We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“saphire in a sea of jade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tadrai Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

if god exists i now know where he lives your mind is only capable of exsperiencing so much beauty but our minds have been absolutely blown away we just spent the most unbelievable escape in fiji on tadrai resort private luxury secluded sophistication vercace meets bond once you experience tadrai you actually feel like you dont want to be anywhere else in the world every detail is understated elogance with only ten state of the art villas you are sourounded by the ultimate in cuisine luxury and service like no other the colour palet is like being immersed in a sea of precious jewels i challenge anyone to find any other resort that even comes close to this saphire of indulgent beauty we are already planing our return every one has to experience this mana island brilliance it will stay in our minds memory forever we cried on the plane omg omg

Room Tip: every villa is simply mind bogling it will blow your brain
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beatrice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talei B, Executive Director at Tadrai Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Ni Si Bula

Many thanks for posting your highly enthusiastic review of our wonderful Resort.

It was our great pleasure to host you and your partner in Paradise. Seru, Vanessa, myself and the rest of the dedicated Tadrai team enjoyed meeting you both and certainly hope we can replicate the perfect weather conditions you experienced during your next stay.

Your favourite fresh lobster (sashimi) appetiser has become a signature dish!

We hope that you will be able to take advantage of the longer break you’re planning for your next escape.

We agree that nowhere quite compares with Tadrai...

Our best wishes to you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Tadrai Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 127 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our stay was unforgettable! Tadrai is a beautiful, luxurious and friendly place to stay! Tim and Vanessa (resort manager) have done everything to make our stay memorable! THEY ALWAYS SAY YES TO EVERYTHING WE WANT! One of the best hotels in the world! The staff is very friendly, the food and beverages very good, and the resort wonderful! Very beautiful views from our spacious and comfortable room! We spent 6 amazing nights there and we desperately wanted to stay for longer! The reef in front of the hotel is fantastic, with lovely fishes, starfishes and turtles! The helicopter transfer is really nice! We really loved to stay at Tadrai! The best island resort in Fiji! If you enjoy relaxing, this is the place to go! WE REALLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RenataeMauricio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

OMG Tadrai what can i say
this is one amazing resort. we take our hat off to Tim Vanessa and the team.
where to start... we had the most wonderful time, 7 days went so fast. it was so relaxing.
Tim and Vanessa really went out of there way to make our stay perfect.
the food was amazing, every day breakfast lunch and dinner was an experience, every meal was perfect, Vanessa and her team in the kitchen turned out the most beautiful food. any thing you wanted you got. the boys titto, nikko. squirral, thomasi, sam, paulie, smalls, tima, russie, joe. you guys are the best. always there when needed but not in your face, you guys made our holiday perfect. Tim you have a great team there. i was there on my birthday, and was made to feel like a queen.

if you want to really relax and escape this is the place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mermaid_girl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Where to start, our three night stay was everything I could ever have wished for.... and a whole lot more.
I found the setting to be idyllic, the crystal clear water, white sand and the bungalows were second to none. The photos just don't seem to quite do it justice.
Our private plunge pool was a special treat and made for that extra touch of romance.
Dining experience was just wonderful, the wine selection outstanding.
The service provided was exceptional in every respect, nothing was too much trouble. Our daily activities were planned to perfection and Tadrai staff were present when needed and unobtrusive when we were looking for some privacy. I could not have been happier with our holiday experience. My only disappointment was it was just too short. I can't wait to return sooner rather than later. In a word, wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank h2opro76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I had an incredible stay at Tadrai. I will never forget walking into my villa and my jaw dropping at how luxurious it truly was. We spent 5 amazing nights there and I desperately wanted to stay for longer. In fact, our helicopter back to the airport was delayed by 30minutes and I've never been happier to recieve news of a delayed flight! I cannot imagine anyway else in Fiji/the world where you can pop over to the bar for a glass of Moet champagne whilst the staff teach you a traditional Fijian song - AMAZING! The staff were extremely friendly and lovely, which made the trip so memorable. They help create an incredibly relaxed environment. Had two trips to Castaway Island which was probably the highlight, such a beautiful place. It was also great to have Niko, Rusi and Paul with us who went out of their way to find interesting things to see and do. The food throughout the trip was amazing. Everyday I would wake up excited for the the meals to come! Had two great massages from Tesla and Tomasi. Enjoyed brilliant entertainment throughout my stay, from great singing to hilarious dancing! Overall... Tadrai is a beautiful, luxurious and friendly place to stay. If you enjoy relaxing, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anna-Frances-Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

As an Australian expat living abroad, I have seen many places. Despite this I always come to the conclusion that we still have it better at home. Not so anymore!

Out stay on Tadrai Island Resort was the perfect tropical getaway: an exquisite island to explore while being looked after by top notch staff. No request was too much trouble for the Manager Tim, who was always at hand (seemingly 24/7) to attend to our every need. Chef Soni whipped up some tasty local delicacies for us, including fish we watched being caught straight off Tadrai beach. Tomasi (literally) ran beachside with an endless supply of “special” cocktails for us. :)

We had originally intended to take on some of the day trips which could be arranged from the Resort, but found ourselves so relaxed and happy in our villa that we spent almost the entire 8 days just happily soaking up the tropical sun!

We were eventually persuaded to venture out to the sandbar just off the Resort for a Robinson Crusoe-style picnic and snorkelling. The marine life and water clarity here is just sensational and I highly recommend you try this.

Change nothing. Tadrai has it all. Great service, friendly staff and luxurious accommodation. We’ll be back for sure, hopefully for our Honeymoon!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Blakeovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Bula Blakeovich,

Thank you so much for your fabulous feedback to Tadrai and the team. Tomasi is still running with the coctails, Chef is creating gourmet wonders and your sand Island just looks amazing today like a mirage........

Please let me know if I can help with your honeymoon one day, Seru has perfected the most amazing intimate dinner set ups that will take your breath away.

Vinaka and kindest regards, Talei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Firstly, Tadrai Island Resort is NOT an actual Island... Tadrai Resort is located on Mana Island which is home to lots of backpackers and low budget accommodation, so the name is misleading and deceptive.
The name should be Tadrai Resort on Mana Island!!
The resort is located on a rocky outlook and contains 5 Bures. Four on the beach (you can only access the water and boating facilities at a high tide) and one located on a hill above the other 4 Bures. There are no walking trails so you are basically trapped at the resort unless you manage to get off, which can't happen at low tide. There is no jetty so when the tide goes out you have to try and walk over sharp coral some 300 or more metres to get to deeper water. If it's privacy you want, just forget it. Unless you close all the doors and blinds, there is a constant parade of staff and other guests right in front of your bure. In fact if the resort is not full, the staff sit on guest facilities right near your bure to talk and laugh. Then if you were unfortunate enough to be staying in front of the bure (thankfully we weren't) where the catamaran is beached, you get to have staff and guests using it, look directly at you and inside your bure.
The food standard and service is atrocious! Waiting two hours to get your breakfast with only one or two other couples at the resort was the norm. Food quality, variety and presentation is not even up to "pub" standard. Many times it didn't even turn up hot.... How can that happen when the chef is only cooking at most for 5 couples? The resort is currently managed by a young man named Tim and his girlfriend Sian, who is the food and beverage manager/guest services/relations person. They are totally out of their depth and neither has managed or worked on an island resort before. The staff do have fun though and are very pleasant.
The resort appears to be owned and operated by the same people who run Sonasali Resort back on the mainland. Having had the misfortune to once stay there, the similarites are frightening similar.
They also promote spa treatments. Well there is NO spa facility. If you want to be massaged without privacy in an open hut you can or the other option is in your room or bure balcony...
In summary for nearly $1,500.00 per night, forget it, there are much better options..... some very close by....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank TravellerOz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talei B, Resort Manager at Tadrai Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Bula TravellerOZ 2012!

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tadrai Island Resort. We do appreciate all Guest comments in our attempts to constantly improve our performance.

We must say at the outset, however, from the overwhelmingly wonderful reviews we have received since opening Tadrai in September last year, that it was disappointing to receive your comments, especially as we have no record of negative feedback in our Guest Comment book or any other record of dissatisfaction expressed by you during your stay at the Resort.

We are now pleased to have an opportunity to address the issues raised as follows:

With a total land mass in excess of 90 hectares, Mana island, on which Tadrai Island Resort is located, is one of the largest islands in the Mamanuca Group. The island is also home to the customary landowners (from whom the 20 hectare [70 acre] ) Tadrai site is leased on a 99-year native title. The Landowners supplement their income by accommodating short-term travellers within the village –on the other side of the island – well away from the Resort.

There are numerous walking trails throughout the Tadrai property – and Mana island, generally. Tadrai staff regularly accompany Guests on guided expeditions throughout the island, including walks to the local village, to the top of the hills (for panoramic photography) and on nature flora/fauna trails, as previous Guest accolades will attest. In additions, picnics are arranged to any one of Tadrai’s (neighbouring) secluded beaches – including to the delightful South Beach (swim on any tide) by golf buggy.

The Tadrai Romantic Picnic (escorted to a nearby deserted island) – has been a highlight for most Guests.

There is no “jetty” at Tadrai. The reef system around Tadrai forms part of a protected marine reserve and the Resort’s development application accorded with strict environmental undertakings in this regard. Access to the Resort, as you would be aware, is via the Resort’s own fast boat, connecting with the Mana Island Ferry to the mainland (3 services daily), or by helicopter transfers. You are never marooned on Tadrai unless you wish to be!

We regret that you were inconvenienced by staff passing within close proximity of your villa. All villas have rear paved access, and the main entry, other than beach access/outdoor shower– is via the rear door. It is unclear what facilities staff were utilising near your villa, as all villas have direct uninterrupted white sand/landscape only frontages. The catamaran is located on the beach, (not adjacent the villa you occupied) ready for immediate Guest deployment .

Fiji is renowned for the friendly and happy disposition of its people; it is normally this abiding memory which Guests take with them upon departing our shores. We thank you for your comment that the staff are very pleasant and we do apologise if at times their behaviour appeared overly exuberant and light-hearted.

We also regret that our food and service did not meet the standard expected. Whilst not wishing to appear defensive, we suggest that a two hour wait is not the “norm” for breakfast. As you would be aware, there is no set time for meals on Tadrai. Guests are served meals as/when they prefer.

You are misinformed in relation to Resort Manager, Tim. Tim jointed the Tadrai team with previous experience as Resort Manager of an Island Resort.

You are correct, however, in commenting that we promote both alfresco and Spa treatments on Tadrai – in the (air conditioned) privacy of your own villa. Both venues have proven enormously popular with Tadrai clientele.

We thank you for your contribution and wish to assure you that your comments will be used to further improve the unique and wonderful Tadrai Island Resort experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Island
6.1 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
608 reviews
19.8 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
5.2 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,446 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mana Island Resort
Mana Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mana Island
1,604 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tadrai Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tadrai Island Resort

Address: Mana Island Resort, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range: $1,190 - $1,491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tadrai Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone deserves to experience the dream once in a lifetime... Tadrai Island Resort, created exclusively for couples, welcomed its first guests in September 2011. Located in the Mamanuca Island Group at palm-fringed Selena Cove, Tadrai Island Resort is Fiji's first all-inclusive luxury retreat for adults only. The X Factor: Tadrai Island Resort is the ultimate luxury getaway, with five ultra-deluxe 100-metres square beachfront villas guaranteed to provide guests with privacy and tranquility. The Fijian-style luxury villas have been designed with ultra-modern interiors including decadent finishes and an outdoor rain shower and private plunge pool, creating the ultimate romantic sanctuary. Experience the best of Pacific Rim cuisine in the signature Na Vatu Rock Pool Restaurant, or order a gourmet picnic basket to savour at one of Tadrai's four secluded white sandy beaches. Activities are tailored to your individual interests and include hand-line fishing, kayaks, SUP's and inter-island excursions. For those looking for the ultimate pampering experience, indulge the senses at the Wai Siliva Alfresco Spa - your gateway to Nirvana. Or book in for a private massage or beauty treatment in the comfort of your air-conditioned villa. Each day at sunset, enjoy cocktails in the relaxed ambiance of Na Vatu Bar - a seriously heavenly place to end a lazy or active day in paradise. Live the Dream! For those in search of the ultimate romantic escape, make Tadrai Island Resort you destination - the perfect getaway for honeymooners, romantics and lovers of the very best things in life. Start living your dreams on Tadrai Island Resort... Where everything is included, especially the memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tadrai Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tadrai Island Hotel Mana Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing