We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay at Castaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castaway Island Fiji
Certificate of Excellence
SA, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stay at Castaway”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

My Husband and I have just returned from 5 nights on Castaway Island, just a quick getaway from work and I am so glad we only stayed on the mainland for 1 night otherwise we would have missed out on the true paradise of Fiji.

We upgraded to the captains lounge on the ferry and it was well worth the money especially if you are travelling with children.

We arrived to the island with the staff singing and didn't see our bags from when we got onto the ferry until we got to our room; we were given a welcome drink and offered lunch which was nice to just relax straight away.

Our room was quite large and had everything we needed and it was nice to know the island had safe drinking water from their own desalination plant after all the things you hear about drinking water when overseas.

The food was fantastic and my husband went out fishing a few times on the deep sea and the night time fishing trip so we did have fresh fish a couple of nights that the chef cooked for us, the food package was well worth it including all meals with entree, main and desert. Drinks were not that expensive for an island and I managed to fit in for a massage but book they do book up quickly so get in fast.

The beach was beautiful and always easy to get a sun bed and everyone around was really nice we had dinner with a other couples and they had been to Castaway 3 times before.

We don't have kids but if you do the Fijian's love them the kids club is very good and they do have a night time kids club too they even performed for us one night. Babysitting is very cheap so a lot of people we spoke to used it at night so they didn't have to rush with dinner @ $4.50 oz who would want to also the kids club only takes kids from 3 years old. A word of warning for those that don't have kids and are going on a romantic holiday I would not go near Castaway in school holidays as someone mentioned to me it is crazy with kids everywhere! So glad we didn't go in the school holidays.

Fiji time was evident but was no annoying so was quite a good balance for us, not too slow but not rushed to move on, although we did ask for a few drink over dinner and never saw them but we didn't worry too much we hadn't signed for them. When you leave they let you see everything that is charged to your account by individual receipt so that was a comfort as well.

Over all a very pleasant holiday and I would definitely go back out of school holiday or anytime if we had kids.

Room Tip: The north side of the island was less windy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Priss_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    180
    58
    20
    3
See reviews for
585
172
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We chose Castaway Island for our honeymoon(family moon).We have 2 children 1yr & 3yrs.
On our arrival we were greeted by the beautiful staff & shown to our bure. We stayed in an island bure, as the beach bure were booked out. It was nice & quiet as they were further back from the beach & activities which was perfect for 2 children that sleep during the day.
Where to start..... The staff are so friendly & amazing with the kids. Everyone knows your name & nothing is too much trouble.
Kids club was excellent!! Staff again, great with the kids. Babysitters are always available & worth their weight in gold.
Food was always fresh with a wide variety available. Definitely book a meal plan!!
Buffet, a la carte, wood fire pizza all great.
You can do as much as you like or as little. Beach is amazing. Snorkel out 30m & you are looking at a beautiful coral reef with hundreds of fish!! Our 3yr old saw Nemo & thought it was fabulous.
Would recommend taking alcohol if you drink. Duty free then stop in at Nadi & stock up. Much cheaper than the hotel. Many regulars to the island do this.
Can't give enough great feed back for this island!! Don't hesitate, book it!!!

Room Tip: Beach buree
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank breezer079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We had a beach front burre which was very nice. Unfortunately for us everyday 2 'large' lobster German tourists would come from their non beach front burre and take our recliners off our front deck early in the morning (move our swim gear that was on it) and lie in front of our burre for the entire day until the sun went down. Not the Resorts fault, but when I complained they did nothing. Staff just returned the chairs to our deck about 10.30pm each night after the lobsters had rolled off them. Never got go on the recliners once! Pretty sure we paid for our beachfront position and those recliner chairs that were on our deck. Pretty sure it wasn't for others to take off our deck.
Another thing if travelling to Castaway and Fiji. Watch out for a thing called 'Fiji Time'. It is a wrapped up euphemism sold to tourists as somehow idealic and not having a care in the world. 'You are on 'Fiji Time' now.' It is in fact just their excuse for being lazy. They either don't do things at all or they do it in their own good lengthy time. It's not cute. It's frustrating!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank princesspea01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Whilst I don’t normally put labels on people, I would call our family Castaway Stars (the regular returning guests).

Why, because I can’t remember how many times we have returned here. Its 6 or 7 I can’t remember especially as we came twice during the Speight Coup, because the flights were so cheap.

Now time for me to be pragmatic; its not the cheapest resort in the islands. But we all know the definition of value doesn’t always relate to the price. This place is Value and Beauty for our family.

How do I know? Well we have stayed in 6 other resorts in Fiji, on the Coral Coast and others island resorts in the Mamanuca’s. We have stayed in resorts and hotels all over the world, and this is our kind of place. Of course some may prefer other styles of holidays, so let me describe it better.

If you like cleanliness, friendly staff that have worked here for years, a non-suffocating feel - that is relaxing meaning you don’t feel the need to wear Gucci or Prada to dinner (lol) – the BEST possible care for your children, and great snorkelling and water sports then this is the place. Have a look at great remote places like the Seychelles, Tahiti, Maldives and the like, and you get it all here without the enormous flights (for Australia and NZ).

We will always consider coming back here, the last time at Xmas (Santa arrived on the ski boat). Come anytime, any season, and the politics don’t get in the way.

Room Tip: the waterview rooms ARE worth the premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank alleenz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Just back from 13 days in Fiji and felt compelled to review Castaway Island.
We travelled with extended family and kids - 2 adults and small kids in our family.
This is one of the best resorts I have stayed at. Nothing was too much trouble. The service was spot on, friendly and genuine.
I could talk about restaurants, pools, beaches etc. etc. but really everything was so well run and of good quality. Remember to get up to the Sundowner Pizza bar at least once!
I can also recommend the surfing trips from Castaway. Captain Waga runs a good professional operation. We had some epic waves over 3 days.
Surprisingly it was not as expensive as I thought, however we were happy to pay our bill as we definitely got what we paid for.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean breeze or beachfront bure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebigcutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We recently visited Castaway Island and stayed for 8 nights. The Island is magnificent and we were very impressed with the Bures. We stayed in a Beach front Bure, but next time would stay in a Garden Bure as they are all very similar, and it would save on costs. It's a shame they are only 1BR as very hard with young kids to sleep so close together.
We requested North side beach as we heard this was better, but were given South beach which was just as good, i couldn't see any differences.
The meal package was definately the way to go, the food was exquisite, enjoying the choice most nights of a-la-carte or buffet. The Pizza was also very delicious.
Great for Kids club, out 3 year old enjoyed a few plays, the Fijian people of course are brilliant, and our babysitter every night was very reliable!
No phones in the rooms make it hard for babysitter to contact you if need be.
It rained nearly every day which is probably normal for April, but we still enjoyed it. The pool was great for the kids!
I would suggest to other parents if your kids are sick to leave the Island, unfortunately our 9 month old contracted head/foot & mouth whilst on the Island. Sadly ended a brilliant holiday. Parents just be aware that all babies share the same high chairs, so be vigilant with cleaning them.

Room Tip: Go Garden Bure,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Aussie Family t... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

My husband, myself & our 14mth old son recently stayed on Castaway Island for 6 nights. It was fantastic & I would happily recommend this location as a great place to go. Before going I researched various locations in Fiji for a family holiday - key things for us was that the place was family friendly - with very good babysitting services as our son is too young for Kids Clubs, swimming options at pool & beach, reasonably sized clean rooms & with scuba diving trips available. Castaway consistently rated well & friends also recommended it. We were not disappointed in choosing to go there.

All the staff were so friendly & our son was permanently being picked up & hugged by the staff who seem to all genuinely love kids. The babysitters we had for all were all great & we happily went off on boat dive trips& to dinners knowing he was in good hands & enjoying himself. The pool is lovely although a bit on the small side at times when the majority of families staying decide its pool time.

We stayed in a garden bure which was lovely - whilst it was a fair way (relatively speaking compared to others) from the beach & pool we didn't mind the short walk (5mins).

The food was pretty good, although the only suggestion I would have is to have some vegetarian or lighter meal options available on the menu. Also the food/drinks & meal packages are a bit on the pricy side compared to other Fiji locations however it is an island & we just accepted that as being part of the holiday.

Overall we would happily recommend Castaway as a fab location for families. We are already looking to rebook next year !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kaz052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaway Island (Qalito)
16.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,064 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
705 reviews
1.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,359 reviews
16.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
1.5 mi away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Island
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Property: Castaway Island Fiji
Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing