We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,042)
Filter reviews
1,042 results
Traveler rating
764
192
62
20
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
764
192
62
20
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubkids poolmeal planbush walkouter reeffishpizza barfamily holidaybeach buremain beachswim up barnorth sidemeal packagea la cartebanana boatyoung kidsdesalination plant
Filter
Updating list...
515 - 520 of 1,042 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

When we booked our time at Castaway the picture our travel agent painted for us was not as pretty as had in mind. When we got there though it was great food people and rooms where stunning and great facilities. The setting is great and I would imagine it was agreat place to take kids. We had a great room set on the water bure 43 and at high tide the waves almost came over the breakwater and lapped up to our door. We loved our time here we just wish the pool had a view of the ocean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thanks for your review Jwin2014. It would be fantastic if you could let your travel agent know that your expectations were exceeded! Hope you'll come back and visit the Castaway family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We have recently returned from 9 nights on Castaway in an island bure. It was our first trip to Fiji, we arrived at Castaway after spending one night at Denarau and even though it was pouring with rain when we arrived the staff still came out, sheltered us under umbrellas and sang and welcomed us.

The Island itself is just stunning and the resort set out really well, using the lovely natural surrounds. The gardeners and groundskeepers are to be commended, its such a relaxing feel walking through the grounds of the resort to your bure. The resort was apparently at capacity for most of our stay however we never felt like it was full or crowded. We never had trouble finding a deck chair, getting a seat for a meal, and never had to wait for anything.

We chose an island bure as this was more cost effective and although it would have been lovely to be right on the ocean we enjoyed the peace and tranquility of our bure. We were set back in the gardens near the tennis court, (bure 54). The bure was beautiful, loved the tapas lined roof, was a good size for a family of four and was refreshed and cleaned every day by the lovely housekeeping staff. Special mention to Andie and Nancie who were wonderful. The only thing we had some trouble with was the fact the toilets have no roof and given we had some sickies in the bure it was a little unpleasant at times... Had we not been sick this wouldnt have been an issue.

The food was amazing. We had pizzas from sundowner a few times which were delicious, pizza chef does a great job. Special mention to Vilisi - the most lovely staff member who went out of her way to make sure we were happy. Service was very quick. We ate at the Nuku Marau pool bar a few times (this was the kids favourite) and again service was quick and friendly. My partner and I mostly frequented Waters Edge, both for the buffet and the a la carte menu and i have to say the food was excellent, as was the service. Big thankyou to the lovely Seru - a beautiful person at Waters Edge who always thought to enquire how we were going given a few of us had been sick. Dan was also such a lovely gentleman. The only restaurant we didnt get to try was 1808 given it was only opened one night we were there. We did get to try some of Chef Lance Seeto's food on the buffet though which was really nice. The alcohol was quite expensive so most of the time we chose to take advantage of a bottle of duty free alcohol we had in our bure.

While we were there we snorkeled (saw beautiful fish snorkeling straight off the beach near monkey rock at high tide - could have happily stayed out there snorkeling for hours), swam in the lovely warm water, kayaked and played some organised water polo and voleyball with Sai and Knox. We loved both Sai and Knox - they were so engaging and funny, my kids really took to them, as they did to Joe.

We mostly swam in the ocean, although at low tide did take advantage of the pools a few times. Adults pool was lovely and the kids pool was good for little kids too. My 10 year old probably a little big for the kids pool but still went in for a dip a few times. But as i said the majority of our time was spent on the beach or in the ocean. The water is so clear and warm, the scenery is magical and its so nice to see fish just swim by.

They had activities every night at 9.15, we participated in a few of these which was great fun, crab racing, beach games, trivia and the highlight was the Meke performance by the staff and kids club after the management cocktail party. Great night!

We went on the Shell Village half day tour which was a real eye opener. The tour was led by Iva who told us all about the village, the school, the customs, the local area and the people. She also helped us to hand out some clothes and kids items to the local people at the village which was a great experience for my kids.

We were really impressed by the care all the staff have for the environment and after a desalination tour with Rusi (great guy who showed us a lot about how the resort operates) we were able to understand the process that goes into desalination and into the water treatment etc. There is so much going on behind the scenes, the staff do an amazing job.

Kids club - my 8 year old daughter absolutely loved kids club and all the staff - Mary, Maryanne, Iva, Joe, Knox, Alisi (i cant remember all the names but they were all beautiful people who obviously loved the kids). My 10 year old son preferred just to go at night for the activities that were on while adults ate their dinner, and during the day snorkelled and swam. They had lots of fun activities to entertain the kids which allowed me some time to take advantage of a fijian massage and manicure and pedicure with Lorrainie (beautiful friendly girl).

3 out of 4 of us did get sick (upset tummies) while we were there, not sure why this was as the food was delicious and always seemed to be fresh - but we were so well taken care of by Alisi the nurse on the island. My son was the sickest and she came to check on him a few times and made sure we had everything we needed. The staff in the kitchen and restaurant were great also, taking the time to send us chicken broth etc to the bure. I guess if you are going to get sick you might as well do it on a beautiful tropical island!!

On the last day we really werent ready to leave so instead of taking our prearranged South Sea Cruises launch in the morning we opted to lash out an take the helicopter directly to the airport later in the afternoon. This gave us a few more hours to swim and spend on Castaway and then the most amazing helicopter trip back with commentary on all of the islands we saw along the way. Huge thankyou to Joe in reception and Tony who made this happen so quickly.

We loved the woodcarvers near the kids club, Matthew and John - we purchased a bowl they made for us and really enjoyed talking to them about their culture.

I cant thank the staff of Castaway enough, they are the most friendly, lovely people you will meet. They love love love kids and are genuine, friendly and very approachable. We cant wait to come back to Castaway and see everyone again. Thankyou for an amazing holiday xo

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank coffeelover1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Bula Coffeelover1970!
It's so lovely to read such a comprehensive review. Thank you for taking the time to provide these comments. You are absolutely right when you say the Castaway family of staff are "genuine, friendly and approachable". Whilst we know we have one of the greatest pieces of real estate on the globe and a lovely well maintained resort, it is the Castaway family of staff who make it special. We are so delighted you all enjoyed your stay. Come back and visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from another amazing trip to Castaway Island. This time, we stayed for 5 nights and cannot rate the resort more highly!

The room was clean with a great view, very comfortable bed and a ton of space! Luxury indeed!

The staff were warm and welcoming with some remembering us from our previous stay!

The range of activities available (both free and some at cost) was great - although on a secluded island, you really can do as much or as little as you want! One trip is a must - snorkel at "Castaway Wall" a short 5 mins from the resort - the colour and amount of coral was amazing - not to mention all the fish!!

The food was outstanding, with so much variety available and we can certainly see why Lance and his team have won so many awards. My husband and I dont have any intolerances/ allergies, but if you do, Castaway certainly caters for these - everything is clearly labelled and there are a lot of choices.

A lot of reviews here are from families with children - we dont have kids (yet!) but can see why parents rave about it - the kids club looked great. But as a couple we enjoyed it just as much - theres an adults only pool and adults dining times etc.

Special thanks to Emily (who makes the best cocktails ever!), Aggie, Joe and Sami for making our holiday extra special!! And if you like fishing, go out with Wati - lovely guy, very patient and knows all the great spots!!

We'll be back again soon Castaway family!!

Jacki and Matt P.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JackiP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Jacki & Matt, thanks for another wonderful review. We highly value these and appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. Great to know you enjoyed yourselves just as much this time around at your home away from home - Castaway Island.

It's delightful to receive some feedback from couples such as yourselves. You are right that we mostly get families leaving feedback but that doesn't mean we don't cater well to couples as you have pointed out. We are glad you enjoyed the subtle separations available for adults at the Malua Pool with swim up bar and your dining experiences at our various outlets.

Don't leave it too long before you come back. Your cheerios have been sent to Emily, Aggie, Jo and Sami and Wati at Water Sports. Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights in paradise. We really did!

We felt welcome from day one on, everyone was so friendly and helpful.
Our cottage was loveley, directly on the beach. It was always clean, houskeeping staff did an excellent job.

Food was always very nice, we fell in love with the volcano chocolate cake, sooo delicious!!!

We enjoyed every single day and night on this island and would love to go back sometime!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Lukas_E84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We agree, Castaway Island is as close to paradise as one can get. Everything the world isn't anymore. For this, we are very proud and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hear from all over the world that our Chocolate Fondant "volcano" dessert is the best ever. We can now add Switzerland to the list - vinaka! Please come back for more paradise and chocolate when you can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Hubby and I enjoyed a very short stay here (2 nights) and were disappointed we didn't book longer! We would much rather have stayed here for week as opposed to Denarau.

This resort & the staff are amazing, despite us staying for only two nights, each staff member knew us by name and greeted us with warmth and enthusiasm, and not only just "bula" but a conversation. The conversations weren't basic, standard talk, it was personalised, asking us about our room, our hike to the top of the island, our jet ski trip etc. Even though we didn't mention these things to staff, they all somehow knew and took an interest to talk to us when they saw us, along with giving us advice on where to go and when.

We were kindly upgraded to a ocean front bure by Merelini and we were blown away, from the outside it looks like a small shack, but on the inside the rooms are fantastic and the air conditioning is superb. Not to mention the amazing views from our room, we were right on the doorstep of the ocean.
Note - there is no TV in the room, but you don't miss it at all.

Upon arrival you are greeted by the beautiful views and a welcome song by staff, you are given a delicious welcome drink while you wait for your room - which isn't long. We were taken aback by the views that we didn't realise it had been 15 minutes already.

There are two pools, tennis court, badmington table and board games on the island. But who wants those when you have amazingly crystal clear waters to soak in!

The water is crystal clear and un-touched and the reef is stunning. There are some water snakes, which scared me on the first day, but the snorkeling in front of our beach bure didn't have any snakes, so we stayed there most of the time.

The food is amazing and I highly recommend the meal plan as the food is expensive on its own. Do keep in mind the food plan doesn't include drinks.

We went during low season but the island was still packed with tourists. There are a lot of repeat visitors to this island and everyone is one big happy family. There was a family of 9 who have been coming every year for over 20 years and now the grand children are coming too.
I loved every minute of our stay here and did shed a lot of tears when we left. The staff are amazing, they hug you and say their goodbyes and ask you to come back again the following year, which I am planning on doing.

Special mention to kuwai the night time F&B supervisor. He was super friendly and jovial and always made a mention to come greet us even though we weren't in his service area, he even took time out to organise the live band to sing a beautiful anniversary song for us despite us not asking for it. On our first day we mentioned we were there for our anniversary and he organised everything without us knowing. It was so sweet and beautiful. We appreciated it so much and will miss his hospitality.

Despite the island resort being a 4 star resort, I would rate it higher than some 5 stars I've stayed in Fiji. I didn't even know it was 4 star until the staff mentioned it.
The hospitality, the rooms, the views, the water, they all combine for a amazing and unforgettable holiday. I can't boast about this place enough, it's pure paradise.
All the little touches is what makes a difference, someone comes round every night after you have left to go for dinner and turns all the lights on, tidies up the room for you and replaces the beautiful flowers in the room. Such a nice touch.

There is one downside to this resort and that is the lack of lighting. Hubby and I would have loved to go for a dip at night time, but there was no lighting in front of our bure for a late night swim. Some did risk it, but we weren't game enough. There is also little lighting on the footpath to your room, but we didn't mind it, it was like walking through a rain forest and there was always someone on the path.

I miss castaway so much and the friendships we made with the staff - it's truly something else and creates an unforgettable experience. I see why there are some people who have been returning to castaway for over 20 years - I think hubby and I will be one of those couples :)

Room Tip: Beach front Bure is the only way to stay at this resort, the views are breathtaking - esp at sunset
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuzakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Bula Nuzakat,
Our sincere thanks for your heartfelt posting. It means so much to the Castaway family when we read reviews like yours. We are so proud of our little island paradise. Its pretty and pristine and we keep it as humble and close to nature as possible, whilst still providing the comforts of home, required for an enjoyable stay. You and your husband totally understood our philosophy and style of hospitality, as so many of returnee guests do. We just hope you will keep your promise and come back as soon as possible. The Castaway family look forward to welcoming you home whenever that can be. Vinaka and warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews