

Somewhat uniquely, Vomo includes everything other than alcohol, so fresh fruit juices, soft drinks, fruit smoothies, non-alcoholic cocktails and barista coffees are available on request, and they can certainly do wonderful coffees for the aficionado's. The minibar fridge in the room is similarly free although you will pay for nuts,chocolates etc. Quite a difference if you have experienced the exorbitant charges for soft drinks in some of the other pacific islands such as Bora Bora in Tahiti.

The rooms are modern and smart, very large, can comfortably accommodate a family of 2 adults +2 kids and have very powerful air conditioners as well as fans. There is a work desk, masses of plug sockets, and rather amazingly, free wireless Internet all over the resort including the rooms. Other pacific islands struggle to provide wi-fi and charge exorbitantly when they do, so this is a major plus, but there is a caveat, it suffers frequent drop outs and is not that fast, so downloading large files or working on on-line documents is difficult. I'm doing a post graduate university course and it was quite impossible for me to listen/watch my on-line presentations, but was absolutely fine for web browsing or downloading e-mail. We booked late after all the beachfront bure's were booked out so had to settle for a hillside ocean view bure, but its a reasonable trek up the hill so the beachfront bure's are definitely the best option.

The food is excellent, breakfasts offer a wide choice from a buffet selection plus hot options, lunch and dinner is always a 3 course meal of a very high standard, you get to choose from 3 or 4 starters, mains and deserts. Thee only disappointment was that poached eggs at breakfast had a bitter flavour, we think they use vinegar do stop them sticking. They are quite relaxed about guests taking pastries and fruit away for snacks for the kids during the day, in fact we discovered towards the end that they have a selection of the breakfast pastries available at the bar next to the pool for you to help yourselves to. Another nice touch is free sunscreen and mosquito repellant at the pool area and the latter always available in the rooms.

The spa is simple and not of the standard we have experienced in Thailand or Bali so if this is important to you that may be a factor but we were there for the snorkeling which was excellent. There is a daily boat trip out to some reefs (free) around the island, and the visibility varies from good to brilliant depending on the weather, there is a wonderful range of reef fish but no pelagics, no sharks to be concerned about! You can snorkel just off the beach, but this is best done near high tide to clear the coral. The coral is well protected and in excellent condition, they won't even build a jetty on the island because they don't want to damage the coral.There is a good number of stand up paddle boards and kayaks (several with glass bottoms) and I think one or two hobbie cats. The water is about 28 degrees C so wetsuits are not needed. Unfortunately there is no dive facility on the island so this was difficult and expensive to arrange, we would have had to hire a boat & instructor for a morning for 2 dives for up to 4 people at F$1000. We are looking forward to going back to Vomo next year, but will spend a few days on another island in the Mamanucas where there is a dive facility first. The white soft sand beach surrounds most of the island, so if its windy one side it's usually calm on the other. The island is large enough to have a 3km jogging circuit from the pool to the helipad and back which we did daily before breakfast.

Fishing is not great either, they don't really have professional charter captains, it's limited to hand line fishing just offshore for the kids or trolling around the island, we caught one small Spanish mackerel, and although their website shows one of the guys with a huge GT ( grand trevalley) which are monstrous fighting fish, your chance of catching these is very slim. If fishing is your thing there are other islands with professional fishing charters that target GT's and other game fish.

The large fresh water pool is the central focus, with plenty of sun loungers, next to the restaurant and bar and just off the beach. In school holidays it can be a bit noisy at times around the pool, but for most of the day it's reasonably quiet. The beach bure's have sun loungers on the deck plus on the beach in front plus a hammock so it's easy to escape the noise. There is a nice floodlit tennis court and a 9 hole par 3 golf course. There is also a small kids sized table tennis table in the TV lounge (none of the rooms have TV's) and I'm told, another one in the kids club. The bats were in good condition. There is a tiny shop which sells a few items of clothing, sunscreen, small souvenirs , so you really need to take everything you need with you.

My 11 year old daughter loved the kids club, made lots of friends there, and most kids have dinner in the kids club and remain there from 6-9pm to give the adults some "adult time" over dinner.

So what's not so good at Vomo ? - just one thing really, and that's the service, I don't know if its due to understaffing or poor training but this was our only gripe. After being deposited at the helipad we waited for 20 minutes for someone to collect us then started walking to the resort where we bumped into a staff member who called a car to collect us and our bags. We would often wait for ages at dinner to have our order taken. We took a case of wine with us, a good tip from a friend, but the staff that cleaned the room never replaced the wine glasses that we landed up leaving at the bar, or took away dirty coffee glasses that we took up from the bar, and were tardy at replacing used items from the minibar. Even when we phoned reception for clean wine glasses, it would often take 2-3 calls before someone finally arrived with them.

Room Tip: Unless you don't mind kid's noise I suggest you avoid the beachfront bure's closest to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richard_s_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Bula and a big vinaka for your review. We're so pleased you chose Vomo and that your family each had a good time. We get a lot of positive comments on the complimentary wifi and we do sympathise with you regarding it dropping out. Unfortunately that does happen from time to time so we hope you were able to keep in touch and stay up to date with your work. We also apologise for other aspects of your trip that did not meet your expectations - we will work to address those aspects you raised.

We are planning a few changes for next year which include some developments to the spa to enhance that experience. We hope you will return next year for some R&R after a few big days diving! All the best, Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

After 3 days on Vomo I can see why so many people have gushed about the resort on here. By far the best overall service we've received at any hotel or resort anywhere. This coupled with the natural beauty of Vomo is a winning formulae.

If you're looking for a resort in Fiji & If you have kids or don't mind kids then this is it. You'll be a fan of Ilai and his staff as we were in no time and half hate the chef - Geoffrey for serving up an amazing 3 course meal every 3 hours!

If you do have kids the staff have a full day of activities lined up every day. We don't but guessing we'll be saving for holidays here when we do!

( I know this review sounds like an ad, but go, then re-read. You'll agree )

Must dos:

The staff will set up a picnic lunch for you on a deserted island ( Little Vomo ) on your own footprint less beach, or dinner on the beach.

There's a sunset bar called The Rocks that looks out over Little Vomo, it's wonderful. They open from 5-7pm. I recommend the Chocolate Lady. Not the manliest cocktail, but it's great! As the sun sets the bats from Little Vomo fly to the main island for the night.

Subsurface dive comes to the island on a Thursday. We had a great dive (today) with Will. Great teacher if you've always wanted to learn to scuba dive. If you're more into snorkeling the reef off the beach is better than any I've seen (Raro etc)

The only downside of the island is getting there via South Pacific. If you're on a budget they are the ONLY option, however, they make people going to Vomo pay for the Captains lounge so a return fare is around Fj $380 per person!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Notoriousbhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Bula from Vomo! Thank you for such a fabulous review. We can't tell you how invaluable these reviews are and we say a special vinaka for making a point of mentioning some of our highlights. If you wrote this after only three days with us then you were making very good use of your time.

We really pride ourselves on our cuisine and our staff and that you enjoyed both so much is great to hear. Ilai has a rapidly growing fan club so we'll keep a look out for you as we'd love you to return with a family in tow - or before! All the best and keep in touch with us over Facebook and other social media. Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We travelled to Vomo island in September this year as a couple with a 10 month old baby. Vomo had been recommended to us by our travel agent. Before we booked, the Vomo management and staff were very helpful in answering question and concerns about suitability of types of accommodation for our baby and even offered a complementary room upgrade to ensure it was safer for our crawling baby. Our breath was taken a back when we arrived at the island by boat. It is a beautiful place and also a peaceful place which is a welcome relief from the hustle and bustle of many Fijian family resorts. You can always find your own quiet spot on Vomo. Unfortunately our daughter decided to bring gastro along with her but the staff were helpful in providing gastrolyte and sourcing any other requirements from the mainland. I would mention though that with such a large proportion of the guests having young children that a trained nurse may be required to be on the island full time. I know other Fijian family resorts do offer this service and it would put many guests mind at ease as travelling to other countries with little ones can be stressful. The food on Vomo is great and they are happy to offer multiple choices from the menu if you are a bit hungrier. We also ordered from the kids menu from time to time when we felt like a less gourmet option for lunch and these meals were great too! The are enough activities available to do and the the daily snorkelling trips are a must. We saw lots of fish, gorgeous coral, sharks, rays and even a turtle. The nanny we had was wonderful. Even though our daughter was sick Elena was happy to care for her and gave her lots of extra cuddles. She was very patient with her as she was more irritable than usual and always like me know if she got very upset and needed my assistance. The only thing we noticed that was a little different to our previous Fiji experiences was that the staff seemed to "hold back" a little on their natural style and seemed a bit reserved or shy at times. We are unsure if this was a management instruction or if the people were just less outgoing and chatty to those that we had previously met at other resorts. We love getting to know staff and locals and would have liked them to feel a little more at ease in our company. The helicopter ride home was spectacular and such a quick and easy way to travel especially with a little one.
Overall I would summarise Vomo as a place where you can have a family holiday without the adults having to compromise to family food and activities. It is a beautiful place and we would hope to return again one day.

Room Tip: Beachfront villas are by far the best option although not overly private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandaandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Bula! Thank you so much for your review. Being familiar with your booking we are so pleased that you were able to join us especially after rescheduling previously. It makes us happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and that you and your husband were able to have a bit of precious adult time too. We will make sure Elena receives your compliments and your note on a registered nurse is a very good point; we will certainly discuss that.

Thank you for choosing Vomo and we hope to welcome you back again. You can be sure our staff will remember you and your little one - as you know they just love kids! Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We returned to Fiji and in particular Vomo Island for a well earned "retirement break" for 5 days and it did not disappoint. The resort has obviously defined it target market of executive couples with small children who are totally looked after during the day and "mature couples" who don't mine the odd child around. Grandparents love substitutes on a holiday. The restaurant was very good with a great selection, variation and good service but the vino as always is bit OTT. Reading books and that afternoon nap is just what this holiday is about you us and it delivered.

Room Tip: Beachfront always
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeftheRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Bula! We are so pleased you returned to Fiji to 'celebrate' and that you chose Vomo. It's great to read that your stay was not only enjoyable but very relaxing and that you made the most of the balmy afternoons to indulge in a nap. Thank you for your kind comments about being happy to see young families on Vomo - we try our best to enable a pleasurable experience for all travellers and we have a few plans in motion to make that even better.

All the best for your retirement and we'd love to welcome you back again. Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have just returned from 5 nights at Vomo Resort (Couple 50's and 12 year old daughter). We had a fantastic time there and I would like to thank the friendly staff who were all wonderful and treated us so well. The food was great, the villa lovely and clean. Excellent service all round. It is a wonderful location and we enjoyed the relaxed feel on the Island.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view villa and liked being in a villa on the side of the watersports. I would have l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Bula and a big vinaka for the review of your very recent holiday with us. We are so pleased you had such an enjoyable time on Vomo and especially that you managed some quality time away with your daughter. We are so proud of our staff - they are one of our best assets so we will make sure your comments are passed on to them. All the best and if you choose to visit us again please contact us directly and we can try to organise a room request for you. Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I feel compelled to write a review because our holiday on Vomo was thoroughly enjoyable. It was our first holiday as parents of 15 month old twins.We felt welcome from the moment we arrived and by 10 minutes later we were sitting by the pool eating a 3 course lunch. The staff were warm, friendly and knew our names (plus they could tell the difference between our identical girls by the first meal). Nothing was too much trouble.
The location and facilities were excellent. Vomo Island is beautiful and provides a wonderful location for all the water sports provided. There was privacy and the place never felt busy or crowded but it had the right level of 'buzz' in the evenings at dinner and the bars.
Accommodation was very good, we stayed in a hillside bure and this suited us for the privacy and the view. The laundry service and house keeping was excellent.
Food was a massive highlight for us, every meal time we had a new 3 course menu and the portions were the right size. We could order off the kids menu if we wanted plus the kitchen staff provided some special orders such as chicken sandwiches for the girls.
The kids facilities are excellent from the new kids club house stocked with toys, tv, music, sports equipment etc. Everyday there were at least 5-6 different activites on a day such as basket weaving, film nights or bead making classes. However the greatest surprise to us was the nannies. Due to the age of our children we had 2 nannies which were consistently there to assist us. Sala and Vuli looked after our girls like they were their own and we can only hope that we can see them again soon. We had complete confidence from very early on in our holiday that the girls were always in safe hands.
We met some lovely friends and had some good nights out during our trip. Cocktails watching the sunset at The Rocks Bar was unsurpassed.
In short, we had a holiday of a life time but we know it wont be our only one to Vomo. We will definitely be back. I have read the neagitive reviews and it does not seem to be the same place we went to. I can not think of anything to critise apart from I wasnt as keen on one of the lunch entrees served...
Thank you to all the staff at Vomo and see you soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Abby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Bula! What a delightful review to read. Thank you so much for taking the time to post about your visit to Vomo. We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable holiday and we are so happy that you felt so welcome and safe to trust your little ones into the care of our expert baby butlers. Fijians love family and when children such as yours visit they are truly embraced.

It sounds as if you made the most of our new Kids Village and managed to sample some of the attractions for grown ups on the island. We believe cocktails at The Rocks is one of the highlights of a trip to Vomo so we are happy you feel the same way.

All the best and we will look forward to welcoming you back to Vomo and seeing your little ones grow up. We love your profile photo - the magic of Vomo lives on! Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vomo Island
21.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
769 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
762 reviews
16.3 mi away
Tadrai Island Resort
Tadrai Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Mana Island
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,505 reviews
19 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
905 reviews
13.2 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vomo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vomo Island Resort

Address: 26 Nasoki Street | Lautoka, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Vomo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vomo Island
Price Range: $790 - $1,345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vomo Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst endless warm turquoise waters, bountiful coral reefs and fringed with sand so soft and pure is Vomo Island, easily the most beautiful of all Fijian Islands. Privately-owned and occupied solely by Vomo Island Resort, guests enjoy world-class cuisine, professional 5-star service, sophisticated Villas and a full range of activities including magnificent snorkeling. Vomo Lailai, Vomo's tiny private island, sits 1km to the west of Vomo and offers guests an afternoon of extremely indulgent privacy and isolation with Gourmet Champagne picnics delivered to you. Vomo offers luxurious Beachfront, Hillside and Garden View Villas for two plus the three-bedroom private residence, The Royal, and the four-bedroom private residence, The Residence, ideal for larger parties or if you crave complete privacy. A full range of non-motorised water sports are offered alongside 9-hole chip and putt golf, a fully staffed day spa and floodlit tennis. The Vomo Turtle Protection Programme raises and releases Hawksbill Turtles born on the island and Vomo is surrounded by a marine protection zone which guarantees magnificent snorkeling. Vomo welcomes couples and families of all ages. Supervised care for children is provided by The Turtle Club. Rates include all meals in the restaurant, non-motorised water sports including snorkeling, golf and tennis, welcome gift and daily laundry service. Vomo is truly the hidden jewel of the Fijian Islands and offers a unique and personal experience to all who choose to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vomo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vomo Island Hotel Vomo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing