We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch and half a day spent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castaway Island Day Trip

Castaway Island Day Trip
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.74*
and up
Castaway Island Day Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,170 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Good lunch and half a day spent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We got a private boat from Mana (where we were staying) to here, Mind you it was $700fjd but with 10 of us was cheaper than the island hop.

The pools and grounds are nice although felt a little cramped compared to the other 3 islands we have stayed (Mana, Plantation and Malolo). Definitely had the best pools out of all these and that's was where we spent majority of our time. Snorkelling was good although again no different or better than the other islands.

Lunch was probably the best part. Most of us had a burger or salad and all were definitely above the other resorts in quality, but they were also a little pricier. The sticky date and ginger pudding was amazing and a must try! Apparently the dinner menu and options are better as lunch was a very limited menu.

At the price of about $700fjd I would definitely say if you are staying on an island do not waste your time or money. But if on a day trip from the mainland you should definitely have a good day out and probably say money well spent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank szkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    28
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Castaway island is remote”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Probably the best snorkelling around so take your snorkel gear and lots of water as it's remote.
You are on there for 3 hrs and snorkel for 2 1/2 of those so also take your sun screen but an amazing island of facts from the movie and as I said before great snorkelling

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place on Earth - Amazing and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Went to Fiji with my girlfriend for a short holiday. Looked in to the islands round Fiji as i was told there was not too much to do and if i wanted the best beaches then i would need to go to the small islands. So glad i did. Castaway was the first one we went to - ferry was cheap and the food on the island was so nice - you can taste the freshness. the sand was pure with no seaweed or stones. Staff were so friendly and helpful. I cant wait to go back there. best island out of all the one i went to. best bit is that only 20 visiters per day to so not many people. This is a must. So beautiful. Snorkling was amazing and the fish and star fish we saw was amazing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Had a really good day trip. It was great to see the village and school. Then Castaway island was just amazing. Make sure you take snorkelling gear!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Beautiful, I would LOVE to be able to afford to stay here!!! Unfortunately we were on a Island Hop so we didnt get to stay and experience for as long as we liked.
Kids Pool looks awesome, beautiful clean resort with friendly staff and a beautiful outlook!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heysys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castaway Island Day Trip also viewed

Denarau Island, Viti Levu
Taveuni Island, Fiji
 

Been to Castaway Island Day Trip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing