We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If There Was a Ten Star Rating They Would Get That!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Treasure Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If There Was a Ten Star Rating They Would Get That!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Where do I start... From the second we arrived we were treated like lost (and now found) members of the family. Little Tui gave a great tour of the island and it's essentials on the way to our room. We got settled and headed to the bar and met two of the most genuine loving people in the world. First Big Tui, the most gentle, amazing person with a heart of gold, a fantastic smile and perfect personal service (he also named a drink after my lovely wife). Sadly he was due for a break and we only had a few days with him but he was still a very special part of the trip.
Second was the lovely Ovini, this absolutely incredible person went above and beyond the call of service on every aspect of our trip. From simple things like a fresh a warm hello by name every morning, to personal service and attention when ever we were at the bar.
Everyone else made an incredible effort to make us feel at home too (F & B manager Irene thank you to you too).
The activities on the island are perfect and plentiful and the kids club was very professional. I can't express enough that you're next holiday has to be here!!!

Room Tip: Any room along the side of the island that you arrive on is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NeilJones1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    290
    123
    66
    38
See reviews for
431
244
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackmans Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was our first time to Treasure Island, and I'm sure it won't be our last. We were very happy with our Bure, the staff was friendly and welcoming - Henry was absolutely fantastic - very friendly and helpful.

Don't expect 5 star accommodation and food - besides, children don't love 5 star food in anyway - we were pleasantly surprised by everything. Everything was clean, staff was always friendly - nothing is too much trouble. The kids buffet were very kid friendly - Nachos, spag bol, fish chips, vege sticks etc...so even the picky eaters had something to chose from.

We used babysitters - a huge thank you to Ula and Rajaile - they were absolutely fantastic with our 3 year old girl. If I could suggest something is that they have more activities for younger children between 3 and 5.

We had the most amazing time on Treasure Island, fantastic dives with Juliet at the Dive Centre!

I would definitely recommend Treasure Island as a holiday destination for any family with children, manage your expectations and you will have an amazing time. We also made some great new friends there!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ydj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, SK Canada
Level Contributor
270 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Took a day excursion to Treasure Island, Fiji. Second Island Excursion. Treasure Island was not paradise as compared to Castaway Island. The two Islands are like comparing a 2.5star to a 6 star. Treasure Island ws basic and the beaches were not great. Castaway was paradise on all levels. Treasure Island is more the economy Island stay. If you have the resources CASTAWAY Island is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Did not stay in the accommodations review is based on an island excursion
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Laen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
306 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Returned for my 10th stay at Treasure - and the first trip there since the island re-opened. The grounds were greatly improved - couldn't believe what a difference it made with so much of the vegetation gone - sad for the plants but made for great views from all the bures.

Great to see the good work that has gone into re-thatching the beach shelters - many of which were looking very tatty before the storm. Great work on the reception bure too - it looks really lovely.

First time I have stayed in a bure in the 20s - normally always stay nearer the watersports area. Was quite a different experience and very tranquil round there. Wouldn't want to be below about number 24 though - as the beach gets rocky round there.

We've always had issues with the sun loungers - they're hard plastic with old and thin mats on top - if you're lucky to get a mat at all. Interestingly this problem has now been sorted - no mats on any of the chairs! See the photo below. This seems absolutely unbelievable! Next time I will definitely be taking a mat of some sort to sit on. My old bones need a bit more TLC on a beach holiday!

Only other blot on the holiday was when guests at a neighbouring bure lit a bonfire on the beach - and much of the smoke blew our way for the next hour or two until it finally burnt itself out. Wouldn't have expected that or thought that it would be acceptable in a place where fire must always be a concern.

Treasure is much the same as it always has been. It's not perfect, but its perfectly good and a really lovely place for a truly relaxing holiday. So long as you're not expecting 5 star luxury, you won't be disappointed. I hope to return again.

Room Tip: Bures 25+ will ensure you're away form the rocky beach. Not worth paying extra for beachfront e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CactusRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We thought this part of our trip would be wonderful but we were let down by the tiredness of everything. Sure the Cyclone caused a lot of damage (especially to the beaches and coral) but if you cannot provide a top quality product and ARE charging top dollar then don't open until you are ready.

From the moment we got off the little boat that picked us up off the Flyer everything just seemed disjointed. The reception office looks nice as did the bar/restaurant area, oh yes and the pool area was nice, especially for the kids. BUT the grounds of the Island were rough, the staff accommodation buildings were terrible and very visible as you walk past to your Bure, the road and paths were rough. It just looked all unkept.

The Bure was large and quite nice inside. Great to have Aircon to cool the room down, but no mosquito screen netting even though there is an outbreak of Dengue Fever but presumably they spray the resort (however never assume nothing in Fiji!). Shower mixer did not work properly, went from cold to hot then back to cold and then hot again....painful. Beds were fine and overall no issues with the bure.

Kids club was great, as was the guy in charge of this, really nice and caring so thank you for that. Most of the staff were good but they did seem as though they were going through the motions...maybe too much singing at night??

Restaurant food was average (kids meals were not much chop...poor little buggars) and did I mention the flys....always having to bat them away while eating. So obviously an issue with cleanliness. What also got us was the lack of utensils and crockery with staff washing plates (in dirty water) etc in full view of punters waiting for another plate to put some breakfast on it.

All in all a bit dodgy and given what we paid no way would we reccommend this place or ever consider returning. Sorry team at Treasure island but you have lots of work to do. And please whoever owns this place stop ripping off the poor Fijian workers. Pay them more and you will get better performance or keep the good ones and reward them. The lady at reception took 25 minutes to check us out. That is taking Fijian Time to a new level.

Room Tip: All units view the sea so don't get tricked like we did into paying more for beachfront when in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spaniwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a great value holiday, focused on kids. The staff can't do enough for you, as if you are part of their extended family. Our 11 year old son loved the kids club because of the activities and same aged kids. We only stayed 3 nights and wish we had booked for 5-6 nights. The accommodation is basic but it works, with your own verandah area for quiet Gin and Tonic. The beds are very firm, if you like that, unfortunately I don't, but that is all I could critic of them. Because of the nature of the resort you do make friends with other families which we liked, but I would imagine you could still keep to yourselves if you chose too.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms that face the other side (?eastern side I think). We had room #21, so anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous place for families! The food & kids club were the highlight of the holiday! This is a place you would go to if you want complete relaxation away from civilisation! Our 10 & 6yr olds spent all day away from us with the other kids and loved it!!!
I really can't fault anything!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alibaliboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Island
3.0 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
437 reviews
10.6 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
890 reviews
9.9 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
733 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki ...
#2 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
59 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Island Resort

Property: Treasure Island Resort
Address: | Mamanuca Island, 2210, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Treasure Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a coral and sand fringed atoll within a stunning marine sanctuary, Treasure Island is one of Fiji's most iconic resorts, with over 40 years' experience in providing hospitality and friendship to travellers from across the globe. The island caters especially to families, honeymooners and true romantics seeking a unique and unforgettable island holiday experience. Treasure Island is one of the only resorts in the Mamanuca Islands to offer same day transfers, which means that you arrive on our island paradise the same day you arrive in Fiji. Treasure Island is unique as our traditional land owners, the Nakelo Clan, own 50 per cent of the resort and members of the clan hold many key positions, so our team (or as they prefer to be called, hosts) have a vested interest in delivering a truly authentic Fijian experience. This genuine hospitality is contagious and the main reason we have so many return guests. In fact one couple has visited us 85 times! Why don't you come experience for yourself what is unique and special about our island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Treasure Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Hotel Treasure Island
Fiji Treasure Island
Treasure Island Fiji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing