We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,073)
Filter reviews
1,073 results
Traveler rating
785
197
65
20
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
785
197
65
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club meal plan kids pool bush walk outer reef fish family holiday pizza bar beach bure main beach north side swim up bar meal package a la carte menu young kids banana boat waters edge
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 1,073 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a week on Castaway. Our 4th visit here and still a great place. There were more food options then when we were here last. Lots of variety and the fish was fantastic. The staff were as friendly and helpful as ever - thank you to Emeri for looking after us at dinner. Kids club staff were great again - thanks Iva and thanks Joe for the coconuts - they were niiiiiiiiiiiice!! Can't wait for our 5th visit.

Date of stay: April 2014
2  Thank Zulus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Zulus12, we just love it when our treasured returnees give us wonderful feedback - vinaka. I guess that's why you've stayed with us 4 times already. Its fantastic to hear that you believe Castaway was even better this time. Our Chef has those fishermen trained well to come to Castaway and sell us their fresh fish before they offer the haul to anyone else. The result is the best fish on a plate in the South Pacific we think! Fresh coconuts to taste, fresh fish to eat....ahhh the simple life doesn't get any better does it. Don't stay away too long!
Vinaka and regards from your Castaway family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our family of 4 (boys aged 7 & 9) stayed 7 nights on Castaway Island during the Easter Holidays. The resort was absolutely perfect and we could not have been happier with our choice to stay there. Even though it was school holidays the place did not feel busy at all. Often you wouldn't even see another person as you were waking back to your bure.
We had a family beach bure and the view from our front door was spectacular! The room was cleaned and serviced daily and we loved the extra touches the cleaning staff would go to to make our room look lovely.
The food was excellent and with the choice of four different restaurants you never had to eat the same thing twice. There were also plenty of options for the kids at each of the restaurants (except 1880 which is adults only) with food to tempt even the fussiest of eaters! We would recommend purchasing the meal plan as it includes all food (even the daily ice-creams) and is the most economical way to go. Happy hour is from 5-7pm each night with all cocktails half price $10FJD.
The staff at Castaway were so welcoming and friendly. Everywhere we went we were greeted with a warm smile and a hearty bula! The grounds were kept spotlessly clean and tidy with staff out every morning raking up leaves or coconuts which may have fallen down over night. The beaches were also raked each day.
Our boys were reluctant to go to kids club at first, however after a morning trip to the local village and school they made lots of great friends. From then on they would spend their days playing on the island with their new mates and couldn't wait to go to kids club at night for the fun night time activities.
The snorkeling at Castaway is fantastic. The house reef is only a short swim off the beach and there are so many beautiful fish and colourful coral that it was easy to spend hours out there. We were also lucky enough to see small reef sharks, baby sting rays and sea snakes.
There were plenty of activities to do each day at Castaway however most of the time we just spent relaxing, snorkeling, swimming and reading. The climb to the top of the island is great exercise and you are rewarded with a wonderful view when you reach the top. We also kayaked around the island. This takes over an hour so make sure you leave yourself plenty of time if you are going late in the afternoon.
This was our first trip to Castaway Island but it definitely will not be our last. This would have to be the most relaxing family holiday that we have ever been on. Thank you to everyone at Castaway for making our holiday so memorable. We hope to see you again soon!

Room tip: We stayed in beach bure 59 which is on the side of the island away from the water sports. It was very quiet and private compared to the ones on the other side.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Mark A, you sound like you really did have the perfect family holiday. Its wonderful to read you made great use of all the activities on offer too and created some wonderful family memories at the same time. I guess it helps when all the non motorised water sports are free too. We agree about the quiet side of the island being south beach side and glad you liked your bure and its location. Sincere thanks to you and your family for taking the time to provide this feedback. The Castaway family look forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Vinaka and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have tried the mainland and another island but nothing compares to Castaway. We have just returned from our 4th visit to Castaway Island and as always we had a wonderful time. This year our wee girl decided to give kids club a go and she absolutely loved it. The kids club team are fantastic. Castaway is heaven on earth, with everything a tropical holiday should have, - great beach, beautiful clear water, yummy food, nice pools and authentic accommodation. For us however it is the staff that are the icing on the cake. They are welcoming, fun and make us feel like family. I could not recommend this place highly enough. We will definitely be heading back.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BecsGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

BecsGNZ, we just love to hear from our wonderful returnees on this forum. Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. It's fantastic to know that for your family, Castaway Island provides everything you come to Fiji to find and it sounds like you create great family memories with each stay. Don't leave it too long to come back to your 'island home' again. Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is our second trip to Castaway and I don't understand the criticism. The staff are very friendly, happy and helpful, the position is beautiful, and we love the fact that there is no TV etc. We have a gadget free holiday and the children have a lot of fun remembering how to entertain themselves the old fashioned way: out doors, making new friends, reading etc.

We have been to many different Fijian resorts over the years and this i s the one we choose to come back to.

Room tip: I prefer the bures on the Northern beach, but the southern side (away from the pools and aqua sports) may be more secluded
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyof5_Au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Bula and sincere thanks for your lovely review. We often say that Castaway Island is 'everything the world isn't anymore' and our intent is to provide a laid back, friendly and comfortable stay where everyone can disconnect in order to reconnect.

Over 40% of our guests are returnees and we are humbled to read that you most definitely fall into that category. We hope it won't be too long before we can welcome your family back to see the Castaway family.

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in an island bure for a week in September last year. The island is beautiful - picture perfect but you can only really swim with kids in the beach you see in the pictures. The bures are nice - there is no tv so my husband missed seeing the news although there is wifi and most people seemed to always be on their iPads. Food catered for kids well although sandwiches would be better than chicjen drumsticks for littlies. Our son hated the kids club - didn't like the people running it, they did seem a bit bored to me and not very welcoming, not asking him his name even etc. The hotel seemed to only have Australians. There were more nationalities on our Cairns holiday than here!! The all inclusive package was good. It was beautiful here but the staff let it down a bit - we got chastised the first day because we sat near the beach with our family. The restaurant staff all seemed to wish they were somewhere else. And given the price paid to stay here, I would be hiring staff that complement the place !! But it seems full all year so I guess people think they do something right. We won't be back - we will try somewhere different for the price - the Hilton at denarau was lovely and staff so friendly!!

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brisbane15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you Brisbane 15 for your feedback. It doesn't sound like your time at Castaway Island was as enjoyable as it should have been and for this we are sincerely sorry. Just addressing a couple of points you raise. We provide a cross section of foods on the buffets to suit different tastes and chicken drumsticks are usually a hit with most kids, however understandably not all kids like them. To other readers, If we know your child only eats certain foods, the Chefs can prepare these upon request, if they have the ingredients to do so. The Kids Club at Castaway is legendary and we are very disappointed to hear your son didn't find this to be a positive, friendly experience as it usually is and should be on all occasions. Both the north side and south side beaches are generally great for swimming and snorkelling, however it does depend on the tides and we are fortunate to have a choice of several beaches around the island, facing different directions, so its often the case as you point out, that one beach at a certain time may be more suitable to little children swimming, than the other. Your feedback regarding the staff is also of concern as they are renowned for their friendly service and demeanour and I know they would be upset to know that your experience was otherwise. We will ensure this is also followed up. We hope that overall your stay was an enjoyable one. Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews