We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm going back!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castaway Island Fiji

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castaway Island Fiji
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I'm going back!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This resort is better than Outrigger. The main problem I had is with insects. But that was a small problem. The island was small and beautiful. Be careful taking the reef walk it's more difficult than you think especially for those who may have health issues.

The bush walk is also better suited for persons in good shape. My daughter and I had no problem with either activity but just forewarning,

Too many little kids. Parents take your children to Disney or Australia's equivalent,

The food was fine.

My main gripe is with the "spa". The massage therapist and the massages were nice but it's outside in a location where there are children screaming and people laughing loudly...TOO MUCH NOISE., for something that should be peaceful and reinvigorating experience. I also caught a guy peering into the area while I was dressing--not good.

This is an island best suited for honeymooners or couples--NOT LITTLE CHILDREN WITH LITTLE TO NO HOME TRAINING!!!

Overall, I'd go back!

Fiji is gorgeous and the vast majority of the people are very friendly!!!!

Vinaka

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NEURONS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    176
    55
    19
    3
See reviews for
567
166
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwater
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Have just had 3 nights on Castaway for A Family Wedding and really enjoyed it. The island is beautiful and the Staff very Friendly, Never forget you and remember your name from day one. Wedding was done with professionalism plus highly reccommend. Bures are a little tired would be my only complaint but the service etc outweighs that. Would certainly go again. Highly reccommend purchasing meal package when arriving.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoatieYeppoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

If you have kids that are 3+ the kids club is fabulous! The ladies running it are great with kids and the activities inc games on the tennis court, hunting for hermit crabs, looking at a bonfire, treasure hunt. The nannies are great with smaller kids and great value.
The rooms were not as good as I thought it would b for how much it costs per night ($800). We had two small kids and they stayed in the 'lounge' room with a small bamboo partition separating them from the master bed. The air con blew directly onto the master bed which I didn't like. Also the rooms were basically cleaned daily. The bed sheets weren't changed everyday and there was constantly sand in the bed.
I met the rudest Fijian on the island. She was at reception and never had a warm smile or bula. Due to the general lack of information given to new guests I went to reception to ask questions. I only had five. Half way thru answering them very abruptly she went back to doing sums in a book, took money from another staff member and had a conversation. I actually had to say I have a few more questions and hope I'm not disrupting you. For the cost per night, I never expected this.
Repairs are still going ahead after the cyclone and we were positioned near a building that turned out to b the owners house. During rest time in the day I enjoyed listening to circular saws, sanding and hammering. After a few days I went to c the builders and they moved at least the circular saw to the far side of the building site so it wasn't as loud.
I expected things like taking a boat to nearby snorkeling places and hand line fishing from a boat to b included in the $800 a night but alas it's extra.
Each room was not allowed two keys!!
And the guided reef walk with joe was a disaster. He walked one side of the resort until the rocks got too slippery for parents and kids then walked in the opposite direction and did the same thing. In between he was half a beach ahead of everyone and would whistle when he saw something, point to the spot them walk on. Total waste of time.
We booked through a travel agent along with a number of other families as a group. But instead of putting us all close together we were literally on opposite ends of the island.
The swimming pool was in the middle of the island and surrounded by buildings so really u could have been anywhere in the world.
All up, I would not be once of the 40% who revisiting the island. Totally not value for money and less than I expected

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wortho8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have been to many island in our travel time around the world as a couple and a family and Castaway definitely tops the favourite list! Even though we had 3 days of stormy weather and rain, we truly enjoyed our 5 nights stay especially thanks to the amazing kids club which our 3 year old daughter just loved. I was in awe that the kids club staff knew every kids name by day 1 (and they had about 50 + kids in there!) and that they took the kids for real adventures: coral boat trips, bonfire on beach, night walks to see native animals etc. The island facilities in my eyes are 5 star, the bures beautifully designed with loving touches such as fresh flowers every day, the 2 swimming pools are great, and the food was simply delicious. You can tell that the place has good management and that the staff is friendly because they are happy there (and not just smiling because they should be smiling...as in many 5 star chain hotels on the main island). The beaches are beautiful and my husband spent hours of snorkelling seeing colourful fish, rays, sea snakes. I would recommend Castaway to any Fiji visitor and especially families with kids. It is a bit more expensive to start with but once on the island you only need to pay for your drinks (if booked on meal deal) and it is well worth it. The only complaint I had was that nobody told us about the private boat taxi option to get here, because the travel agent booked us 2 nights on the main land, and after staying on Castaway we would have preferred to stay the extra night there and take a boat straight to the airport rather than going back to a chain hotel on Denarau!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nadja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Simply ideal for young families. The accommodation is charming and well laid out. The biggest asset to castaway is the staff - everyone is great with the kids and seem to genuinely love the families. We had a great time and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: the beach rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirkandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

My family of 5 recently stayed at Castaway for 6 nights. When we arrived on the boat we all said WOW! The beach is stunning and we had a great time playing in the water and seeing all the fish. We absolutely loved every part of Castaway, beautiful rooms, pools, crystal clear water and great snorkelling just off the beach. It is a great place for young children with a good kids pool and a beautiful safe lagoon to swim in.
The meal plan was definately worth it, the food was fantastic especially at the new 1808 restuarant. Chef Lance has done a great job with the menus.
The staff were good, the resort manager Steven was very helpful, he was always around if you needed something.
Overall I would highly recommend to anyone, we will definately be back to this beautiful place as soon as we can, paradise found......

Room Tip: All the bures are the same, it dosnt matter where you are, everything is really close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KazzaSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eidsvold, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was my second visit to Castaway and this time was better than the first. I already know my next stay will be even better. As a former travel agent Castaway has always been easy to 'sell' and is definitely the most popular island resort Fiji has to offer. You cannot go wrong here - the location is superb, the beach - lovely, the bures are great but it's the people that really make your stay. They are so friendly and you feel right at home. If you are travelling as a family, a couple or friends it will suit you. There's plenty to do at the island or you can go diving and exploring close by. Castaway will always get a 10 out of 10 in my book and I absolutely cannot wait to go back next year. Did I mention the food? It is sensational!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel_Nut_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaway Island (Qalito)
5.2 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
1.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
16.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
7.6 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Property: Castaway Island Fiji
Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jetsetter and Reservation Counter so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing