We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,050)
Filter reviews
1,050 results
Traveler rating
771
193
62
20
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
771
193
62
20
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club kids pool meal plan bush walk outer reef fish pizza bar family holiday beach bure main beach swim up bar north side meal package a la carte banana boat young kids desalination plant
Filter
Updating list...
756 - 761 of 1,050 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Great place for families with young children to go and spend quality time with kids and each other. Babysitting and kids club excellent. Meals great, although go a la carte when given the option rather than the buffet meals. If you're planning to go to the mainland also, go there first so you're not disappointed after the quality of personal service received here. Cheers, Helen

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Bula Helen, thanks for the great feedback. We note your preference for a la carte meals instead of buffets. Most people do enjoy the a la carte dining under the stars at the Waters Edge Restaurant and the value on the meal plan is amazing, considering you can have breakfast, lunch and a 3 course a la carte dinner (or theme buffet) on all of our meal plans. Many of our guests enjoy going up to the Sundowner Bar for a more relaxed dining experience with gourmet wood fired pizzas and these are included on the meal plan too. We like to ensure the meal plans are as flexible and user friendly as possible. Hope we can welcome your family back again next year?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Wow what an amazing family holiday, really catering for families.

We did find it took a good few days to know what is what and work out how best to make it work for your family.
We arrived on a busy changeover day and were given a welcome drink, information pack and room key and showed where the buffet was for lunch and left to it. We found our room ourselves which wasn't ready but was very soon after. I think due to the business of the day, but we did think it would have been good to have someone run over the main things (all admittedly of which was written in the handouts given).

Our eldest loved the kids club and wanted to spend every moment there. Kids club is strictly 3+ so we arranged a babysitter to take our youngest there for a few hours each day then got a babysitter each evening when the kids were in bed so we could have dinner (it is designed that way). Babysitters are FJD$8 per hour. So fantastic to get some 'us' time that we haven't had for a long time.
The first few days there was some frustration with waiting for babysitters who were generally 15-30 mins late or not turning up at all then finding out from reception that although it was written down they hadn't been booked. So once we found a good one we just booked her directly (on advice of reception) and all went smooth.
The Wednesday Fijian night was fantastic, great chance to meet others at the resort. They put on great nibbles and free drinks by the pool while the kids club and staff performed.
Food is really good and would recommend the meal plan. Meal plan is about FJD$110 per day and considering a main meal at dinner is FJD$45+ you just can't go wrong. Although there is a la carte available for kids the buffets are the easiest. There is a kids dinner from 5.30pm - 7pm. A good variety including the spaghetti bolognaise which I now have the recipe for. My youngest ate it for lunch and dinner and was quite put off when they didn't have it on the breakfast buffet!

Also had a massage which was wonderful. Again though a frustration in turning up and waiting 20 mins before the masseuse turned up and was surprised to find me there as there was no booking (although it clearly had been booked at reception). But all was well and she took me in.

The swimming is lovely at high tide. There are a few fish and blue starfish to see close to shore but you need to go out further on the snorkelling trips to see more. There are a few nasties in the water we were told on our last day (luckily) but we didn't see any.

I'm all for relaxing and getting into Fiji time but when you have young kiddies you have to plan your day around them... I can handle waiting but the not knowing can get a bit frustrating..

BUT... once we knew how it all worked, reconfirming everything and making it work for us it was just beautiful... Once you get 'that feeling' when you just feel totally relaxed and at peace with the world you just know you will be back. Many of the families and couples we met had been going for years. And we just know that will be us.

Thank you Castaway!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank naggyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2011

Vinaka (thank you) for your valuable feedback. We have met with all babysitters and masseuses to remind them to ensure they turn up at the time they were booked. This gave us an opportunity to review our processes so we appreciate your comments. We are delighted to hear you plan to return so that we can show you how we have improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Having been to Castaway for many years ,it was no surprise that our daughter chose this resort for her wedding .Again everything went without a hitch .The staff are 1st class ,the food excellent and their wedding team ,according to my daughter ,did everything possible to make her day special .Highly recommended for all travellers ,we were 50 adults and 21 children ,a big crew .Great for families with a terrific beach and handy pool if that be your choice .Meal plan works well .

Room Tip: Rooms are fine with renovated bathrooms, beach bures are expensive ,a good garden bure will suffice
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We just spent a week on Castaway Island for our wedding and honeymoon. We were immediately struck by the fact that the resort was at least as good as the brochure and probably better. An absolute tropical paradise. It's a small resort, so you avoid the conveyor belt feel of a big hotel type of resort.

Our accommodation was perfect, high quality fitout, everything we wanted and right on the sand. All we could hear at night were the waves lapping on the beach.

The staff were brilliant. Every single one of the them were friendly, happy and always keen to make us feel welcome and ensure we had everything we could possibly want. They treat you like family, take the time to learn your name and you quickly become good friends. I got to play touch on the beach with some staff against some other guests, and the staff were quick to come looking for me later to let me know there was going to be another game on. There is a kids club that have loads of fun stuff for the kids, and very affordable babysitting if you're up a bit later.

There are plenty of activities, always run on time. The concept of Fiji Time still exists in the relaxed, friendly manner of the staff, but everything always happens when they say it will. The staff went out of their way to make sure we could fit in everything we wanted to do.

The food was amazing. Chef Lance Seeto has the kitchen running like clockwork, producing the best food we've ever eaten. The pizzas at the Sundowner bar, the buffet was great, particularly if you have kids and are on the meal plan, but the highlight is the ala carte which is also included in the meal plan or you can pay separately. We paid for meals as we went as the meal plan wasn't really worth it for the two of us, the portions on ala carte were generous, the quality sensational and fantastic value. Actually, you don't need to pay for anything at the time, you just sign and the staff tally it up for you later so no cash is required at all, anywhere on the island.

I can't recommend Castaway Island highly enough. Friends in our group went to a variety of other resorts after the wedding and were all disappointed by what they found after being so spoiled on Castaway. We found the perfect place to enjoy our wedding and honeymoon. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CastawayFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Our friend has been going to Fiji annually for 25 years and has stayed at all the resorts and said that Castaway is the best. Seeing a bunch of the other resorts on the ferry ride to Castaway, I can say that it was definitely the nicest looking. Some of the others looked a bit tacky with beer signs and tin buildings. Castaway is magnificent and very natural - like something you see in magazine! True paradise!!! The resort is small and safe enough that your kids can run wild. There are no TVs or phones in the room so the kids are forced to get out there and play. A true indication of how amazing the resort is was that neither of my kids turned on the DS's the entire time we were there. There is a free kids club which runs until 9pm daily. The food is fantastic.
A couple of tips:
1. I would not recommend coming here for a honeymoon or romantic holiday unless you really love kids because the resort is packed with them. This is first and foremost a family resort. Apparently there are other islands and resorts which cater to adult clienteles. This would be a better choice.
2. Be sure to get the meal plan as it will save you a ton of money. If you get the meal plan you can choose between a la carte and the buffet, I found the food on the a la carte menu better but the buffet is still great.
3. Drinks are expensive, so be sure to pick up some alcohol duty free to top up your cocktails. There is also an liquor store at the harbor where you catch the ferry to the island, we saw a lot of people stocking up there. The ferry says there is a 20kg per person weight limit on bags but they didn't seem to be weighing them and people were carrying their heavy liquor on.
4. Book a massage before you arrive (they are heavenly), especially if you are only going for a short period of time. They do not have enough therapists to meet the demand and everyone in our group missed out because they were already fully booked when we arrived (and we were there for a week).
5. Try to get a hut (bure) on the north side of the island as it can get windy on the south side.
6. Some of the ferrys take 2 hours to get to and from Castaway and some take just 30 minutes. Also, there's not much to do at the airport so if you have extra time spend it at the harbor, there's restaurants and bars there and you can walk around.
My only complaint about Castaway is that the pool water was cold (we were there in August which is their winter). Most of the time the pool was empty because it was too cold for the kids. Fortunately the beach water was warm but I think they really need to heat the pool.
Other than that, I really can't say enough good things about Castaway. It was our best family vacation ever.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank canyonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews