We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Navini Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Navini Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Navini Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2008

Navini Island is really, truly paradise!
However, let me just say that I wouldn't go there with children, unless they are very very well behaved and quiet! Luckily there were no children on the island when I was there, I would have hated kids screaming and running around while I wanted to do was just relax! Morning trips to the outer reef or to other islands are included in the room rate, so although it might seem quite expensive it is good value all in all! We really hope we will go back one day! We love Navini!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank VaSb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 360 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2008

Staying at Navini i felt as if i had been allowed into an elite club. I found the island through trip advisor so thought i should do the selfless thing and write a review. The pick up from the airport sold me and getting there was a breeze which is essential with 2 kids. As soon as we arrived i was impressed with navini it was small gorgeous and private, our 2 room bure was perfect (not new or flash) but anything more would have seemed pretentious on this tiny island. A hamock and deck chairs out the front with a private path to the beach it was heaven.

Food is unbelievable i averaged at least 5 bread rolls at each meal they make them fresh every day, eating with everyone (all 10 guests) was great though the kids ate dinner early. While on the island my son turned 5 and 2 days later my daughter turned 1. They presented each with a huge gorgeous cake a fresh flower lei and all the staff came and sung to them. The staff are friendly and warm you really feel like everyone on the island is family staff and guests alike. Even though it was tiny you dont see anyone unless you want to, very private.

The reef and fish life in particular is spectactular take an underwater camera or you will regret it! Some things are pricey, i paid a weeks worth of food shopping to feed my family each day (maybe i made up for my one year olds expensive handfuls of food by eating a million rolls LOL) and the transfers are a killer but if you stay 4 nights you get one way free and if you stay 6 both ways are free I think so thats something to consider. Having said that we left from another island to go back to the mainland and had to catch the ferry, it was 1 1/2 hours late because one engine was broken and the aircon wasnt on, it was like sitting in a sauna with 100 strangers and we almost missed our flight, there are times when you pay for convenience. All in all you get get plenty of other things for free it is an almost deserted island and there's lots about navini that money cant buy!

I would love to return, perfect for complete relax and uwind, It didnt take long to fall in love with this little gem.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HammockEnvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2008

We just had a great 3 night stay on Navini.

This is a lovely little resort. It's very low key and ideal for a relaxing holiday. There were a mixture of honeymooners, couples, and families with babies / toddlers when we were there.

The biggest differentiator is their direct transfers from the airport. We were only there for 3 nights, but we got 4 full days on the beach as they picked us up at the airport at 5am, and we left the island at 5pm for our night flight out.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GTinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

This was our second trip to Navini Island, so of course you could say that we like it there, which we do. It’s a small island with a maximum of 10 units, so there are never any crowds. The private pick up service from the airport to the Island is very convenient. We landed in Nandi at 5 AM and were in our rooms by 7:30 AM – eating breakfast at 8 AM. The food is always wonderful with great service. I would say that the only drawback to some is that you eat together with all of the other guests at 2 large tables. If you are looking for a quiet romantic dining experience, this is not the place for you. During your stay, they will set up one private dinner for you on the beach – take advantage of this.

The owners of the resort are always around and are such a pleasure to talk with. They will be around for the meals too. The staff is absolutely wonderful! We can’t say enough about the friendly smiles and attitudes. The best part of the island, at least for us, is some of the best snorkeling that we have seen around Fiji. We have visited many islands over the past few years and Navini is spectacular. The coral is a B+ and the number of species is A+. All of this is just right off the beach and they do not allow day trippers to this island.

I would say that the major drawback to Navini are the rooms. You will not have A/C, which is OK during the cool season, but it is needed during the hot humid times of the year. The rooms are rather small and drab, but very private and are well spaced apart from your neighbors. Because they use collected rain water, the showers are lovely and the water is safe to drink. For the price that you are paying, you may feel disappointed in the room quality, but you are also paying for the many other positives at this Island oasis. Surprisingly, they do have a fair share of mosquitoes, but no sand flies/fleas. They do allow kids, so since the island is very small and everyone eats together, this may not be a romantic getaway if that’s what you are seeking.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank luv2travcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Stayed at navini with wife who was pregnant with first child to have a relax before the baby.

This resort is extremely light on the ground low impact building and very relaxed. The people and staff were amazing, the food was excellent and we thouroughly enjoyed our stay.

They have their own transfers so you dont have to worry about making a transfer at a particular time and therefore overnighting on the mainland.

My wife loves snorkelling and stayed here because it was suggested that as is a marine reserve the snorkeling was good. The snorkeling was excellent, clean water great reef, a myriad of fish.

Highly recommend this little Island slice of paradise and can't wait till our kids are old enough to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CarlMaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

We have just returned from 11 days in Fiji with our 4 daughters (10yrs, 8yrs, 6yrs and baby). The highlight of our stay was our 5 days on Navini Island. The snorkling was fantastic. We all enjoyed the arranged trips in the morning and relaxing on the beach in the afternoon. We did not miss a pool at all.

The food was home style and very tasty. We enjoyed eating with fellow guests.

The staff were lovely. Someone was always availiable to baby sit.

Our bure was basic but kept very clean. It was great to get the children away from the TV and computer.

The island is perfect for children who can swim. I would not recommend it for non-swimmers. It would be hard work keeping a todler entertained and safe all day.

We will definately return.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dakara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

We exclusively went by trip advisor to plan our honeymoon and got lucky picking Navini. We decided to start with a laid back/relaxing few days followed by a little adventure to finish the trip. Navini was great for the "laid back" part and we went to Taveuni for the "adventure" after.
First, traveling from the U.S. we weren't sure how easy it was going to be getting around. The Mamanucas island group turned out to be great if you're flying in from LAX as the flight on Pacific Air arrives at ~6AM. You don't waste much time at the airport as many guests were picked up at the Nadi airport (very small) and taken to the Marina within 30 minutes of landing. To Navini its about another 30 minute boat ride. The island is gorgeous, small and surrounded by reef with quite a bit of good sea creatures. There is a daily excursion every morning which we went on all 3 days. Snorkeling is great! Also, the staff pretty much will do anything you ask. There's volleyball and Vindi Vindi (Karam) every day. Food was so-so for the relatively expensive price (breakfast really good though). Lucky for us there were always vegetarian options! The Bure's are clean and neat (not ultra luxurious if that's what you're looking for) with great views. Arthur and Helen are the owners who eat dinner with you every night. They're really nice. Price is probably in the moderate range for the Mamanucas.

Few parting tips, one nice thing about the Mamanucas group for a short trip like ours (7 days) is that is convenient from the airport so you can maximize time. Would not recommend the main island if you enjoy the beach as it is quite rocky and more industrial. We spent ~$5500 including airfare for 2 (that includes 3 nights at Navini and 4 nights at Nakia onTaveuni). All in all, great place for a Honeymoon!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navini Island
5.7 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 4 in Malolo Island
649 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
776 reviews
6.7 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
12.7 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,533 reviews
5.5 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 4 in Malolo Island
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navini Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navini Island Resort

Address: Navini Island | Western Division, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Navini Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Navini Island
Price Range: $340 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navini Island Resort is a small private island resort in Fiji, just one hour from Nadi Airport. Guests are met on arrival, transferred at any time, takes 1 hour. Navini is surrounded by white sand and a magnificent coral reef sanctuary. All 10 bures are beachfront, four types including Family Villa, Deluxe Premier with outside daybed, Two Room and Premier. Complimentary daily outings and use of water sports equipment. No day trippers. Fresh fish, fruits, local and traditional meals; fully licensed restaurant. Fijian entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Navini Island Hotel Navini Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing