We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castaway Island Fiji
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was my second visit to Castaway and this time was better than the first. I already know my next stay will be even better. As a former travel agent Castaway has always been easy to 'sell' and is definitely the most popular island resort Fiji has to offer. You cannot go wrong here - the location is superb, the beach - lovely, the bures are great but it's the people that really make your stay. They are so friendly and you feel right at home. If you are travelling as a family, a couple or friends it will suit you. There's plenty to do at the island or you can go diving and exploring close by. Castaway will always get a 10 out of 10 in my book and I absolutely cannot wait to go back next year. Did I mention the food? It is sensational!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travel_Nut_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 969 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

From the moment Castaway Island comes into view on your transfer, you soon realize that you are arriving somewhere very special ! We spent a week in May on Castaway & it was truly the most stunning place I have ever visited, the beach, the water & reef are amazing & as good as it gets. Tropical fish can be seen as soon as you are anywhere near the waters edge & you can snorkel as soon you are off the sand- however with a coral reef only about 50 metres offshore ( close enough for kids) you're senses are soon sent into WOW overload. The staff were incredibly friendly & make a big effort to ensure your stay is great - special mentions to Joe, Iva,Ben, Mary, Mary-anne, Ratu & Pau who were brilliant. They ensured we had a great time by treating us like long lost friends, something which we greatly appreciated & did not expect.The beach bure's have views to die for & are certainly worth the extra if your budget allows, the island bure's are not far from the water though - no such thing as a bad spot. The food is exceptional with something for everyone ranging from snacks to extra special a la carte from the superb chef Seeto. Although our young daughters only sparingly used the kids club the activities were excellent & the supervisors were really nice. It was great to be part of " the Castaway family" & we hope to return sooner rather than later. If you are thinking about visiting the Fijian islands you will certainly not regret choosing Castaway Island.

Vinaka

Room Tip: South beach bure's a little quieter, can be breezy at times though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doory535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have been to this great place for more than 7 years and found it always fantastic .the staff are friendly and the resort is an amazing family place .diving is very good and well run .for a family holiday with young kids highly reccomended

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A piece of paradise. My idea of complete bliss. This is the most fantastic place i have visited in a long time, the ten nights we had just flew by. If you are looking for a stunning location with crystal clear water, beautiful beaches and high regard for the environment then this resort if a must. All the staff are SO obliging, always happy and very friendly. The meal package was excellent, and there is a good choice of food. We had a very inspiring talk to the chef. I could not fault anything. Absolutely fantastic. We will be back.

Room Tip: The beach front bures are ideal but so was the one we had in the row behind which had a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fundi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a trip to Fiji - Castaway Island was definitely the highlight.

The location is fabulous, the people are amazing, the rooms are clean and inviting - I cannot recommend highly enough.

Some people have made comment on the food - the meal plan is definitely the way to go, very reasonably priced and we both loved the food!

Aggie is an absolute credit to the island - her attention and customer service outstanding!! And Emily's sense of humour, stories and cocktail skills at the swim up bar were welcomed (and missed now we're home!).

We are already planning our trip back next year (bringing family and friends) and cannot wait!

Vinaka! Jacki and Matt

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackiP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

A fantastic island with great kids club and activities. The meal package was fantastic with lots of choice. Great snorkelling off the beach, night fishing and outer reef snorkelling. Highly recommended for family getaway ! We travelled with a 4 and 5 year old and they loved the kids pool. The children's eating time of 5.30 -6.30pm suited us and the kids then went to kids club at 7pm whilst we had dinner. A very good set up. Had fun at the frog race and crab race at 9pm. It is a cashless island all activities are also charged to your room as is the boutique purchases so easy and no need to do cash .

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean view bure it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank angie214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If your truly after a relaxing holiday where all you have to think about is "what deck chair" to plant your self in for the day, this is the island for you.
Its very hard to pin point just one reason why you should make your next holiday at Castaway...

The Food - you are guaranteed to gain weight so start the diet before you leave!!!
The Staff - they are all wonderful, happy, helpful, and genuinely can't do enough for you.
The Bures - Not huge but plenty of room for 2adults - 2 kids.
The snorkeling was amazing, right off the beach, there is sooo much to do, your days can be very full if you choose them to be.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the Bures, they are all identical inside it is purely the location that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travel4Y0U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaway Island (Qalito)
15.9 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
11.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,533 reviews
1.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 4 in Malolo Island
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
1.5 mi away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Malolo Island
731 reviews
16 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range: $541 - $736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing