We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matamanoa Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Tea Gardens, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon..”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I just spent 8 days on matamanoa for our Honeymoon and even though it rained for most of it it was still perfect cause all we needed was each other. The Staff are very happy helpful and friendly and as they say you arrive as a guest- leave as a friend and that couldnt be more true. We had a fanastic time on the island with all the water activites it didnt matter about the rain..On arrival you get greeted with a welcome mocktale and song. ( although we didnt get the song because of the rain) but hey didnt bother us we had an amazing time an would recommend to any couple wanting to get away from it all.. Nikki Selby

Room Tip: Beach Bures are perfect if you want to just sit a watch the ocean and the world go by.. Ahhh Heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    267
    80
    36
    23
See reviews for
42
835
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The island is small and beautiful. The amount of cabins is only 30. This is nice as the amount of the guests remains small. It was easy to get to know (if you want) other guests in connection of various well organized activities. The staff is friendly, helpful and nice. The food is good, especially when there was fresh tuna available. Getting to the island from Nandi is surprisingly easy and everything works very well. The sunsets and sunrises are spectacular. The turquoise color of the sea is fantastic. Swimming and snorkeling is just great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at the first of the year for our honeymoon and we couldnt imagine staying a better place. The food was good every meal and no one we talked to while we were there had any problems with their service or food. If you have any allergys or anything you probobly want to pack some meds just to be safe as I got a rash but they didnt have anything to take. Other than it was fantastic. Lots of activities, lots of fun!

Room Tip: We were in Bure number 15, it was on the sunset side and we got some great pictures out of it, but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had four nights of heaven at Matamanoa in January this year and loved every minute.
The food was wonderful. Every night was a new menu, which always included a few meat dishes as well as seafood and chicken options. I have read a few comments about poor food on the island and honestly if you can't find something on the menu then you are truely way too fussy and probably should not be travelling to an island in the middle of no where. Perhaps stick to the city! We thought they had ample choice and the food was presented beautifully.
We stayed in Bure 1 on the sunrise side and loved it. The beach was gorgeous, the water warm and perfect. i usually get too cold after half hour in the water, but I was refusing to get out after 2 hours :)
The advantage of the sunrise side is that by the hot afternoon you are in the shade, which makes for a lovely time in the hammock on the varandah. And if you want to you can stil wander around to see the amazing sunsets. we would take a few drinks with us, find a private little bit of beach to sit on and watch nature at its best.
The people at Matamanoa were friendly, helpful and really make your stay. Their happy faces, lovely Bula greatings as well as singing welcoming songs and farewell songs really made our trip.
We flew in by helicopter, and I suggest if you have limited time like we did (4 nights only) then this is the best option. Not only is the view spectacular but you can stay on the island for the maximum amount of time because in 30 short minutes you are on the helicopter and back at Nadi airport ready to fly home.
We didn't get involved much with the activities offered on the island. I think four days just wasn't enough. We went across to the villiage for a few hours and really enjoyed the Fijian children and learning about how they live.
Also we took a trip to Sacred Island, which was a highlight of our stay. We enjoyed Ronny's stories as well as the beautiful snorkling. Could have snorkled another few hours, it was so beautiful and peaceful. just the three of us on the island. No one else. No crowds to fight for the best spot!
We did take some snacks and some beer and water out to the island. We knew that this would be very expensive for us, so we bought supplies at Nadi airport before flying to the island. we only had breakfast included in our package. we would have a huge breaky every morning and then some fruit for lunch and a big dinner. The servings are big enough. we shared an entree had a main each and sometimes shared a dessert...and couldn't move! we recommend the ceaser salad being prepared at your table for you and also the flaming pancake.
Overall we could not fault the island. Wish we had a few more days to enjoy it all.
We would go back in a heartbeat and have the most beautiful memories.

Room Tip: Love the sunrise side. By the afternoon you are out of the hot sun, and therefore can enjoy the hamm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Zena02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Matamanoa is one of the most beautiful islands (places even) I've ever seen.

The white sandy beaches, aqua water and lush green rainforest looks like something out of a postcard.

There were a few downsides however; though being so remote this is a little understandable.

There were a lot of flies and mosquitoes (pack your bug spray!) and our room (Bure 21) was infested with geckos at dusk. It was quite gross. Our second day it was rainy, so there isn't much to do. With no tv, radio, wireless etc there isn't much to do in poor weather other than sit in your room or play ping pong (if you can find a time when the table is unoccupied).

The food however was amazing. I'm stunned to see such negative reviews by other travelers. The Cajun chicken was the best lunch I had all holiday; although the staff were very absent minded and forgot the sides for our dishes a few times. By the time they came back to serve you the meal was already eaten so we didn't want to complain.

The sunset side was much better than the sunrise side. We had a private beach where we snorkelled in both low and high tide. You need to be comfortable with the ocean and your swimming skills - my partner saw a stingray only meters from the beach!

Overall very nice, can cross it off my list of places to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ABS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed on Matamanoa island for 5 nights in early Feb for our honeymoon.
We travelled by the south sea island boat but wish we had booked the helicopter for either arriving or departing just to be able to see the island from the air.

When you arrive, you are blown away by the beauty of this island. Pictures just dont do it justice.The greeting on the beach and welcome drink are lovely surprises and the resort is picture perfect.

Our beach bure was number 4 which is on the sunrise side of the island and we believe this is much better then the sunset side. The beach is much nicer and the snorkelling great. Thats not to say the sunset side wasnt amazing, the beach is not quite as nice though.

The bures are really comfortable and have everything you require. We had no trouble with the A/C.

The daily activities and night time games are excellent and great fun so try to join in as you get to meet other couples and just have a laugh along with some Kava.

Would recommend diving as well as the snorkelling safari highly. even though the snorkelling is great just off the beach, seeing the reef is amazing.

We did an island hopper tour which was ok but seemed very unorganised and the other resorts had no idea what we were doing there, but its great to see some other islands and the resorts. After doing this i can safely say Matamanoa island is by far the nicest.

Unfortunately there are quite a few downfalls to the resort.
Having stayed in Thailand on a previous trip at a resort for around the same cost, we were expecting Matamanoa to be of a similar quality. It didnt compare in the slightest.
It has a 3 star feel about it, the food was not great at all. Tip - Order seafood and you will get a nice meal, anything else is really not worth eating.
i ordered a cooked breakfast of scrambled eggs one morning to be greeted with a plate full of egg shells clearly visible before i touched my plate. The breakfast buffett isnt much either.
We understand that its a remote island and therefore wasnt concerned when told some things were unavailable, the concerning part is the stuff that was available is boring and quite average.

The staff do a great job with singing and serving but you can tell that some of them dont want to be there. Some are quite rude and will not give you a smile let alone a Bula.

The prices on this island are crazy. you are looking at 28.50 fijian for a cocktail. Beers and food are also very overpriced. i recommend bringing your own alcohol and snacks to consume when lazing around at your room.

All in all a good experience but wont be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STco123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I have made two trips to Matamanoa staying 10 days each time and returning again this May. We opt for the all inclusive package so we do not have to worry about our food bill at the end. This package does not include alchohol which is perfect for us. The staff, especially Andi in the dining room is just over the top with kindness and hospitality. The Fijian people are the nicest in the world. They go above and beyond and always calm, smiling and helpful. We always request Burie #1 right next to the helicopter pad as we love to hear and see the helicopter arrivals and departures daily. For some might be noisy but we love it. The beach is amazing and you can just walk right out and snorkel. The infinity pool is not huge but intimate and perfect for the size of the resort. Just cannot say enough about our great stays at Matamanoa and cannot wait to return in May. We will go back every year if life permits.

Room Tip: Bure oceanfront is the best. You do not need an extra size Bure as the Bures are plenty big and room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Customer1160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matamanoa Island
12.6 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
705 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,062 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
858 reviews
7.6 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
888 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki ...
#2 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matamanoa Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matamanoa Island Resort

Property: Matamanoa Island Resort
Address: Matamanoa Mamanuca Group, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Matamanoa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matamanoa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matamanoa Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matamanoa Island rated 4 star, is an intimate and secluded, adults only Fijian Resort. We are set in the beautiful Mamanuca Islands approximately 30 kilometers west of Nadi International Airport - experience a true gift of nature. The Island boasts a volcanic cone jutting out of the azure waters of this unspoiled marine sanctuary. Clad with native bush and palm trees, the brilliance of the vegetation contrasts magnificently with the white curved sandy beaches and pristine coral reefs. Combined with nature, we have created a haven for those who want to relinquish the pressures of a busy lifestyle. This is for those who dream of peace and tranquility. To achieve this special atmosphere, Matamanoa Island Resort has adopted a year round policy of not permitting day-trippers or children under the age of 16 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matamanoa Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matamanoa Island Hotel Matamanoa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing