We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - with a few cons” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treasure Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Treasure Island Resort
Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Great location - with a few cons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I recently came back from a four night stay at Treasure Island. The location is stunning and we were lucky with the weather - there are however a distinct number of pros and cons:
PROS:
1. Beautiful location and the boat ride to the ferry is relaxing and just long enough (30min) to let the beautiful scenery sink in
2. Buffet food on arrival (half of the nights have buffet meals, the other half is off a menu) was well prepared and yummy - also the night singers and band are very talented and play popular songs very well, setting a great mood
3. Beachfront Bure was airconditioned (a must!) and well kept, only 15m from the beach
4. As we travelled in down season the island wasn't crowded at all, leaving lots of beach and hammocks for who was there, making it overall a very relaxing experience.
5. The resort itself, while being a resort, was not artificial like make mainland resorts. You really felt like you were in Fiji and experiencing it, as opposed to being in a spotless white room overlooking an artificial lagoon etc
6. The dive shop (for a price) provides great snorkelling, island hopping and parasailing experiences - easily highlights of the stay

HOWEVER - as written, it was overall a great place to stay, but there are some cons that I found that were also experienced by others on the island:
1. Expensive! While its generally understood that food at the only restaurant on an island will be costly due to its location and demand, but for a meal and a soft drink it'll cost you approx $50 AUS per person, which seemed steep, especially when you can get a great feed in Nadi for a whole family for the same price! The food itself is no culinary masterpiece, but its enough to fill you up. If you're planning to eat three meals a day prepare your wallet. I suggest that before departing to the island you bring some drinks and snacks in your luggage.
2. Lack of equipment/interest at the dive shop! As aforementioned, the island was quiet while we were there and all trips (snorkelling etc) need a minimum of 4 or 6 people to run, and often you won't know if a trip will run until a few minutes before, which can result in you hanging out all day for a trip that never runs (unless you want to pay double). Also its stated that all snorkelling equipment is supplied, but even with few on the island we had to wait a day for snorkelling gear to become available! A large group of daytrippers on the island for four hours missed their chance to explore the island because of this.
3. If you miss the last ferry over to the island (departing at 3pm) because your flight lands late, you'll pay $250AUS per person for a private boat transfer - ridiculous!!!
4. We noticed that while some staff are friendly and welcoming, others are rude and impatient - a bit of a killer for the holiday vibe!
5. There is no concept of a 'Do not Disturb' sign for the accommodation doors, so if you want to sleep in it'll be interrupted by cleaning staff at about 8am, then 9am....until you get up!
6. Also frequently the power shuts down, sometimes on purpose other times not, you'll suffer in the heat until its fixed (all in Fiji time)

If given the choice I'm unsure as to whether I'd stay here again, the location and reefs were stunning, but for the price you pay perhaps do a little more research before booking!

Room Tip: All rooms are Beachfront bures just a few steps from the beach - can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AussieHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    281
    120
    64
    37
See reviews for
413
241
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

just nearby and I survive by luck then I could make my living much more comfortable than that resort on treasure island...!
Poor quality huts, just one restaurant with an unskilled cook and slow service. I read few review before I start this one and what about that "Fiji time" concept! I've been in Africa as well and got used to slow service in small restaurants but at least after 1 hour , I get what I wanted as it describes on the menu...! This resort charges quite good prices for a night but at the end it returns nothing but a fabulous beach and corals around the island...! nature on the island is very very nice, people are friendly but just go some where simple, cheaper and you'll enjoy the nature of the islands the same way. I paid for 6 night for this resort and escaped with a chopper ride after 4 days...
What aussie's don't understand about the travelers complaint from other part of the world is that there are so many voices for me in Indian ocean, bahamas, medditerranean and so... that I can spend a very nice holiday with such money I pay there... And after 25 hours of flight to Fiji from home I expect the basic service and basic food when I pay over 200 usd for a night...!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dadara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was our 13th visit in 20 years, and all going well there will be a few more in our future.
We have seen lots of changes in that time, and more are on the way.
Yes, like all Resorts where you have a constant turnover of guests, things are going to need up grading and repairing.
The maintenance staff do a great job, as do all the staff.
The menu could do with a lot more variety, but the quality of the food was excellent.
Happy Hour saw the bar staff under extreme pressure, which made service slow, so maybe a couple of extra staff on deck at this time would help, this would ease the pain for those quests who are impatient and need to be served now.!!
Treasure offers as much or as little to do as you desire. Thats what a holiday is all about after all.
We have been with our children when they were younger, and we have recently taken our grand children, and Sala . Lucy , Bola and Tui from kids club are fantastic.
Once again thanks to Scott , Henry and all our fabulous friends on Treasure for yet another memorable holiday.
Vinaka Moce
Pat and Frank Sullivan Melbourne.Victoria

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat_sullivan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Recently stayed at Treasure Island for 9 days with a 4 yr old and 16mth old. Firstly, in reading lots of other posts about Treasure, you could easily separate critiques as to whether people actually relaxed to Fiji time or whether they didn't and therefore allowed lots of things to get them uptight. After staying in a lot of 4 and 5 star resorts, we rocked up on the first night and thought "what have we done"....it seems dreary and old BUT, when we woke up the next day and the weather was sunny and we started to chill in to Fiji time....we fully settled in and had probably one of the best holidays we've ever had. I think a lot of your enjoyment comes down to whether you're willing to chill and overlook the small things.

It's not a 4 or 5 star but I think clean and very comfortable. You can't beat the setting and being a small island meant there was always somewhere with calm water/low winds on the island. Our air con didn't work well (with a sick 16mth old was stressful for the first night) but they were prompt in fixing as best as they could so we couldn't ask for more. The showers were either hot or cold (but oh well....it meant more time to get out of the bure :) we bathed our 16mth old in the sink to accommodate this. I was initially worried about having only one real restaurant on the island but to be honest, not having options just added to the relaxation. The meals were decent although if you stay after a week, make sure you don't mind repetition. The staff were wonderful (although we were taken back when we were told off by a girl in the kids club for being a few minutes late for registration). I loved that there was no individual tipping as it takes this stress of thinking how and what away from the holiday. We had a baby sitter (for around $A5 per hour, every night when kids dinner was finished until 10pm so it allowed hubby and I to chill and chat. We obviously tipped her though.

I personally think (between Bali and Fiji), you can't beat Fiji for genuine loveliness but you also need to approach it that you really need to slip in to Fiji time or you will nit-pick. I think the perfect example is we were getting a little 'frustrated' with a 6-7 min walk to our bure from the restaurant a few times a day and then by the 3rd day, walked this consistently at half the pace and took in the beauty - we had slipped in to Fiji time. You could usually tell the newest to arrive as they would likewise scurry along the path.

The kids club was awesome and our 4 yr old did more than us! a combination of massage, snorkelling, fishing, crab hunting, dancing, movie nights, lots of games and the list goes on. The only suggestion (and perhaps a bit of a revenue maker for the resort), is it would be awesome to have a few photos taken at the kids club, may be pinned up on a board or a computer for guests to visit where we could also purchase the images for a couple of dollars each. Other than this, they really should get more than 4 high chairs because some days there were 10ish kids needing one and the only real thing I saw to cause some stress ("high chair rage"). But loved it, made some awesome friends, chilled, soaked it up and will certainly go again. For what you get, i would personally question whether it is worth more than $300AUD per night but we got ours for around $200PN so more than happy! As a couple, I would also reconsider as it is certainly a kid friendly place.

can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Although on a day trip this was the pick of the islands that we visited whilst in Fiji. You can walk around the whole island in 30 minutes as see something different with every step you take. Good snorkeling on the western side, cooling breezes on the southern sides, views back to the mainland on the east and rock pools on the north. Putt putt and games for the kids. Hammocks in front of each bure swung from two palms. Wide range of foods on the menu. Great staff, even a live band playing right through lunchtime. Four great pools, one being an infinity pool with endless views to the north west for those impressive Fiji sunsets. Like most of the resorts through out the group, starting to show their age, but still worth the visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nana glen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

For starters we were double booked on the first night. We were met at the airport at 5am Fiji time (after travelling all night with a 1 year old) to be informed that we would be staying our first night at the Novatel Airport Hotel. Come checkout from the Novatel they informed us they have not received a purchase order from Treasure Island so they would have to charge it to our credit card. It was sorted out but cause us stress and wasted even more time. We were met at Treasure Island and offered a complimentary bottle of wine due to the double booking. Come dinner I order a vegetarian meal to be served a seafood meal and further that I had to ask for our bottle of wine. One would of suggested that it would of been delivered to our room on checkin.

The meals were a nightmare for a vegetarian, dinner consisted 1 option that did not change all week. Fortunately the chef did manage a small variety. The service was below average, waiting up to one hour for a drink and often needing to find someone to place our order with.

The rooms were lovely but the shower was either boiling hot or cold (great with a one year old), the power went off a number of times, with one time being as long as 4hrs. The beds were large but uncomfortable (hard and feeling the springs poking through). The bar and eating area is in need of a revamp as they are quite rundown. But finishing on a major positive the pool area is absolutely beautiful. The beaches around the Island was as pretty as the postcards suggests.

Room Tip: All the rooms on the island have ocean views, Bure 45 was located in a nice area, close to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kerry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medowie, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our trip started off a bit rocky by finding out the night before we were to arrive that they had a problem with our accommodation even though I had confirmed with the resort 2 weeks prior and got a booking reference. When we boarded the transfer we were assured that the problem had been dealt with but when we arrived the second night of our accom had been sold to someone else. They wanted us to transfer over to beachcomber but with an infant this was not ideal. We eventually came to an agreement to share a room with family we were traveling after much stress and arguments. The rooms were simple but nice with air-conditioning and fridges which is something you don't get as you move further away from the mainland. There is lots of hammocks around the rooms and you are never far from the beach. The snorkeling was good we saw a blue spotted ray as soon as we jumped in. Food was pretty good, the flambe dinner was fantastic. All in all we enjoyed our 2 nights at treasure and we were compensated for the room problems with food and spa treatments comped. Still waiting on a refund of a second night accommodation though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teegs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Island
3.0 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
10.6 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
9.9 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
8.2 mi away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Island Resort

Property: Treasure Island Resort
Address: | Mamanuca Island, 2210, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Treasure Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a coral and sand fringed atoll within a stunning marine sanctuary, Treasure Island is one of Fiji's most iconic resorts, with over 40 years' experience in providing hospitality and friendship to travellers from across the globe. The island caters especially to families, honeymooners and true romantics seeking a unique and unforgettable island holiday experience. Treasure Island is one of the only resorts in the Mamanuca Islands to offer same day transfers, which means that you arrive on our island paradise the same day you arrive in Fiji. Treasure Island is unique as our traditional land owners, the Nakelo Clan, own 50 per cent of the resort and members of the clan hold many key positions, so our team (or as they prefer to be called, hosts) have a vested interest in delivering a truly authentic Fijian experience. This genuine hospitality is contagious and the main reason we have so many return guests. In fact one couple has visited us 85 times! Why don't you come experience for yourself what is unique and special about our island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Treasure Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Hotel Treasure Island
Fiji Treasure Island
Treasure Island Fiji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing