We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Mbykova

Average

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 11, 2019via mobile
We only tell about our own experience here ! We had a villa 52, which was beautiful! With a great view and a secluded beach access! Something to keep in mind - there is a pump right next to it at the villa 53 that when on makes a lot of noise. Service at the place was really nice - friendly stuff! Food was mediocre if not to say less. Breakfast was ok! You can only choose one option from the menu without being charged. We skipped lunch and had dinner - rather expensive and mediocre! Fish was over cooked all the time !
Massage was so so. We had a great experience at the complementary 15 min one and book a full hour- wasn’t that good at all unfortunately... But the worst part that we checked out and left an expensive converter in the plug. Called the hotel a few hours later same day to let them know that we need it back and never heard back from them. Called again and no luck again. Unbelievable that such thing can get lost on the island!!!! Very disappointed.
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SouthPacificIsland, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this review
Responded Aug 16, 2019
Bula Mbykova,

The General Manager has spoken to the Executive Housekeeper regarding your expensive converter plug, both the EH and the Front Office Manager checked your room, unfortunately there was nothing left in your villa, if we had found it, it would have been logged and we would send to you.

Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your villa with secluded beach access.

There is a huge breakfast buffet to choose from and you can go back and choose as many times as you like, the a la carte breakfast menu is a choice of one item, however choose as many as you like from the buffet.

Also pleased to hear that your complementary foot massage was a great experience.

For the remainder of the negative comments posted above, we have taken all on board and are sorry that you experienced these, rest assured quality service and delivery is a top priority at Matamanoa Island and your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments for scrutiny.

Vinaka and please don't hesitate to contact me further should you have any other comments or if you locate your converter plug.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Looking across the bay
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $16
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
3.7 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
$1,156
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $1,047
  • Agoda.com
    $887
  • Expedia.com
    $1,047
3.9 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
$788
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $784
  • Tripadvisor
    $713
  • Official Site
    $715
7.6 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    $149
  • Agoda.com
    $119
  • Expedia.com
    $149
12.5 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool
Trip.com
$174
    12.5 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
    Booking.com
    $221
    • Hotels.com
      $248
    • Agoda.com
      $190
    • Expedia.com
      $248
    12.5 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
    Pool
    Beachfront
    Booking.com
    $332
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
      $335
    • Tripadvisor
      $334
    • Priceline
    12.6 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    Beach at the Treasure Island Resort
    Hotels.com
    $349
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      $349
    • Agoda.com
      $163
    • Priceline
      $172
    13.1 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
    Pool
    Beachfront
    Booking.com
    $487
    $202
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
      $204
    • Expedia.com
      $204
    • Tripadvisor
      $204
    16.0 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
    Pool
    Beachfront
    Booking.com
    $50
    $28
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $28
    • Expedia.com
      $50
    • Hotels.com
      $50
    20.5 miles from Matamanoa Island Resort
    View more hotels in Matamanoa Island
    Reviews (1,374)
    Filter reviews
    1,375 results
    Traveler rating
    854
    327
    108
    53
    33
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveler rating
    854
    327
    108
    53
    33
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews our honeymoon beachfront bure plunge pool fish every night day bed caesar salad dinner menu welcome song island resort half board scuba diving the great barrier reef daily activities white sandy beaches meal plan deck chairs
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    125 - 130 of 1,375 reviews
    Reviewed August 3, 2019

    Nevill & I have just returned to NZ after 8 wonderful nights staying in a beachfront villa with pool at Matamanoa Island Resort. The welcome we received on the beach was like no other and also the farewell by the staff the night before we left. We have visited Fiji several times and always try to get out to an island for a week or two - Matamanoa is by far the friendliest Resort we have stayed on & definitely exceeded our expectations. Very good value compared to others. Staff were extremely helpful and made us feel very special. Special thanks to Mila, Kitiona, Naomi & Nat 🥰. Lovely main pool area, good dining, evening activities were varied & fun, good standard of housekeeping, plenty of water activity opportunities with Trev & Emma’s team - Look forward to returning soon 🌟☀️

    Date of stay: July 2019
    Thank Robyn B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TeamMatamanoa, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019
    Google Translation

    Vinaka

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 2, 2019

    Stayed for 7 nights at Matamanoa Island Resort and was greeted to paradise with some of the friendliest and most hospitable staff that I have met. The food was amazing and varied from night to night and the rooms were beautiful. The recent renovations to the island are superb and the main resort area is a fantastic spot to relax. There is also an abundance of activities if you wish to explore island life and Fiji itself. I would highly recommend Matamanoa Island Resort to anyone wishing to relax, explore, feel at home and be greeted with hospitality.

    Room tip: Would recommend beach front villa for a more quiet location with a more secluded beach and plunge pool.
    Date of stay: July 2019
    • Trip type: Traveled with family
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank ExploringWithHarts
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TeamMatamanoa, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2019
    Google Translation

    Vinaka

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 29, 2019 via mobile

    Having been to Matamanoa before I was interested in going back to see how the recent renovated resort fared. What a pleasant experience. The main pool area looks fantastic as does the new bar area. The sunset bures are the pick of the accommodation. The restaurant has been refurbished and still presents great food and friendly service. The island and staff are fantastic. Seko is a winner and no request goes unanswered. All in all a new face with the same friendly service. Will return next year.

    Date of stay: June 2019
    Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    Thank philipc263
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TeamMatamanoa, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019

    Vinaka and looking forward to a big Bula welcome back

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 25, 2019

    My wife and I are sitting enjoying the beautiful sunshine in our Norfolk (uk) garden reflecting on our amazing few days on Matamonoa...it was our second time on this incredible island and we loved every minute of it, so much so that 3 months on we daily discuss this magical place... what has prompted to write this though is to counter some of the negative reviews that paint a somewhat different picture to our collective experiences. The island is spectacularly beautiful and the surrounding waters clear and teeming with marine life. Yes it is tidal so at times you need a little imagination to get out to the reef but the experienced and brilliantly helpful staff in the water sports centre will point you in the right direction...boat trips to other islands are available and we took full advantage of the exclusions offered including a 2 hour scuba diving course which was one of the highlights of my life. Our air-con bure was spotless and beautifully turned out with fresh flowers being added daily...the restaurant with its views across the ocean was everything we could have asked for...the food was delicious and staff so friendly and attentive...fijian are a hard working and smiley race and for those who found otherwise I can only conclude that they got back exactly what they gave...anyone planning a trip to Matamonoa should be aware that everything has to be transported in by sea and therefore unlike hotels on the main island are limitations in foods/alcohol choices and the purchase prices are higher...but we ate and drank really well and sang (really badly) along with the resident band long into the night ...a truly unforgettable experience and one that only distance will stop us repeating again...and again...

    Date of stay: April 2019
    Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    2  Thank NorfolkHudson
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TeamMatamanoa, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2019
    Google Translation

    Vinaka

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 13, 2019 via mobile

    We recently stayed here for 5 nights for our summer vacation and it was superb. We booked the Beach Front Villa. Highly recommend staying in this villa, the views are unparalleled, truly you won't find a better view. They are about a 5 minute walk to the main area of the resort but it's a gorgeous peaceful walk along the ocean and at night walking under the stars is lovely. I have never experienced such a nice staff as we did here. The staff is so curtious and genuinely kind, EVERYONE always greets you with a smile and checks in on you. The only complaint would be the food. Having the same menu for lunch for 5 days can be quiet boring. The breakfast is very bland, not many options for lunch and dinner was just okay. The last night our dinner was perfect though, they should offer a fish dish every night. The fish dinner was the best meal I had while traveling in Fiji. We did the spa at sunset and was that was spectacular. The views and sounds of the crashing waves along with the couples massage paired perfectly. We did the Cast Away tour, Island Hop and scuba dived. Highly recommend all 3 activities. The staff of Deep Blue is truly some of the nicest people I have ever met in my life. If this resort wasn't 30 hours of traveling, we would go back every year.

    Date of stay: July 2019
    Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    2  Thank 313daniellev
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TeamMatamanoa, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2019
    Google Translation

    Vinaka

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews