We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castaway Island Fiji
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

When you work in hotels/travel planning a holiday can be a bit stressful, like everyone I have high expectations of a holiday. When planning for Fiji it was hard to choose the right accommodation/island to stay at. I had lots of advice from colleagues and friends - but to be honest it made the choice harder.
In the end we chose to stay at the Fiji Beach Resort & Spa and Castaway Island. We really enjoyed the Hilton (a different review) and as we left I confess we had our fingers crossed that we'd chosen right with Castaway.
Castaway was a perfect choice! Our Bure was clean, private and had a lovely mix of traditional Fiji and contemporary comforts (yes there is no TV but we didn't want one). The Island is gorgeous, the beaches were lovely and there were plenty of swimming options. Our kids (8yr & 11yrs) drifted in and out of kids club, which suited us, they went in the day only when there was an activity on ie touch footy, weaving, snorkling etc, however they were keen to go at night, which left us to enjoy relaxed dinners together. The remainder of the time we swam, walked, snorkeled, read, built sandcastle and cubbies and did all the things you expect to do on a family beach holiday.
The food was very good and whilst we thought the kids buffet could be a little repetitive, we had the option of the a' la carte, Pizza and Lali Sandbar (asian stir-fry), so it really wasn't an issue...in fact it seemed more designed for those children who only do more simplistic food.
Dinner at 1808 was a highlight, although due to the threat of evening rain we only got to experience it once.
Staff were mostly fabulous (although I do agree with one reviewer that a few staff were clearly a little over it - particularly in the main restaurant). Special mention to Sai, Remi, Joe (at reception), Maryanne and Stephen who made us feel very welcome.
Would we recommend Castaway - it's a definite yes.

Room Tip: We had an Ocean View room and whilst the view of the beach was filtered, it was lovely and no more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCRheiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Bula and our sincere thanks for your feedback. You've captured in your review, everything Castaway stands for...time to disconnect with technology in order to reconnect with each other and the simple pleasures in life, such as building sandcastles, swimming, reading and relaxing together. We're glad to hear the kids made use of the Kids Club, now open until 10pm and you took advantage of that rare opportunity to dine together under the stars. Castaway is proudly everything the world isn't anymore - something we strive to hold onto. We are disappointed to read that you found some of our Castaway family to be less engaging than others and we promise this is being addressed with our F&B Management. Thanks again for taking the time to post a review and we hope you will return to Castaway to spend a holiday with us again. Vinaka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 947 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a week on Castaway. Our 4th visit here and still a great place. There were more food options then when we were here last. Lots of variety and the fish was fantastic. The staff were as friendly and helpful as ever - thank you to Emeri for looking after us at dinner. Kids club staff were great again - thanks Iva and thanks Joe for the coconuts - they were niiiiiiiiiiiice!! Can't wait for our 5th visit.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Zulus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Zulus12, we just love it when our treasured returnees give us wonderful feedback - vinaka. I guess that's why you've stayed with us 4 times already. Its fantastic to hear that you believe Castaway was even better this time. Our Chef has those fishermen trained well to come to Castaway and sell us their fresh fish before they offer the haul to anyone else. The result is the best fish on a plate in the South Pacific we think! Fresh coconuts to taste, fresh fish to eat....ahhh the simple life doesn't get any better does it. Don't stay away too long!
Vinaka and regards from your Castaway family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our family of 4 (boys aged 7 & 9) stayed 7 nights on Castaway Island during the Easter Holidays. The resort was absolutely perfect and we could not have been happier with our choice to stay there. Even though it was school holidays the place did not feel busy at all. Often you wouldn't even see another person as you were waking back to your bure.
We had a family beach bure and the view from our front door was spectacular! The room was cleaned and serviced daily and we loved the extra touches the cleaning staff would go to to make our room look lovely.
The food was excellent and with the choice of four different restaurants you never had to eat the same thing twice. There were also plenty of options for the kids at each of the restaurants (except 1880 which is adults only) with food to tempt even the fussiest of eaters! We would recommend purchasing the meal plan as it includes all food (even the daily ice-creams) and is the most economical way to go. Happy hour is from 5-7pm each night with all cocktails half price $10FJD.
The staff at Castaway were so welcoming and friendly. Everywhere we went we were greeted with a warm smile and a hearty bula! The grounds were kept spotlessly clean and tidy with staff out every morning raking up leaves or coconuts which may have fallen down over night. The beaches were also raked each day.
Our boys were reluctant to go to kids club at first, however after a morning trip to the local village and school they made lots of great friends. From then on they would spend their days playing on the island with their new mates and couldn't wait to go to kids club at night for the fun night time activities.
The snorkeling at Castaway is fantastic. The house reef is only a short swim off the beach and there are so many beautiful fish and colourful coral that it was easy to spend hours out there. We were also lucky enough to see small reef sharks, baby sting rays and sea snakes.
There were plenty of activities to do each day at Castaway however most of the time we just spent relaxing, snorkeling, swimming and reading. The climb to the top of the island is great exercise and you are rewarded with a wonderful view when you reach the top. We also kayaked around the island. This takes over an hour so make sure you leave yourself plenty of time if you are going late in the afternoon.
This was our first trip to Castaway Island but it definitely will not be our last. This would have to be the most relaxing family holiday that we have ever been on. Thank you to everyone at Castaway for making our holiday so memorable. We hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in beach bure 59 which is on the side of the island away from the water sports. It was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Mark A, you sound like you really did have the perfect family holiday. Its wonderful to read you made great use of all the activities on offer too and created some wonderful family memories at the same time. I guess it helps when all the non motorised water sports are free too. We agree about the quiet side of the island being south beach side and glad you liked your bure and its location. Sincere thanks to you and your family for taking the time to provide this feedback. The Castaway family look forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Vinaka and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have tried the mainland and another island but nothing compares to Castaway. We have just returned from our 4th visit to Castaway Island and as always we had a wonderful time. This year our wee girl decided to give kids club a go and she absolutely loved it. The kids club team are fantastic. Castaway is heaven on earth, with everything a tropical holiday should have, - great beach, beautiful clear water, yummy food, nice pools and authentic accommodation. For us however it is the staff that are the icing on the cake. They are welcoming, fun and make us feel like family. I could not recommend this place highly enough. We will definitely be heading back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BecsGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

BecsGNZ, we just love to hear from our wonderful returnees on this forum. Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. It's fantastic to know that for your family, Castaway Island provides everything you come to Fiji to find and it sounds like you create great family memories with each stay. Don't leave it too long to come back to your 'island home' again. Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is our second trip to Castaway and I don't understand the criticism. The staff are very friendly, happy and helpful, the position is beautiful, and we love the fact that there is no TV etc. We have a gadget free holiday and the children have a lot of fun remembering how to entertain themselves the old fashioned way: out doors, making new friends, reading etc.

We have been to many different Fijian resorts over the years and this i s the one we choose to come back to.

Room Tip: I prefer the bures on the Northern beach, but the southern side (away from the pools and aqua sports...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyof5_Au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Bula and sincere thanks for your lovely review. We often say that Castaway Island is 'everything the world isn't anymore' and our intent is to provide a laid back, friendly and comfortable stay where everyone can disconnect in order to reconnect.

Over 40% of our guests are returnees and we are humbled to read that you most definitely fall into that category. We hope it won't be too long before we can welcome your family back to see the Castaway family.

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in an island bure for a week in September last year. The island is beautiful - picture perfect but you can only really swim with kids in the beach you see in the pictures. The bures are nice - there is no tv so my husband missed seeing the news although there is wifi and most people seemed to always be on their iPads. Food catered for kids well although sandwiches would be better than chicjen drumsticks for littlies. Our son hated the kids club - didn't like the people running it, they did seem a bit bored to me and not very welcoming, not asking him his name even etc. The hotel seemed to only have Australians. There were more nationalities on our Cairns holiday than here!! The all inclusive package was good. It was beautiful here but the staff let it down a bit - we got chastised the first day because we sat near the beach with our family. The restaurant staff all seemed to wish they were somewhere else. And given the price paid to stay here, I would be hiring staff that complement the place !! But it seems full all year so I guess people think they do something right. We won't be back - we will try somewhere different for the price - the Hilton at denarau was lovely and staff so friendly!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brisbane15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you Brisbane 15 for your feedback. It doesn't sound like your time at Castaway Island was as enjoyable as it should have been and for this we are sincerely sorry. Just addressing a couple of points you raise. We provide a cross section of foods on the buffets to suit different tastes and chicken drumsticks are usually a hit with most kids, however understandably not all kids like them. To other readers, If we know your child only eats certain foods, the Chefs can prepare these upon request, if they have the ingredients to do so. The Kids Club at Castaway is legendary and we are very disappointed to hear your son didn't find this to be a positive, friendly experience as it usually is and should be on all occasions. Both the north side and south side beaches are generally great for swimming and snorkelling, however it does depend on the tides and we are fortunate to have a choice of several beaches around the island, facing different directions, so its often the case as you point out, that one beach at a certain time may be more suitable to little children swimming, than the other. Your feedback regarding the staff is also of concern as they are renowned for their friendly service and demeanour and I know they would be upset to know that your experience was otherwise. We will ensure this is also followed up. We hope that overall your stay was an enjoyable one. Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I chose Castaway for our honeymoon destination and I cant rate the Island, resort and staff highly enough. We stayed for one week in a beautiful ocean view bure (6/ono) which was cosy, private, traditional yet comfortably modern. All the bure's are discreetly sheltered and mostly surrounded by lush tropical bush and immaculately kept gardens. The thatched styled roofs cleverly cover the windows so no-body can see in.
We were greeted off our boat with the traditional Fijian welcome on arrival. It made us feel very special! The Fijian people are the warmest, friendliest and most genuine I have ever come across in my travels. I must mention the lovely Eellie at this point as she took great care of us. Unfortunately a nasty bug struck me on our flight to Fiji and I wasn't well upon arrival. Eellie arranged a visit with the nurse and checked in each day (sometimes with extra goodies) to ensure everything was ok and I was on the mend. Other staff were very sweet and often asked if I was feeling better. Not the greatest getting sick on your honeymoon but just being in such a wonderful environment bought me back to health in no time!
There is plenty to do if you so choose, otherwise castaway is perfect for simply relaxing by the lovely pool or on one of the beaches. The snorkling is fantastic and there was a huge array of fish literally a few strokes from the shore. Hobie cats are always fun if you know how to sail and although I didn't dive myself, my husband went for one and enjoyed the fish life - someone on his dive was lucky enough to see a sea turtle.
We were very impressed with the two separate pool areas for adults and children. A beautifully structured kids swimming pool meant that kids and parents could be doing their thing away from the adults pool area allowing couples like us some peace and tranquility. While there seemed to be quite a few young family's at the resort, it was mostly pre-schoolers and babies and we didn't feel like it was rowdy at all which I think reflects the beauty of the way the resort is structured - there was always somewhere nice and quiet and secluded you could go to.
We thought the food was outstanding, both off the menu and the buffet. The seafood was fresh off the boats and the main restaurant was such a pleasure to dine in with fantastic views wherever you sat. The service was great and Dan and Jo are great!
Another thing I have to mention which was a huge highlight of the trip for us, was the very generous dolphin safari we were given by the staff. We're still not sure why we received it! We certainly felt very grateful however. It was the most beautiful tranquil morning and just us and the boat driver (whose name eludes me but was very welcoming and informative) The dolphins didn't come out to play sadly but we were taken on the most exhilarating ride. We went right out to the reef and were shown the popular surf spots, cruised in close to check out some of the other resorts and generally had a blast out on the pristine waters.
Another thing I would recommend is a walk around the Island and also up the Island. Make sure you take plenty of water and decent walking shoes however. Its well worth the look.
We were sad to leave after 7 days but so grateful that we live in such a beautiful part of the world and only 3 hours flying time to get to. We would most definitely go back and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Castaway to anyone.
Thank you so much for an enchanting stay in paradise. We loved it.

Room Tip: Hard to pick a bad bure - they were all private, however we did notice the south side beach bures go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwikel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Bula and vinaka Kiwikel2014 for your wonderful review. The Dolphin Safari was Castaway's wedding gift to you and your new husband. Glad you enjoyed the experience.

We appreciate your very honest and well written account of how the pristine island environment blends with our resort facilities and is further enhanced by the warmth and genuine hospitality of the Castaway family.

We hope you will be back to celebrate many anniversaries with us.

warm regards from the Castaway family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaway Island (Qalito)
0 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
626 reviews
0 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
0 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
905 reviews
0 mi away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Island
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range: $509 - $815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing