We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mana Island Bliss can't wait to go back”
Review of Mana Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mana Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Collaroy Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Mana Island Bliss can't wait to go back”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We went to Mana Island in February this year for 4 nights and have booked to go back for another 5 nights in December/Jan this year. Whilst the accommodation was basic- there were fresh flowers in the bathroom, the rooms were clean, the air con cold, the showers hot - what more could you want, when there is a whole island to explore! And as there is a lot of accommodation available we felt like we were the only people there! I had forgotten how clean smelling and pretty FIJI is..... ( after loads of Bali trips).

The snorkeling is so AMAZING ! That's why we we to Mana island, the sunsets are amazing a few different beaches to visit , plus. 2 pools, there was so much to do or not do.Yes the food was average but again go to a 5 star on the mainland if that's what you want , that's what we did either side of our trip the best of both worlds!

The Bula bus takes you out to Sunset Beach, there are lots of activities and all running to time.

Just enjoy the experience ! I truly felt like it was an amazing place to visit, and we can't wait for the Christmas holidays.....

Room Tip: Take your own snacks and drinks , there are fridges in the room and you can get ice at the bar! We s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    637
    244
    117
    94
See reviews for
771
494
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for 10 nights, me, my husband and 2 half yr old daughter. I had read alot of reviews prior to our trip and was quite sceptical but we went anyway. The people are very welcoming and friendly, our room was nice & clean (Ocean front suite, split-level South Beach side). I think this block of suites weren't too old, as they were very modern. I was a little worried at first, all the stairs with a toddler but in actual fact she learnt to manage them very well (we don't have any stairs at home). No tv which is nice, so we took our portable dvd for our daughter in the afternoon for quiet time and this worked like a treat.

The Resort itself is quite big and manages to encompass loads of people, we never felt it was too busy apart from dining at the South Beach restaurant (al la carte) where you had to book (we booked a couple of days out to get the time we wanted). We felt the other restaurant, Mamanuca, was costly. It was the only place for breakfast $35FJ pp full buffet only option available, lunch was $30FJ pp once again buffet and then dinner was $65FJ pp. If you are big eaters then you'll love the lunch and dinner there. Room service consisted of pizza and fries only!! The backpackers along South Beach had good cheap meals (take cash). The food was good, we never had any sickness (as I have read previously).

Our daughter went into the Mei-Mei club (under 3 yrs) alternate days and was really happy when we picked her up. We also used the babysitting service a couple of times in the evening, also very good as we got the same lady who looked after our daughter during the day so it was nice and easy.

We swam at both beaches, North Beach the tide goes out further, but lovely when its in. South Beach we swam more merely because our room was that side and you could still swim in shallow water while the tide went out - great for littlies! There were two pools, both good except the decking was dodgy (needs replacement). We typically went at lunchtime when it was quiet and this worked well.

There is loads to do on the island, snorkeling, canoeing, hobycat sailing, walk around the island (check tides first though), walk up Lookout point and also visit Sunset Beach. We also paid for the Submarine trip, great for kids. You go beneath the boat as they motor around the reef so you can see the coral and fish - our daughter LOVED it! You must also have a massage, gets you right into relaxing!

In general, a lovely place to stay, needs a little improvement here and there but it is only a 3half star property, so if your're going, don't expect 4 star or higher.

We would love to go back again!

Room Tip: The Ocean front suites had a great layout with loads of room. Downstairs there was a lounge area &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 3oftheHamiltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have stayed at Mana a few times and overtime i come away feeling totally relaxed, the snorkelling is amazing, seeing such beautiful,colourful fish and coral, sitting on the sun lounge on the beach directly outside our room, we ate dinner at the south beach restaurant and had the most delicious cooked salmon, desert of banana crepe with chocolate sauce was yummy too, kids could wonder around the resort, swim in the pool, play in the games room, swim in the beach, snorkel, theres plenty to do to keep you entertained or you can do as little as you like and just sit back and relax, the sunset on the beach was AMAZING, if you get a chance walk up to the lookout at sunset and you can take fantastic photos, our family beach side room was beautifully decorated and slept 5 of us comfortably, definitely going back to stay at Mana resort again one day!!!!!!!

Room Tip: we were a family of 5, 3 adults and 2 children and we had a family beach bure on the north side beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanette w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Anything I can write here is going to make any justice to our experience in Mana Island Resort & Spa.

We just came from our honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for more.

As soon as you put your feet in the island you can get an idea of what your holiday is going to be. Everyone approaches you with a big smile and a positive attitude that is greatly missed here in Sydney. The service is impeccable. Yes, Fiji time, but everything is done to the detail and with care. And since you are there to relax, you shouldn't been in a rush.

The island is big enough to accommodate all the guests. We went in the busiest time of the year and never had the feeling of being crowded. There are 3 beaches available, each one for a different type of activity. North beach for sun bathing, south beach for aquatic sports and sunset beach for a romantic and private moment. The snorkelling in the island is stunning and it is a must.

The food is probably the weakest feature only if you are spending more than a week there as the offer is not extremely extensive.

The Spa is an oasis of pleasure in the middle of the resort. Great relaxing atmosphere and great skilled staff. Price is a bit expensive for Fiji but way cheaper than in Sydney. Believe me, you won't regret paying the price of the massage. Worth every dollar.

I strongly recommend this resort to everyone who want to have a nice and relaxed holiday in a paradise island.

We are already planning our next trip next year as with no doubt will be back to this magical island.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honeymoon Bure but when we come back next year we will probably go for the Deluxe O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oierruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

6 nights - 2A and 3C in Deluxe Ocean View Bure. Plenty of room but note its only one room with seperate bathroom. Two eating options - north side buffet and south side al-a-cart. Also nearby backpackers give cheaper options as well and I heard good reports. Plenty of choice on the buffet but in general pretty average. Other restaurant was much better. The MAIN attraction is the location - great scenery and the snorkeling was very good. Take a walk to the east end (Sunset beach), dive off the northern beach (top of the runway) and swim out to the first drop off (about 10m deep). Also caught the seaspray to some nearby islands (including the some they filmed Cast Away) - that was a great day with snorkeling, village visit and lunch (best meal of the holiday). Kids enjoyed relaxing on hammock with a book and didn't pine for TV. Enough extra enertainment to keep us busy. If you like your alcohol then remeber to bring your own (even if you buy in Nadi) but note corkage is very high. Excellent weather and any rain didn't last long.

Room Tip: If parents want their own room then get the apartments on south beach. Deluxe Ocean View Bure rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dbodey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Mana island resort for seven nights, overall we had a wonderful time but the resort could certainly be improved.

Highlights
The sensational beach/snorkelling off the two main beaches - north and south
The privacy of the north beach, relaxing with only the sounds of waves crashing around you
The friendly staff
The ala carte restaurant on south beach
The polynesian dance night - amazing and lots of fun
The seaspray day trip - highly recommend this

Lowlights
The buffet (very average and overpriced)
Being driven to sunset beach then forgotten about, no one picked us up and after we made the walk back in the dark no one seemed to care/compensate us with so much as a free drink
The pools were quite ordinary - awful rough concrete around the main pool
Facilities quite run down
The cockroaches in the room - it's hard on a tropical island as bugs are a way of life but waking up a few times with a cockroach crawling on you isn't the best

Room Tip: Spend more time on the North Beach rather than the South Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatureAndBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Beaches - white sandy beautiful. Beachfront deluxe bures - for our family of 5 - perfect! Serviced daily :) Snorkeling - best we have seen in Fiji! Saw sting rays; sharks, nemo & family!
Resort Spa - had our girls hair braided here and had the famous sugar scrub fijian massages. However, very disappointed when greeted at reception by a stern Japanese lady, where was our friendly Fijian face? The Massage are done by the Fijians - and absolutely outstanding! But just do not understand why they choose to have Japanese people running the main areas of the resort?
The Food - Not great! I know we dont expect too much in Fiji, but the food was very average. I think they are trying to please too many people, they need to simplify and freshen up the food in both restaurants! We found the backpackers quite refreshing after eating at the resort for too many nights! At least the food seemed fresher! A couple of us did get tummy bugs from the resort food - so be careful what you eat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Island
6.5 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
585 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
896 reviews
9.1 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki ...
#2 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
81 reviews
6.8 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,388 reviews
3.4 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Island Resort

Property: Mana Island Resort
Address: P. O. Box 610, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mana Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mana Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Island Hotel Mana Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing