We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castaway Island Fiji
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect family holiday”
Reviewed November 13, 2008

My family & I just had 7 magical nights on Castaway Island. I am a very discerning traveller & can be very 'picky' but there just isn't anything to fault about this place. If you have a young family then you will not be dissapointed with Castaway, the level of care is outstanding and there is a lot for them to do. The kids club is well staffed & you know its good when your kids actually want to go there!! There are lots of kids on Castaway so your kids will enjoy the social aspects of their stay also, our kids met other kids from Sth Africa, USA, NZ and ofcourse Australia. The standard of accomodation is top class and the rooms are highly maintained & serviced with all the little details addressed every time. Even the hand carved bowls of water at your Bure front door used to wash the sand from your feet are renewed every day with fresh flowers floating it!! The diving set-up is world class, gear is almost new & the staff are well drilled. The water activities equipment is all in top order and very well maintained. The food in Fiji is always a bit average but the food at Castaway was well done, if your a gourmet foodie then you'll be dissapointed but if you want good quality this is varied and tasty then you'll be happy. But probobly the biggest asset Castaway has is its staff, they really do look after you well and they know how to do it. The term your Castaway family is not BS!! You genuinly feel like your leaving your 2nd home. I left feeling relaxed, invigorated, happy and wishing I could stay!! Needless to say we have already booked next year!!

  • Liked — Sace, decor & location to the beach
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Casperab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    181
    58
    20
    3
See reviews for
601
175
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Entrance, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2008

WOW, what a place. Don't need to say anymore than that. If you ever get a chance to see and stay at Castaway Island Resort then JUST DO IT. Meals were plentiful and varied, the staff were the perfect advertisment for pure and genuine customer service. The facilities are first class.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2008

We have stayed on the island for 4 nights in October. Loved it.
If you love water activities and "chilling" out and you have kids - thsi is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pacyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2008

My dream honeymoon was always to go to Fiji, Tahiti, and Bali. We we changed that dream up a bit and went to New Zealand and Fiji, where we stayed at Castaway Island. We absolutely had a blast. The people were great and the food we thought was good. The few downsides were the limited menu items and the price of alcholic drinks was quite high. Even though the rate vs. the US dollar was in our favor, we still ended up spending the same we would have in the US. In addition, be careful if there is a wedding the week you are going. We were booked 6 months in advance but when we showed up, happy as could be, we were told that there were no bure's for us because a wedding had booked them all up and they couldnt move the wedding. They moved us to Malolo for a few nights. We were devastated, however Malolo was very nice. Never knew a hotel to do that before. Once back on Castaway it was like we were home.

  • Liked — We loved our ocean bure it really felt like home
  • Disliked — The limited choices of food, there are only 2 restaurants and the menu doesnt change
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sharid37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

Castaway Island is truly a special place, the iconic island experience. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to ensure that you have a good time. Bula time takes a bit of getting used to, ie slow service – but that is all part of the laid back existence. Only downside was the quality of the food, some of it was truly tragic. The hotel offers you a meal plan upon arrival for approximately FJ$110 a day; a total I doubt most people would reach ordering as you go. Other than that it was a fantastic few days and I can highly recommend it. A tip we picked up through Trip Advisor proved quite handy, bring lots of sun screen because you go through quite a bit and it is FJ$30 a bottle on the island. Only go during Australian School holidays if you want to share the island with heaps of kids. Out of approximately 55 rooms on the island there were 76 children. We have a 2 y.o. and a 6 y.o who had a ball.

  • Liked — All rooms are only 10 sec from the beach
  • Disliked — Great for a remote Island
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyGuy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2008

We spent 7 days at Castaway Island in May. This was our second time to Fiji, but our first time to one of the islands, having stayed on the mainland last time round. We loved it.!
Great weather, warm water, golden sands - all the things you'd expect from a Fijian island. The bures were comfortable with plenty of space for us (2 adults and a 4 year old) with a separate bathroom and verandah. We had an excellent value meal plan for the week which was well worth the money - it included breakfast, lunch and dinner for approx NZ$185 per adult (with our 4 year old eating free). Apparently this plan is usually only offered during the low season, but had been extended this year. The meals were pretty good at the resort. Buffets varied night to night and were what you'd expect from a buffet type meal, but the meal plan meant we could also eat from the a la carte menu at lunch time and dinner time. The evening meals were excellent.
Our 4 year old made good use of the Kids Club, much to our delight, and the highlight for us was the separate kids dinner followed by an evening session of Kids Club which meant we got to eat by ourselves for dinner all week - a rare novelty!
Beach was beautful - lots of loungers and hammocks to relax on, but activities if you were interested including kayaking, windsurfing, snorkelling, boat trips etc. Most were free but there were extras you could pay for if you wished. The resort pool is pretty basic (and freezing!) but the kids seemed to love it.
All in all, we enjoyed our Castaway Island holiday and would definitely go back again

  • Liked — Separate sleeping area for children and adults
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Joey1671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

Ha Ha It's fiji time, this is what you get told when you arrive on to the island.

We arrived after a three and a half hour flight from Sydney Australia, which was a good flight but very noisy due to alot of kid's going on vacation with there parent's.

Arrived at the airport and it is chaos totally un organised and very slow.

You have to que up in a line to get your passport stamped and then go through to collect your bags, then you hace to go and que uo again which is for security, again unorganised and chaos .

The australian's were maoning being quite rude not letting anyone get through as it was such a little airport there was not much room to move here.

Wsa met by a rep who was all over the place and didn't have a clue, was serving me and then saw someone who must holiday frequent and she just ignored me and started taking his booking , so i picked my paper work up off of her table which held all our personal deatails and information and i walked to get our transfer.

Was supposed to be getting a private transfer which was a jeep with another couple in it ,

My first raection was oh no it looked like a right dive, and dirty.

Arrived to the marina awaiting for our speed boat transfer, which was now at 9.30 pm at night, it was very dark and the boat was again supposed to be a private transfer, but had three people on it who had missed there transport due to the airline.

This was a nightmare forty minuite's ride and bloody scary.

Got to the resort and was greeted by a lady called mary who was the manager of the resort.

The bell boy's took our luggage and we had to jump in to the sea to get to the island.

We walked through and it was very quiet, and the australian's were in the bar area watching the sport's aussir rules or something like that.

We were given a sandwich each and a fruit cocktail which was lovely Mary was very relaxed and told us about the island and said there was a meal plan which basically was 105$ fijian dollas which worked out £35.00 per person per day of your saty which was so cheap, and the drinks were cheap aswell, how do they make there money on the island.

After our sandwich was shown to our room of which i was a little dissapointed with , as i was expecting a bure on the sea raised up on stilt;s but was set back on the beach like all of them.

The next morning was woken up by the sceraem's of loads of children on the beach, Errr Ello WE ARE ON HONEYMOON, did they not know.

Not very relaxing dut to us going when Australia and New Zealand are on there holiday's why didnt know one tell us this lol,

The beach was not very clean but the sea was amazingly clear and beautifull.

Did not do any trips but there weere loads to do at this island , the food was good and was plenty to choose from buffett and alacarte and the pizza bar was good.

The staff were very friendly and relaxed and you could be relaxed when you are there, the rooms were not very clean and the shower was rubbish very small and not very powerfull.

nice holiday vacation maybe if you were to go another time not my ideal place to go , did recieve a huge fruit basket and a bottle of champagne in our room.

Internet service available and very fast.

Emily in the sundown bar was very funny and nice as was lily in the lily pond bar near the pool.

  • Liked — the staff were so friendly and the island location
  • Disliked — The cleanliness of our room and the kids
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blitz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaway Island (Qalito)
11.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,410 reviews
1.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
876 reviews
16.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Island
698 reviews
5.2 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
749 reviews
5.0 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Property: Castaway Island Fiji
Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing