We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic place - a great holiday !!”
Review of Mana Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mana Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place - a great holiday !!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife and I have just returned back to OZ completely sad as we had to leave an island paradise, mana Island!!! ,8 incredible days of sleeping , snorkelling in crystal clear water,glorious food and more snorkelling,we were absolutely spoiled rotten by island staff, all the way from the guys at the bar, the beautiful ladies at the dining areas, the glorious chefs with their big smiles and wonderful food and the wonderful people that cleaned our rooms + the great guys at the sports bure + the guys at the local pier signing as they welcome/goodbye us. I can only highly recommend the island to the other travellers because as soon as you step off the boat and into this paradise you are greated by so many wonderful people like soko, if i had to rate the 8 days at mana out of ten - I would give them an eleven - we will return back to island in the near future for a bit more of paradise --- Mana you were wonderful to us - Bill and Sonia ...... Vinaka

Room Tip: Bring an underwater camera, a must for the snorkelling and smile and take it easy ... this is your t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    643
    247
    119
    94
See reviews for
776
500
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for four nights in March 2014. Let's start with the good! The island itself is paradise, with shallow-water reefs surrounding and white sand beaches. The pool was good, as was the view from the pool. The wild life and views were just unbeatable. A wide range of activities are on offer, including snorkelling and diving.

All this was let down by a number of rude staff. This came as a surprise as most reviews say how wonderful the staff were and we came here from a resort where the staff were very friendly.

On arrival we went to the only restaurant (the other one was closed, although this wasn't advertised) and after my partner signed for the cheque the very surly waiter came back and thrust the cheque back at him, demanding 'Is this your real name?' Everything must be signed against your room and as this was in my name we realised he was accusing us of pretending to be guests. Not a good start to your tropical island getaway! During the four nights a number of other staff were also rude. I won't detail all of these occasions but the one which spring to mind is staff demanding to know our room number just in passing as we walked along the footpath as if again we were pretending to be guests. We tried to order room service one night and our pizzas were delivery 45 minutes apart.

We stayed in a luxury beach front bure which was okay although our electricity stopped working a number of times and we had to deal with abrupt staff who seemed annoyed we complained. Also, although the bures are reasonably comfortably our other complaint is how many maintenance staff are around ALL THE TIME. Four nights and every morning we work up to sweeping leaves for an hour outside while loudly talking to other staff or some kind of power tool in use. About 7.30am one morning we woke up to someone literally trying to chip away the concrete steps leading to our porch with a hoe. I have no idea what he was trying to do! He moved our drying shoes and clothes out the way to do this and we have 'Please do not disturb' sign on the door. It seemed in general like they had too many staff members to know what to do with.

The food was poor and very expensive for what's on offer. I don't eat meat which made it a little more difficult (which I expect) but my partner also struggled to find food he liked. I would recommend avoiding the buffet. $65 Fijian dollars per person a night and we couldn't even get water for the table.

All in all, disappointing considering the natural beauty of the area!

Room Tip: Some rooms are very close to the pool which plays music for most of the day. Check where your room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mccafferty000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

we went on a tour to mana island not much of a resort didnt really like it at all it was a pretty boring tour the guide was that good we had a full day there but left the island at half day and went back staff wernt very friendly it was a waste of a tour

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Mana island has got to be one of the best islands out of the mamanuca islands. On arrival coming in over the reef to the sounds of guitars on the pier is truley an experience. The staff are just wonderful and the beaches are amazing. Stayed in a suite which was oddly set up (there is a bar/kitchenette thing that seems to be a waste of space) but opens right out to a few steps from the beach. Had the meal plan which was wonderful and a choice of meals was on offer. Above all I always go for the beaches, and this island had a choice of a few different swimming spots and some good walks if your into that. Will definitley go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nuzeesheek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights mid January 2014. Island itself is stunning with pristine beaches, crystal clear water and amazing reef for snorkeling. Stayed in deluxe beachfront bure which was average considering the high price. Beware of the bed bugs!!! Resort towels seemed to be in short supply (not to mention old, thin and stained) and bed sheets were never changed over the 5 nights we were there. Main restaurant on North Beach very outdated. Adult pool is small. Upon arrival Chinese guests are singled out & favoured by management and always checked in before other non Chinese guests. Beware of Sea Fiji who operate water activities on South Beach - their 'captains' & management are incompetent and have no regard for the safety of any guest.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Loz_w_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just returned home from a 6 night stay at Mana Island Resort & Spa with my family. Upon entry, the island is breathtakingly beautiful! The wharf was currently under construction during our stay but i can tell it will look great when it is finished. We were lucky enough to have 5 days of perfect weather! We went snorkelling at a nearby sandbar coral reef guided by a crew from Mana Island. Amazing coral! Friendly dive staff!
The South beach restaurant was beautiful! It had the most beautiful view while eating breakfast, lunch and dinner. We had breakfast and dinner included in our package. The buffet was overall very yummy! We dined at the restaurant for dinner twice which was lovely also. The staff are mostly overall very friendly and helpful! Epi the bartender at north beach pool bar is super friendly and a great character!

The room was lovely - however the air conditioner was not working properly on the last day and the fridge was a little bit noisy during the night. The outdoor shower is beautiful!!

The Mana Island Spa is beautiful. My mum and i had a massage there! Friendly staff!

Oh and the cocktails were so yummy the whole stay!!! :)

Overall a lovely family holiday. Would definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Of course, like many others islands, the beach and sea is very nice. I enjoyed the location of the island because we went many place around not too far. As an example, the famous island of the movie "Casteway" is just in front. Also, at night time, we went out the resort to the backpacker place, where drink are not expensive and we met local people. The room was nice, clean and large. The only point i suggest them to improve, is on the food and their menu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thaiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Island
0.6 mi away
Tadrai Island Resort
Tadrai Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Mana Island
125 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
907 reviews
9.1 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki ...
#2 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
96 reviews
9.2 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
749 reviews
6.8 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Island Resort

Property: Mana Island Resort
Address: P. O. Box 610, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mana Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mana Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Island Hotel Mana Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing