We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Treasure Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We thought this part of our trip would be wonderful but we were let down by the tiredness of everything. Sure the Cyclone caused a lot of damage (especially to the beaches and coral) but if you cannot provide a top quality product and ARE charging top dollar then don't open until you are ready.

From the moment we got off the little boat that picked us up off the Flyer everything just seemed disjointed. The reception office looks nice as did the bar/restaurant area, oh yes and the pool area was nice, especially for the kids. BUT the grounds of the Island were rough, the staff accommodation buildings were terrible and very visible as you walk past to your Bure, the road and paths were rough. It just looked all unkept.

The Bure was large and quite nice inside. Great to have Aircon to cool the room down, but no mosquito screen netting even though there is an outbreak of Dengue Fever but presumably they spray the resort (however never assume nothing in Fiji!). Shower mixer did not work properly, went from cold to hot then back to cold and then hot again....painful. Beds were fine and overall no issues with the bure.

Kids club was great, as was the guy in charge of this, really nice and caring so thank you for that. Most of the staff were good but they did seem as though they were going through the motions...maybe too much singing at night??

Restaurant food was average (kids meals were not much chop...poor little buggars) and did I mention the flys....always having to bat them away while eating. So obviously an issue with cleanliness. What also got us was the lack of utensils and crockery with staff washing plates (in dirty water) etc in full view of punters waiting for another plate to put some breakfast on it.

All in all a bit dodgy and given what we paid no way would we reccommend this place or ever consider returning. Sorry team at Treasure island but you have lots of work to do. And please whoever owns this place stop ripping off the poor Fijian workers. Pay them more and you will get better performance or keep the good ones and reward them. The lady at reception took 25 minutes to check us out. That is taking Fijian Time to a new level.

Room Tip: All units view the sea so don't get tricked like we did into paying more for beachfront when in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spaniwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 873 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a great value holiday, focused on kids. The staff can't do enough for you, as if you are part of their extended family. Our 11 year old son loved the kids club because of the activities and same aged kids. We only stayed 3 nights and wish we had booked for 5-6 nights. The accommodation is basic but it works, with your own verandah area for quiet Gin and Tonic. The beds are very firm, if you like that, unfortunately I don't, but that is all I could critic of them. Because of the nature of the resort you do make friends with other families which we liked, but I would imagine you could still keep to yourselves if you chose too.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms that face the other side (?eastern side I think). We had room #21, so anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PipF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous place for families! The food & kids club were the highlight of the holiday! This is a place you would go to if you want complete relaxation away from civilisation! Our 10 & 6yr olds spent all day away from us with the other kids and loved it!!!
I really can't fault anything!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alibaliboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was not our first stay on Treasure Island. If you want five star accommodation, television, newspapers, radio or motor cars then you don't go to Treasure Island.

Everything is Fiji time, just relax, wind down and enjoy yourself.

If you want to be a number like the five star hotels then don't go to Treasure Island. The staff treat everyone as if you are family.

If you want a five star resort then don't go to Treasure Island. On Treasure it is like a home away from home.

It is amazing how the island has been rebuilt after the December 2012 cyclone. To be closed for 12 months and to be only open for 4 months is a remarkable story. You would not know that the island had been the worst affected. To have as they call it a hurricane with winds of over 200 kph for four hours at it peak, it is amazing that today it is back operating. Sacrifices have been made to get back to where it is today.

To have the President of Fiji reopen Treasure Island it is testimony to what the island means to Fiji and its people.

If you want five star food and fine dining then don't go to Treasure. It is more simple and homely.

If you want to hear one of the best bands then do go to Treasure Island. On Wednesday 30 April 2014 we were in the bar and thought that the band had put a tape of Adele on and were having a break. When we went to investigate what we found was one amazing singer in Adi (pronounced Andi) singing a rendition of an Adele song; inspiring to say the very least. Adi also does an amazing number of Etta James number "At Last". There is nothing this band can't do.

If you want to spend hours in the water, read a novel on the beach or be in a hammock, dine under the stars and hear great music while enjoying a great cocktail and food then Treasure Island is the only place to be.

How great it is to see a legend like Henry running kids club in the late 90's to now be in charge of activities and entertainment today.

The people on Treasure Island make you feel at home. One must not forget that great past time of the International crab race each Wednesday; it is one great night for the whole family.

Yes, some things may not work but is it really that big a deal when you are there and remember where you are and being with the people on the island.

There is nothing more amazing to see the sunset on Treasure Island.

When it is all said and done Treasure Island is truly "One if Life's Simple Pleasures" and above all is a home away from home.

Room Tip: There are only 64 rooms on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rowdy_Sideline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed 8 gorgeous relaxing nights at treasure over Easter. In addition to the brilliant kids club, it is the perfect kiddie holiday as there are no mosquitos, there's heaps of shade (even over the pool, which has an awesome design for little ones) and the island is so easy and quick to get to from the airport.

Mostly, though, the staff are just extraordinary. I've travelled all over the world and been to countless similar set ups, but have never encountered such genuine kindness and warmth underpinned by such professionalism in just about every individual staff member. The staff were so lovely to us and our baby, and I literally had tears in my eyes saying goodbye.

The one small criticism I have is the marketing of the bures as oceanfront or otherwise. We paid the extra for the former, but our room was in fact set back a few metres. This was not remotely a problem and our room was fine, but it just seems a bit of a farce to differentiate the two virtually identical room types.

Apart from that, we loved the music and dancing every night, the band is great and the staff make what could be corny into such good fun. As others have mentioned, the food was expensive but abundant and mostly very good.

I would highly recommend Treasure, particularly for families, and would like to thank the truly stunning staff who made us feel so welcome and relaxed and spoiled. Vinaka lovely people!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank vimnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We visited Treasure Island as part of an "Excitor" day trip from Denarau. The trip included a snorkel tour using equipment from the island's dive shop, and lunch at the resort's restaurant.

The reef just offshore has a nice collection of coral and fish, especially considering the "traffic" associated with being snorkel-accessible from the island's beach. There are also kayaks, mini-golf, and other activities available on the island.

The staff at the restaurant were lovely--very friendly, but obviously a bit overwhelmed by the number of people around (this was during the ANZAC holiday weekend which followed the Easter holiday weekend). It didn't feel "crowded", but I definitely got the sense that there were more people there than the staff was used to. While there were delays in getting food, the food itself was of a decent quality and the restaurant had a variety of options from which to choose.

While I can't comment on what bures or a longer stay would be like at Treasure Island, based on the facilities around the island I think it would be good for a couple of days, maybe as a starting point for further exploration of the Mamanucas and Yasawas. It seems to be one of the more family-friendly islands that we've seen, so maybe a choice for a longer stay if you have little ones with you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreasureIslandAdmin, General Manager at Treasure Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Bula Brad F,

We're glad to hear that you had a great visit albeit a quick one.

Treasure is ideal for families and large enough for secluded spots for couples, as you pointed out it is a relaxing and wonderful island, good as a starting point or for your entire stay in Fiji.

We trust the balance our your stay in Fiji was enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Vinaka vakalevu,

Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I dont know who could write a good review...very disappointed. .the service is terrible. .after ordering our food had to wait for 1,5 hour for the food to be served...for everytning else including meal, drinks they made us waited hours and hours...and some of ordered food never arrived. The taste of food horrible. Management have to look at this issue seriously. .it can be improved. Room is very average. ..no wifi in the room, no tv & radio. We will never go back and will tell our friends to avoid the Treasure Island resort...

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larasydney25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreasureIslandAdmin, General Manager at Treasure Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Bula larasydney25,

Thank you for your feedback, I really sorry that you had to wait hours for your food and drinks, this is highly unusual given the size of the resort. We have tried to pin point when you visited to identify the cause behind the delays, but to no avail. We would really love it if you could drop us a note through our feedback button on the website so that we can identify the cause so that we can improve our processes.

Treasure Island Resort does not have TV's in the rooms nor radios or phones, this is a choice we have made at inception and will continue to maintain. We do have Wifi which covers the entire island including in the rooms. If you could let us know which room you stayed in via the website feedback as there may be an area which the Wifi does not reach and we of course would love to identify this and have it fixed.

Thanks for your feedback, we rely on this to continually improve our standards.

Vinaka vakalevu,

Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Island
10.8 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,307 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
10.6 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,219 reviews
9.8 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,744 reviews
10.7 mi away
Mana Island Resort
Mana Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mana Island
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Island Resort

Address: 2210, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Treasure Island
Price Range: $184 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Treasure Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a coral and sand fringed atoll within a stunning marine sanctuary, Treasure Island is one of Fiji's most iconic resorts, with over 40 years' experience in providing hospitality and friendship to travellers from across the globe. The island caters especially to families, honeymooners and true romantics seeking a unique and unforgettable island holiday experience. Treasure Island is one of the only resorts in the Mamanuca Islands to offer same day transfers, which means that you arrive on our island paradise the same day you arrive in Fiji. Treasure Island is unique as our traditional land owners, the Nakelo Clan, own 50 per cent of the resort and members of the clan hold many key positions, so our team (or as they prefer to be called, hosts) have a vested interest in delivering a truly authentic Fijian experience. This genuine hospitality is contagious and the main reason we have so many return guests. In fact one couple has visited us 85 times! Why don't you come experience for yourself what is unique and special about our island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Treasure Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Hotel Treasure Island
Fiji Treasure Island
Treasure Island Fiji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing