We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kids don't always eat free!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mana Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mana Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Kids don't always eat free!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Something to note is that kids only eat free from the buffet if you are staying 5 or more nights at the resort. We were staying there for 4 nights and only found out when we arrived that the kids would not eat free. This can add a considerable amount to your costs not planned for, however we did discover the backpackers at the east end of the south beach that we ended up having breakfast, lunch and dinner at each day. Both backpackers "restaurants" were very reasonably priced and food good, though we preferred the second one, bright orange in colour. In the end we probably saved money and didn't over eat!

Room Tip: We had an island bure, with king bed and two singles. We were very comfortable and although on one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    636
    243
    117
    94
See reviews for
771
491
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have a soft spot for Mana,we have had 3 holidays over the years here with our two boys and many wonderful memories!kids club staff are the best!and by the end of our stay felt like extended family.Bures are really nice with outdoor showers,on our last stay we paid more to try out a larger Bure closer to beach but was not that much better and we had a much longer walk to everything.Also we had giant island cockroaches invade our room at night and you would wake with one on you or in your bed!!!so not much sleep on our last stay!insect spray did not seem to keep them away!Also food is very ave!buffet is like acceding time at the zoo!Bingo every night is a laugh and a nice time to enjoy a cocktail while the sun goes down.All the beaches are fab!and you should walk or catch the bula bus to sunset beach for some quiet time.The snorkelling is what you would come here for its fantastic!and you can go straight off the beach.Mana could be a lot better if the resort would put money back into it it's even had the same bed linen every year nothing seems to get upgraded.Its a sham because it could be really awesome.We stayed last June.

Room Tip: Spending more does not always mean a better room at Mana.Garden Bures are great or maybe a two level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Mana island is perfect for a relaxing, slow, family friendly holiday. Highly recommended.
My family (2 children ages 1.5 and 4 years) travelled to Mana in June and spent only 6 nights on this beautiful island. My eldest daughter loved the kids club (thanks so much Big Mumma and Cinderella) and there was plenty to do, including great snorkelling, visits to the local village, walking, swimming and water activities.
After our stay on Mana Island, we spent a week on the mainland and were dissapointed we had made the decision to leave the island. Mana is fantastic and I love that everything was done on Fiji time!
Dont expect much from the food, keep in mind you are on an island and access to food is limited. Worth buying food, supplies and some grog on the mainland, as everything is more expensive than the mainland (comparable with Australian prices). Worth buying the meal packages too as it is more expensive buying them there.
If you can, take books, pens, sport equipment etc for the village school, they really appreciate it and it is nice to give somthing back!
We love Mana and are already planning our return trip.

Room Tip: Definitely the ocean burres especially if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed on Mana at the resort for 10 days in June 2013. We had a family bure 15metres from the beach front and found it an incredible place to stay. The bure comfortably fit 2 adults, 2 teens and a toddler with easy access to the beach, pool, restaurants and bars. The bure was located on the North side of the island and we found snorkelling and swimming on this side of the island wonderful. The facilities in the bure were just what you need, a toilet, shower/bath, tea/coffee and air conditioning. The housekeeping staff visit daily to make beds and replenish stock.

People have complained about the buffet food at Mana, but we could not have been happier!! Each night was a different themed food buffet ranging from Seafood to European to Lovo. If you didn't have enough to eat then you can only blame yourself. The food was more than ample and DIVINE!!!! Breakfast was your typical hot buffet with AMAZING fresh fruit.. MMmmm pineapple!!! Drinks were readily available at one of the numerous bars, and the slushies were a must. I think it's more afforable if you choose a food deal with your holiday package, save you a lot of money in the long run.

The Spa was incredible. My daughters and I treated ourselves to a session just before we left. A full body massage with foot/leg ritual will set you back FJD$140 which is a top price for 80 mins. Manicures FJD$ 40 for an hour and colour of your choice and hair braiding FJD$2-3 pre braid. Filo has the hands of a god....

The staff at Mana are such hard workers. Typical Fijians with smiles on their faces and can't do enough to make your time on the island magnificent.

Overall, we will definately head back to Mana, hopefully next year. Don't expect a 5star resort and you won't be disappointed. It's a perfect place to experience an island stay in Fiji that's only a short distance from Denarau.

Room Tip: Bures on the North Side are a LOT closer to the pools and restaurant. The South Side is the jetty si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelly2850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrawee, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Fiji always provides a family friendly, relaxing and fun holiday & Mana delivered exactly that. What it does not deliver is good service or great food (buffet). The South Beach Restaurant is great & the food at the Backpackers Resort next door is excellent and well priced - but the Buffet leave a lot to be desired! We had the full meal plan option and wished we hadn't. The breakfast Buffet needs a complete overhaul - the kitchen cannot keep up with the number of people and food kept running out - it was more like a school canteen. Lunch and dinner buffets were better, but after a few days of the same sort of food, it became tiresome. Cocktail list is good, wine list is non-existent. My advice is to mix it up & eat at the Backpackers for most meals.
Water Sports were excellent - staff very patient and prices very fair. The main pool area needs some renovation - and there are not enough pool lounges or chairs. Activities/entertainment in the evenings was good, but not very inclusive, as most things started late for those who had kids and there didnt seem any encouragement from the staff to be a part of the fun. Kids' Club was excellent - staff lovely (Fijiians love kids - that's why we go there) - but $25 Registration Fee was a bit of a surprise.
Overall it was a great holiday, but there are things that could be improved on Mana - particularly around food quality and organisation.

Room Tip: Oceanview Suite on the South Beach was very spacious, but Bures provide a more Fijiian experience, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kym C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My third stop on my tour of Fiji was to Mana island, and oh boy was it the awesomest of all awesomes.

I stayed in a honeymoon bure, which was great … although a little sad to be there alone. But I did get to go in the ocean for the first (and only) time while I was in Fiji. And the honeymoon bures (which rent for roughly $500 US a night) have their own private beach, their own outdoor shower, and jacuzzi tub … and they give you use of your own personal golf cart. It's also situated right near the entrance of a pretty neat little hike. Basically, it would make for the most amazing honeymoon, if you have the funds and didn't want to go the luxury hotel route.

Mana island would also be a really great place to have a combo wedding and honeymoon. They have three different spots to have a wedding, including a chapel AND underwater locations. They also have several different awesome locations to have your reception. And receptions here could go all night!

Yes, Mana island, would be a sweet location for a perfect Fiji island wedding and honeymoon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeggyFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family visited Mana Island Resort for five days in July 2013 during the Australian school holidays. At the time of our stay, the resort was fully booked. The weather was warm, sunny, with blue skies, and very little wind during the whole of our stay. Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed with song and welcome drinks. The staff are very friendly and always greeted us warmly with “bula”, which is Fijian for hello.

Deluxe ocean view bures accommodation
We were booked to stay in the deluxe ocean view bures on the North beach. As a family of six (with four children ages 10,12,14 and 17 years) we occupied a duplex interconnecting bure numbers 507 and 508. These bures are set well back from the beach with trees and foliage partially obscuring the views. These bures are not actually on the beach. These bures have a private deck with lounge chairs. All accommodation at Mana Island resort and public areas are non-smoking. The only area you may smoke is on your private deck or balcony outside where ash-trays are provided. These bures are air-conditioned with ceiling fans and are comfortable. The bures have a small refrigerator mini bar with soft drinks, Fiji water and beer. We brought our own soft drinks and nibbles with us from the mainland which is much cheaper than buying on the island, if available. The tap water in the bure is quite safe for drinking (although we boiled it first and then allowed it to cool, just to be sure) and there is no need to purchase the more expensive bottled Fiji water. The island’s water comes from a desalinated plant operating on the island. There is NO television in the rooms. We brought a laptop with us and were able to play DVD movies. As Fiji uses the same electricity as we do here in Australia, we were able to re-charge the laptop without any problems – simply plug in directly. No adaptors necessary. Wifi internet connection is available on the island, but you will need to pay for it. The signal strength was “excellent” – but we did not use Wifi during our stay. The bures have timber flooring and were fitted out with two queen beds and a single bed in each room. There is also an in-room safe which we used to store our passports and valuables whilst enjoying the island activities. The housekeeping meets my expectations with beds being re-made, towels changed occurring late in the afternoon. On one occasion, housekeeping removed all the used face washers and forgot to replace them.

Dining
There are two restaurants on Mana Island. The Mamanuca restaurant is located on the North beach side of the island. It is the only restaurant open for breakfast between 7:00 and 10:00 am. The breakfast buffet for $FJD 35 (about $AUD20) per adult (less for children) consists of a selection of fruit juices, fresh fruit, cereals, croissants and pastries. There is also a selection of hot items such as bacon, sausages, spaghetti, baked beans, scrambled eggs, omelettes, hash browns, French fries, pancakes and toast. As this is the only place open for breakfast, it can be difficult to get a table especially at the peak breakfast times. We had to wait about 20 minutes to be seated on one occasion around 9:00 am as the place was very busy. We also experienced items running out and had to wait for them to be replenished, which can be annoying. No glasses, wait. No pancakes, wait. No scrambled eggs, wait. I think it is probably best to avoid the peak times, and found that a late breakfast around 9:30 am worked best especially as my teenagers love to sleep in!
We ate far too much food at the breakfast buffet, so that there was simply no way we could possibly eat lunch. The Mamanuca restaurant does offer a buffet lunch between 12:00 and 2:00 pm for $FJD 30 (about $17.50 AUD) per adult, less for children, or you can go to the South Beach Restaurant for the a-la-carte lunch menu between 12:00 noon and 4:00 pm or pick up a sandwich from pool-side café.
The Mamanuca restaurant also offers a theme buffet dinner from 6:00 pm in the evenings for $FJD65 (about $37 AUD) per adult, less for children. This price does not include any drinks which have to be ordered separately. You may request tap water, free of charge to accompany your meal. It gets dark in Fiji around 6:00 pm, so we were hungry and ready to eat after having skipped lunch and entered the restaurant when it first opened. There is a range of buffet items available, some very good, some over-cooked, others too salty, or too spicy which is a matter of taste. Every night the buffet does have a “kids corner” with a selection of items that are supposed to appeal to kids such as pizza, pasta, fried fish, and so on. There is a poor range of dessert items. No ice-cream was on offer. There is usually a choice of two slices, such as a chocolate slice, or a vanilla slice of cake which looked “boring”. The fresh fruit selection is very good, though. We particularly enjoyed the fresh pineapple which was juicy sweet and just right. Ice creams can be purchased from the boutique on the island or the ice cream bar beside the main pool.
The other choice of restaurant is on the South Beach. The South Beach restaurant offers an a-la-carte dining menu for dinner and is open from 6:30 pm. It is necessary to make a booking for this restaurant in advance, usually before lunch time. Some people actually book it the moment they arrive on the island for the entire duration of their stay. The restaurant has a wonderful ambience with views across the beach. The table is set with real linen table cloth and napkins, unlike the Mamanuca restaurant which uses disposable paper napkins. The lighting is dimmed and there is soft Fijian music playing in the background. The service is outstanding and very courteous. We were made to feel like honoured guests, and were promptly offered complimentary bread rolls, and even a second round of bread rolls whilst we were waiting for out dinner. The a-la-carte dinner menu is the same one every day. There is a selection of items on the menu, pizza, fish, beef, pork based. I chose a beef scotch fillet item with accompanying leek and mashed potato. I requested that the scotch fillet be prepared “medium” and confirmed with the waiter that “medium” meant it would have a pink middle. Much to my disappointment, the scotch fillet was extremely well-done and dry. I complained and the staff were most professional, and apologetic, and cheerfully brought me a plate of steamed vegetables as requested, as I was not wishing to try to get the steak right again. My teenage son ordered a beef fillet “medium” and his was cooked just perfect. There is also a kids menu for children up to the age of 12 years. The South Beach restaurant is probably more expensive than the buffet if you intend to order entrée, main, and desserts. We simply ordered the main meal as we had been eating extremely generous helpings at the breakfast buffet over the past few days.
Mana Island resort does offer meal plans, but I am not sure that they offer any savings and you might prefer flexibility.

Island boutique shop
There is a small boutique on the island. It stocks clothing and souvenir items. It has a very limited range of soft drinks, chips and nuts which are very expensive. It also stocks frozen ice creams such as cornettos, magnums, and other frozen treats. I did not see any milk available to purchase, but maybe I missed it?

The beach and activities
The beaches at Mana Island are outstanding. With white powder sandy beaches, clear blue skies, this is an ideal place for playing in the sand, relaxing in a lounge chair, swimming, diving, snorkelling or other beach activities. Despite the resort being fully booked, there was plenty of space and no problems ever accessing lounge chairs on the beach in the afternoons. It was peaceful and we had our own space of paradise.
There are two beaches at Mana Island. The South beach is generally more busy, but never crowded, as it has the arrival/departure pier, water based activities such as kayaking, sailing, and motorized activities such as jet skis. The water activities bure can provide you with snorkelling equipment including flippers which were in excellent condition.
We kayaked on the South beach, and did snorkelling on the North Beach. I highly recommend the snorkelling on the North Beach at high tide. I have never been able to get the hang of the face mask and snorkel, so I simply use my ordinary swimming goggles and float across the top. Whilst we were at Mana Island, the waters were calm. The water temperature is surprisingly warm and very comfortable for swimming in. I was able to swim past the low lying moss, to the coral formations and spotted a huge variety of different types of fish. There are bumble bee colored fish, electric blues, oranges, stripey fish and huge schools of fish feeding off the coral formations. The fish are so plentiful and swim within hand’s reach of your fingers. The coral formations are very colourful and interesting to look at. The North beach is very attractive for swimming, too. I have been to Malolo Island resort last year (July 2012, see my review) and would rate the Mana Island beaches as much better.
There are also extensive walking paths available on Mana Island. If you have sufficient energy, you can probably walk around the entire Mana Island along the beaches in several hours. We walked to Sunset Beach and the Lookout point and witnessed the magnificent views across the lagoon. The walking is much better or Mana Island than Malolo Island resort which we visited last year.
We also played tennis on the tennis court in the late afternoon when the sun was not quite so intense after spending the afternoons at the beach. It is a green painted concrete hard surface. We were able to borrow tennis rackets and balls from the games room. We also played table tennis and pool in the games room.
There are two swimming pools on Mana Island, both located near the North Beach. There is a general swimming pool and the other is an adults’ only swimming pool. The swimming pool decking is concrete, quite safe, but simply a little rough on the feet in places. The concrete decking shows signs of age and erosion.

Ratu Kini’s Backpackers on Mana Island
There is a backpackers hostel located on Mana Island. It is NOT shown on the island map you are provided with by the resort. The backpackers, a Fijian primary school, church, and also a village are located to the right of the jetty and waiting bure. Simply follow the path to the right. You will come to a mesh fence with a gate and are permitted to walk through. There is a small check point before where the staff will simply ask your room number and note the number of adults and children passing through. Of course, you can simply walk along the beach without going through this check-point. Mana Island resort simply wishes to keep track of guests. We visited the backpacker’s restaurant and looked through the menu. Items are very well priced, but we were not happy with the atmosphere. Smoking is permitted throughout the restaurant. The clientele is usually young singles, particularly males aged 18 to 30 years who like drinking, gambling, and swearing. I had a negative impression of the atmosphere, ambience of the place so did not actually eat here. In the village along the path you can buy Fijian crafts such as bracelets, necklaces mostly between $5FJD to $10FJD. There is also hair braiding available here.

Kids Club
Mana Island does have a kids club with outdoors playground equipment and an indoor activity room. There is a registration fee (about $25FJD) which must be paid before using the club. Most of the kids using the kids club appeared to be aged between 5 and 8 years old. I felt the kids activity program and facilities were better at Malolo Island Resort with more variety and stimulating activities. My ten year old loved her visit to the kids club at Mololo Island resort last year and wished to look at the kids club at Mana Island. My daughter decided she wasn’t interested in kids club at Mana this year.

Checkout time
Check-out time is 10:00 am. We were requested to have our bags on the outside deck ready for the porter by 9:00 am. This suited us, as we were leaving the island at 10:30 am on the transfer to Denerau.

We all very much enjoyed our visit to Mana Island and plan to return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Island
13.4 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
427 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
866 reviews
3.4 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,621 reviews
6.8 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,312 reviews
5.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Island Resort

Property: Mana Island Resort
Address: P. O. Box 610, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mana Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mana Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Island Hotel Mana Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing