We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vomo Island Resort
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveler rating
378
48
15
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
48
15
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubbeachfront villalunch and dinnerdaily laundry servicesunset drinksmovie roomfishnon alcoholic drinksthree coursesprivate picnichelicopter transferwelcome songbeach sidefiji nightdaily snorkel tripsmonth old babysea plane
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 454 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Bula! My husband 2 boys (4yrs & 6 yrs) and I have just returned last night from 9 days on Vomo. It was our first trip with the kids and 3rd trip for us since getting married there in 2003. We've been to numerous family and luxury destinations in Fiji and I still think this is the best by far. We will definitely be going back again.

Firstly the kids had a blast and made some fab friends and learned so much. My youngest came out of his shy shell and out from behind his brother's shadow. The kids club was so relaxed and fun and our babysitter Livvy was a dream. This meant we could stay up later and have dinner and drinks with new friends.

There are so many things to do on Vomo but we just found nothing was rushed.

Our focus seemed to be around eating because the meals were stunning. Fresh, simple, original. Great portions sizes too. On hungry days I just ordered 2 starters before my main meal. So there is no excuse to say you are hungry afterwards. The kids menu was refreshingly good too. They even dined outside on set tables at kids club each night when not with us. The resort is also well trained to deal with clients with allergies.

Highlights & tips
- paddle boarding around the island was a very good trip. Tuck some water into your shorts
- daily snorkel trips with the activities hut guys. Even snorkelling off the main beach is stunning.
- Walk up the mountain. Stunning view.
- Church Service Sunday. Passionate and an experience.
- Village visit. My kids loved meeting the gorgeous fijian kids and seeing how they lived and schooling. Very good for them to see the real fiji isn't all helicopters and pools but still happy and fulfilling.
- Cocktails at the Rocks Bar watching sunset. I highly recommend the Vomo Lady!
- Helicopter transfer is worth it. Leaving NZ at 745am we were sitting down for lunch at Vomo 12.30pm. It also ads another half day at the other end.
- Lovo night great fun and make sure you try the cava.
- Papaya products in Spa were great.
- New kids club building will be amazing. My boys are excited about next time.

The staff were lead by an amazing management team who we felt lucky to get to know. I believe the smaller resort size ensures the staff have the time to get to know you and you them. I was sad to not be able to say goodbye to some who had already left on leave. But I know they will be there next time. This is a resort where you can get to know other guests if you want, as the friendly vibe seems to rub off on everyone.

From Eli (6yrs old)-
Every morning I had pancakes for breakfast. The kids club was awesome and I loved doing bombs in the pool with my dad. My dad would throw the ball in the pool for me to catch and Hunter was my best friend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fifillmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Bula! What a fabulous holiday you had with us! We are so flattered that with all of the amazing destinations to choose from that you keep coming back to Vomo. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with everyone and we hope to welcome you back to Vomo ... again! Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I went to a wedding on the island. It was such a magic spot and we had such an amazing time. The trip to little vomo was also very cool. I would highly recommend this as a destination. Just make your stay long and savour every minute.

Room Tip: My tip is to stay as long as you can and stay close to the beach as you can take a few steps and be in the water and snorkel.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Bula and a warm vinaka from Vomo! Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us - it sounds as if the magic of Vomo combined with a special occasion helped make it a very special break away for you both. We are very pleased to read that you not only visited Vomo Lailai but had such a good experience over there as it's not every day you are on your own deserted island! Needless to say we agree with your advice to stay as long as possible and to savour every minute as the time just seems to slip by too quickly when you're having fun. We hope to welcome you back to our shores in the future. Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Over Easter we went to Vomo Island enmasse for my Dad's 70th birthday.
Having not been to Fiji since I was about 11 years old it was so amazing to go back.
In total there were 16 of us - 8 adults and 8 children ranging from 13 to 2 years old.
Vomo definitely hit the mark for everyone - it was a superb experience.

Vomo is a small island with only 33 villas in total and a maximum of 80 people on the island at any one time including children although it averages about 50 - 60 people.
The staffing levels however are about 125 people so service is very good.

Its a truly idyllic place, the villa's have a rustic appeal although not overly styled. The food was outstanding, over 9 days the menu was never the same, extensive choices across lunch and dinner every day and a great wine selection.

The price includes all meals and you can have 3 courses for breakfast, lunch and dinner if you like. Although the headline prices appear expensive, the value is exceptional and to say the island caters well for all age groups is an understatement.The staff are beautiful and after a day know everyone by name. Nanny services are available 24 hours a day if you need it.

A new kids club is opening shortly, and we understand the existing kids club being converted into teenagers retreat. The children have constant activities and adventures organised for them and can either eat their meals at the club or with you whatever you prefer. For our older children, who weren't interested in kids club, the Activities staff took them under their wing and organised daily adventures to suit the boys - rugby games with the Fijian staff, volleyball games, snorkelling, tennis, basketball, spear fishing & shark hunting - they LOVED it! Basically you can have the kids occupied from 10 am till 9pm every day if you wish. Also because the island is so small you felt safe letting them have a little bit of freedom which they loved.

The staff were also just so beautiful - we cried and they cried as they sang us their traditional "Goodbye" song - they also sing every night and have a traditional Lovo night which the children also dance and sing at. The "nothing is a problem at Vomo" approach by staff is incredible and a credit to management.

Its almost impossible to find fault with the entire Vomo experience, however, the only drawback was the size of the gym, given the amazing menu and a fanatical fitness family, it was very cramped if more than 3 people used the gym at the same time.

Now to start saving for the next visit !!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Bula! A very big vinaka from the team at Vomo. It's so good to hear that your group had such a good time with us and that everyone found their own little piece of magic on Vomo. The kids club building will be fantastic and it is very nearly open. It's great to hear our activities staff had plenty for your older children to do too - we will pass on your comments. It's high praise to be compared to Qualia and achieving those comparisons are a credit to our whole team. Thank you again and hopefully we will welcome you back in the near future! Keep in touch with us in the meantime. Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My husband and I and our 3 children ages 7,8 & 9 just returned from 8 nights on vomo. This was our first trip and hopefully one of many in years to come ! Where do I start... Firstly the kids had an amazing time in kids club and never wanted to leave - there are endless fantastic and fun activities for them in an amazing environment .. Think , hermit crab races , bonfires on the beach to name just a few. The meals also for kids were sensational.
For adults ... The food is certainly 5 star and the choices were wonderful and the menu constantly changing , in a nutshell the food is to die for !
The service from all the staff on the island , is truly amazing - so welcoming and warm and friendly - it was hard to leave vomo ! Nothing is ever too much trouble and if you want a private picnic as the 5 of us did on a deserted patch of the island - no problem , it was organized with a smile and in 30 minutes a gourmet lunch was set up !
The island itself is breathtaking , clear blue water , white sandy beach and lovely coral reefs close to shore.
The accommodations are perfect and to be a few meters from the beach made the holiday even more special.
Somehow vomo manages to tick all the boxes for everyone - it is a haven for kids, adults can feel truly pampered and it has a very romantic feel,but at the same time it has a small/friendly feel that by about day 2 you know other guests names and find yourself making new friends over a bottle (or two !) over lunch set up on the beach .
We can't speak more highly of vomo and if you are a traveller wanting to experience a very special destination and have a holiday of a lifetime then head to vomo ! You won't be disappointed !

Room Tip: Go the beach front bure
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21Family21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Bula! Wow - thank you so much for posting your review and for taking the time to mention some of your experiences like the private picnic and the kids club. Our new kids club building will be open soon and the kid's experience will be even better! We love your comments, that Vomo manages to tick all the boxes for everyone visiting. It's something we try very hard to manage and it's excellent to hear when we get it right. We hope to welcome you and your family back again in the near future and we look forward to keeping in touch. Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We have just returned from our 4th stay at Vomo. We wanted a special place to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and this resort has it all. First off all, the staff, who we have got to know personally, are exceptional. The management "get it right" especially on this last visit as they really went out of their way to reassure us that we would be fine, in this latest tragedy to strike Fiji. The weather was horrific but in noway did we feel in any danger, intact we felt quite at ease. Where do we start to describe Vomo ? The accommodation is excellent, beds are so comfy, toilettes devine, and having your laundry done daily is wonderful. The snorkeling just off the beach and around the island is absolutely fabulous, the daily snorkeling trips are a must. The food is to die for, there was not one meal, we didn't fine amazing, thanks to Jeff and his team. A walk around the island and a walk to the top of the hill, is worth the effort and a kayak around the island and a kayak over to little Vomo is awesome. Getting to Vomo, we recommend the chopper, as it only takes about 12mins and the scenery is breathtaking.
We have been visiting Fiji for 20 years, have stayed at almost all the island resorts, and returning to Vomo for our 4th stay, has to say it all. Don't waste time looking for the perfect place, just go to Vomo, you won't regret it. This will definitely not be our last visit, we will be returning. Thanks Wayne, Toni-Marie, Jeff & staff, for making yet another perfect stay in Paradise.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kayno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Bula! A very sincere thank you for taking the time to review your time spent with us. Unfortunately we can't control the weather but it's so good to hear that despite the inclement conditions that our staff and island were able to still let you enjoy your special occasion with us. We are so flattered that you chose to spend your occasion with us and not to mention that it was your fourth time to Vomo! We agree, that really does say it all. Hopefully we will see you back in the very near future as we have a number of improvement projects being worked on which will make your next stay on Vomo even better. Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews