We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good with glimpses of greatness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tokoriki Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tokoriki Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We spent 6 nights (3 beach bure/3 Pool Villa) and had a fantastic stay. Tokoriki tries very hard to be great but falls short, slightly. It is however one of the top resorts in Fiji in it's bracket.

The staff are great, the food very, very good and the pool villas fantastic. I'd have to say the location and outlook of the pool villas would rival some of the deluxe resorts, like Vatulele. Get the meal plan - you'll easily eat more than it's value. If you can afford it upgrade to the pool villas, they offer signficantly more space and the private pool means you can lie around your own space instead of using the shared facilities. Also the stretch of beach in front of the pool villas is amongst the best on the resort.

Yes they have issues with seaweed but heck - it's an island in the Pacific and seaweed was there first. The staff go a good job of keeping on top of it on the odd day it is washed up. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained. We had a few minor annoyances (the digger operating into the evening and burning rubbish) but this were quickly rectified by the duty manager.

Diving is good - Will is a great instructor, and there are some good dive sites within a short distance of the island.

Go, enjoy, relax - it's what Tokoriki was designed for. And I will so miss that Kokoda in coconut milk....

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZiggyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,318 - 1,324 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2009

My partner and I recently visited the Tokoriki Island Resort and it was without doubt the best part of our trip to Fiji. I would definitely recommend it to others and we plan on returning there ourselves in the future. The Resort offers something for every mood from the lazing around the beautiful infinity pool drinking cocktails to playing volleyball or snorkelling. There are plenty of activities to choose from or you can relax in the privacy of your own bure. The staff are fantastic and enable you to surround yourself in Fijian culture. I really enjoyed the welcome and farewell songs that definitely make you feel a part of the Tokoriki family. There are scheduled kava ceremonies that are filled with humour and story telling. There are plenty of wonderful and vibrant personalities amongst the staff that made our stay even more enjoyable.

The food was excellent and on the meal plan we had to stop ourselves from eating too much. The restaurant menu offers a lot of variety to suit all tastes and I definitely suggest everyone gives the sandy icecream a try for desert.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Resort and will certainly be returning again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 507Billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

The island of Tokoriki is beautiful and picturesque, and the tokoriki Island Resort is even better! The beach side Burees are well positioned and furnished and a delight. New Sun deck and Infinitely pool excellent. Food very good and reasonably priced so only go for Food Plan if you are very large three full meal a day eaters. The staff are excellent and a great asset to the resort. Special mention should go to Will and Alex at the dive centre who were exceptional.
We had seen a lot of comment about beach errosion and seaweed, but we found it to be a much exagerated , and it was not an issue at all! great place! great Stay!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonGandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable holiday where we spent 6 days at the Tokoriki Island Resort. The friendliness of the staff was wonderful and if you're looking for peace and quiet and somewhere to unwind this is the place to go. The fact that this resort doesn't allow children helps!

The bures are spacious and far apart enough from each other to allow privacy between each one. The beach and the sea are just a few steps away from the bure as are the hammocks.

We loved the grounds of this resort. They cultivate orchids and they are planted in abundance around the property - just beautiful and the grounds are kept immaculate by the staff.

The restaurant food was a good quality and we didn't have one poor meal - try the kokoda is delicious!

There are activities organised from the island - snorkelling, island visits and a dive shop all operate from the island.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NZTraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Tokoriki was an absolutely incredible location for our honeymoon. The activities were better than anywhere on the main island and the food and staff were out of this world. If your goal is to get away from the world and have a truly relaxing vacation, this is your place.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deckbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

What a fantastic place to get away and relax!! Can highly recommend Tokoriki as a beautiful place to escape from the world. We spent our honeymoon there but ideal for any couples wanting a break. Quiet and yet lots of outdoor activities to do such as swimming, snorkling, kyaking, boat trips, fishing, walks and day trips to islands. Great staff- so friendly and the bures are well designed, clean and very private. We loved waking up overlooking the water every morning. We will be back! Thank you Tokoriki!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WidgieNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

My husband and I choose Tokoriki to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary in early May of this year. If you are like us and looking for a kid free zone, privacy, peace and a fijian feel to your accomodation, then I wouldnt hesitate to recommend Tokoriki. It is truely a beautiful spot with a touch of luxuary. I have tried to think of things that would have been helpful to know before we went and hope that my list will help you decide if this is the place for you.
1. Do your duty free shopping for extra supplies as you leave your own country and take it in, as duty free wine, spirits etc are very expensive in fiji. Tokoriki does not have mini bars in their rooms but you can buy supplies for your room at highish prices. Best you take your own.
2. Take the 'Sea cruises cat' out to the island. You get to see a selection of other island resorts as they drop off people. Pay the extra few dollars to go into the captains lounge. It has comfy seats, is air conditioned and has free coffee, tea, wine,beer, chips etc for the entire trip.
3. The bures are in two areas with the restaurant and pool in between. The one bedroom bures are on one side and the studio and honeymoon ones on the other side. We had a studio bure and it was just beautiful. All are private but some are positioned better than others as far as a good area of the beach to swim in. A few of the bures have a rocky beach in front of them. Apparently there was recently a storm that washed away some of the sand. Bures 12 - 17 have the best stretch of the beach. We were 15 and it was excellent. Bures 1 - 4 are kind of behind the dive shop area and Im not sure that they would have the same beautiful outlook.
4. There are no TVs, radios, CD players or clocks. The only sounds you will hear are the birds and the ocean so if you want dance around your own room youll either have to hum or take your own ipod.
5. The island offers a meal plan. Its $138.00 per person per day not including any drinks. We decided against it, as to get your moneys worth you would have to eat a full breakfast, 2 course lunch and a 3 course dinner everyday. However, other people took that option and were satisfied. The meals are 5 star quality and range between $18-$25 for entrees and $38-$48 for mains. Full breakfasts were $32.00 or you could have a lighter option for about $20.00.
6. Go to the dive shop and get snorkels and flippers when you first arrive. You can keep them for the duration of your stay. The glass bottom kyaks are there free for you to use any time. You just paddle out to a bouy about 300 metres from shore, tie your kyak to the bouy and jump over board. Its warm and clear with plenty of fish life. Be careful not to drop your snorkle and mask overboard as the reef slips away to quite a depth and you have to risk your partners life to retrieve it.... yip... I am speaking from experience
7. Lastly, the fijians are friendly people and most certainly make you feel welcome. You will be greeted on arrival with a song, serenaded at dinner each night with a song, welcomed to the Tokoriki family at dinner with a song and farewelled with a song. Learn to smile, say bula, vinaka and most of all relax on 'fiji time'.

Have a great trip

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sidNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokoriki Island
13.1 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
625 reviews
12.1 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
901 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
940 reviews
4.6 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
1,116 reviews
22.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokoriki Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokoriki Island Resort

Address: | Nadi, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Tokoriki Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tokoriki Island
Price Range: $567 - $840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tokoriki Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bula, Tokoriki Island Resort is a boutique adults only island escape with a total of 36 Bures and Villas. You'll enjoy 2 restaurants including an intimate Teppanyaki seating 4 couples only, 2 guest pools, complimentary snorkelling trips daily, PADI 5* dive centre, tennis, fitness platform, garden chess, hiking track plus unlimited massage offers at the Spa. Voted "Best Overseas Luxury Romantic & Boutique Property 2017" by Luxury Travel Media 2017 and #1 Hotel in Fiji by TripAdvisor travellers. Arrive from Nadi Airport by helicopter or seaplane (15mins) or 1hr by catamaran or speed boat. We can assist you with transfers. Book direct and receive VALE amenities. We look forward to welcoming you to our romantic, refined and relaxed island resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tokoriki Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokoriki Island Resort, Fiji Hotel Tokoriki Island
Tokoriki Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing