We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, good value resort & beautiful beaches”
Review of Mana Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mana Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My partner and I chose to stay at Mana Island Resort from a number of other options, based in part on the facilities on offer and the recommendations of friends who had been a year earlier, and we couldn't have been happier with our decision.

The resort really is the archetype of a tropical island getaway, with a lovely resort surrounded by white sand beaches and sparkling blue sea. We arrived by ferry from Denerau, which took about 90 minutes, to be welcomed by some traditional Fijian songs played on acoustic guitar. Guided across the island to the main resort area, we sipped some refreshing drinks while our cases were delivered to our room.

The room itself was fabulous, a two-level villa-style room on South Beach, the location of which I was initially a little hesitant about since it wasn't on the (much nicer) North Beach, but this location was actually perfect as it allowed us some quiet away from the main resort area, which was only a short walk when we wanted to go there.

Being surrounded by beaches there's always one suitable for swimming or sunbathing at, regardless of the wind direction. North Beach is the pick of the beaches, with beautiful waters leading out to other islands in the distance. Sunset Beach is also a nice spot for a swim, and being about a half hour walk away from the main resort is generally very quiet; perfect for a romantic dip.

The resort's facilities offer plenty for all guests whether travelling as a couple or with a family. Two pools, tennis courts, table tennis tables and plenty more, plus a wide range of free activities you can check out (such as cooking and coconut collecting/tasting).

There's also about as much variety in dining as you could expect on a smallish tropical island, with a buffet restaurant on North Beach serving different themed dinners each night (themed as in cuisine, not dressing up!), and an a la carte restaurant on South Beach where you can dine on the outdoor balcony to the sound of waves lapping against the shore. There's also a well-stocked bar at South Beach with the ever-friendly Radio making the drinks; be sure to try some of his famous cocktails, they're delicious.

In sum, I'd have no hesitation recommending Mana Island Resort to anyone seeking an island escape. It's friendly, well-maintained and good value. Don't be put off by negative reviews; unless you're expecting 5-star facilities for a 4-star price, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on North Beach are more central, but those on South Beach are quieter and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OceanSoulNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

872 - 878 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great hotel,food great,activities great room great, snorkeling in the sea with the free snorkeling gear that's amazing. The backpackers on the other side of the beach is good for cheaper food. The two swimming pools are good two, the different buffet food at night was good, if you like somewhere to relax this is the place for you

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We are a family of 4, with a 7 and 10 year old. The resort staff could not be friendlier and whilst most things work on "Fiji time" we never had to ask twice for anything.
Our kids didn't use the kids club however there was plenty to occupy them. They even offer diving for 10 year olds which gave our son a real buzz!
The snorkeling off the North beach was best and you can get gear from both sides of the island/resort.
The only negative on the whole resort is the meal package for lunch. We only purchased half board (breakfast and dinner) thinking we could just order from a pool bar menu for lunch, however the only non buffet option was pizza. 3 buffet meals a day is just too much food! But we just had good breakfasts and then enjoyed our dinner! There is an ice cream hut that does New Zealand ice cream and smoothies so that filled the whole at lunch time.
We would definately recommend this resort and enjoyed our time. We stayed in a Deluxe beach bure, but next time would probably upgrade to the suites which have a bit more room. That said, the bure are still larger than a normal hotel room.

Room Tip: The rooms on the north beach are less wind prone and closer to the main restaurant. For a family of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at Mana , as our daughter chose to be married there, What a wonderful choice. There were 27 of us and everyone loved it, the accomodation was lovely, my daughter and her hubby stayed in 203 facing the beach it was stunning , the island bures are clean and comfortable and the outdoor showers are fantastic, we ate every night at the south beach resturant and only ate at the buffet for breakfast, we found prices quite reasonable. The snorkelling off Sunset beach was amazing and the walk to the lookout is worth it. The staff are friendly and helpful ,but sometimes the language barrier is a hindrence, a smile doesn't always mean they understand. We loved our time on Mana and would definately consider returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chambosix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at the Mana Island Resort for 5 nights around early September was there for the Mana Island Ocean Swim festival. Travelling with me was my wife and 14 year old son plus my mate and his sister. Every one of us loved the resort. On arrival we were upgraded to an Oceanfront Suite on the south beach. We were booked to stay in an Deluxe Ocean View bure on the north beach and I was wary of an upgrade after reading some comments but the staff member said trust me you want to take it and if you don’t like it you can change back the next day.Turned out they were right the room was great. It was an excellent very large 2 story suite. Our son slept downstairs we stayed upstairs. The room is not 5 star but it was clean and tidy. My mate and his sister stayed in the Deluxe Ocean View Bure on the north beach. They also loved their room. As for the staff we all found them extremely friendly and helpful. The staff helped us sort out an issue with our meal vouchers that had been arranged by our travel agent. We had no troubles at all dealing with the staff. Our meal voucher package covered all meals. Yeah the buffet area got crowded at times but hey you are on holidays it’s not that big of a deal. The buffet lunch with the barbecue was great. As for dinner we really enjoyed going to the south beach restaurant. Afternoon happy hour drinks by the pool was everyone’s favourite. Drinks service was excellent. Went there expecting Fiji time when it came to ordering food and drink but found the service was prompt. Once the ocean swims were over spent most of the time snorkelling and exploring the island. The water and surrounding reefs are truly amazing. None of us wanted to leave. We are already thinking about going back next year, hopefully for the swim festival again. If you want a laid back enjoyable holiday you cannot go wrong with the Mana Island resort.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet peacefully time then the north beach deluxe ocean view bures are great. If you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just came back from a wonderful week at the Mana Island Resort with my 12 year old daughter. The staff are lovely, warm and welcoming. Two beautiful beaches to choose from. Visiting the local school was a highlight. Sarah had her hair braided by Esther in the local village - fantastic and very well priced compared to elsewhere. The breakfast was fantastic and also enjoyed the buffet dinners. A meal in the South Beach restaurant was also very special. Lots of activities that you can choose to join. Sarah enjoyed bingo each afternoon at 5pm during happy hour by the pool. Also enjoyed the evening entertainment. It is not a 5 star resort but the facilities were very nice and we loved the outdoor shower in our bure. Overall an excellent place for families with a kids club and babysitting available for those who want it. A very safe place for children. Older children are well catered for as well. The lack of electronic entertainment was a welcome relief.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the end of September 2012 and although the staff on the island are wonderful (particular mention of Filo the beauty therapist at the Spa) the resort is so expensive to eat at, that it ruined our trip. Come on - $24 for a hamburger and another $13 for a bowl of fries! We had a beach front bure which are relatively new I think. The room and facilities in the room were first class and we fitted 2 adults and 3 children in comfortably. They do however need proper paths that lead off the main paths to each bure. As it rained a lot during our stay, the sand/dirt that we had to walk through to get to our bure was not nice. The grounds were mostly flooded so you had to find the best way around the flooded areas.
Happy hour was from 5-6pm every night. However I do need to mention that even during happy hour, a stubby of beer was $13.50 whereas a pina colada was only $14.

Room Tip: The deluxe ocean front bure was good for a family of 5 people to fit into.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Island
19.2 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,307 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
9.1 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
940 reviews
18.5 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,217 reviews
18.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Island Resort

Address: P. O. Box 610, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range: $148 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mana Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mana Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Island Hotel Mana Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing