We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cockroaches !” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reef House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malolo Lailai Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reef House
paris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cockroaches !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Run off at top speed ! We went in oct for our honeymoon and our stay in the house begun a nightmare. we find big Cockroaches in the house wich came out from all rooms !

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bordewou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiji-grant, owner at Reef House, responded to this review, January 22, 2010
Bula,
I am very sorry you had a bad experience at our house. I got to know you well as I assisted you over a long period in your planning of your honeymoon to Fiji. We even gave you a generous discount as you were young and just starting out in married life. I am pleased to see you have posted a good review of Musket Cove Island Resort and enjoyed your honeymoon in Fiji, once we organised your relocation to another bure.

I had thought we had addressed your concerns fully while you were on the island in Oct 2009. But I now feel I need to respond to this review you have posted 3 months later. I do feel you have given our house a very unfair review.
Your ratings all read low and this cannot be true. Our housekeeper has our house very clean for all guests and over the many years we have had the house and 100’s of guests never before have we had a complaint about the house not being clean. You indicated that the location was bad. We compensated you with a move to a beachfront bure and then it seems from your positive review of Musket Cove you then were happy with the new location.
We can only assume from this you didn’t realise that the house was not right next to the resort pools and other facilities. Although I did explain this to you and it is on our web site, that there is a 10 minute walk, and bikes are supplied for guests’ free use.

All your ratings are the lowest possible for everything, and we find this confusing but accept you had a bad experience. We and the Resort apologized for this at the time and did everything possible to ensure your honeymoon continued on the be a happy time in Fiji and a lasting fond memory.

This is an isolated incident and it seems even in the cleanest of environments a tropical unwanted visitor can enter a man made structure and annoy guests. Fiji is located in the tropics and especially on tropical islands bugs and insects are present, having lived there long before human activities came along, and began building houses and resorts and started living in their backyards. Some travellers who come from metropolitan environments can find it a bit of a shock.

We took immediate action along with the Resort staff and management when this issue was raised with us at the time. Our housekeeper, supervised by the resort housekeeping manager, carried out a full “insect bomb” of the house and one small cockroach was found dead after the treatment. You were still not happy and therefore we agreed to a relocation for the remainder of your stay at no cost to yourselves and supplied you with a complimentary fruit basket, by way of saying sorry for the inconvenience.

We have kept up our systems for keeping bugs and insects under control as much as possible without creating a poisonous environment for humans and hopefully other reviews on this site confirm that we offer a great Fijian experience in a family friendly environment.
The island culture is different to staying at a 5 star concrete resort. We realise this doesn’t suit every individual.

Vinaka,
Grant Ingram
Owner Reef House, located at Musket Cove Island Resort Malolo Lailai Island, Fiji.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
christchurch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

We have just returned from Reef House, where we went to celebrate a 60th birthday. There were 8 of us staying, and we had plenty of room. The bikes that are at the house are an absolute bonus, and we had so much fun going from Musket Cove to Plantation to the pool at the timeshares on them. There is so much to do on the island, and we just loved it.

The house has every amenity, and a lovely lady, Vukei who comes each day to tidy up. Vukei enjoyed the 60th birthday celebrations with us!!

My husband thought it was a shame that we didn't have a pool at the house, but I thought that was good because of us having a 3 year old with us, and it made us go to the different resorts and beaches to swim.

We enjoyed buying some fish from the locals and cooking it on the barbecue on the Reef House deck.

I would recommend the house to families or groups of people as an economical way to spend a holiday. Lots of fun.

Thanks Grant and Amy.

Regards, Linda Burford

  • Liked — Plenty of room
  • Disliked — The mosquitoes and a bit far to walk to resorts, luckily we had bikes
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank akaroa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2008

Our family consisting of grandparents, three grown-up children, a teenager and two small grandchildren needed to find a place that had a beautiful beaches, lovely scenery, good weather, fishing, snorkelling, a bit of night-life and good food when we did not feel like cooking for ourselves. We were all coming from different countries viz. South Africa, the UK and Australia and we didn`t want a long trip for the two little ones. So we decided on Fiji. Reef House kept on popping up so we decided after looking at a number of web-sites that we would take a chance and book for two weeks. The owners Grant and Amy Ingram were very helpful and I know that they especially left things in their house for us to help our stay be even more comfortable.

Well, it was the best decision that we could have made. We arrived at this beautiful island paradise totally exhausted and left with the greatest desire to go back there again as soon as we can. The time flew by and we did not have enough time to do everything that we wanted to.

The staff at Musket Cove the local resort who also look after Reef House were friendly and very helpful. We had our own housekeeper who came in every day and tidied and swept etc. Ba (Va) a lovely young woman. We had everything that we could possibly need at the house, including bicycles and the cherry on the top, a pushchair for the nearly 4 yr.old who would not have enjoyed walking in the heat. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of space for all of us but I would say that the couple sleeping in the lounge suffered a bit with the heat. There is air-conditioning in the two main large bedrooms which was a life-saver and ceiling fans everywhere including the smaller bedroom and lounge. It was also a bonus having two bathrooms. After the rain it was a difficult sitting outside on the verandha because of the mosquitoes but we still managed to have some peaceful time out there. The kitchen has all the basics that one could possibly need for cooking, utensil and equipment-wise. It really is a comfortable lovely house.

The ten minute walk to Musket Cove Resort was not a problem for any of us as those who didn`t feel like walking used one of the 5 bicycles. Each time we walked we marvelled at the beauty of the place. It was very green as they had had some good rain. We found the walk to be very good exercise and it is flat terrain all the way except a small rise to the bridge over the one inlet.

Musket Cove is a very pretty resort and we thoroughly enjoyed going there for very good meals, beautifully presented at Dick`s Place. We had Christmas Dinner, New Year`s Eve dinner and the traditional pig on a spit dinner which were all delicious. We had good breakfasts, cakes, teas and coffees and lunches at the Coffee Shop and could buy just about anything that we needed at the shop there. Fresh vegetables were a little bit of a problem sometimes but we managed fine. Stock up on fresh milk when it comes in as we sometimes had to have long-life which we didn`t enjoy so much but discovered that condensed milk in coffee was a yummy replacement. The shop is not cheap but it is still much cheaper to cook for yourself and just have the odd meal when you feel like it at the resort.

There are two pools to swim in and we spent most of our swimming time, when we weren`t snorkelling, at the main pool area which is lovely. The sea-views at sunset and indeed anytime from behind the pool overlooking the beach were inspirational. Our one son took some very lovley photos.

The snorkelling was safe and really worthwhile doing. Never seen anything so beautiful as the fish on the reefs. Breathtaking. Plenty of Nemos!!! Be very careful NOT to put your fins down on the reefs though as this can cause terrible damage which can take years to come right and once you have been there you will want to keep it all preserved for future generations and will find yourself getting very upset by people who have no regard for the delicacy of the reefs. We wanted to go out snorkelling twice a day but mostly found we were quite tired as we just didn`t want to stop swimming and looking once we got into the warm water. The guides that took us out were very friendly and helpful. Each time after we got back from our snorkelling trip we would rush off to the Island Bar for a strawberry milkshake or a Pina Colada (sp?). This is a must and we would all excitedly talk about our experiences and what we had seen. Aah it brings back so many memories of this wonderful wonderful holiday. I could just weep!! We have to go back!

The beach at Musket Cove is really beautiful and we found that we could easily swim from the beach near where the Time-Share places were to snorkel as well so did not always have to go out on the arranged trip. BUT the guides really do take you to wonderful and different places. We recommend these trips highly especially the one to the Sandbank!!!!! For a very reasonable fee you can hire snorkel, goggles and fins for a week.

There is also a laundry there at Musket Cove and the staff at the shop will very kindly transfer your washing from the washer to the dryer if you ask them so you don`t have to wait around. The shop staff will go and switch the macines on for you as they have the disks.

For people wanting a bit of night-life there is plenty going on a the other resort about another 10 minute walk from Musket Cove called Plantation Island Resort. Our teenager enjoyed going there with her Mum quite often as there were plenty of other young people there. We much preferred Musket Cove as it is peaceful and quiet there.

We made the most of the fresh coconuts that fall from the trees. It is a bit of a battle to get them open as we did not have a machete but once achieved it was worth the effort. Delicious and healthy.

Our fisherman son caught some very nice fish which we had for dinner at night but he found it hard to kill them as they are beautiful. A local fisherman brought some fish that he had caught and we bought from him the one day.

I don`t think it is necessary to boil the water which we got from the rainwater tank outside but we did to be on the safe side because of the small children.

It rained very heavily for a couple of days while we were there but it didn`t get us down as it wasn`t cold and it was a respite after the hot weather. This was after all mid-summer. Our beautiful grandaughter and our son`s fiancee danced in the rain with much encouragement from the rest of us ninnies on the verandah.

We left Reef house with heavy hearts as we don`t know when we will ever have such a fabulous holiday again and we highly recommend the place. We loved every minute of our time there and we want to thank Amy and Grant Ingram for letting us stay in their home. We came to the island on the big Cat and flew out in a small plane. Both exciting but I recommend flying the rather.

Helpful?
3 Thank sunlover014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiji-grant, owner at Reef House, responded to this review, April 21, 2008
Vinaka for the great review. Also your family sharing with us a cd with a wonderful picture record of your Fijian holiday was so kind, thank you. Amy, Bradley, Denver and myself enjoyed viewing all the photos, it is so rewarding to us, to see other families enjoying our house and getting to know the lovely Fijian people. We love going back there and going to church in the village, being privilaged to be accepted into thier homes after church and sharing traditional Fijian meals with their families is something we value very highly.
I have just returned from 10 days there and completed a project that has now created a new path down to a private beach area below the house.
I also dined with Va, Vukei and their families in the village after church and ate fish and lovo bread, after handing out gifts from NZ to all their children.
Warm regards,
Grant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

We spent a wonderful 11 days recently staying at the Reefhouse
on Malololailai Island Fiji. A fantastic home far enough away from the resorts without being isolated. The house is lovely and comfortable, fully self contained with all the creature comforts you need, particularly when a cyclone passes you by and you have terrible weather for 2 days. There was heaps of room for our 4 kids to spread out and have their own space. They loved enjoying the beach at the end of the properrty and climbing the hills surrounding this private part of the island. Even though this is a private house, we used all the facilities at Musket Cove (an enjoyable 15 min walk) and Plantation Resort (which is another 10 min walk), including some great restaurants, shops for stocking up supplies at the house, kids club, activities, swimming pools and snorkelling. The house is cleaned daily by the wonderful and friendly Fijians. I would highly recommend a stay at the Reefhouse for large/extended families - guaranteed to have a fantastic time! I have attached some photos of the home and some of the wonderful activities available around the island. Enjoy!

  • Liked — Private and self contained home yet with all the amenities of a fully fledged resort in a beautiful location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank debw_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiji-grant, owner at Reef House, responded to this review, February 21, 2008
Thanks Deb for the lovely review you have done on our house. Makes us realise how lucky we are to be able to own and holiday there when we want.
The photos are fantastic.
Thanks again,
Grant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2007

My wife and I recently holidayed in Fiji with our daughter, son in law and four grandchildren. We stayed at a delightful house on the small island of Malolo Lai Lai, situated about 15 ks west of Nadi.
The privately owned house is called REEF HOUSE and is located adjecent to Musket Cove Resort. The beauty of staying in Reef House, was that we were totally independant, yet were able to use all the facilities of the resort. Best of both worlds.

Reef House is completely self contained, and even had fishing gear, all conveniences, and even bicycles for guests to use.
We had a wonderful holiday, with plenty of room for the 8 of us.
We were able to hire a village boat and spent the day doing a "resort crawl" around the larger Malolo Island.
We would thoroughly recommend any family, or several couples staying at the REEF HOUSE for an unforgettable Fijian holiday.
The rooms are serviced daily, which also adds to the relaxed holiday experience.
We obtained supplies at the well stocked store very close by, and were totally self sufficient, yet at times, ate at the several good restaurants at the resort. A very unique property.

Helpful?
9 Thank briansculpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiji-grant, owner at Reef House, responded to this review, March 13, 2008
Vinaka Brian, sounds like you had a wonderful family gathering at Reef House.

Amy and I do really enjoy so much getting these lovely reports back from guests. We are making improvements to the house each year and appreciate any suggestions to make family holidays more enjoyable. This year we have added four new beach loungers and new outside deck furniture. Thanks again, and look forward to keeping in touch.
Vinaka Vakalevu,
Grant & Amy Ingram.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
1.1 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
3.5 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.1 mi away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef House

Property: Reef House
Address: 12 Malolo Lailai Island | Musket Cove resort, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you interested in a Fiji vacation where. There are more daylight hours than anywhere else on earth? You can hire a boat and visit many uninhabited islands. People dine out at restaurants in their bare feet? Every water sport and activity imaginable is all within a few minutes of your front door? And you'd like to do all this staying in accommodation that feels more like your own house than a hotel room or resort villa? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reef House Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing