We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The low down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castaway Island Fiji
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Ok. Want to know the reality? Read all the reviews? Spent 1 week in July with 3 children under 6 .
Lets be honest this island is not Fiji and is full of Aussies. The reviews are reflecting the fact that Australians do not get out much . For those well travelled of us here is the real review

As always we start with the positives . For kids it is heaven . The kids club is great . Loads of different activities / Fiji dance/ culture / water activities .. Free ice cream all day ... Pasta at the meals all day etc etc..
The fiji staff are truly wonderful. Relaxed and caring ... Naturally great with kids . The musical trio with semi et al will not be forgotten and adored by our kids . We will honestly miss them .
The snorkelling is amazing , the water sports is cool and as no waves great for amateurs .

The 300m beach is good . The sea is warm. 1808 restaurant and head chef very good

Ok .. The negatives.
1. Price -crazy over priced
2. It is really a big kids club. Do NOT come here if u have no children
3. It is full of Australians . Their kids are uncontrolled . No respect . Using the hammocks as swings and basically turning the tiny beach into oz kick sessions
4. The beach is tiny and there are far too many bures . Upto 100 people on the beach ruins everything.
5. Just when u thoughts some quiet periods a boat load of day trippers descend . Everyday !!
6 . The tide goes out at 1 pm and you cannot swim after this at all on the beach
7. The safety is so lax it is amazing. No questions re swimming abilities etc just here's a life jacket and away u go. Our daughters went on a dolphin safari. 20 kids 1 adult on a boat . No dolphins but they swam in the sea somewhere??!
8. Meal plan 120 dollars each adult/day kids 40 dollars day . Any alcohol extra. Everyone brings own supply, full of Aussies drinking. Dumped their kids in the club till 10 pm and getting drunk. How the bogans can afford here I cannot understand .
9. This is no way an exclusive resort . The transfer from airport to island is bus/ boat 1.5 hrs - we got helicopter back - 10 mins
Pools are really poor kids one very shallow. No lifeguard an guard and kids were bored after 30 mins . Water very cold unless 35 deg sun ...
11. Just over populated and cashing in on day trippers/ weddings etc à big club med basically
12 around kids swimming pool no space to sit for parents or walk around pool


If there was an international clientele and 90%less people it would work

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank chrismed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 927 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

For many years I have returned to castaway island as my family and I have greatly enjoied it. However, recent modifications to the pool area have let the entire place down. The toddler pool is great...its large and safe. It would have been amazing when my brothers and I were young. The 'teen' pool however is greatly undersized and left my brothers unable to swim and splash around. Then there is an adult pool, this pool is a much better size however has been designed to be a quiet zone. This zone was regularly patrolled by what I found to be a 'fun nazzi'. She would tell people talking to be quiet and would tell off people, even adults whom were swimming in a fun manner in the pool.
Castaway used to be a fun island Resort. But in my opinion the island is no longer the fun laid back area it used to be.
We will definitely be looking for an alterntive place to stay next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank asbcso2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was our first trip to castaway island and won't be our last . We went in mid June and from the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome . We arrived at 10pm at night by Speed boat and were met by the band singing with full voice and taken to our bure where fruit , sandwiches and drinks were left for us .
The staff were friendly ( Poni, Mosi and Searau . Great ) and helpful and knew our children's names and our names in a day or so . Our kids loved the kids club of an evening while we enjoyed lovely dinners at the 3 restraunts ( food plan is a must ) , our friends wedding also took place while we were there and was personal and a great day which was organised by the castaway staff . The castaway family choir was great also . Overall the kids and my wife and I loved everyday we were on the island relaxing , swimming and eating the great food . Also big thanks to johana for keeping our bure perfect and the little personal touches she did with the kids toys

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Pearce31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is my third review of Castaway Island on Tripadvisor so i'm here to explain why travellers return year after year to this resort. Yes the resort is picture postcard perfect, the views are stunning, the weather is great, the food is amazing, the activities program has something for everyone and the facilities are beautiful and well maintained, but all of this is overshadowed by one key thing - the feeling of being part of the Castaway family you get from the staff on the island.

Stepping off the boat really feels like you're coming home, the warm welcome you receive with the welcome song, the personalised service when checking in, and the staff remembering any special occasion you may be celebrating really make you feel like you matter.

Giant grins and a friendly 'Bula' come from every direction. The staff look like they love working at the resort and it's impossible not to smile back or laugh when they are laughing. Kids club staff would put seasoned comedians to shame, their one liners had us in stitches every day.

Our visit this time was to celebrate a 'special number' birthday for my husband. We were offered a celebratory cake personalised for the occasion and the band sang to our table as the cake was delivered. As we had eaten SO much food in the days prior (make sure you sign up for the meal plan, it offers great value!) we were unable to finish the cake so cut it up and delivered a piece each to the band boys who were very appreciative of the gesture.

This time we travelled with our two teenage children. They had been before but were now at an age that I had some concern about whether they would be kept busy enough during our 8 day stay to not get bored. I shouldn't have worried - they had a ball and really enjoyed catching up with other teens at a Mocktail Party one of the nights we were there. The rest of the time they were constantly on the go.. or eating! Thanks Chef Lance Seeto for managing to fill my teenage son's stomach, i've never been able to achieve this feat.

Although the resort was fully booked for our trip at no time did it ever feel crowded, we never missed out on a lounge chair beside the pool, a great table for meals or space at the bar for cocktail hours. Don't let the thought of it being busy put you off, you're guaranteed to find peace even at maximum occupancy. We stayed again in a Beachfront Bure but if you are working on a lower budget any of the bures would suit as they are all close to the action and in essence are the same inside.

Special thanks to the resort manager Steven who helped us arrange a private charter of one of the Castaway boats so we could visit a nearby village to deliver items we had taken to donate to the village children. This was very much appreciated. And to all the staff we hold dear to our hearts - Dan, Samu, Sami (who 'saved' my daughter from a ferocious spider), the Egg Man (Hi from Anchovies), Visili, Una, Poni, Joe, Ratu, Liku, Lekima and Akima - Vianka Vakalevu and Sota Tale (see you again) from Mr Vonu, Felicity, Anchovies and Max.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Blackwater165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our visit to Castaway was part of our 3 and a half week trip to Fiji to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. This was also the most expensive of the resorts we stayed at.
The island itself is really beautiful and a lovely setting for a resort. We stayed in a Ocean view bure and had the meal plan.
Because this was the most expensive of the 3 resorts we stayed at we expected a bit of luxury. This was not apparent, we found the bures a bit tired (our bure number was 57 on the south side) and the decor needing a bit of tlc. We found the noise from the helicopter very intrusive, some days it started at 8 am and continued right through the day. Not good if you are on holiday for a bit of peace and quiet!
The meals were well prepared and varied although the a la carte menu for lunch and dinner never changed in the week we were there but there were daily specials. We did try the 1808 restaurant which was excellent. Breakfasts were plentiful and adequate. We did discover the pizza restaurant at the Sundowner bar and had breakfast pizzas a couple of times.
Service was a bit hit and miss. It was apparent that some of the staff were not happy particularly at breakfast and were quite abrupt and rude. The rest was the usual 'Fiji Time' one experiences everywhere in Fiji where it takes an age to receive a drink for some reason. Meals mostly did come out reasonably quickly though.
The resort is very well set up for children and families, lots of activities to amuse them, kids club etc. The resort has two beautiful swimming pools - one for adults and the other for children. We adults used the pool to escape the noise of families and children. What we found very annoying was parents allowing their children to use the adult pool either with their supervision or none. I felt very sorry for the lady running the swim up bar as she tried to maintain some level of control. We saw some examples of really bad behaviour of children and their parents at that pool. The spa was out of bounds for children (there are signs everywhere). Time and again we saw children in the spa and one elderly gentleman (am assuming he was the grandfather) out of total disregard for the rules and complete spite to the lady running the swim up bar who had told his grandsons to stop throwing a ball around in the adult pool - took a baby with a nappy into the adult spa. It made me feel embarrassed to be an Australian. I really think there needs to be some way for the lovely staff to get guests not to flaunt these rules.
We had a really nice holiday at Castaway but we are unsure if we would return. The costs were a bit prohibitive and the resort is more suitable for families than couples.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LindaC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Family 2 ad 2 ch stayed in beachfront bure absolutely perfect location. We stayed 3 nights. Staff are amazing, very friendly and nothing is any trouble. Food is very good best restaurant is 1808 and we went with food meal plan which is good value. Snorkelling and kayaking were free and amazing. The beach is white sand and the fish are at the waters edge. Coral close by the beach too so made snorkelling alot of fun. Fantastic location picture perfect! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Imme4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I'm going to try not to go on too much, it's very hard not to. However, Castaway is absolutely perfect. I have 3 children aged 11, 8 & 4. They have voted this the best holiday ever. We have been to 3 other locations in Fiji, but I have to agree with them. We booked the Castaway 5 package which allows 5 people in a bite for a minimum of give nights. We had booked a full meal plan. Food is excellent. We booked an Island Bure which was about 20m back from the beach, but was perfect. You do not have to be right on the beach at Castaway. There is a kids pool and an adults only pool. You can snorkel right off the beach and come across the most fantastic array of fish ever in the cleanest most crystal clear water. It was their winter time but we had perfect weather between 26-30deg celcius each day. Ala Carte, Buffets, Pizza, Asian/Fijian fusion by Chef Lance Seeto was all delicious. There were even ice creams!!! Staff are just so lovely. There were a couple of children with special needs while we were there, and these children were looked after with such love by the staff I had a tear in my eye. I love the islands of Fiji especially as it is so safe for children. It is the only place in the world I would allow my children to roam around. My 11 & 8 year old went snorkeling, kayaking and paddle boarding on their own, I watched from the beach. Kids club is run in a very professional way with a sign in system. Runs from 9/9:30am til 10pm. My kids went in whenever they felt like it and absolutely loved it. There is also a big sand pit with lots of toys. They show a kids movie at night which the kids loved. There is a program for the teens too. Water is totally drinkable which is a bonus. What can i say, Castaway is a perfect family holiday and We are already planning our next one!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mumi-Goez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaway Island (Qalito)
2.3 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
616 reviews
15.9 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
11.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
895 reviews
10.8 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
16.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range: $520 - $1,503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing