We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second home on Navini”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Navini Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Navini Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Navini Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our second home on Navini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

4th time for us and it feels like coming home - for all our ages ranging from 19 to 72! Great fresh food with choices for everyone's likes, genuinely friendly smiles and staff everywhere, Great accommodation with daily cleaning services and lots of privacy, enough watersport and tour activities on offer and if that's not enough for you, staff will do everything possible to make you happy. The only reason why we wouldn't leave too much praise is so Navini won't be overbooked one day and as usual one favour to the management - please don't change anything drastic, keep it the small private and special jewel for years to come! We will be back….
Eva, EG, Lukas, Simon, Helga, Hermann - Sydney/Australia

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Else4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    35
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
95
194
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We had a 5 day stay here, and enjoyed it very much. Food was healthy, tasty and plentiful. The staff was exceptional, and showed genuine care for all the guests. The snorkel trips were just great, and we looked forward to them each morning.

The island is small, manageable, and quiet. If you're looking for action or nightlife, simply book elsewhere. For us, it was great!

We never seemed to bump into other guests, as there was plenty of privacy. The communal dining was a good way to interact with staff and guests, too.

The one negative we experienced, and we aren't sure it can be "fixed", was the lack of air conditioning. Two of our nights the breeze died near our bure, and sleeping was difficult. Not an overriding concern, but you should be aware of this limitation.

Other than that, we loved our stay - and we'll surely go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelChicken2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

My family and I spent 7 days in Navini recently and had a wonderful time. The location is awesome. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Nothing was a problem. Food was great. We very quickly got into a very relaxed routine which involved lots of water activities and generally lying around. If your after a bit of exercise you could try kayaking, paddle boarding or snorkelling (1 hour) around the island. There is also a couple of Hobie cats that can be used when the tide is in. I would have no problem recommending Navini island to anybody who wants a relaxing holiday in paradise.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JamieJane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

From the minute we got off the plane and were met at the Airport by Henry, we thought, this is going to be the best 5 days of our year. The boat ride was 45 minutes during the best sunset we'd ever seen. The staff were so friendly and showed us around the resort before taking us to our burr. We were expecting rustic from the pictures on the website but the Premiere Burr was bigger and nicer than we were expecting. The food is amazing! Big portions though so be careful how much you order. The owners, Simone and Tueta join the guests for dinner every night and they're wonderful company. Every day there is a different excursion listed on the board at breakfast which you can choose to go on (fishing, snorkeling the main reef, visiting a village) and they take you out just for the morning, leaving the rest of the afternoon open to snorkel around the island. It's not for people looking for a crowd to socialize with - it's very isolated. The beaches are kept clean (raked every morning); some areas aren't so nice to go into the water because of the rocks & coral. But the island is small enough to walk to an area which is pure sand all the way to the reef. There is a reef surrounding the entire island and the snorkeling is amazing. The only things we an think could use improvement would be: benches on the West side of the island to watch the sunset and hooks in the room to hang your towels on.....Otherwise it beats any Hot Holiday destination we've ever been on (which are many)

Room Tip: Burr #10 is one of the best burr's on the island for privacy, beach and sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ABanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

When booking a several day stopover in Navini this February we weren't quite sure if a tiny island in the Fijis was the right spot. How were we to gain the full experience of the Fijis while spending all of out time on one island and was 4 days too much time? For both questions our doubts have been completely erased and we answer, "Navini IS the spot for a holiday of any kind in the Fijis.
We loved the "community" approach to activities, day trips, meals and festivals a most welcome change from the "pick this or that" approach of many resorts. Meals are taken at large tables in the dining area so you have the opportunity to meet other guests, unless you prefer a private dinner on the beach in front of your Bula (that's your private living area.) Although it's a private island, we took several day trips. One was to a native village island where we meet the local chief (you know who he is because he wears the hat), visited a local school, taught a part of a class to 7-8th graders (one of us was a teacher) and shopped at the village market. Another was to a coral reef for a snorkeling adventure (although the reef at the north end of Navini) offers excellent snorkling too.) A third trip was to an 80 room resort on a larger island. So we saw quite a bit of Fiji island life while staying on Navini, all included in the basic price as its really an All Inclusive approach.
We also enjoyed a festive party complete with Fiji-style crab bake on the beach and a dress up party (I got to where my sulu, a traditional Fijian garment, my first experience wearing a wrap- around skirt.
Finally, 4 days, though enough to recalibrate my body clock on the way to Australia from North America, wasn't enough to enjoy all the activities and soak up that warming sun.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jboys8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

The food was terrible and there wasn't an option for a vegetarian such as myself. Everyone else's water kept being topped up, yet mine was constantly ignored. There's no food throughout the day, so if you miss breakfast, lunch or dinner, you go hungry. Considering all I could eat were crappy salads, it was not a nice experience. I got eaten alive by sea lice and rather than helping me, the staff just laughed.
We had to pay a small fortune to get to mainland or island by boat, even though we had to share with about 4 other staff on their way to/from work.
It says no day trippers, but the workers children were there instead. It was like we were staying in a village. They chose to swim right infront of our bure and scream and shout. Was terrible. Travel all this way to relax, not to listen to naughty children.
Waste of money. We couldn't wait to get out of there

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelbugSS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone D, Owner at Navini Island Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear ShanAus93,
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay on Navini in December, however thank you for bringing your complaints to our attention. Your comments are most concerning and we are certainly addressing these with our staff.
For vegetarians, we do have numerous options and we cater for special requests also. During your stay, the vegetarian dishes on the menu included Pasta with Homemade Tomato Sauce, Chickpea and Vegetable Curry, Vegetable Tagine and Pumpkin Loaf. Our lunch dishes can include falafels, tofu or chickpeas, in various hot or cold dishes. We are currently updating some of our recipes.
Sometimes sealice can be a problem in the Pacific. We suggest vinegar to neutralise the sting, as well as preventive lotion, however we are sorry that someone laughed about your experience.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the mainland. Staff do not normally travel on special boat hires for guests, however the cost was reduced accordingly at the time.
Family do come out to stay with the staff occasionally. They can swim near the boat shed away from guest bures. It sounds like they had drifted down towards your bure, which we apologize for.
We are sorry that your stay did not reach your expectations. The good thing about Fiji is that there is something for everyone and we hope that you find your special place sometime, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

3 years ago I first saw this tiny and beautiful island from a small airplane flying to Mana Island. I wanted to stay at this charmingly small island someday in the future. Thanks to TA, I found that the resort received excellent reviews, and finally decided to stay for 6 nights from the end of the year toward the New Year.

Rooms: There are only 10 accommodations scattered on the island. I stayed at premier bure (guest room) which was connected to the other. The bure had enough space and provided partial view of the sea between lush tropical trees, which secured sufficient privacy for each bure. The room was well maintained and there was nothing to be complained about.

Food and dining: There are generally 3 or 4 options for each dish for lunch and dinner, including one for vegetarian. Guests were asked to order at the end of the previous meal. For example, for dinner, guests choose one, for soup or appetizer, main, and desert at the end of lunch. In addition, the staffs are flexible to accommodate with requests guests make. Since I am not a big eater, I asked every dish in small portion. The quality of the food was good enough for me. But it was not a kind of gourmet meal. It would not be satisfactory for picky eaters. I especially enjoyed home-made ice cream. Fabulous! Guests dine in the table in communal manner unless if you would want to eat separately or have candle light dinner. It was a good opportunity to know other guests coming from all around the world as well as to exchange information about daily activities. Also most guests enjoy pre-dinner drinking in a seaside hut, sitting together, watching the change of delicate colors of the sea during sunset. It was one of the most memorable moments of the day.

Snorkeling: I am a snorkeling nut and serious about corals and the marine life. I had heard of the damage to the corals caused by cyclone one year ago, and did not expect too much. Actually the corals were damaged around the island and large growth of corals was rarely seen. However, beyond my expectation, still marine life was strong. Indeed, fortunately, I swam with turtle! I frequently saw sharks and barracudas. Eagle rays and a moray eel. The resort provided complimentary island hopping and/or snorkeling trip in the morning. The “Main Reef” located closed to the resort was the frequent destination for the snorkeling. The corals there were by far better. I really enjoyed snorkeling there.
Tips for snorkeling: Entrance into and exit out of water was restricted to particular areas in low tide. When you snorkel around the island for the first time, you should be cautious about the tide and the current. Get the information from the staffs before you enter into the water. The island is located in the middle of the ocean. When a thunder storm comes, the current changes very quickly, picking up winds to cause sudden increase in the water swells with violent waves. Beware. It could happen in less than 5 minutes!

Navini family: What makes this resort very special will be the unbeatable hospitality of the resort staffs. All the staffs know the name of each guest and are very attentive to do everything they can do for the guests, which makes this small island a safe and laid-back heaven for all the guests. Another feature of this resort is a quite higher rate of returning guests. While I stayed at the resort, majority were returning guests or their related family. In every meal guests dine in communal manner and in the evening enjoy pre-dinner drinking together. Everyone knows each other. It further makes the resort a very special place functioning as a family. It is not surprising some guests cannot leave the island without tears. When I checked in the resort, the staff explained about the safety of the island and asked whether I needed a room key. Since I was a first time visitor, I asked a key as “an ordinary custom”, but realized I did not need it: What a peaceful place! On the second day I returned it.

I enjoyed every minute of my stay on this island. I do recommend this resort for those who love marine life and snorkeling, and who want to enjoy the time in laid-back atmosphere, whereas, if you go after entertainments or gourmet meals, or are not the type of person who socializes with other guests, this resort would not be the right place to stay. Yes, I will definitely be back in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Migrating-islander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navini Island
5.9 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
11.4 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
6.7 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navini Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navini Island Resort

Property: Navini Island Resort
Address: Navini Island | Western Division, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Navini Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Navini Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navini Island Resort is a small private island resort in Fiji, just one hour from Nadi Airport. Guests are met on arrival, transferred at any time, takes 1 hour. Navini is surrounded by white sand and a magnificent coral reef sanctuary. All 10 bures are beachfront, four types including Family Villa, Deluxe Premier with outside daybed, Two Room and Premier. Complimentary daily outings and use of water sports equipment. No day trippers. Fresh fish, fruits, local and traditional meals; fully licensed restaurant. Fijian entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Navini Island Hotel Navini Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing