We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Matamanoa Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Partner and I went on holiday, we chose this island based on the fact no kids were allowed and away from the mainland.

We landed in Nadi and were taken via transfer to denarau port where our ferry waits for us. 1 hr and 30 min journey to matamanoa island resort, though the ride felt like 40min journey. We were greeted personally by the manager on the ferry and she made us feel at home straight away.

We arrived on the island with a warm welcome and a free cocktail waiting for us at the bar and then a brief welcoming and house-keeping rules during our stay.

Loved it, thank you matamanoa for your hospitality. Very friendly and welcoming, it was very sad when it was time to leave.

The staff were awesome, very laid back and relaxing.

Tui and Kev

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TuiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    268
    80
    36
    23
See reviews for
42
838
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a fabulous find, a lovely island and cheap compared to others. It is definately not a luxury resort or a gourmet experience, but a great place to pack several books and be prepared to do not a lot. I'd particularly recommend it for the snorkeling or diving enthusiast as there is good coral accessible from the beach, the daily snorkeling boat trip is great and there is a dive shop and instructor resident on site. The hotel rooms are fine but lack privacy if you like to sit on the balcony, the extra for a beach bure is worth it. I have already booked to go back this year and that is something I never do (as I like to try new places), but for a quick relaxing and affordable break, you can't go past this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jellylorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Matamanoa Island is perfect for couples who want to get away from it all, have no screaming children around and spend quality time together surrounded by Mother Nature’s finest.

The island itself is simply stunning. The horizon pool is salt water, so you really are spoilt for choice between spending time on the beach or in the pool. Sunrise and sunset takes your breath away every day.

In terms of accommodation I would highly recommend a beach bure. It is absolutely worth the extra money, as you can literally walk out of bed and onto the beach (as we did many times) or have some private time on the terrace and swing from your very own hammock.

HOWEVER…

All of the above praise comes with a warning to future travellers deciding on where to stay in Fiji.

The food and the service simply HAVE to improve. If this resort would like to keep advertising themselves as luxury accommodation, and charge clients an arm and a leg to stay there, they have to change – full stop. Not one person escaped from having a tummy bug whilst on the island – not one. Several people we became close to actually had to spend whole days in bed, shivering with fever, not to mention dozens of visits to the bathroom. We were there over New Year’s Eve recently, and I do have to say that the banquet served on the night was actually wonderful. When they served the same food the following night and disguised it on the menu under different names, my partner and I felt vaguely insulted that they didn’t seem to think we would catch on. Unfortunately, my partner ate “leftover” mussels and prawns and was sick the whole flight home from Nadi to Sydney – to the point where he can only stomach food now, 5 days later. This is simply outrageous.

As for the actual service in the dining room… there are a few staff who are truly special, but for the most part, you feel as though they are doing you a favour. It was so bad one night that we were left waiting 30 minutes for our dessert… They just don’t seem to care at all, and as mentioned before, when you are paying these prices staff really need to be better trained.
If I could plan the holiday again, I would book less nights (we stayed 8) on a better island, such as Tokoriki – which I have heard nothing but the best about.

Matamanoa – PLEASE look into your food health and safety practices, you cannot continue to make people so sick and essentially ruin their holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank VickyChristinaBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed with my husband in Matamonoa for 5 days. Before this I stayed a week in a cheaper Fiji Island. I was dissapointed as I thought Matamonoa would be much more luxirous.

The staff were the rudest I have ever come across, the food variety lacked, the beach was all rocks (so there was no sun bathing on the beach), no activites to do, cocktails were outragiously priced ($30nzd) per drink.

However... the upsides- breaskfast was always amazing, rooms beautiful, room service and cleanness was perfect and the walk to the top of the montain amazing.

This Island is best for couples that want to sit by a pool in the sun and great drunk with other guests. It was not the romantic/ fun holiday as I was expecting and as it was so small there was not much privacy besides being in your room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chantal u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

From the moment my friend and I got off the boat and stepped onto the Island we were instantly greeted with a great welcome and a much needed cool drink. Staff were friendly and the food was absolutely incredible. The menu changed each night and I had the most incredible steak and veal. Plenty of activities to keep you occupied. The spa was tranquil and the views absolutely incredible. Very relaxed Island. Would definitely visit here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JessC1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Matamanoa is a little piece of paradise! I had read all the TripAdvisor reviews before booking it and somehow I knew it would be exactly what I was looking for - and it was. If you are looking for party central, this is not the place for you, but if you want peace and quiet,relaxation and a beautiful beach, this is it,
We were there in December, 2 weeks before the cyclone and the weather was beautiful every day, with the occasional late afternoon, spectacular thunderstorm. We arrived there by South Sea Cruises and it was a most enjoyable way to travel - even if the helicopter was more affordable, I think I would still prefer to arrive by boat, as the lovely warm greeting you receive on the beach is worth it. After a refreshing welcome drink and a brief introductory talk, we were shown to our room and settled in in no time at all.
For the first few nights, we were in one of the hotel rooms and I was very happy with this. They have a very high ceiling and the bedroom area is air conditioned and also has a ceiling fan over the bed. The rooms have a small bar fridge plus tea and cofffee making facilities and the bathroom was a good size and very modern and clean. The closest space was excellent. Outside on the porch there was a small table with chairs plus a day bed which was great for an afternoon snooze - it was so peaceful there, just the sound of the birds and the waves on the beach...... The hotel rooms look into a garden area that has quite a number of palm trees and the falling coconuts did worry me a little, as they tend to fall pretty regularly, so watch out!
Half way through our stay, we moved to one of the much larger beach bures and this was fabulous - we just loved being able to take a few steps down onto the beach or relax in the hammock on the porch. The bures can accommodate up to 3 people as there is a sofa bed in the loungeroom area, but the aircon in the bures really only can be felt in the main bedroom area, although there is a ceiling fan.The bures also have a kitchenette. The bures are located in 2 areas of the resort - ors was on the sunrise side and I think this is the better side as it is an easier walk down onto the beach.
The main resort area is small but has everything you would need for a holiday like this - a lovely pool that looks out onto the sea, the pool deck with enough loungers for everyone who wanted one (perhaps all the chair hogging problems I have read about are in high season?), the dive shop,the restaurant, the bar, a small library, the office and small shop -there is one slow computer but hey - who needs a computer when you are trying to relax?
Do not come here expecting 5 star gourmet dining, it is not that type of resort, but I loved the food - the breakfast buffet had lots of options, for lunch you could have a main meal or just something light like the fruit and cheese platter (which is actually enormous!), afternoon tea is included and there is always a lovely home baked cake or other treat - yum - loved those cakes. For dinner every night, I had fish, fish, and more fish! I found the bar prices very reasonable and comparable with prices elsewhere in Fiji.
For activities, we spent most of time just relaxing on the beach - there are chaise loungers provided on the beach, situated under little thatched umbrellas and you can always find your own private little patch of beach. We snorkelled and kayaked and one of us did the introductory dive as well. There are also organised activities such as basket weaving, hiking, beach volleyball, bocce so you can certainly be as active as you want, but we were busy just unwinding and that left us pretty exhausted by dinner time! There are after dinner activities such as games and singalongs , but as a lot of the island's clients are honeymooners, this is not a late night island.....
The staff are really wonderful and go out of their way to make you feel like family, whether you are just there for 1 or 2 nights or longer. Every night at about 8.30 during dinner, there is Bulatime, where the staff will welcome the newcomers by name and also farewell those leaving the next day. Such beautiful singing is a part of this and I looked forward to it every night. The staff soon know everyone and its lovely to be greeted by name, whether its at breakfast or just strolling along the beach.
When it was time to leave, I must admit a shed a few tears, as this truly is a special place. After a pretty stressful year, it was just the tonic I needed. I miss just sitting in that beautiful water, staring out into the blue sea and the other close by islands, I miss the sound of the waves on the beach at night, I miss Bulatime, I miss feeling a part of such a special little place and I miss the sound of the crying Matamanoa birds at night. I know for sure that I will be going back to Matamanoa in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: ask for a beach bure on the sunrise side of the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steege51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Spent 3 nights at this lovely resort & had the most chilled out few days of my life. The island is small & quiet & perfect for couples not wanting to do much. There are fun daily activities such as snorkeling & fishing trips, & a tour to the island where Castaway was filmed, to keep you entertained if you do want to do more than just lie by the pool/beach. Staff are wonderful & friendly, they make you feel at home. There is a different dinner menu each day with a good choice of food. It isn't a luxury resort & it doesn't have a lot of atmosphere, but if you are wanting a quiet spot for some R&R & some amazing scenery, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chazbangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matamanoa Island
12.6 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
706 reviews
9.8 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
580 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
859 reviews
7.6 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
890 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki ...
#2 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matamanoa Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matamanoa Island Resort

Property: Matamanoa Island Resort
Address: Matamanoa Mamanuca Group, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Matamanoa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matamanoa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matamanoa Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matamanoa Island rated 4 star, is an intimate and secluded, adults only Fijian Resort. We are set in the beautiful Mamanuca Islands approximately 30 kilometers west of Nadi International Airport - experience a true gift of nature. The Island boasts a volcanic cone jutting out of the azure waters of this unspoiled marine sanctuary. Clad with native bush and palm trees, the brilliance of the vegetation contrasts magnificently with the white curved sandy beaches and pristine coral reefs. Combined with nature, we have created a haven for those who want to relinquish the pressures of a busy lifestyle. This is for those who dream of peace and tranquility. To achieve this special atmosphere, Matamanoa Island Resort has adopted a year round policy of not permitting day-trippers or children under the age of 16 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matamanoa Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matamanoa Island Hotel Matamanoa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing