We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!! THIS PROPERTY IS FABULOUS!!! WHAT A GREAT HOLIDAY!!!”
Review of Reef House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malolo Lailai Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reef House
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WOW!!! THIS PROPERTY IS FABULOUS!!! WHAT A GREAT HOLIDAY!!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Well what can i say!!! This home is definately a home away from home. Fabulously well appointed house that leaves you wanting for nothing. My husband, myself and my little girl absolutely loved our stay on Malolo Lai Lai and loved the Reef House. A great home situated in a lovely spot with all of Musket Cove Resort's great amenities at your finger tips.
Vukei (the housekeeper) was so lovely and helpful and we enjoyed a great visit to her village.
Musket Cove Resort Staff were exceptional especially for Babysitting.
The warm smiles, the lovely resort facilities and the gorgeous private beach at the back of The Reef House were just fantastic and well used. A wonderful holiday and definate must do to put on your list. Grant and his family have really thought of everything to make their house guests feel welcome. Thankyou Grant and Family for allowing us to share your piece of paradise. A great family holiday!!!!We will be back and hopefully sooner than we think!!!

Congratulations!!!

With Regards,

Clare, Brett and Sascha Thorne

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Clare71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nadi, Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Absolutely ideal for groups and familes. Very well appointed and spacious. We all had a wonderful long weekend and really enjoyed. Even biking down to the bar and shops was fun!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank tiri a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our family stayed at reef house in June 2011 for my sister's wedding. This was our first time hiring a private house, and we loved it. Having all the baby equipment was fantastic, and staying in a house is so much nicer and more functional than staying in a hotel room or villa- particularly with kids.

Grant, the owner of the house, was wonderful with providing us with information before we left and answering our questions via email. We knew exactly what to expect when we got there and could pack appropriately.

Musket Cove resort was great! We loved having the marina at the resort and made good use of it with numerous day trips. The beach sports equipment had an excellent range with hobie cats, paddle boards, sea kayaks and snorkelling equipment to name a few. Our 3 year old spent the whole time in the resort pool or in the beach. She loved it!

Vukei the housekeeper at reef house was great. She even babysat for us a few times.  We walked with her over to her village and met her youngest son, and our daughter played with her 3 year old daughter.

Because we were worried about the kids, the mosquitos and the intense sun made us use the porters more often than we thought we would. It was fine most of the time, just a few times we had to wait for a while when the porter was meeting people off the cat. The times we didn't have the kids we really enjoyed the walk to and from the resort. It isn't far and is quite relaxing not to use motorized transport all the time!

The boys played a lot of golf, we went for a run around the island a few times, took the hobie cats and paddle boards out and went on a snorkeling cruise on "take a break", which we loved. Dave was fantastic and even our 3 year old jumped off the back off his boat to snorkel while our 8 month old slept in one of the cabins downstairs!  Loved the pig on the spit night and preferred dick's place to anandas restaurant. Day spa wrap was lovely for me and my mum went to plantation island for a $35 massage which she said was good.

The sunsets were just spectacular. We left very reluctantly after our 10 day break already planning our next trip back to musket cove and reef house.

Thanks again for all your emails with tips and advice. It was very much appreciated!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We arrived on MaloloCat from Denarau within 55 minutes. A plus is the short transfer from Nadi to Denarau and Malolo Lailai. The sea was a bit rough, but the warm fijian smiles at MusketCove compensated that. We were taken around to see the most important places. The resort itself is beautiful and the staff friendly there.
Musket Cove has a laid-back atmosphere, the Armstrong Island Villas, the bures and the private Villas are built for the wealthier ones. The price level looks like that.

Now to the house:
It’s a quite good location, but the garden around the house looks poor ,not tidy. The house itself is a bit aged and could need some new paint.
My husband and i were afraid about the rusty bikes, especially fearing their brakes!
Sure the equipment in the house is plentiful, but some are as rusty as the bikes. And the compartments could need a cleanup.
Overall we weren’t disappointed, but also not that excited. Just a breezy holiday for a few days.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wetsweetsuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We have recently returned from our holiday at the Reef House. We had a fantastic time, just what we needed before a busy Christmas. The house was perfect, nice to have the comfort of our own place with the convenience of the resort almost on the doorstep.

All the resort staff were very friendly and helpful and helped make our stay memorable. I had my birthday when we were over there and my husband was able to arrange a cake and a happy birthday song from the restaurant staff as a bit of a surprise. We managed to fit in alot of snorkelling, an island hop trip, plenty of swimming, eating and drinking and a great deal of soaking up the weather. Fortunately the sun shone for all but two half days of rain (which helped to clear the air), so we were very lucky to have a dry period in the wet season, the only storm we saw was as we waited for our plane to leave from Nadi.

Vukei was as pleasant as everybody in the reviews said she was, our 11 year old son spent much of the holiday playing with her son Miji.

The bikes were a great asset, the only problem we had was a chain continually falling off one of them, thankfully the resort staff had it repaired quickly.

Preparing for the trip was helped by Grant regularly keeping in touch and providing tips to make the stay more enjoyable. The house had ample room for us and our three children 15, 14 and 11 and the range of pastimes kept us entertained for our twelve days. Snorkelling on the sandbank was excellent, the variety and quantity of fish was quite amazing, particularly when the boat driver threw in some bread.

A boat trip around some of the other resorts confirmed that we had made the right choice in where we were staying.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PetaBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

The Reef house is just perfect for family Holidays.
We could sort the bedrooms out so easy when we got there.
Karen, Guga and the Baby got the main bedroom, Fabio and I got the other double one.
Grandma got the single one and uncle Luciano the single bed located in the reading room.
The kitchen got all the stuffs that you need during the holidays.
Very cozy living room and the amazing deck for chilling out times.

All the staffs from the Resort are friendly and helpful.
Our baby Kalani got so famous in the Island, every single person wanted to hold him for a bit, eve other guests.

We did some trips, like Island Hop, Take a Break boat and the boys went to surf with Suji every day (good waves on the first 2 days)
Fabio did his Advanced Open Water course and I took a fun diving as well.

Tks for all your tips, the "pig night" was awesome as well as the Island Bar (so much fun - Fijian Bitter)

The bikes are essential to move around. We went to Plantation Island a few times.

The girls did a Fijian Bobo massage at the Spa, soooo relaxed... After 2 days the boys decided to do it as well...hehehe

The housekeeper Vukei is just sweet, she loved our baby and could even put him to sleep only singing Fijian songs.
We had a dog for a week that came every day to eat and to sleep, as friendly as the people!!!

The only thing we weren't very lucky with was that the mangoes weren't ready to eat :((

We met some other Brazilians and you know, where are brazilians there are some music around...
Singing and playing every single night at the Island Bar was so much fun... Everyone got in the vibe...

I wish we could go back very soon, but we are sure that we gonna go next year again.

Thank you very much for letting us to stay at your place and well done, you have a house in the heaven!

Love from all of us,

Raquerl, Fabio, Luciano, Karen, Guga, Neire and Baby Kalani...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaquelHoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Our stay at Reef House Malolo Lailai Island was awesome, the house was fantastic – very well equipped and beautifully decorated, a perfect combination of Kiwi & Fijian Bach – a place that you feel comfortable kicking off your jandals, and relaxing. This was our first stay at Reef House, but we have previously stayed at Plantation Island and Musket Cove, we opted to stay at Reef House as having a 19 year old daughter and 21 year old son – we felt we needed the space and our children didn’t really want to share a room which was the only option at the Resorts - what a fantastic and wise choice for us.

As mentioned above, it was very refreshing to go to a holiday home that was quipped with everything you need, too often you go away and stay in a self contained unit or holiday home and the equipment in the house is inadequate to cope with ay to day family life, but no such problems at Reef House. Location was perfect, not to far away from Musket Cove Resort – but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of other people, the bikes were an absolute asset and we had so much fun cycling around and exploring the island – we decided we would do more cycling when we got back to NZ – unfortunately we haven’t stuck to this promise and its back into the car.

Vukei is lovely and it was great to talk to her about her life. Unfortunately for us, the first 2 and a half days we were in Fiji we were waiting for a cyclone to hit (only we would pick to go on holiday on a tropical island during the wet season) so weren’t allowed to brave the outdoors for too long (in fact our son was stranded in Nadi as he couldn’t get to Musket Cove for the first couple of days). Once the weather came right we were learning to dive for 3 days – so really only had a day free, which didn’t give us enough time to go to Vukeis village for dinner (we will definitely do this next time we visit). Vukei worked hard the whole time we were there and it was lovely to come back to a clean tidy house when we had been away for the day.

The staff at Musket Cove were lovely (as usual) and were very helpful when we were trying to sort our sons transport and stay in Nadi when the Malolo Cat was cancelled due to the storm, always accommodating and happy to assist. Actually my husband was amused as some of the staff (in the spa and restaurant) recognized our daughter and me from our stay 2 years previously (scary).

Anyway I could rave on forever, but I don’t really want to bore you, all I really need to say is that Reef House is a perfect spot for a Family Holiday (thank you these times are becoming very precious to our family as our children become adults and go in search of adventures without their parents). It was a very special time for us and we appreciate being able to share your piece of paradise, thank you so very much. We feel that Reef House will become a very favourite holiday destination of ours.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NewZealandOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
1.1 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
705 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
580 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,655 reviews
3.5 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
858 reviews
3.5 mi away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Island
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef House

Property: Reef House
Address: 12 Malolo Lailai Island | Musket Cove resort, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you interested in a Fiji vacation where. There are more daylight hours than anywhere else on earth? You can hire a boat and visit many uninhabited islands. People dine out at restaurants in their bare feet? Every water sport and activity imaginable is all within a few minutes of your front door? And you'd like to do all this staying in accommodation that feels more like your own house than a hotel room or resort villa? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reef House Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing