We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castaway Island Fiji
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Just returned from 7 nights at Castaway Island and cannot rate this resort highly enough.The Bures are simple and accommodate 2 Adults and two kids (we had a 15 month as well in the Cot).They are Air-Conditioned and well laid out.There is a choice of Beach front,Beach view,and Garden view Bures which are all spaced about 25 meters apart around the Island.Even the Garden view are only meters from the water.The interior of the Island is manicured Gardens and Lawn.There is a large pool and Tennis court as well.The Restaurant has an indoor area and terrace area outdoor overlooking the water.We had the meal plan which is the only way to go as three meals per day are included and you can eat whatever you want and as much as you want.The food is good and is constantly improving as the management has bought in consultant Chefs from Australia who wander around the Restaurant talking to guests all the time asking thier thoughts on improving the meals which is good.We told them to get descent coffee!.The Kids club is great and they have special meal times for the kids at 5.30pm-6.30pm with thier own menu(not just the usual nuggets & chips rubbish) and so once the kids are fed then they all go back to the kids club for activities and then the parents can have drinks and dinner in peace until 9.00pm when the kids return.This really works well and the babies can also be sat for $5/hr and taken back to the Bure while the minder sits outside.The water is crystal clear with coral and fish everywhere.Overall this is the pick of the islands in this price bracket.The island is always full and they never advertise Castaway so that basically speaks for itself.Sure there are a few problems with certain things but that is just Fiji.We will be back!.

  • Liked — Air-Conditioning
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jamo5468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    181
    58
    20
    3
See reviews for
593
173
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

We stayed at Castaway for 6 nights. It is our second trip to Fiji, the 1st time was 18 months ago on our Honeymoon where we stayed at Shangri-La and Matamanoa. We had HUGE expectations and were not let down! Our trip started with a helicopter ride straight from Nadi Airport, this takes all up about 20 mins including transfer from Nadi Airport to the Heli Base and heli to Castaway. If you havent been in a helicopter before you are in for a treat as seeing the islands and coral from above is spectacular - as we loved it the first time we did it in Fiji we had to do it again - even though it is alot more expensive than the boat transfer, it is well worth it! We were greeted at Castaway and taken up to the Sundowner Bar where we were greeted again with paperwork and a nice welcome Cocktail! As it was only 10am, our room wasnt ready so we hung out by the pool and had an early lunch in the restaurant. Now speaking of food, I have to mention about the meal deal that we had - the best deal ever - for around $NZ100 per person this covered all of our meals FOR THE ENTIRE 6 DAYS and there was no limits on how much food you had, entree, main and dessert for every meal if you wish! This was such a great deal considering one main meal can sting you about $NZ45. We purchased this from our travel agent before we left, and on arrival at Castaway we were given the option of buying at $85 PER DAY meal plan - so you can see the difference? I beleive its only for the low season you can purchase this great deal!
Anyway food was fantastic, lots of fish which by the way is great. The Sundowner Bar had homemade pizzas which you could eat there, in the main restaurant or take back to your room. The sundowner bar also did great Cocktails and had a happy hour from 5-7pm - by the end we had sampled the entire menu - yummy! On arrival at our Bure (Bure 60) we were impressed, the size of the room was perfect with an area with 2 day beds to chill out on.Despite been the rainy season we only had 2 days of rain, on and off, but it was still so hot it didnt really matter, as the other days were perfectly fine. A highlight of the trip was the Island Hopping Trip, we went to Mana Island, Tokoriki and Amunuca. I was glad we visited Amunuca as we had cancelled our already booked trip there because of the poor reviews on Trip Advisor. The reviews were pretty much correct, we were glad we made the right choice with Castaway! yay thanks Trip Advisor! After the Island Hopping we got off on the other side of Castaway on a private beach where we pulled up to an island picnic of Lobster and Champagne, which was a nice finishing touch to the trip!
Another highlight would have to be the Inner Reef Snorkelling trip which cost $FJ20 each - but well worth it as the coral and fish life was amazing, best we had seen in fiji! A little disappointing I felt was the snorkelling off the beach at Castaway, there wasnt any coral at all and if you are not very confident in the big deep water like me its nice to go just off the beach. Matamanoa was great for this. Castaway is perfect for families, they cater for kids very well and will definetely go back there when we have a family. There was other couples there, mainly honeymooners, the kids never seemed to bother us as its a big enough island to find your own space. We had an issue with our air conditioning not working one day which was quickly resolved that afternoon, so we were very happy with the response time. We had such a great time at Castaway, it really it a magical place, the service and friendleness is amazing, but I knew it would be as Fijians are the loveliest people. I have nothing but good words to say about Castaway, I have seen alot of the islands now and apart from Matamanoa would not consider any other place to stay if I went back. BULA and Vinaka Vaka Levu!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank fijirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

My first thought about going to Fiji was terrible food for the whole ten days,WE stayed on Castaway for 4 nights and had a fantastic time the food was actually good not 5 star standards but really quite eatable,which is more than I can say for a lot of places in Fiji.The rooms are fine for a family of 4.The pool is very small but we both agreed we did not want our children in the pool as the beach is so lovely,the staff are amazing overall a great family hoilday ,also the kids club is wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelagentkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2008

My wife and I visited Castaway at the end of February and absolutely loved it!!! We stayed in beachfront bure #5 (which was on the North Beach). To be honest, my only concerns about going there was that the resort was going to be overrun with families/children and didn't really cater to couples without children. This was not the case. The guests were a mix of couples, honeymooners, couples with young children and some families also. A very good mix of guests. My wife and I always felt that we could partake in any of the activities and socialize but had plenty of privacy/space to take romantic walks, cocktails on the beach, etc. We were extremely impressed by the variety and quality of the food, both in the dining room and the gourmet pizzas that were served in the Sundowner bar. In regards to the staff, some of the friendliest people we have met. Extremely kind. Whether sitting in front of our bure, laying in a hammock, having a cocktail at the Sundowner Bar or taking a walk along the beach, the setting at Castaway was "like a dream" and we can't wait to go back!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mscoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We arrived at Castaway at the end of January right after Cyclone Gene made its way through Fiji. We were personally taken to our bure and invited to the cocktail reception that evening. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, even after experiencing a cyclone and all the extra work involved in cleaning up the debris. A big highlight of our stay at Castaway was the food. It gets five stars from us for quality and variety. A visiting chef consultant was on site and he went out of his way, visiting tables at each meal, to make sure that the guests were satisfied. I was not feeling well upon our arrival due to the high seas created by the storm, and the chef prepared special chicken soup with ginger to help settle my stomach. It worked! Because it rained much of the time we were there, we didn’t partake of many activities, but enjoyed watching the sea from the porch of our bure and just relaxing. If you have children, this is a wonderful place to stay. All the parents were raving about the children’s program, and we could tell how much the staff enjoyed being with the little ones. All in all, we enjoyed Castaway and may return again outside of cyclone season.

  • Liked — Resort staff and food
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank got2go2mo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2008

We have recently returned from a short break in Fiji.

We stayed 3 nights on Castaway Island. The staff were extremely friendly (except Emily on front desk). It is a great island for families as the children are welcomed and looked after so well. The food was sensational and well worth buying the meal plan, The airconditioning in the bures was essential as it gets really hot during the day so it was great to be able to go back to the bure and cool off. Overall we loved the island and would return again! If you can its a really good idea to get out to the islands as it does show a different side of Fiji than just staying in a resort at Denarau Island. Louisa on the Coral Seas catamaran that takes you out to Castaway is just lovely.

We also stayed 4 nights at Sheraton Villas which we found to be excellent especially with a 7mth old as there was plenty of room, a washing machine and microwave and in house movies (a must for the post-cyclone rainy days!) We ate one night at the Radisson restaurant which I would recommend - staff couldnt do more for you, the setting is lovely and food good.

  • Liked — Location, great food, cleanliness, friendly staff
  • Disliked — No issues
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Short_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2008

We were in "Castaway island" , 23rd Jan ... We spent 4 nights there, staying on the North beach, in a beach front bure, No.13!..

The island is quite large, however the resort area is small, no bure is too far from the restaurant or pool area.. The bures are
quite roomy, as we were travelling with our 2 children aged 13 and 11, and found there was plenty of room in the bure for all of us. The bures are serviced and cleaned daily and are all airconditioned..

There are large hammoks that lay in front of the bures, enough for all the bures I believe... 1 hammok between 2 bures, and enough beach chairs for all the patrons staying at the resort..

The 1st day we arrived we were placed in a bure on the south side, beach bure No 35, It is a bure that we paid beach bure price for however we were behind 2 other beach bures, so part of our view was the other more forward beach bures roofs..
I dont see how they should all cost the same, as these forward beach bures have the uninterrupted beach views, where as bure 35, had the forward beach bures roof views before the ocean.. Mmmmm??? a little annoying I thought??... I went to the reception and mentioned my views on this matter and they were quite blase at first saying oh but they're all beach bures, and tried to tell me they are all the same..., I said but some are in better positions than others so they should be charging less for the ones that sit behind..
There were no more available bures on the south side, so they moved us the North side, to beach bure 13...

I found on the North side, there was a better beach, the beach bures were all the same category as far as where they were situated... The south beach was quieter, if privacy is what youre after definetaly the south beach, there are however many large rocks all piled up as retaining walls on the south beach, which look quite messy, and dangerous if you have young children..
I would suggest if you wanted to stay on the south side to request either one of the following bures if beach bure is what youre after, 33,37,43,45,47, 53...They are all proper beach bures, and they sit a little more forward than other beach bures on that side.. So why not get the best for your money?

The food was very good and plentiful.. We tried the gourmet pizza one day for lunch, and they were delicious and made fresh in the wood oven on the spot in front of us...

The resort shop had some very lovely sarongs in it, however they were extremely expensive.. I found the souvenirs in this resort shop appeared to be double in price compared to the mainland souvenir shops.. I suggest if youre planning on purchasing souvenirs to purchase on the mainland, the airport shops were cheaper too..

The Cocktails were definetaly of the best I have had in a long time... A little too pricey, but hey ?.. Its not every day we go on holidays like this, so they were worth it!

The resort is lovely, with a relaxed, tranquil and cosy atmosphere to it !

  • Liked — Spacious bures
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Tigerlilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaway Island (Qalito)
16.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,128 reviews
11.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,389 reviews
1.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Island
693 reviews
16.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
5.2 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Property: Castaway Island Fiji
Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing