We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Treasure Island Resort
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was not my first trip to Treasure and it will certainly not be my last!! Myself, my mother and her 2 sisters (returnees) and 3 friends (1st timers) had an absolutely wonderful time.
Reading some the reviews below, I feel the need to respond to some.
1. Not 5 star - travel elsewhere in the world and you will find that 5 star has many variations.
2. Needs upgrading - upgrade work is being carried out as I write. We all received $200 FJD credit per bure as compensation. The work being done is certainly not heard or seen unless you spend the entire day around the pool area.
3. The menu - yes a little more variation would have been nice, but I agree with traveller below. They have limited storage and everything must be delivered by boat. Food was always fresh, delicious and vegetarian options were widely available.
4. Booking of dinner tables - only had to book if you want an outside table or specific table.

The staff on Treasure are fantastic. Always a friendly 'Bula' from everyone you passsed. One of my first timer friends has stayed on the mainland 4 times, but after her experience on Treasure , she says that it is more like the Fiji she expects. Beautiful beach, no overcrowding and not commercialised. - just the simple pleasures you want from holidaying on a small pacific island.

If you want the experience of small island living, Treasure is certainly the place for you. Yes, it is a small island, but lucky if you see more than 4 other people around you on the beach - plenty of room for everyone. Hardest decision of the day is whether to snorkle in the ocean or swim in the pool before lunch.

We opted for the longer catamaran trip back to the mainland so as my first timer friends could see some of the different resorts. Too big, too crowded and too commercialised were their comments.

None of us wanted to leave Treasure after 10 days of pure relaxation. Back to work to save for the next trip

Vinaka vakalevu to everyone - especially Max, Nemo, Ruby, Monica, Bola, Henry and the execptional band

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreasureIslandAdmin, General Manager at Treasure Island Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Bula Cheryl H,

From Max, Nemo, Ruby, Monica, Bola, Henry and the exceptional band (Adi, lead singer, Aseri, band leader/base guitar , Paula, drummer, Petaia and Mervyn rhythm guitar, Pio, keyboard Maika lead guitarist) a big Vinaka vakalevu and we're all 110%!

Please let us know when you are next looking at coming back, we're really excited to show everyone the improvements that we are doing and will be doing.

Take care,

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    282
    122
    64
    37
See reviews for
418
242
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed as a family last week for 8 days and had a fantastic holiday! One of our best yet and we have stayed at many places in Fiji! Treasure is a smaller island so more intimate, we loved this, kids all got to know each other (5&8 yrs), loved the kids club and the activities they put on. The pool area is fantastic, caters for everyone and has stunning views. Rooms were lovely, good size for 4 of us and we loved being able to see the beach from our room (Island bure). It only take 13 mins to walk around the whole island so everything is close by.

We had no problem with the food at all, there was enough choice for 8 days. Kids meals were great, good mixture catering for everyone and we loved the fact the meals were earlier for the kids. We then had happy hour (yay!) whilst the kids were taken to kids club for the evening so the adults could enjoy a drink and meal. The flambe restaurant was devine, staff in there were lovely and the food was amazing. Ate there 3 times and would highly recommend.

Sure this isn't a 5 star resort but then we didn't expect that. It was clean, tidy, the people were amazing and everything felt very relaxed which is exactly what we wanted for a family holiday. Happy kids, happy Mum and Dad's!! We will definitely return and none of us wanted to come home!

We loved the fact we could leave NZ 3.30pm and be on the island by 9pm getting a private boat transfer without having to stay in Denerau.

We stayed at Plantation Island which was much larger last year, although enjoyed, we preferred the smaller island and less people with Treasure Island. We have also stayed many times at Denerau/mainland etc but would go for the islands every time by choice as it's far more relaxing and feels like the 'real Fiji' and we love going on "Bula time".

Room Tip: Doesn't matter which room you get, beach is a stones throw away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maverick100_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreasureIslandAdmin, General Manager at Treasure Island Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Bula Maverick100_11 ,

Vinaka vakalevu! Many thanks for your feedback! Really great to read your review and we're really happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

From Max, Henry, Bola, Tui, Sala, Luci and the team at kids club and all over the island...

VINAKA!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gundaroo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed on treasure for 6 nights in October, we had been in Fiji for 2 weeks before arriving here,
Although we enjoyed our stay, as it is a beautiful island with great snorkelling and a lovely pool, I agree with a previous traveller regarding the resorts rating, it is not a 4-4.5 star. Whist we were there they had builders all over the place every day, the power was cut off a couple of times. Our 3 year old had the best time ever! The staff are absolutely wonderful with the kids, all the staff were beautiful happy people who are only too happy to help with anything. The major downside for us was the food....I really am not too fussy an eater nor is my husband but we both struggled with the food. The breakfast was good, but the lunch and dinners were really underpar. The kids menu and food was far better!
We discovered the flambe restuarant on the second night, ( the difference being a small airconditioned room for 4 couples ) where the chef cooked your order in front of you....I had some beautiful steaks and of course the best crepe suzette i have ever had! we ate here for the remainder of our stay!
This is a holiday for families with young kids, take the meal package otherwise it will cost you a fortune!
We enjoyed it , however we will try another island next year...

Room Tip: All Bures are close to the water, so dont pay extra for the beach fronts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TracyandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreasureIslandAdmin, General Manager at Treasure Island Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Bula TracyandDave,

Thank you for the review. I'm glad that you had some wonderful experiences whilst on Treasure. Please accept my apologies if the workers on the island interfered with part of your holiday. We have programmed the work on the resort at the moment to be as unobtrusive as possible.

With the thatching completed on the reception bure and main bure roof completed we are well through the majority of the works.

Like many others who have commented we are well aware of the issues with the inconsistency of the resorts dining experience. We hope to have identified a chef in the next week or so to lend a hand to the team to propel our dining experiences across the resort into culinary treats.

Vinaka,

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

it starts off with the boat ride over, to which you then have to clamber into a little dodgy looking bout, but it was part of the experience that made it fun. you are greeted by a group of happy fijians singing you a greeting song, made me smile instantly.
although this island was full of a lot of family's with young children, it was never really an issuse as the staff had them so pre occupied the whole time that their was berly ever an unhappy child.
the main buffet was maybe a little over priced and not to much selection for a non meat eater, but my partner and i did the flambe dinner on our last night there, which was a great experience. very intimate and amazing food.
the bures i think are lovely and airy feeling, although without any windows it was a little hard to sleep in when the grounds men were our raking leaves at 7 in the morning.
The staff are what made our stay here, they were nothing but amazing and always happy to go the extra mile to put a smile on your face.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chiara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadwood, South Dakota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This place reminds me of a resort in the Poconos. A little dated, a little shabby, good for children, full of Australian families on holiday, bingo game in the afternoon. Vegetarians are out of luck. Beautiful sand beaches, awesome snorkeling.

Room Tip: Any room has an ocean view. This is a tiny island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmmm924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Wife, Kids and I are Just back from my 5th trip to Treasure ( 3rd with kids) and cant wait to get back. As always its the people in fiji that make the experience what it is and whilst there is a lot of work going on to improve the resort, and much more to do the experience was just as relaxing and enjoyable as expected. This trip all our kids went to Kids club and had an absolute blast with the other children under the watchful eye of Sala, Tui, Lusi and Bola, - you guys are the best and have created memories that our kids will cherish forever - Thanks so much !
We had 2 Beach view Bures on the Beachcomber side and even if you went for the garden view Bure you are still only 50m from the waters edge at most !! All the Bures have been updated now and are just the trick for a relaxing Holiday. The food has been a constant topic on this forum and I tend to agree with the lack of variety, as we had 10 nights we were pushing the boundaries of the menu a little by the end of the trip. However the nightly specials always provided a good option, and the ones we tried were excellent. However the reality is that you are on an island with limited supplies so I think they do a tremendous job.
The wait staff are awsome and special thanks to Ruby,Joe, Ama, Koli and crew, nothing was too much trouble and they were wonderful with our kids. Meals for Kids Club were mostly buffet and that suits quite well, as the a la carte for the kids was difficult to manage. We were there for Fiji Day celebrations again this year and love to be part of their festivities, but I was ashamed to see so many people showing complete disregard for the ceremony whilst it was going on. OK I realise its "Your Holiday" but a little respect for the local customs and traditions would be nice and you may even learn something !! Evening entertainment was especially wonderful with the band doing a wonderful job, one of the best voices Ive heard in a long time- time to cut a CD guys !! Even Henry gave a great rendition of Country Roads one night - absolute gold !! Max was his usual relaxed self.
Water sports were great and the snorkelling here is wonderful straight from the beach, we saw sharks, rays and all sorts of fish just 50ms from the beach but you can also take the guided trip with the dive shop guys to the outer reefs which are excellent.
There is a new GM on board and whilst I did not get to meet him, I did get some feedback from other guests on the plans for Treasure and whilst I wont give anything away, I cant wait to come back and see the progress on our next trip - plans are in the pipeline now for us to return on our 20th anniversary.
To finish up.... this is not a five star resort but if you want a relaxing holiday in a wonderful environment, great snorkelling and memories for a lifetime I highly recommend Treasure, the key is to not sweat the small stuff and you will want to go back again and again.- oh you can also get to treasure same day if you get the early flight with no need to stay over in Nadi on the way.
Vinaka vaklevu to all our treasure family, looking forward to our return soon.
Tim, Mary, Connor, Bridget, and Declan

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

It is quite a few months since my family revisited Treasure for the first time since I was kid. Generally speaking the experience was the same with a vastly improved pool. The staff on Treasure make you feel like part of the family. My kids ultimately (for the moment at least) want to spend time with Mum and Dad. They don't discern between flashy and simple material things. We had a great family holiday and the kids club was outstanding. Swinging in a hammock in the trees vs. lined up with 100 other tourists gets my vote any day. After a one day island hopping cruise we couldn't wait to get back to Treasure. The pool is by far the best of all the islands we saw in terms of view and general pleasantness. As always the staff make it easy to relax and there were plenty of time outs for mum and dad to kick back like a couple. There are few places where you can relax like this.

Room Tip: Staying away from the restaurant means that you enjoy a 4 minute stroll to and from the main area. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JasonPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Island
3.0 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
10.6 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
9.9 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
13.2 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Island Resort

Property: Treasure Island Resort
Address: | Mamanuca Island, 2210, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Treasure Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a coral and sand fringed atoll within a stunning marine sanctuary, Treasure Island is one of Fiji's most iconic resorts, with over 40 years' experience in providing hospitality and friendship to travellers from across the globe. The island caters especially to families, honeymooners and true romantics seeking a unique and unforgettable island holiday experience. Treasure Island is one of the only resorts in the Mamanuca Islands to offer same day transfers, which means that you arrive on our island paradise the same day you arrive in Fiji. Treasure Island is unique as our traditional land owners, the Nakelo Clan, own 50 per cent of the resort and members of the clan hold many key positions, so our team (or as they prefer to be called, hosts) have a vested interest in delivering a truly authentic Fijian experience. This genuine hospitality is contagious and the main reason we have so many return guests. In fact one couple has visited us 85 times! Why don't you come experience for yourself what is unique and special about our island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Treasure Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Hotel Treasure Island
Fiji Treasure Island
Treasure Island Fiji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing