We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Martin O
Los Altos, California

Location, Location, Location Vacation

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 27, 2019
This resort benefits from being so well situated for a spectacular island getaway. A reasonably short ferry ride from Denarau and then easily island hop to a number of small beautiful islands and reefs and about 30 minutes from the Cloud 9 Bar. Its simply gorgeous. Its a small island and resort so you never feel too crowded anywhere.
We had a beachfront room which gave us lounges with ocean views and only a few steps from the sand
Speaking of uncrowded, on our excursion to Sarcred Island, there were only 3 of us on the whole island (me, my wife, and our guide)!.
The quick trip to the Instafamous Cloud 9 bar was great fun and worth a go.
The dive shop and staff was very knowledgeable and accommodating to my interests and schedule and took me out to a few great dive spots. And on one occasion that my dive was cut short (because another diver used up his air), the dive master took me out on longer dive the next day to make up for it (thank you Mess!) My wife took advantage of a spa package and said it was heavenly.
My only feedback is that the restaurant food can be a little more refined and the bar needs more cocktails that aren't overly sweetened.
Those aren't big negatives, but worth knowing.
With that in mind, I'd still do it all over again!
Date of stay: September 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
マナ・アイランド・リゾート。
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Hotels.com
3.4 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Trip.com
$36
    3.6 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
    Beachfront
    Bar/Lounge
    Looking across the bay
    Hotels.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
      $17
    • Agoda.com
    3.7 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    Tripadvisor
    $789
    $713
    • Hotels.com
    • Official Site
      $715
    • Booking.com
    7.6 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
    Pool
    Beachfront
    Booking.com
    $137
    • Hotels.com
    • Vio.com
      $128
    • Priceline
      $178
    12.5 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
    Beachfront
    Pool
    Trip.com
    $174
      12.5 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
      Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Vio.com
        $215
      • Expedia.com
        $248
      12.5 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
      Pool
      Beachfront
      Hotels.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • Vio.com
        $311
      • Expedia.com
        $335
      12.6 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
      Beachfront
      Restaurant
      Beach at the Treasure Island Resort
      Expedia.com
      $330
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
        $331
      • Agoda.com
        $163
      • Trip.com
        $314
      13.1 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
      Pool
      Beachfront
      View more hotels in Matamanoa Island
      Reviews (1,374)
      Filter reviews
      1,375 results
      Traveler rating
      854
      327
      108
      53
      33
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveler rating
      854
      327
      108
      53
      33
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews our honeymoon beachfront bure plunge pool fish every night day bed caesar salad dinner menu welcome song island resort half board scuba diving the great barrier reef daily activities white sandy beaches meal plan deck chairs
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      117 - 122 of 1,375 reviews
      Reviewed September 25, 2019

      Last week we spent 5 days on the Island. Beach front Villa. Just fabulous. The room was excellent and the location superb. The staf were friendly and helpful. Everything is charged in Fijian dollars. When you convert back to our currency it is very realistic for an Island holiday. Highly reccomend.

      Room tip: Beach Front Villa's Very private and away from the general activity.
      Date of stay: September 2019
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank gregcr
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      SouthPacificIsland, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2019
      Google Translation

      Vinaka

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed September 19, 2019

      I just returned from a 2 week trip to Fiji. Matamanoa Island Resort was the 3rd/last resort we stayed at. Wow! It was simply amazing. This was my 50th birthday trip and I arrived at Matamonoa 2 days after my birthday but they still presented me with a cake and sang happy birthday to me on our first night. I was very surprised and touched!

      We were there 6 nights and stayed in a Villa. I highly recommend the splurge of the Villa. It was very nice, private, and such amazing views. The room was perfect. Great housekeeping. We were in Burre 55 which was great location in the middle of the row of villas. We had no foot traffic other than workers a few times in front of our villa. The Villas are a short, beautiful walk from the restaraunt, bar, and main pool. They also have a golf cart that will take you back and forth if its raining or you just don't feel like walking. The property itself is very nice and well kept. It has modern fixtures and furnishings.

      The food was really good. Some of the best I had on the whole trip. I recommend getting the meal plan. It really isn't that expensive and you don't have to worry about the prices of things. It was plenty of food and variety. We never went hungry. They have a good selection of drinks at the bar. We Brought over champagne from Nadi which we enjoyed while hanging out in our villa.

      We did the Castaway trip which was fun. My BF went on a dive to the Supermarket and said it was amazing. We also got a couples massage which was also really fun and a good quality massage. The beaches around the property are beautiful. It can be a bit windy and we didn't have great luck snorkeling off the beach but others did. We spent the days hanging out in our Villa pool and the beach. It was absolutlely the best ever.

      What really makes this resort in my opinion is the staff. I can't say enough good things about every single one of them! Many of them are from the village on a neighboring island and they are truly family. The are happy and so friendly. Most of them called us by our names from the moment we arrived. Amazing how they remember everyone's name but it made us feel special. Every request was received with a friendly smile and positive attitude. We felt they truly went out of their way to ensure we had a memorable visit. With so many places in the world to visit, I often never say I will go back to a place, no matter how good it is. But I will definitely go back to Matamonoa if I am back in Fiji! I recommend it to everyone, you won't be disappointed. I really didn't want to leave.

      Thank you Matamonoa family for your genuine hospitality and making my 50th birthday trip one I will never forget!

      Peace, Love, and Happiness to all of the Matamonoa Island Resort family!

      Room tip: All the Villas have great views. We stayed in Burre 55 and it was great.
      Date of stay: September 2019
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      1  Thank TravelMamma07
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      SouthPacificIsland, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2019
      Google Translation

      Vinaka

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed September 9, 2019

      My two friends and I stayed on Matamanoa for a 30th birthday trip this week - we absolutely cannot wait to return. We got our scuba certifications with the amazing staff at Deep Blue, our worlds are forever changed! Emma is the best, we were so lucky to have her as our dive instructor. On the accommodation side, our beach bure was all we could have dreamed up and more. We watched the sunset from either our hammock or our plunge pool overlooking the beach every-night. Unreal. The entire staff is so so nice, we are honestly hoping to return every year! A total dream.

      Room tip: beach bures 39-42 where you want to be.
      Date of stay: September 2019
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      Thank stephmw88
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      SouthPacificIsland, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019
      Google Translation

      Vinaka

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed August 31, 2019

      We stayed here for four nights for our honeymoon it was an excellent spot for some well needed R&R. The staff were friendly and the food was the best we had on the entire trip, it was great the menu changed daily and was nice to have a cooked breakfast compared to the buffets you get everywhere else in Fiji. The snorkeling was some of the best we have ever done too - highly recommend the snorkeling trip by Deep Blue to set you up and then it is easy to go on your own for the rest of the trip. Our travel agent forgot to let the island know it was our honeymoon however the staff were very good at making up for it. We will definitely be going back especially for the snorkeling

      Room tip: Well worth getting the Bure's with a pool and lounge area
      Date of stay: August 2019
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Coastal233667
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      TeamMatamanoa, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2019
      Google Translation

      Vinaka

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed August 30, 2019

      My husband and I visited Matamanoa for five nights for our honeymoon and our expectations were well exceeded. Matamanoa would have been worth it for the stunning ocean views alone.

      Accommodation: We had a beach front bure and because it was our honeymoon, we were greeted with an engraved plaque, a bottle of champagne, fruit platter and a wonderful romantic setup on the bed. The traditional decor of the room was mesmerising and the plunge pool and daybed with views of the turquoise waters did not disappoint.

      Staff: Every staff member we encountered was friendly and always smiling. We made some great friends with the staff while on the island from the musical greeting we were welcomed with as we jumped out of the boat to the table-side songs we were sang on our farewell evening. We were a gay couple staying in a conservative country, but it didn’t matter if you were gay, straight, white, Asian, black, young or old, the staff treated everyone like a friend and treated everybody equally. You are given as much privacy or as much attention as you like.

      Activities: The free (and paid) activities on the island are a great way to kill some time if you want to get out of your room and see the sights. There is a nightly rotation of fun and games to partake in after dinner and these were great (obviously optional, you can always stay in your lovely room and order room service after sunset)! From cultural shows to group games and cocktails and canapés with management by the pool, the staff really got into it and genuinely enjoyed spending time with the guests.

      Food: I’ve read some of the previous reviews that don’t rate the food very well, but ours was absolutely fine. The nightly rotation of dinners were up to resort standard and were priced as expected for a nice resort. Still probably cheaper than eating in a restaurant our home country, Australia! Breakfast had a selection of buffet foods or hot dishes made to order. No complaints here! We brought our own snacks from Brisbane to keep our bellies full between meals.

      Date of stay: August 2019
      Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      Thank Barry M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      TeamMatamanoa, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2019

      Congratulations and Vinaka

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews