We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than a resort ...”
Review of Mana Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mana Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I recently returned from my fourth trip to Mana Island Resort and Spa. It is not simply the resort that keeps me wanting to go back. It is so much more than that! The resort is great, with good choice of accommodation styles, and wonderful attentive staff. I would in particular like to thank "Jim" from reception; he went out of his way to assist my friends and I this stay! It is such a friendly place!!

What I appreciate about Mana Island is its beauty, it would be hard to find a more beautiful island in the world!! Sure, there are other visually, stunning islands in Fiji and in other places, but Mana stands apart for several reasons. It is bigger in size than most in Fiji, but small enough to get around. I love the fact that one can have the traditional experience there, and mingle with the locals, and visit their homes. There are two villages located on the island, and a small school which you can visit and interact with the "delightful". children. To hear them sing is like listening to a choir of angels ... they touch your heart!! The beaches are amazing, and there are three in and around the resort, in close proximity. Many Island Resorts around, only have one main beach. The ocean is warm, clear, and there is a reef enclosing it, bringing gorgeous, colourful fish in close to shore. I was told by another visitor who had done her research, that the snorkelling was the best to find for children, and adults alike!! And water activities abound; there are diving excursions, fishing, and leisure trips, and any number of craft one can hire out. My friends and I went on the banana boat this time(thrilling!!) And we kayaked, and sailed the hobby cat(with a lot of laughter, and near crashes!) I love the fact that one is not restricted to the resort and have to dine at the restaurants exclusively. While the food and entertainment are very good, It is more enjoyable to have other options as well! There are two Backpacker resorts nearby and this added another dimension to our stay. We met some lovely, and interesting people from all over the world, when we dined there, and joined in the fun activities ... hi Shirley, Pete and staff at Ratu Kini!! And Ravi(chef,) at Mana Lagoon is a great guy!! There is so much to do on Mana island if one wants. I enjoy the balance of having fun things to do, or simply relaxing under a coconut palm, watching others at play, and taking in the heavenly view. I am never bored on Mana, and each visit has brought new experiences, and delightful new people into my life ... I am very grateful to have found this wonderful place!!

Room Tip: What ever suits your personal taste!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank josiesalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

8 of us went to Mana Island Resort to celebrate an 80 th birthday. Our family comprised of Nana and Poppa (birthday boy ) Daughter with her family of 4. ( 2 boys aged 11 and 6 years ). Son and his partner. Our accommodation was 3 Garden Bures ( 2 were interconnecting ). Thought they were very good. Beds were comfortable and the housekeeping was excellent. We had a couple of dinners at the South Restaurant, they were good. A couple of buffet breakfasts and the odd buffet dinner at the North Beach restaurant. Thought the evening buffet very mediocre indeed. Room for improvement. We ate most of the breakfasts and dinners at Ratu Kini's backpackers restaurant. Good food, delightful staff and good value for money.
We had the special b/day dinner at the North Beach restaurant. Our table was set outside, beautifully set, with napkins etc with balloons behind the birthday boy's chair.
After dinner, the staff came to our table with a lovely chocolate birthday cake with their guitars singing Happy Birthday. My husband received a lot of kisses and cuddles which we are sure he enjoyed immensely. He and I enjoyed the adult pool very much. The rest of our family enjoyed the South Beach, especially the 2 grandsons with snorkling ,kayaking , line fishing and jet boats. The boys took their own masks, flippers etc.
What an asset "" Soko "" ( administration dept ) is to the management of Mana Island resort.
Wonderful person. Our grandsons loved her. All the staff in every department were wonderful, so happy , eager to help and so friendly. They make the Resort and make everyones holiday
enjoyable. I thought the other swimming pool could have been a lot bigger and had perhaps a sail over it for shade. We had a few snacks from the cafe by the round pool for lunch. Very nice. On the whole, wonderful 9 days of lovely sun and warm weather.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 460Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful location. Snorkelling, sunbaking, kayaking- the whole tropical experience. I've been there twice now- once when I was a child and now with my children aged 1 and 2.5
The family had a great time.
Just remember to add the whole breakfast lunch and dinner package before the trip all you'll be in for a pleasant surprise :/

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoungMummi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Grab a fiji bitter sit in the adult pool and watch the sunset. It is simply stunning and makes you forget what an average place this is.

Rooms are clean but run down.

Food at the buffet was terrible. Go to the south beach restaurant, its overpriced but the food was good.

Soko greeted us on arrival and she was great although she seemed to be the only helpful one.

They have a band play at night and they were really good.

Downfall is this place is too big and feels like a backpackers. Not recommended for couples.

Dont try the buffet!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MelbourneTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We came here to Mana again after many years of regular family holidays. The Magic of Mana is the draw-card with the magnificent North and South beach choices depending on the Wind. This time though, the Magic has dissolved and the lustre of Mana has dulled. Not the weather though it was PICTURE PERFECT!
I need to explain myself here as I know Mana read these reviews and hopefully the management can take this information on board as their “survey” form at the end of your stay is very light.
Most staff seem bored, terrified or uneasy and the Bula count has somewhat reduced. The bar staff, who are normally friendly and energetic, are mostly appearing annoyed by a guests presence. We observed a number of very incorrectly poured cocktails and the slowness of service doesn’t wash in this day and age. I was left speechless one night when we came in at 9:00pm and the bar tender was not impressed at all that we were keen to have cocktails. In fact he was darn right rude. A couple, from Japan, could not read the menu so together (guests and I NOT bar tender) went through hand signals, translators and taste testing, from our cocktails, to finally decide upon the flavour of their choice. One exception is Epi at the South Beach “Beach Bar” who is a total contrast to the rest and a million percent better. His service, smiles and showmanship are second to none. Prices at the other bars are wonky – a similar standard beer Vonu is sold at a price that could be explained as extortionate, when on the mainland it’s the same price as Fiji Gold. Cocktails are FJ$17 but expect average quality spirits thrown into them (unless you insist on named brands).
We didn’t buy a meal plan on this visit as we wanted complete flexibility. The Buffet should be given a wide berth and the two experiences we had were woeful. In fact, don’t come late as they usually start to close at around 8:00PM! Food quality was poor on Seafood and Lovo night. The bright side was the “pizza hut”. At the time of writing this though, we understand the entire Mamanuca Restaurant is being demolished to make way for a new complex that will include a new pool. Looking forward to that BIG TIME!!!!!!
South Beach Restaurant serves good food at a good price. The service though is somewhat erratic. We did substitute this place a few times with the backpackers next door that had bigger portions, and faster and friendly service. The café by the round pool is great for lunchtime snacks and the milkshakes are FABULOUS!!
Watersports ownership has changed for the better at Southbeach, it is now run by Sea Fiji. It’s a pretty efficient operation except for the Hobie cat boat bure guys who are poor at customer relations. Needless to say, the non-motorised equipment provided were Hobie cats and kayaks and the once plentiful Snorkelling gear appears to be lacking – bring your own.
The room quality and service is great (we stayed in the 600 block) and the others we saw were excellent too. The Internet was ok (we had to pay for it) and all in all, a great stay notwithstanding the staff and issues above.
Mana magic has dulled somewhat, whoever is in charge needs to uplift and motivate the staff ASAP. Bring back the magic of Mana, we miss you so. Vinaka!

Room Tip: 600 block: cool quiet large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Bron v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We returned to Mana in early January for a two week stay after a two year absence. The great things remain great and the not so good remain not so good but overall the resort continues to deliver a value for money experience with some advantages that not many other island resorts in fiji deliver at the same price.

The great:
The coral off North Beach is in the best condition I can remember for some time. Quite stunning in fact. Anybody who wastes money to do a snorkeling trip is mad, it dosent get better than whats in front of you.
The beaches are still stunning. Not crowded and the water clear with abundant fish life. One snorkel on north beach we saw a large trevalley, two sharks, a lobster, a stingray and a huge turtle in the space of 30 minutes.
No wind!. Mana is ringed by beaches and therefore one side is always sheltered from the wind
The horizon pool. Cool in 35 degrees heat, and no children with the new rules. Clean... no little children and accidents...
The hobykats, kayaks and motorised watersports.Now run by sea fiji as opposed to sth seas cruises. Staff not quite as friendly but service better and all "toys" in great condition which is a change!
Epis pool bar south beach. Hes a legend
The rooms. Mana has multiple price points across around 5 accomodation classes. All represent good value I think and the island bures in particular provide cheap quality accomodation if thats your thing
The grounds. In great nick
The staff: As friendly as always. High bula count!
Meke show, crab racing and polynesion night all remain if you are a first tome visitor to mana
The guests. A a larger resort children and teenagers will meet great new friends
The dive operation. Very professional/

The average:
Snorkeling gear in short supply for some reason.As a result people tend to hang onto it rather than returning each day.
Some buildings a bit tired now inside and out.Dosent worry me but others may differ
The "round" pool. In the wet season heat really needs more shade for children.
Table tennis bats are poor, ran out of balls, days to replace.. no excuse really. Why on earth they dont order a few hundred at a time i dont know!
The paddle board. Charging for this is dumb when non motorised water sports are free. The reason is that its owned by sea fiji as opposed to the resort. Still a poor option given non motorised is marketed as free.

The food and drinks...
Beer price ok for a resort. $8 fijian for a beer is not unreasonable when converted to nz or aussie dollars. Premium beers are a bit steep given what you can buy them for at the market in nadi. $14 for a vonu is ridciulous. Cocktails are a bargain at $17 fijian or say $13 kiwi. Low priced wine is about $5 to much to qualify as a good deal. Happy hour isnt quite happy enough! only a dollar or two off.
Breakfast was fine although the perenniel issues remain. Why dont they fry the bacon with the eggs at the egg area rather than serving it soggy in the buffet trays. Tip, ask them to fry it..Fruit great, cereal and toast fine, cordial fine, could possibly offer a pay extra fresh fruit juice option. Baked beans, suasages etc all what you would expect for breakfast. Ad of course the omelletes are great
Buffet lunch is so so however the pizza cave is a great addition and the pizza at the buffet was really good.
Buffet dinner is average. not so much in what they serve but how they serve it. ie the meat more often than not overcooked, same with the fish etc.
South Beach a la carte I thought was the best its been for many years. The only criticism would be a lack of consistency across portion sizes. ie three people ordering the same dish would get very different quantities.

The backpackers
Mana has several. Both run kitchens. the food here is pretty good as well. its marginally cheaper than south beach for most dishes, you get slightly bigger quantities and consistency. On the down side you dont get the ambience of South Beach restaurant. Whilst not directly comparable I think South Beach and the backpackers both do a good job and are value for money in there own way.

The news:
Mana is about to undergo a bit of a transformation. Watch out for a new pool which will be the biggest in Fiji. There will be disruption during building which I suspect will start about October this year
A new North Beach building. Watch out for a modern upgrade with upmarket restaurant and food to match....
More chinese guests. A big developing market for fiji. I miss the Japanese at Mana. Always entertaining watching them walk in their high heels on the decks with obvious results...

As per the reviews here most will enjoy Mana. Foodies might be slightly disappointed however it ain't that bad!

Enjoy

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ziggystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I went to Mana for my birthday with friends. After two and half hours of boat ride we reached the Island at 2.30pm and it took another half an hour before we manage to get to our villa. Villa was very clean, overlooking the tranquil beauty of the sea. Great spot for snorkeling. Dinner was ok. The bar closed by 11pm and we were told to go to the backpacker's in the village. Had to check out at 10am. It was then we saw a broad with a sign saying "THE BEST TIME FOR ALL WATER ACTIVITIES ARE AFTER 10AM). So one definitely has to go there for two days to enjoy the island and the activities fully.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirleyprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Island
0 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,332 reviews
0 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
0 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
947 reviews
0 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,239 reviews
0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Island Resort

Address: P. O. Box 610, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range: $172 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mana Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mana Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Island Hotel Mana Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing