We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tokoriki Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tokoriki Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2006

We did a trip to Fiji, for scuba diving , in November 2005. We booked direct with the resort since (despite trying to do so) no agent could match the price of the resort and some easily booked transfers from Sydney on Virgin Pacific Blue (much cheaper than Quantas).

The resort is extremely friendly. Joe merits a particular mention ! The resort welcomes all new guests with a song and a tropical punch ! Which is very welcome because the heat and sometimes humidity can be oppressive.

The rooms/huts are very spacious, and are in the main set back a way from the beach through the palm trees. Walking out in the early morning light (which we did regularly) was a real experience. Each hut also has a hammock strung in the trees in front of the hut near the beach - what a treat ! There is also a private outdoor shower.

The main buildings are relatively small, comprising a sitting area pool, and restaurant - the highlight is the infinity pool. The island itself is small, so there's nothing else to see unless you want an early morning walk to the top of the hill.

However - a few things :-

1. the food was generally okay but not great. The best food was served at the Mongolian BBQ evening, and breakfast. However, we were underwhelmed by the rest - food regularly came out lukewarm (at best) and it was clear that most was cooked well in advamce of dinner and kept warm.

2. The rooms were spacious but only had the benefit of small inefficient wall mounted air con units - which were not enough.

3. The island was surrounded by thick smelly seaweed - which we were told was unusual, but regardless, it did spoil much of the beach

The diving people at the island are friendly (a married English couple) and do a good job. Cost of diving is fairly reasonable too.

Summary is - great for honeymooners who'll overlook some of the shortcomings. We both thought that the Maldives was a better bet for both a secluded beach holiday, and diving.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LawyerAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTokoriki, General Manager at Tokoriki Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2016

Bula LawyerAbroad,
It's been a few years since your review and we wanted to let you know that Tokoriki has recently been voted the #1 Hotel in Fiji and #1 Hotel in the South Pacific and #16 Hotel in the world and is now an adults only resort....we have grown to 36 bures and pool villas and in February this year added a state of the art kitchen for our talented chefs, along with a new restaurant and cocktail bar and Fiji's best heli pad over the ocean at the end of the jetty. Mother nature has been kind to us and our beach is looking great. Do let us know should you wish to return to experience the new Tokoriki so that we can arrange your return guest treats. Vinaka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,443)
There are newer reviews for Tokoriki Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,334 - 1,340 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2006

We have just returned from a fantastic honeymoon at Tokoriki! Stayed 5 nights in a sunset pool villa. The room was luxurious and used natural materials to good effect. The view at sunset was amazing! The staff placed fresh flowers daily when they serviced the room. The cold plunge pool was refreshing after a day in the hot sun. Aircon was available but we preferred to open the louvres and let in the evening breeze! The staff made a standard bure available for us on the day we checked out - if you can afford it the sunset pool villa is definitely worth it! The food was delicious and varied, prepared with local ingredients. We have good appetites but there was more than enough to keep us satisfied. The meal plan is highly recommended - it will get expensive (F$15-20 entree, F$25-35 main) if you want to pay individually.

The real highlight was the staff. They were friendly, helpful, courteous, easy to get along with, always ready to start up a song, and made us feel very much at home. The other guests were also friendly though clearly there were some that preferred to do most things alone or mix with their own group of friends (maybe this is just the group we struck at the time).

The beach is about 500m long, the northern half is sandy and lovely to relax on, the southern half (where the sunset villas are)is quite rocky and not suitable for swimming. Not idyllic but we had no problems with walking to the other end of the resort to enjoy the beach. There is quite a lot of seaweed in the lagoon, brought ashore at low tide and in windy weather, but nearer high tide there was very little to be seen at all. It's a problem throughout many of the islands at the moment. It didn't spoil our experience at all and there was no smell at all. There are plenty of activities (diving, snorkelling, kayaking) and day trips to take part in. The reef at tokoriki is about 100m off shore and very shallow in parts - you need to kayak out to the dropoff and snorkel from the seaward side. You will want to be confident in the water to do this on your own, otherwise complimentary boating excursions take you out 2-3x a week. The resort grounds are very well kept and the groundskeepers were happy to open a fresh coconut for us as we wandered past! We saw surprisingly few insects.

Overall we had a wonderful time and made some great friends. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Pihau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2006

3  Thank ilewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AussieRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2006

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hollc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTokoriki, General Manager at Tokoriki Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
221
Reviewed June 2, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTokoriki, General Manager at Tokoriki Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AnnaTwickenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokoriki Island
13.1 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
607 reviews
12.1 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
917 reviews
4.6 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
1,096 reviews
22.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokoriki Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokoriki Island Resort

Address: | Nadi, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Tokoriki Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tokoriki Island
Price Range: $591 - $865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tokoriki Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bula, Tokoriki Island Resort is a boutique adults only island escape with a total of 36 Bures and Villas. You'll enjoy 2 restaurants including an intimate Teppanyaki seating 4 couples only, 2 guest pools, complimentary snorkelling trips daily, PADI 5* dive centre, tennis, fitness platform, garden chess, hiking track plus unlimited massage offers at the Spa. Voted "Best Overseas Luxury Romantic & Boutique Property 2017" by Luxury Travel Media 2017 and #1 Hotel in Fiji by TripAdvisor travellers. Arrive from Nadi Airport by helicopter or seaplane (15mins) or 1hr by catamaran or speed boat. We can assist you with transfers. Book direct and receive VALE amenities. We look forward to welcoming you to our romantic, refined and relaxed island resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tokoriki Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokoriki Island Resort, Fiji Hotel Tokoriki Island
Tokoriki Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing