We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I Imagined Fiji To Be!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castaway Island Fiji
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2006

Stayed at the Beachcomber, had a sour taste about Fiji, almost wanted to skip the second half of my vacation and return home.
Then arrived at Castaway - Wow.
So beautiful. Great service. Wonderful staff. Amazing cuisine. Fantastic accommodations. Super scuba staff, boat, and equipment. Oh, and the hour long massage!
I just cant say enough. This is what I wanted my vacation to be and it was pure heaven!
And if you get enough of the beach and the sand, there is a pool surrounded by palms with plenty of lounge chairs and a bar that serves frozen drinks with umbrellas!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank pepprgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (940)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 940 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2006

A week on Castaway with the children was my best family holiday ever. The children just loved the place and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The bure was clean and well appointed, and the staff didn't mind that the kids turned it into chaos every day. There were insect screens on the windows and ceiling fans to keep the bures cool.
The layout and gardens are well-designed to maximise privacy as much as possible in the resort. Food was good, but do get the meal plan. Extras aren't cheap but you are on an island resort where everything has to be brought in. Drinking water is safe and actually quite nice, and there is a jug in the room fridge so you can provide your own cool drinks. Good idea to bring some wine as the wine list ain't cheap.
There is lots to do, from bush walks to stunning snorkelling just off the beach (ever better if you go on a snorkelling trip). The pool is great and there are lots of activities on the main beach. The kids club was a HUGE hit with the kids.
As a family holiday destination I cannot recommend Castaway highly enough - but book early as it is VERY popular.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Araahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2006

Castaway is really a magical place. My partner and I stayed their with our 2 children (aged 9 and 16) for 10 days recently. As soon as you arrive, you instantly feel so relaxed. There is plenty to do or you can laze around the beach all day.
The food at Castaway is very good - buffet breakfast but al la carte for lunch and dinner and there are always specials at dinner - so you dont get sick of the food. The curries are particlarly good.
The staff are fabulous - very friendly and very welcoming particularly to the children.
Overall a wonderful place - once you get to Castaway you wont want to leave and when you do you will be planning your next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank CassGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

This is a wonderful place that seems to be a favorite of the aussies. There are three ways to get to the island, sea plane, helicopter, and boat. We took the sea plane over and the boat back. Wonderful view and experience on the seaplane, which leaves directly from the airport so its very easy. The boat ride back was smooth and another great way to get home. BTW Castaways is one of the last stops on the route, so it takes a while to get to Castaways on the ferry, but much quicker to get back to the mainland that way.
There were lots of families there with kids of all ages. Some of them well behaved, others not so much. It turns out it was Aussie school vacation week the first few days we were there. But after their vacation ended, the resort quieted down a bit. We enjoyed having kids around in general so we loved the fact that kids are very welcome (the Fijians love kids), but during school vacation, it was a little much. So check the schedule first. We were there at the beginning of May, 2005.
Scuba diving was amazing, very friendly divemasters. All the dive sites were spectacular and within 10 minutes by their fast boat. There are two beaches on the resort with the western one more sandy and the southern one a little less. Most people ended up sunning, playing and stuff on the western beach, so the southern one was quieter, a more isolated place for a villa in my opinion.
Great villas, and some of them were being redone when we were there, so probably even better now.
The food was great, and the service was good, but fiji slow (island time ya know). So if you can relax and take a break, its fine. They have a band playing every night, and dinner under the stars is fabulous. They serenaded my girlfriend for her birthday.
BTW, they are a very catholic society and so unwed couples sharing a villa is not terribly well received.
We took their tour of the other islands and resorts, just basically goes around and sees the other sites, only stopped at Tokoriki. After that my family was very pleased with our choice of Castaway as it was the perfect combination of size, fun, family, activities, and location. I would definately stay there again.

Stayed: June 2006
13  Thank JSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2006

We just returned from a week at Castaway Island Resort with our two children aged 8 and 11. Everything from the service to food, accommodation and even the weather went far above our expectations. We stayed in a beachfront bure which had recently been refitted with great attention to detail. We chose the meal plan option and were glad we did after finding out the prices of the dishes individually, the meal plan offered a great saving. We loved the relaxed atmosphere of the resort, the friendly staff and the options available. We didn't opt to do many of the extra activities that cost, we found plenty to keep ourselves busy without needing to.

One tip we would offer is to take your own wine along to dinner. This isn't an advertised option but was possible with guests paying corkage. With bottles of wine priced around $70 (FJD)+, dinner with drinks could be very expensive.

Overall we would rate this resort highly for all ages and demographics. Spend a few days at Castaway.. you'll never want to go home.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank Blackwater165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2006

Our family (incl 4 kids) just returned from a week at Castaway over Easter. This is our 2nd time and won't be our last. We love the casual feel of Castaway and there is something here from everyone. Best to choose either beachfront or beachview burees. They have been refitted with new furniture recently. One small criticism of Castway is that the drink service is very slow - best to get your own drinks from the bar on the way through to dinner. The Fijians are great with kids - they remembered us from last year and very friendly
For travellers coming from Australia, I recommend flying Pacific Blue (Virgin) as the flights arrive in Nadi around lunchtime in time to get a boat or seaplane out to the Islands. Qantas arrive late in the afternoon so you have to stay overnight in Nadi. Ditto on the return.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank SydneyWalkerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2005

This resort is awesome for familes, terrible for honnymooners. It is very clean, comfortable, somewhat upscale but not fancy, and the staff as always is very friendly and inviting. The beach activities are awesome although the parasailing is awfully pricy for only 15 minutes, but overall a great value. I wouldn't take young kids but teenagers will definately love this place. The food is supurb, and there is a nice after-hours lounge where some of the staff get together with a guitar and sing Bob Marley songs and drink kava with the guests. You can get free helicopter transfers (1-way only) if you combine a 4-night stay here with a 4-night stay at the Outrigger on the main island since the hotels are owned by the same company. I'd say it is the ideal hotel in all of Fiji for families. The bures can be a bit of a walk though if you get one of the last ones, we were in #65 and it was about a 5-7 minute walk back to the pool, dining area, etc. Also we were completely lost the first day and it took some getting used to finding our bure as the trails are not clearly marked. Also the showers don't have any kind of lip to keep in the water, and they have hand-held showerheads, so the first time I took a shower I wasn't paying attention and I flooded not only the bathroom, but the bed area as well. Thankfully none of my bags were on the floor as my clothes would have been soaked! But overall I can't reccomend it enough if you're going with kids.

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank schererd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaway Island (Qalito)
2.3 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
625 reviews
15.9 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
11.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
1.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
901 reviews
1.5 mi away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Island
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range: $466 - $792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing