We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ate, swam, snorkelled!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mana Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mana Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Feilding
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ate, swam, snorkelled!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

Just got back from beautiful Mana Island to wet and windy 11 degrees...
We were 2 families with 5 children 9,9,7,5,3.
Rooms:
Booked an Island Bure and was put into an Ocean View Bure which is the 500 series, the furtherest away from everything down the North Beach. Quiet, but older and too far away for us with a 3 year old. Tended to pack the bag with everything for the day and not return much. After 3 nights asked for a change and was put into the 300 series Ocean View Room which is like a hotel room upstairs/downstairs in 2 blocks of 18. Much closer, on the North Beach by the Mamanuca Restaurant. Good rooms except doors stick and get slammed shut and some neighbours are noisier than others! I have attached photos of all the different types of accomm. Friends were in 600 series Ocean Front Suite, right on South Beach. Really nice 2 story 2 bathroom hotel room type accomm.
Food:
Breakfast is great, buffet lunch and dinner average which we expected by the reviews. Would book the Mamanuca a la carte option (no extra cost on the meal plan) much more often next time, very nice. The South Beach restaurant has free lunch on the meal plan but not for kids! Dinner is beautiful but no kids allowed. Just fed them at the buffet and dropped them at the kids club.. You will pay extra for dinner there, $25-$50 extra pp depending on which of 3 options you choose. Well worth it.
Kids Club:
Takes kids from 3-12 although not many above 10 went it seemed. Kids go from 10-12, 2-4 and 7-9pm. Costs $20 pp (entire stay) for cap and water daily. Lots of activities, crab/frog catching and racing, Fijian language/culture, sports, crafts etc. Kids loved it, my boys especially liked Cinderella, Lai and Bill.
Activities:
Swimming in 2 beautiful warm pools, snorkelling on South Beach especially good slightly further out, also good further up North Beach. Plenty of snorkelling gear. Kayaking, hobby cats, parasailing, diving, jet ski etc. 5-6pm happy hour and bingo, always a laugh. Plenty of places to walk as the island is 300 acres with the resort 100 acres. Action at night started at 9pm. Meke show brilliant, crab racing fun. Tennis courts.
Shop:
Small boutique with tshirts, sarongs, crafts etc also some basics like sunblock (didn't take enough...) Expensive but handy.
Misc:
Nurse on the island was great, has alot of medicines and was very helpful. Some of us got 'Fiji flu' aches and coughs and fevers.
We took things like Pamol, Demazin, cold and flu tablets, mosquito spray (they do provide this and bug spray in the rooms), Dimetapp, Panadol. Used it all...
It really is warm, we lived in shorts and singlets. You don't need to dress up for dinner.
Took some wine but brought it home as we drank alot of cocktails. The kids loved the slushies. Spent approx $600 on drinks alone over 8 days for 2a/2c.
Good sized island, never seemed crowded. Mostly Kiwis, Aussies and Japanese (island is owned by Japanese).
Mana Spa very expensive, very professional and extremely well worth it for work weary people!
3 washing machines of various ages, 2 old but very effective dryers. Can buy washing powder but we took our own.
We heard the honeymoon suites are amazing. At least 4 weddings while we were there.
A most amazing place with beautiful friendly people. I researched alot on Trip Advisor looking for the right place, and we found it!

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — getting the fiji flu
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwianddane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    635
    243
    117
    94
See reviews for
770
490
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2008

Mana was great for our honeymoon. After staying 2 nights in Denarau, we knew we had made the right decision to travel out to Mana. The waters are SOOO blue and clear. We love swimming and snorkelling, so once we reached Mana we had no need for daytrips to other islands as the snorkelling, straight off South Beach was fantastic.
The people were generally lovely. The accomodation - we stayed in an Oceanfront Bure- was magic. Simple but lovely. We are glad we upgraded from the Island Bure's and Hotel rooms.
As we expected, the food and drinks were a little pricey, so we ate a good buffet breakfast, then most days chose a late lunch at South beach restaurant, where from 12 - 4 pm you could buy a hamburger, or fish and chips type meal to last you through dinner if you were not up to the buffet every night. The only buffet we had was the Lovo, which was great. Otherwise we ate in the afternoon. The happy hour cocktails were good value, as was the bingo by the pool.
The resort in general is a little older style- but this made it all the more authentic. The gardens are lovely, and we saw a lot of work being done in this area. The staff were gentle and lovely.
We were blessed with 5 days of beautiful weather. If one side of the island was windy,the other was perfect.
We snorkelled only on the South beach, as the North beach near our Bure was a little rough.
You will do a lot of walking as the resort is spread out.
Overall we had a lovely stay. 5 days was perfect as we began to run out of things to do. I look forward to returning in a few years - hopefully with my children.

  • Liked — Relaxing simplicity
  • Disliked — Food was a bit pricey
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzLisaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whangarei
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

oh whot a wonderfull stay we got to mana by boat its a good trip my kids went to the kid's club everyday they just enjoyed it to bits the most funnist one woud have to be the night one it's realy good also the food oh just butifull if u like tropical food's yum yum and the starf fabulos everyone allways say's BULA i allways say that now it's so cool to tell that to people and they don't know what im saying any way such a good resort and in so jellouse to the people who Are going any way try to make it the best by

  • Liked — the starf
  • Disliked — the people next to us
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank phoebe_and_bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2008

Just returned from 4 days in Mana. Booked an Island Bure but got upgraded to an Oceanview Deluxe which is probably an older room, but bigger and closer to the beach.

Staff and people -
So not everything runs like a 5 star hotel, but staff do really make an effort with everyone welcomed Fiji style and a good orientation at the start. Resort does have a client focus on Japanese but it wasn't overwhelming, with an overall mix of mainly Aussies, Kiwis and Japanese.

Things to do -
Lots of activities to choose from. Meke show is a real highlight. Plenty of beach area to satisfy anyone. North Beach is a lot quieter. View from the lookout around sunset is great. What a beautiful part of the world! Sunset Beach is a bit further but also worth checking out. For snorkelling, make sure you check the tides and avoid going in when its low.

Food -
Enough food choice for the 4 days. Lovo buffet recommended and Mamanuca restaurant (book in advance) was fine and very reasonable. Nice fresh omelettes at breakfast buffet. Lunches are either BBQ buffet at Mamanucas or mid-price dishes at South Beach restaurant.

Overall a fantastic time in Mana!

  • Liked — Every room is close to the beach, aircon
  • Disliked — Bathroom a bit old
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvmapleridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

Hi there,
My family, (2 children aged 9 & 13) stayed 4 nights at Mana Island. It's a beautiful island, staff are very helpful and friendly. Cleanliness of the rooms was great. There is a laundry with free facilities which is a major plus! Great activities etc. The kids had a wonderful time. The only let down was the food for us. The buffet meals were very average and sometimes below average.
There is a restaurant on South beach which had nice food, a good option for lunch. They also have a dinner menu but it is a 3 course set menu with 3 choices of menus. Beautiful food but not suitable for children. Very expensive, okay if it's just adults but alot of wastage for children. They do not do a childrens menu at night. So apart from the food our stay was wonderful. I would recommend though if you are booking the seaview motel accomodation, they also have duplex seaview bures for the same price. These are far superior to the motel units and can't believe they are the same price. We had specifically asked for the bure and had it confirmed in an e-mail however on arrival we were put into a unit. Were very disappointed with the unit condisdering the cost but luckily I had my e-mail confirmation and we were moved the following day to a bure. I do recommend
Mana Island, nothing is perfect and there may be things that are not what you were expecting but there is no escaping the serenity and the lovliness of the island and it's staff.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank popolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

Our Family Travelled to Mana for eight nights air pacific fly from
Melbourne at midnight so expect the clan to be grumpy until they
get into holiday mode. we arrived at Nadi airport at 6.30 we missed the meet and greet at the airport so when told to go out of the airport and wait at the bus stop I thought that to be a bit different. Anyway the bus came along and off we went it was about 8.30 at this time once at port denaru it was all good out to the island. My advice is get cauffered

We had a ocean view room which we found great except the sewerage leaked on the first night so we had to change room which was no problem they were very helpful and apologised
we moved next door where the view was even better.
beds were comfortable and room was a good size the air cond was excellent but we didn't use it much. We found the snokelling unreal and on high tide did this just out the front of our room, the best spot for the kids is south beach and you can just leave your gear on the lounges and go for lunch when ready the resturant there is the place to go for lunch there other lunch buffet is pretty average.

Pools were good to relax at the end of the day but you can't see the kids if they decide to go to the spa pool it needs clearing .
Bars are great and happy hour bingo is a hoot they are a bit slow on the service but thats fiji time. Try the pina caladas they are great. Only $9 bucks fiji at happy hour. The fiji gold beer is not a bad drop either. There drinks were alway's cold

Buffey dinner's were good they cook too many lovo's though they need more imagination with the buffet's and one night ran out of
pork.

At night the entertainment is good the polyneasian night is cool
and the band good Crab races are fun but get in early as the bids go high toward the end .one crab went for $140 fiji.
Games room needs some serious money spent on it a coffee lounge there would be great and a pay T.V that works and a good comfy lounge for the parents.

The boat hire is hopeless they are more on holiday than you so don't expect much from getting help with hobie cats and thing's like that also they wern't very friendly there almost rude and arrogant.

The kids club is very well run and a bargain for $20 per child fiji for your stay they are great with the kids and good to speak too.
The shop was great and had most thing's there ice creams were
great but expensive.

Make sure you go and check out the lookout and sunset beach the snokelling there is A1 we seen a heap of nemo's there.

We also went out on the "Seaspray" to modiriki where Casterway was filmed which was a great. If they catch a fish eat that before the chicken plenty of drinks with trip and well worth it.

in sum up its an old resort that needs some T.L.C and some money spent on it but there is signs of improvement. The suites look great if you've got the extra cash. sea's are quieter on south beach.

For the Accomadation, if I could stay in the same room and the snokelling I would return, oh yes I forgot its owned by the Japanese so expect to see alot . May be important to learn the lingo too. A good family friendly island.

  • Disliked — The room size and view
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pbatt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2008

I loved the beach... Beautiful white sand, and clear blue waters....
Streets were poorly lit, we got lost walking back to our room, they should provide torches or something like that.

Likes:
* Very Friendly Staff
* Big Room
* Clean Place
* Room 508 is close to the North Beach
* You can call for a buggie to come and pick you up from your room to take you to the other side of the resort** (i think your room has to be as far as mine was)

Dislikes:
* The place was currently being renovated, the noise wasn’t an issue, more like you couldn’t access places because of the construction
* The room, was sooooo far from everything
* Internet access was $20 for 30minutes

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Island
13.4 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
9.1 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
6.8 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
18.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Island Resort

Property: Mana Island Resort
Address: P. O. Box 610, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mana Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mana Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Island Hotel Mana Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing