We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castaway Island Fiji
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We spent 4 nights on Castaway Island for our Honeymoon before we went to the 5 star resorts on the mainland (Nadi) and we wished we had never left. So relaxing but still had plenty to do. Amazing beaches, snorkelling, food & people. The pictures don't do the place justice.... It is the most beautiful place in the world. Great relaxing holiday for couples or families. We are coming back again :)

Hightlights from Castaway:
* Snorkelling (Saw turtles, sting ray's etc...)
* Cocktails at the Sundowner bar while watching the sun set
* Wednesday night (Fiji Night)
* Sleeping and sun baking on the beach

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal_Tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    180
    58
    20
    3
See reviews for
587
172
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed at Castaway Island resort Nov. 27-Nov 30, 2010 as part of our honeymoon. We had just arrived after staying 7 days at Taveuni Palms which is an ultra luxurious resort(there are only 4 guests and 22 employees). We were very skeptical after receiving such personalized service. However, we were amazed how welcoming the Castaway staff were. I couldn't believe that alot of staff would greet us by name. They have a great setup for water sports. They have a world class scuba diving program. The manager of the scuba diving program is Jerry. He is awesome to deal with. All the scuba guides are very experienced. The dive boat is state of the art. I highly recommend "the supermarket" dive site for a shark encounter. Besides diving there are many other activities(water skiing, jetskiing, snorkelling etc).

Unfortunately, we had really bad weather. The island was under a cyclone watch for 2 days. The staff still made it an enjoyable vacation. They had daily activities in the dining hall. My favorite was the crab races. The bartenders are awesome. Joe and Pony make the most tasty drinks! They are very animated! I was also impressed by Steven, the operations manager. He made sure everyone was enjoying their stay, despite the rain.

The bures are pretty plain but decent. The bathrooms could use updating. It was nice having a fridge in the room and a safe. The beds were comfortable. The cleaning staff could have done a better job. They didn't even touch the bathroom counters. Overall, the bures were fine.

The one thing Castaway needs to improve is the food. We tried ordering items "a la carte" off the menu for lunch. It was brutal, especially for the price we paid. We had read on here how amazing the pizzas were. It was honestly the worst pizza we have ever had. It wasn't even fully cooked. That was disappointing. I would suggest people eat from the buffet. It is a pretty limited buffet but the food was good.

Overall, we really enjoyed our 3 days at Castaway Island. It is especially good for families. They have a great kids' club. We want to take our parents back in the future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaRandyGallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Fantastic location, fantastic rooms, good helpful staff and plenty to do or not to do.

We first came to Castaway in 1992 on our honeymoon and recently was our 4th trip to Fiji. We came back this time with the kids in January 2010 and again in December 2010. We love the joint. Thank you Luci, Wati, and Asipai who is a dead ringer for tiger woods. His looks that is and not his indiscretions lol. The food is excellent in taste and value and many other resorts of Fiji should look at what you offer as some other resorts are really lacking.
The reef around the island is looking alot healthier with alot more coral and fish at you doorstep ready for you to snorkel.
I will be back again in July.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horseking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

We stayed at Castaway island for 3 days after spending 4 days at the Warwick Resort Fiji, alot slower pace, but amazingly relaxing. You can do as much or as little as you want to. Aseri is the events activities staff member she will get you involved and make sure you have a great time whether it be playing tennis or beach volley ball, she's amazing and her laugh is infectious.
The food is 1st class and the best thing is you can have an all inclusive package. (which highly recommend for value).
The bure's are lovely and very cute and nice to stay in, a lovely touch is water in a wooden bowl outside the bure with a hibiscus flower every day. You don't need a bure on the beach as the island bure are so close anyway, and you are not in the bure that much anyway. The woodfire pizza all day was a hit with the family after snorkelling and some swimming, just pop up to the sundowner bar and order a pizza then eat on the beach. The bannaboat ride was fun and they won't through you into the water if you let them know you are chicken. The staff treat you like family and although we only spent 3 days they all hugged us when we left.
The island isn't busy and very romantic and relaxing but also if you choose alot to do.
Will be back as soon as we can and stay longer.
A must is a day trip on the Seaspray which takes you to the island where Castaway the movie was made, lovely day and the snorkelling great .
Could not fault anything on the island and can't wait to be back I can understand why the same people go every year. thanks to the staff at Castaway for making the holiday wonderful for our family.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petercath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights in Dec 09 in a beach front bure on the south beach. It's true it's more windy this side but soooo much more private. Loved the fact that there's no tv or phones. Day trips off the island or diving but we chose to just swim, eat, drink, sleep, board games, tennis, bush walk, canoeing around the island, banana ride behind the most awesome Castaway boats, snorkel (mostly all day every day!!), sunbake on the banana lounges right at your front door & take in the view, even our teenages had a great time & we all can't wait to go back. We've fallen in love with Fiji.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

That's what Castaway says while you are on the island and that's exactly the way you feel. Just got back from another family vacation at Castaway and it was better than last year. Lovo night was awesone but the conversations I had with the Castaway employees afterwards was even better. The Castaway Family is one of a kind. If you have not been to the island you need to make the trip. The Castaway people are the best. They truly make you feel like family. I will be taking my family back for years to come. Vinaka vaka levu Castaway for a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troll12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

As far as a "get away from it all" holiday goes this island has to be it. This is a small, very quiet resort with no hotel as such,the rooms (bures) are spread around back from the beach. each resembling a thatched "hut" they are clean and practical with superb air conditioning,the bar and dining area is set overlooking the beach.
we had our wedding here and the setting was perfect,the staff were superb,doubling up as choir singers and Fijian warriors...thanks again by the way.
They are all very friendly,always have a smile and a greeting,we found them to be a genuinely happy heplful bunch.
If you're looking for an island hideaway this island is worth a visit.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jetlaggedsuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaway Island (Qalito)
16.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,068 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
706 reviews
1.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,365 reviews
16.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
1.5 mi away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Island
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Property: Castaway Island Fiji
Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing